This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Matillion

Extract, transform, load platform for cloud data warehouses

visit website

Matillion Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


106 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matiilion - Cloud based, scalable, available ELT for Big data

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it is user-friendly, easy to develop & deploy, secure ELT for big data use cases. It supports a lot of already built useful connectors, which helps to reduce marketability cost and time.

Pros

1) Easy to use 2) Several ingestion integrations 3) Custom RDBMS ingestion support 4) Robust transformation and Orchestration components

Cons

No availability of change data capture feature for many databases

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are able to quickly execute on ongoing ETL projects and ad hoc needs.

Pros

Ease of use and breadth of functionality.

Cons

We had a billing issue at one point when trying to renew but that was mostly due to AWS Marketplace and not Matillion as a product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

User friendly and Advance connectors

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was developed around 20 to 50 mapping using Matillion and I don't see any difficulties right know.

Pros

User interface is very easy and any one can mange development things without too much of knowledge. Matillion have very content on official site and It help's a lot to make hands on on this tool. In few click we can connect any database weather it is on premises or cloud. I have extracted data from different source system and loaded in to redshift in very easy and fast manner.

Cons

I don't see straight forward job Audit framework. Please try to build nice job monitoring and audit framework.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great ELT tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Matillion ELT to manage Data Warehouse. Support team provides consistent work around for issues.

Pros

Connectivity to Saas sources. Reliability and Customer Support team

Cons

RSD creation for Saas sources that do not have built in connector.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great ETL Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Class leading, can turn a new file around in hours and days.

Pros

Pretty straightforward compared to other ETL tools, traditional engineers pick up in no time at all.

Cons

The google version is not as rich as the AWS one

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use features

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Inbuild features to integrate with AWS s3, send SNS messages.

Cons

Readability should be more, ease to retain changes or navigate to environment variables should improve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Using Matillion with AWS Redshift

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to understand and follow processes. Easy to pass variable values between jobs. Works well with Redshift and S3.

Cons

Use of API's can be a little confusing to setup/configure.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Great ELT and warehousing toolset in a clean GUI

Reviewed 2 years ago

We're pulling multiple datasets together and integrating them in star schemas with Matillion, as well as doing sophisticated data analysis.

Pros

The GUI and design makes it easy to not only functionalize your ELTs, but also show a graphical DAG to stakeholders.

Cons

I wish it had an out-of-the-box API gateway to receive webhook requests from third-party data sources.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Matillion Review - Excellent overall

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Ease of Use and excellent support which makes this software likely to use in comparison to other ELT tools.

Cons

Does not compatibility with Genetics connector like VCF or BAM

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool and experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great tool

Pros

Easy to use, graphical way to do data flows on Google Cloud

Cons

The most missing functionality, is to be able to setup data destinations additionally to BigQuery

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Flexible and Easy to use ETL tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like the use of Variables and Grid Variables that allow me to reuse jobs for different ETL workflows.

Cons

Lack of version control for the ETL code is a problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matillion product review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Target based ETL application. Cloud Native.

Cons

I would prefer it to support multiple target DBs like SQL Server, Oracle, MySQL, Redshift, Snowflake.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Matillion ETL

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Ease of use Configured for AWS Redshift compatible Quick support turnaround

Cons

Not all connectors available - but new releases drop regularly

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very productive toolset

Reviewed 3 months ago

We are using it to do the extract load and transfer for our data warehouse

Pros

- Quick to start - Consumption based model - Works well with Snowflake

Cons

- Harder to find resources with skills - Cost relatively higher

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect ELT Tools

Reviewed 2 years ago

ELT, daily basis extract of data and ad-hoc tasks

Pros

Workflow Layout and clarity of all components

Cons

Environment Management, licensing model

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matillion is the lead in ETL space.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Matillion's cloud model is leading the trend in this industry. It's cost effective and manageable.

Pros

Matillion is the most reliable ETL/ELT tool currently. I've worked with a larger number of clients that have uses Matillion as well as other tools and Matillion is definitely the most reliable. The UI is easy to follow and understand and the learning curve is small.

Cons

The technology isn't as intuitive as others in the space. It does require some training or knowledge of workflow development though it's the most reliable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best ETL tool in the market

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Matillion was the perfect solution for us. We were using another ETL tool that was great for extract and load, but did not address our transformation needs. That is where Matillion came in and was the perfect fit. The scope and scale of their transformation tools is exactly what we need to fully address our ETL needs.

Cons

There is a learning curve to Matillion. Setting it up the first time can be a bit overwhelming, but once we got it set up we were off to the races. Because of the amount of tools they have, there is a bit of a learning curve, but their documentation and support is there to help get you goin.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Yes but ..

Reviewed 2 years ago

Data transformation, data prep for python, data analysis

Pros

stable, close to SQL, integrated in AWS, fast

Cons

No data vizualisation (impossible to outpout the data directly in excel... ) Complicated to separate between orchestration in transformation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Starting out with Matillion

Reviewed 2 years ago

We were trying to quickly set up multiple ETL pipeline into our Analytic Data-warehouse and Matillion did just that.

Pros

Matillion was very easy to set up, it allow us to quickly build out our ETL/ELT pipeline on AWS. GUI was easy to navigate, most default functions works well, it has the ability to connect to all of our required cloud data sources, and any custom function can be scripted using Python.

Cons

Python scripting is very limited, it is used mostly to assigned variables or run simple boto3 script. We tried using the python module to run heavy CPU data cleansing process and the software timed out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good choice for GUI closed based ETL

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use the tool for creating ETL data piplines.

Pros

Easy learning Curve Simple to work with Cloud based tool Great support Very easy to support shared code due to the GUI element.

Cons

Lack of DevOps style integration Lack of release management support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Company

Reviewed 2 years ago

They have been a great company to work with. They are very transparent, quick to response, have awesome support and great training.

Pros

It's very easy to use, great training and support.

Cons

I don't have any cons. From start to end they have been great to work with.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall Matillion is good and I'm sure it could be better.

Pros

I like the stability of the product. We haven't updated our version since we started.

Cons

Can't use simple SQL Functions like CURRENT_DATE in FIlter Component. And no Automatic Update.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

New Architecture

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Data doesn't flow through Matillion, it just saves the Jobs created and use them to run jobs on the connected database

Cons

Still a newbie, Matillion is adding more and more options every day but they are not quite there yet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Scaling with Matillion

Reviewed 2 years ago

The experience is very positive at the beginning but as the project grows and there are more and more workloads and data being processed Matillion starts to become a bottleneck.

Pros

It is very easy to implement features and changes to existing workload. It is very good for creating POCs

Cons

It is not scalable and has numerous limitations. Concurrency setting for Matillion limits the possibility of using it for multiple warehouses. It is highly insufficient when executing commands parallel and does not utilise the resources to it's full potential. The environment limitation is also very problematic when trying to scale.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Saved a lot of time

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have been using Matillion for constructing data tables for analytical purposes. It is a very handy tool for doing ETL.

Pros

Matillion provides a graphical representation of any SQL query. It helps with explaining what is going on, even to people that have never used SQL before (such as my CEO). It saves me a whole lot of time from writing SQL queries by hand. What I have achieved with Matillion, I don't think I could have done manually.

Cons

Interactions with external custom APIs can be a bit of a pain, but we've always managed to get there one way or another.