This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Matillion

Extract, transform, load platform for cloud data warehouses

visit website

Matillion Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


106 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SalesLoft Matillion for Data Warehouse

Reviewed 2 years ago

Evaluating an ETL tool is quite a challenge. With a wide variety of options in the market, it is difficult to know where to start. We shortlisted three different ETL tools based on the capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification to name a few most important criteria. With a very intuitive development interface, Matillion ETL for Redshift came out as a winner.

Pros

Quick development capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification, customer support to name a few

Cons

Wish to see Matillion having Github control

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matillion ETL For Medium to Large Company

Reviewed 2 years ago

Matillion has worked incredibly well answering our business needs. We have integrated it into our core business and use it daily with nearly no issues. We began with Matillion ETL for Redshift but soon switched to Matillion ETL for Snowflake and have had incredible success with it thus far. I recommend this ETL tool to any company of any size as it can be scaled to any business needs and you only pay for what you use.

Pros

Matillion is easy to integrate into our snowflake system. We use it to build and create materialized tables and views, run scheduled builds, and have used it to create CDC processes. It is slick and intuitive and has a great user interface.

Cons

The browser and platform crashes occasionally, about once a week. The account will log you out, but it works in real time so it usually does not delete any of your work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good ease of use, should improve customer service

Reviewed 2 years ago

With the tools given most of the business problems can be solved(not in an efficient way though if you consider SnowFlake), but there's a lot of room for improvement on the customer service side. Also, having the same functionalities for both RedShift and SnowFlake would make it a lot better, for now there are more functionalities and components for RedShift.

Pros

The tool was very easy to use and was intuitive most of the time. The functions and components for RedShift were amazing even though I didn't use them

Cons

1. Initially the customer service was good, calls were being scheduled either on the same day or on the next day. But once you start using it, support calls would take weeks. Sometimes support will say they'll get back to you but they don't. 2. In one particular instance, a support executive said they would get back to me because they couldn't find an immediate solution, but even after 3 weeks there was absolutely no response on their side. I got a reply after I followed up again though. 3. There are good amount of components for RedShift which are not available for SnowFlake, I hope they would incorporate them as soon as possible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matillion is working great!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are using Matillion to pull API JSON data from various systems and push that data into Snowflake. Matillion is working rock solid.

Pros

I don't have to babysit the software. Using automation and integration with AWS, I can get messages if there are issues with any orchestration jobs.

Cons

Getting the API pulls working was a little clunky, but it came together relatively quickly utilizing Matillion's support. Their support team is fantastic!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Does the job very well

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using Matillion since September 2018 and at the beginning i didn't like it very much as i dont had hands on experience using Matillion. But later my work has increased a lot using Matillion. So far i have had integrated bunch of sources using Matillion to data warehouse. I am liking it at this moment and no complains.

Pros

Matillion ETL is web based ETL tool and very easy to use from anywhere. It has most of the connectors for all data sources which makes my job to complete end to end development.

Cons

One thing I did not like about Matillion is, there is no need of Transformation job. Everything should be done at one place(Should be in Orchestration job). Also, the list of components are different in Orchestration and transformation jobs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Have been using Matillion for past 9 months

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have developed Data Warehouse for our business using Matillion. We employ 6k+ people, and Matillion was a perfect match for our needs. Storing data in Google Big query allows seamless access to it from other Cloud Products I.E. Google Data Studio. I love the product, and limitless possibilities it gives us. Pulling the data from anything you may think of, transforming it and then outputting into Big Query is very easy and straight forward.

Pros

My background is development and I love the simplicity of the Matillion, you can very easy transform your thought process into blocks in Matillion, and debug any issues at a very granular level.

Cons

Matillion crashes from time to time, meaning you need to log back on to the system, but its benefits definitely outweigh this small issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matillion for BigQuery - United HealthGroup Data Engineer Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very useful tool. If you're looking for a tool for your analytics data warehouse which is fast, convenient and easy to learn, then this is the tool for you

Pros

Its very easy to learn. The UI is great and easy to navigate. It utilized the ELT approach which makes the data integration fast. Security and access control is well implemented and there are a lot of components to use.

Cons

Its a one way ETL, I'm using the BigQuery product and all the destination are in BigQuery, it would also be nice if we can load data to the sources.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great turnkey solution to ETL and data migrations

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Matillion offers a powerful feature set within a robust UI. There are other options but none have the ease of onboarding that Matillion offers. The API adds a powerful layer to do advanced integrations.

Cons

Some threads have become unresponsive while running. This has been rare and was easy enough to resolve by resetting the service.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Making my life easier!

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's been great. The support team has been very responsive in resolving some Azure-related issues, tuning our instance, and helping to understand the nuances of how it works. It's been a significant reduction in development time since we migrated to Matillion.

Pros

Simple, intuitive interface. I replaced a complicated series of scripts, "ETL" products, and Python code with a simple-to-understand Matillion instance.

Cons

We use it on Snowflake for Azure, so there are several features that have not been migrated from the AWS version, yet. An option for a larger server by default in the Azure Marketplace.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple and easy ELT

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very nice. Easy and simple tool. Yet a lot possible with python scripting feature.

Pros

Integration with GCP API calls and cloud storage. Easy of access from anywhere. Self documentation. Customer service. Automatic updates.

Cons

Failure capture process. Any changes made not needing to be saved. Accidental changes are considered saved at click of the button. No front end customisation available to distinguish between different environments. Having to use 3rd party add ons.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good tool for workflow management

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am happy with this tool and it has good UI.

Pros

- It has very good UI to design the workflow. - It is easy to design the workflow. - It has very good support with persistence storage. Like snowflake, redshift, etc.

Cons

- It should also support Azure data warehouse.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best and very much compatible ETL for Redshift

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

1.)All the components and transfomrations availability 2.)Specially oriented for data ingestion process using all aws services like rds, s3, sns, redshift 3.)easy admin, ssl setup 4.)very easy diagromatical representation of jobs

Cons

the latest button change for "switch version"

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Powerful, useful, not the easiest thing I've ever learned

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are trying to automate as many of our recurring tasks as possible -- things like grabbing data from an API endpoint, manipulating it for our purposes, and updating our own databases for clients. Matillion lets us do a lot of that on a regular schedule and once it's set up, our humans are free to focus on things humans are better at. I found it clunky to use at first, non-intuitive. I did not find...

Pros

Its ability to automate repetitive tasks. Also, it has some quite useful built-in database functions that I wish MySQL had -- for example a search/replace function that can use regular expressions.

Cons

It's not very intuitive and not very easy to learn (although the support team is amazingly responsive and helpful).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solution that works fine for almost all applications

Reviewed 2 years ago

If you really use your data and work on a daily basis with your data warehouse you should consider using Matillion. We had no downtimes and the service is brilliant. We connected all of our data sources and it works really well. But it got its price. Compared to other solutions the pricing is good for growing businesses.

Pros

Connectivity Really good customer service Individual solutions if necessary No downtimes Hosted on Amazon

Cons

Pretty expensive A bit hard to set up initially

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Matillion Usability

Reviewed 2 years ago

I really like Matillion ETL but I was a bit disappointed with some of its limitations and quirks, like when Twitter updated his API all my jobs stopped working and the only thing I could do was develop everything again without using the Matillion component. When I was trying to make upsert procedures on RDS Databases, I was thrilled that the Matillion component has that option, bit it simply didn't...

Pros

The ease to use, Matillion has a great set of tools that make complex and difficult process more simple and fast to develop.

Cons

There are many tools in Matillion that doesn't have enough attention and because of that these tools are fragile, while some of them do not work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Extremely easy to use, but hits hard limits when dealing with lots of data

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience isn't so great for the price we pay. Because of our hard limits we have to pay for two instances in order to handle our job loads. That wouldn't be a problem if we were able to scale the EC2 instance the software sits on. It makes no sense why an application has a specific hardware limits. Surely if we can spin up two separate instances to run concurrent jobs that are unrelated to each other, the same principle can be applied when scaling up with more cores/memory etc.

Pros

The ease of use is definitely the strongest aspect of Matillion. The GUI is exceptionally intuitive and even though the application flow speaks for itself, the documentation is also great for additional support.

Cons

You can hit a hard limit quite fast with the hardware when working with concurrent jobs running (Java Heap issues etc). You cannot increase the size of the instance (m4.xlarge) which means it becomes increasingly difficult to optimize. We are always trying to find work-arounds with the amount of data we need to load.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

First class ETL for everyone

Reviewed 2 years ago

We've been able to concentrate all data sources in one place and do a proper transformation and normalization of data to feed the Visualization layer.

Pros

Easy to use for non-tech (engineers) users.

Cons

Lacks testing stage before production and more flexibility to sample data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Is Great

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall extract and load data strategies is very powerfull

Pros

Is easy and is real pay as you use, that is very important for latinoamerica business

Cons

That you can't write in other destinations

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Matillion Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Matillion is very easy to use. It's simplicity allows you to drag an drop components to easily create orchestrations. It also simple to create shared jobs and use the components.

Cons

Although there is a decent set of components, they are not very versatile, hence I end up using a SQL script instead. For example, the S3 unload component does not allow one to specify some criteria and some fields are mandatory whereas I would not have to specify such specific criteria when doing this from an SQL script.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

very good ETL Tool with some growing pains

Reviewed 2 years ago

it helped us a lot to build our Redshift Data Lake from the Scratch

Pros

very easy to use, fast and good Customer Support, many API Connectors out of the box, well integrated in AWS Infrastructure

Cons

some Problems regarding Out of Memory lags, sometimes it's better to write custom Code instead of using the Out of the Box API Connectors (faster and more stable)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A good solution for a one man data shop

Reviewed 2 years ago

In the scope of a sole user, it's a very powerful tool. One can get a production ETL job up and running in hours starting from scratch. After a while, it's pretty hard to figure what is where and if more than one user contributes to the flows it can be painful to understand changes.

Pros

Easy to learn Visual interface Pretty reliable

Cons

Version control Search Explaining dependencies

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Intuitive & Flexible

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I love the GUI that Matillion employs - it makes creating and adjusting tasks very simple and transparent.

Cons

The scheduling of tasks is a little tricky, as we have to separately have to schedule the virtual machine to fire up and down. Once this is done though, it works faultlessly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very useful product

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The features and ease of use are good. The transformations act as a documentation for the self because of the readability.

Cons

The customer service is very poor. When they eventually respond to messages it is with an unhelpful response. Generally they will blame us for issues on their end, or they misunderstand the problem completely. It's not what we need from a tool The paid training we took was also pretty basic

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product for handling big data flow automation

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This tool helps in automating etl process.

Cons

Integration with python is limited. Need this feature

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great ETL Tool for Business Users

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Logic drag & drop of ETL steps makes the design and documentation of each ETL processes much simpler.

Cons

Getting it setup and connected to our data warehouse seemed to be unnecessarily complicated. Luckily tech support is great and helped my DevOps team throughout the process.