This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Matillion

Extract, transform, load platform for cloud data warehouses

see alternatives

Matillion Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


106 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great for ETL to Redshift Database

Reviewed 2 months ago

Good experience but introduced Talend to the company because of the need to ETL to Postgres.

Pros

Does what it claims to do well.

Cons

ETL is rarely ever TO one database type.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product, highly recommend it

Reviewed 2 years ago

We needed to easily get data from multiple sources into snowflake. From there we needed to be able to transform it into meaningful information, Matillion quicker, easier and cheaper than all of the other products we reviewed.

Pros

ELT rather than ETL So many data sources Easy to use Fast to learn Very helpful fast support Lovely people to deal with

Cons

Built using java, so memory leaks... I'd like to be able to use different EC2 types, maybe an R rather than an M There could be more/better instructions around some of the components I'd like them to provide a few more patterns.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best UI made Redshift and Snowflake compatible Ingestion automated tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is good. Used for many easy to complex jobs in our Business Intelligence and analytic platform

Pros

compatibility with AWS services. Ease of use

Cons

user accounts being hashed out and not able to login in that case

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Initial Feedback

Reviewed 2 years ago

Its helping us build a data warehouse for visualizing debt and customer segmentation in our business. It means we are getting real insight into our business. Thank you!

Pros

User interface and range of connections. Powerful capabilities. Compatibility with AWS

Cons

Licensing is not flexible, Why cant you specify the number of concurrent users for a given instance? It comes with a fixed amount, if you don't like it, update to a much large and expensive instance that we do not need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matillion ETL Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, demo, and documentation resources

Cons

There is only web app to access the software, no client tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best visual ELT on the market

Reviewed 2 years ago

Matillion helped us develop various business use cases: Ambient temperature monitoring, ERP data centralization, data quality management. Components such as change detection were really helpful.

Pros

With Matillion, you can harness the power of major cloud data warehouses in no time. What I love most is that you can give it to data engineers as well as ETL engineers with no prior experience with big data.

Cons

Error management and replay can be tricky to develop.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great for starting

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

* It's very easy to start building scalable production ready ETL pipeline. * GUI is very intuitive. * Has wide variety of integrations available. *

Cons

* Error handling/debugging is on a poor level. * No good way to version queries/scripts or jobs. * Not really suitable if you need to build something very complex, as it's not very customizable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matillion ETL for Redshift

Reviewed 2 years ago

Matillion makes building ETL pipelines easy for almost everyone in the team without extensive knowledge.

Pros

Easy to build ETL pipelines visually with flexible choice of components

Cons

In some cases, using environment variables can invalidate your ETL but it would still run.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intuitive ETL

Reviewed 2 years ago

Speed of ETL development and templated approaches.

Pros

I could build a complete ETL process with absolutely no training at all in just a few hours. All of the components I expected to see where there, and heaps more. When I needed help - there it was!

Cons

Versioning and branching is difficult when developing, there is a total reliance on a unique component name.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Product

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The easy of use is great. Being able to easily migrate data from multiple sources into AWS is a dream.

Cons

Sometimes the error logs are not very descriptive so it can be hard to debug at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great piece of software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Importing data from different sources.

Pros

Easy to use. Easy to move a lot of different processes into one place.

Cons

Problematic API support. ESC closing windows without any warning and I lose everything I prepared in that window! More support for operations not exactly about read like elasticsearch index creation or ability to do PUT, POST and DELETE with API.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Simple easy-to-use Interface but looks like a development in progress software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Simple with not a lot of unnecessary components. Very easy to use with Amazon Redshift.

Cons

Licensing mechanism not good. We had problem when trying to increase license to 6 person from 5. Integrating with Git or other source control tool not easy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

So Far so Good

Reviewed 2 months ago

We are loading customer data to provide reporting and analytics.

Pros

We just started using Matillion within the last six months. We have been able to get it set up and are starting to load data for our customers.

Cons

Too soon to tell, as we just started using the product. We are not yet formally in production as yet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

No Technical Customer Support.

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

It's fast. Pipelines are easy to setup for very basic tasks.

Cons

Your customer support people are useless. Every time I submitted a ticket, they simply pointed to an article on the Matillion website that is not helpful in solving the problem. There is no community to resolve common issues. Troubleshooting complex tasks is almost impossible for smaller organizations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Reviews_ByPayal

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall Good

Pros

Easy to Use , Easy to Understand , Drag and drop features , Help with all components really helpful

Cons

Less Features as compared to TOS , All features not there as per documentation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matillion and Snowflake ELT

Reviewed 2 years ago

Building a data warehouse with AWS and Snowflake. Easy and quite fast to build ELT.

Pros

easy to get into. Orchestrations and Transformations makes it easy to build flows. Push down to Snowflake

Cons

No standalone client, no easy way to automate/generate (somegow possible with grid variables though)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matillion for AWS

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Once configured, it is easy to setup a workflow in minutes. The tool has lots of easy to use features.

Cons

Search capabilities could be better. Let's say I want to search for the use of a particular object (ex: a datbase table). There does not seem to be an easy way to do that.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

For AWS one of the best tool to go for

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are using Matillion to process real-time data

Pros

Ease of deployment Migration Multiple users Pay as you go - cost saving

Cons

Software updates cause sometimes an error

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

enexis case

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

cloud product, GUI for ETL, responsiveness supplier, scripting & parameters, performance, ETL features, mature product knowledgeable and responsive help desk

Cons

Struggle with load balancing -> product seems not mature enough Costing Snowflake icw Redshift

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best ETL(ELT) tool in the market for AWS Redshift

Reviewed 2 years ago

In love with the tool, I highly recommend it. It’s perfect for the data warehouse we are building.

Pros

Easy to use. Quicker ETL. Comprehensive documentation

Cons

Nothing comes to mind. Perhaps round the clock support would be helpful, especially for customers located in Australia.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Snowflake integration, poor API support

Reviewed 2 years ago

It solved some difficult problems for us. As long as you understand its limitation in certain areas.

Pros

Snowflake integration works very well. In database features were what I was looking for.

Cons

Had to build most of my API calls using their Python script tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An ELT tool with no hassle in Cloud

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

No Installation pressure. No upgrade issue Handles all data load feature. Inbuilt Expression to handle various transformation is good

Cons

Parallel processing do not work as expected always

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The ease of setting up ETL, it’s not as complex as others and easy to understand. (Providing you have the basic knowledge in the first place) direct SQL query feed-in option for any migration of existing solution which is very handy!

Cons

Not available on all versions of Linux, limited to the likes of Amazon Linux

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ETL Architect

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use to load data into snowflake.

Cons

Auto save in component, which does not help always.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Data Analytics

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Fast data analytics i.e. transformation and orchestration jobs.

Cons

If you are not familiar with SQL, this is not intuitive.