This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

IntelliJ IDEA

Integrated development environment for Java developers

see alternatives

IntelliJ IDEA Reviews - Page 8

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


880 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lighting fast and abundance of plugins

Reviewed 4 years ago

Able to write high quality code in less time.

Pros

I started off with JDeveloper (which crashes and lags big time) before I was introduced to IntelliJ by a coworker. OMG, I cannot believe the ease of user. The lighting speed navigation between one file to another, from a single to multiple projects despite having tons of plugin installed. My favorite plugin is GIT in IntelliJ, which I cannot imagine living without now.

Cons

New updates are constantly coming in and it takes time for it to be downloaded & installed. I would have to force myself to take a break from work whenever that happens.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

IntelliJ Review

Reviewed a year ago

I like working on IntelliJ, it has all the features that one development tool can have.

Pros

VCS is the best feature of IntelliJ. Committing, pushing, merging, stashing, unstashing can be done without using the git commands. Also, resolving merge conflicts is very easy. So don’t need to use another software for version control.

Cons

I am using it on windows as well as on Mac. I avoid using the mouse and maximize the use of keyboard shortcuts. I found that the shortcuts for Mac and windows are very different even for basic functionalities such as removing unused imports etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Well thought out and reliable IDE

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

intelliJ is reliable and fast. The integrations between all the tools I need to make my environment work are smooth and I never spend time debugging the environment. The integrations to the tools I need are good and the interface makes it a pleasure to work with.

Cons

The integration to GitHub is sometimes a little frustrating to use. There is no support for MFA auth from intelliJ

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must Use for Java and Scala

Reviewed a year ago

Being developing various software project using Intellij, from college years to full-time job. Very well made and is the go-to IDE for the industry.

Pros

Great IDE support for programming languages such as Java and Scala. Come with great amount of extension and support for development software using these languages. Extension specifically with Databricks making developing Spark related project very easy.

Cons

Hard to learn as a beginner as there are too much filled in the software, making it feel bloated. No good support of changing background color. You either use white or dark.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Intelligence, Aesthetics and Accuracy packed in for speedy development

Reviewed 4 months ago

The very best Java IDE I have ever used. IntelliJ never disappoints you as you code because of its debugger style approach for devs. I like how naturally and easily one gets familiar with it in no time

Pros

The best thing about IntelliJ is that it is always guarding you while you work and IntelliSense hardly goes wrong with suggestions. The terminal is basic as it should be and integrating anything into it doesn't require any configuration which saves a lot of time.

Cons

Bad things are less talk in the case of IntelliJ but I would have to say that sometimes Intellij takes almost forever to startup. The sluggish start was the only thing that posed me against it. The other thing is the cost, it costs you an arm a leg for you to buy it which is why I personally put it on the second place

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The new age IDE but not the best

Reviewed 9 months ago

Overall experience of IntelliJ IDEA is that it is a software that has been designed for the New Age but it lacks discipline into what JAVA brings in as a language.

Pros

Pros of IntelliJ IDEA would include 1. Framework Integration is quite flexible and top notch. 2. Autosuggest is very intelligent and helps you speed up your development 3. Navigation is very smooth and fast.

Cons

Cons of IntelliJ IDEA would include 1. It is very difficult to navigate through dependency hierarchy when you have tons of dependencies in your project 2. If you want to extract out code to duplicate functions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Consumes a lot of CPU and memory

Reviewed 7 months ago

IntelliJ is the best IDE for developing software. Even though there are things I do not like about it, there are no alternatives that have similar functionality. The only other IDE which is close to Intellij is Visual Studio, which I used for C# development.

Pros

the user interface is good. It has a lot of features that make life easier for debugging java code. I like the dark mode theme provided by this software. IntelliJ IDE can import java projects cleanly without many issues.

Cons

It consumes a lot of CPU and memory. I close all other applications running on my MacBook when I run this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nothing comes close

Reviewed 3 years ago

Learning Full Stack web development would have been astronomically harder had it not been for this product.

Pros

Not even Visual Studio can rival all the fantastic features of this product It's not memory intensive and I've never had it crash on me. Customization options are numerous and the search feature for them is super handy. It's ability to parse dynamic JavaScript including any library you can install and throw at it makes it the best IDE for modern web development

Cons

Not much to be honest, the latest version had some bugs but I just rolled back to the previous and it was all good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I wish i found this software earlier

Reviewed 9 months ago

A really amazing IDE if youre someone who codes in JAVA.

Pros

Just the dark theme itself is a pro over the boring UI of the eclipse IDE. Moreover, the buttery smooth performance of IntelliJ makes it a winner in my book. Oh and the plugins available is just a cherry on top.

Cons

It takes a bit of time getting used to when switching from eclipse. The shortcuts are not really standardised for the IDEs available so that becomes an issue sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome IDE for building Software Applications

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience working with IntelliJ IDEA is very positive. It has reduced a lot of my mundane work and brought lot of quality in what I do. I can devote my quality time for software development without worrying about managing file structure and navigation within the project files.

Pros

Great User Interface. It has all the features for building software, smart assist, smart way to navigate between files, autodetection for syntax errors, and built-in GIT support for project collaboration with my peers.

Cons

I find the software can be made open source. The cost of the software license can be decreased.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Recommending IDEA for coding

Reviewed 3 years ago

Awesome. Best IDE so far!

Pros

The functionality of this product is really good. I have used several IDE's for java development in the past and this one so far is the best. It makes coding very flexible and efficient. The suggestions it provides during the coding is super helpful. For example, the auto suggestion/correction feature is one of my favorite.

Cons

It takes lots of memory of your computer when its running. So make sure you allocate sufficient memory when setting up the first time. Otherwise It will make your computer really slow. Other than that Its very cool!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

By far my favorite IDE

Reviewed 3 years ago

Compared to something like Eclipse, this is a much more robust and feature-complete development environment, especially when you get into full-stack Spring solutions. It's definitely helped keep everything lined up across our team. The build config process and versioning integration is just a cherry on top.

Pros

- Being able to develop full-stack in a single app, or focus on one language/environment - Integration with so many third party tools - Constant updates - Great community plugins/tools/tutorials

Cons

- Feature creep has made some of the menus a little hard to explain/cramped - Error messages aren't always the most helpful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is it!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The best multilingual environment in which I had the opportunity to work. Written in JAVA by what is available on Windows / Linux / MacOS, fast, very convenient, having a rich library of plugins. After installing a few of them, we can efficiently write in PHP, Javascript, Ember, Angular, Python etc. Currently, I can not imagine working without this tool. It supports all types of repositories, has a built-in database client, FTP, SFTP, restAPI and many more.

Cons

The only disadvantage is the price, but after the first completed project it returns.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good IDE to write code and integrate it

Reviewed 2 years ago

i have a very good overall experience and is very usefull in my daily projects

Pros

i liked the theme of the IntelliJ IDEA .. the black i love the most. if i talk about the feature i will say it is very good in prediction of the code and very fast suggestion. I am using it for my java code and i am not facing any issue as such it is easy to use and very integrated. to make packages and java classes. it have all the features to set the path and make your project customized and dynamic.

Cons

it is very heavy and i cant operate on more than one code at a time, there are also a lot of issues when i use GIT with it. a lot of improvements are needed in the auto merge. and project structure.it works good with java but not with python

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best IDEs available in the market!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Able to quickly develop software.

Pros

- Simple and easy to use interface. - Can be fully customized according to one's needs. - Very powerful and never slows down. - Autocomplete feature and able to show warnings as how the code can be improved are some of the features that differentiates this product from other vendors. - Community edition is free to download.

Cons

- Its a little resource heavy. But that is expected from a software of this size having so many amazing features. - It can be a bit overwhelming at first as what features to use and what not for a beginner.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best IDEs for Java

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It makes Java development as painless as it gets. Cross-referencing, plugins (even a Vim mode!) and all sorts of smarts and features help the dev with the daily coding cycle.

Cons

Like most IDEs it can be slow and bulky. I prefer Vim, but not for Java.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It's a very good and useful product

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The integration with source control like Git

Cons

The memory that the program occupied during the run

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hands down, IntelliJ is the best development environment available for developers

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use IntelliJ to write custom plugins to mold our LIMS to business needs, not the other way around.

Pros

Everything. Clearly the developers for IntelliJ created this FOR DEVELOPERS. Everything flows so well together, the hints and suggestions it offers are very smart and it makes it hard to program without them after being spoiled. Almost everything is user customizable and it integrates well with all the major repos out there. It is easy to keep track of changes, revert or compare historical data. Nothing else comes close.

Cons

Only thing that I can think of is that it is missing some kind of statistical functionality. It would be helpful to keep track of how much actual coding, debugging and or testing was done over time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best IDE for Java and other JVM languages.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It makes working with Java and other JVM languages super simple. Lots of plugins and customization to make development easier and faster. Great support for the Kotlin language (which is also developed by JetBrains). Ultimate edition has great integration with Spring and other popular frameworks. Git (and other VCS) integration is nice. Solid integration with the major build tools: Ant, Maven, Gradle, sbt. Nice database integration.

Cons

Can be a little heavy weight, but that's the trade-off for all of the features. Upgrade process is a little disjointed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IntelliJ IDEA Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

IntelliJ (and all of Jetbrains products that I've used) has made my life as a student much more enjoyable. I've used other IDEs and text editors and I've really come to depend on Jetbrains IDEs for whatever software development I'm doing.

Pros

- Feature rich - Autocomplete - Amazing debugger - Git integration - Deployment feature - Plugins (Bash, Makefile, Vim) - Free student plan - Great desktop icons - After you use on of Jetbrains products, you basically know how to use them all. I use IntelliJ IDEA, CLion, PyCharm, Webstorm, and Android Studio, and it's so easy to switch between them. This is likely one of Jetbrains best moves.

Cons

It's hard to find bad things to say. Most of the issues I've had have been with the Vim plugin. If you type a command like ":!python" in the Vim plugin, it basically freezes the IDE and you have to kill it from the command line. Obviously it's lacking some functionality.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great programming IDE at a not-so-great price

Reviewed 3 years ago

I played with this app for the trial period looking for a good IDE that already had the features I needed built-in (Emacs user here for years at that time); however, ultimately, the price was too tough for my pocket. Luckily, shortly after I learned about Visual Studio Code and since then I never looked back -- but that's another story :)

Pros

- Auto-completion and command forecasting in this app is simply outstanding - The everything-and-the-kitchen-sink approach ensures you have all the tools you might ever need to code and debug your solution - Extensible via plugins - Great community - Try-before-you-buy app - Customer support is nothing short than excellent

Cons

- This app is serious business: if you don't need the capabilities that this software package provides, you'll be better off with another lighter IDE or even a text editor - This software is a LEVIATHAN: it occupies a gigabyte of your storage space (at least on Mac), it needs lots of CPU cycles and it eats your RAM in a way it makes Chrome look like Windows' Notepad - Beware that this company products are on the expensive side

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The best free IDE I have come across

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

One of the ways in which Intelli J Idea will speed up your development process is the code completion snippets it will provide you as soon as you start typing a new line of code. Apart from this the fact that such a powerful IDE could be free is amazing in itself. It will also highlight syntax errors as you type code into it which is also super helpful. It also has a really powerful regex search feature and has Git Support within the console as well as the GUI.

Cons

Since the software has a lot of real time features like code completion and highlighting incorrect code takes a toll on the memory usage especially when dealing with larger files which can cause the window to freeze sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

JAVA Software Development at ease

Reviewed 3 years ago

The day I was introduced to IntelliJ, I have never looked back on any of the other IDEs for JAVA development. It makes my development easier, error free, easy debugging makes my life easier.

Pros

intellij is the best IDE I have ever used for application development. The auto complete features are really advanced and it provides a very nice interface. Also, integrated terminal is a plus.

Cons

It uses a lot of memory and if the computer has very less RAM, then it pretty much slows down the computer. It is mostly because of the lot of features it brings along and the complex processes it supports.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Can't Imagine Using Anything Else Now

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall IntelliJ is an incredibly powerful tool. It's basically become where I spend 90% of my time working. Absolutely worth taking the time to invest in integrating everything into one place.

Pros

The ability to integrate your file structure, database structure, and script into a single view is absolutely crucial. Split windows, git integration, etc. are all great to have as well. Being able to pull up tables and code side by side is the real winner though, as it greatly reduces the need for task switching.

Cons

There is somewhat of a learning curve, obviously it helps to have someone on your team who knows the ins and outs of set up. The only area I found slightly lacking was the inability to pin or organize tabs. For example, one might want to keep tabs for Python scrips to one side, and those for SQL query consoles to the other (or group tabs by project, etc.)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

IntelliJ IDEA Is Great for Android Mobile Development

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, it has been extremely positive. I launched a fully functional app in the Google Play store and am fully confident that I can build and launch other apps. IntelliJ IDEA allowed me to learn Java for Android and how to learn that language so that I can add that to my resume.

Pros

The IntelliJ IDEA IDE is perfect for building Android mobile apps. I like how the Android Studio IDE uses IntelliJ IDEA and the two are interchangeable. Android Studio allows for developers to drag and drop basic controls while hand coding complex classes. IntelliJ IDEA allows for a basic mobile template using a Navigation Drawer, Blank, Basic, Bottom Nav Menu, Google Maps, and Google Ads. I like how something basic can be turned into a fully functional app.

Cons

It took sometime to learn. I was a self learner and it took several hours to figure out how to develop an Android mobile app. After learning via online learning platforms, I was able to build my first fully functional Android app which was launched in the Google Play store. When starting out, a beginner is not going to deploy an app the same day. It takes time to learn the IDE and master it. It also is a memory hog and loads slowly if you have an old computer. If you are using anything less than an i7, then you will wait a long time for it to launch.