App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Notepad++ Logo

Open-source and multilingual source code editing software

(14)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Notepad++ Reviews - Page 6

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


1,952 reviews

Recommended

NG
AvatarImg

Nolan G.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential !

Reviewed 2 years ago

Used daily for opening HTML, XML... This software is essential for my job. I would recommend if you haven't downloaded it yet

Pros

This software is light therefore you could open and work on files containing hundreds thousands lines. You can plug many pluging for different features (sort lines, erase blanks, intend code...)

Cons

No inconvenience. I try to find one but i can't

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

sandeep k.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Notepad++ is a text and source code editor for use with Microsoft Windows.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use Notepad as my Python integrated development environment since it makes programming simpler. Additionally, it aids with code completion. " It is free and open source, has a tonne of functionality, is simple to change, and supports plug-in integration.

Pros

As a programming editor, I have been using Notepad ++. I write code in practically all well-known programming languages, including Python and Java. It contains incredible editor capabilities including text highlighting, word searching, text replacement, and debugging. Both technical and non-technical users will find it to be quite simple to use. As a programming editor, I have been using Notepad ++. I write code in practically all well-known programming languages, including Python and Java. It contains incredible editor capabilities including text highlighting, word searching, text replacement, and debugging. Both technical and non-technical users will find it to be quite simple to use.

Cons

Because Notepad++ has its own ecosystem, it cannot be integrated with any other significant productivity tools that users frequently use, such as Zoom, Dropbox, Asana, etc. However, since it's not a really substantial piece of software, it's not a big deal. Because Notepad++ has its own ecosystem, it cannot be integrated with any other significant productivity tools that users frequently use, such as Zoom, Dropbox, Asana, etc. However, since it's not a really substantial piece of software, it's not a big deal.

SM
AvatarImg

Sabrina M.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Interested in Scripting? Install Notepad ++

Reviewed 14 days ago
Pros

I was unaware of Notepad ++ until I became interested in learning basic visual script, a programming language. At first, I attempted to write scripts in Microsoft's built-in text processing software, but I found that very tedious and difficult. However, after looking online for software that eases programming for beginning script writers, I found Notepad ++, and I am so glad that I did. In short, while...

Cons

I will try to keep this portion of the review as brief as possible because I really enjoyed Notepad ++ and don't have (or even want to say!) many negative things about it. Furthermore, as I think about it, not many grievances even come to mind in the first place! However, with that said, one (and the only) thing I noticed was their advertising and marketing. Simply put, it was VERY difficult to find...

JP
AvatarImg

Jacopo P.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Valido editor di file sorgente molto versatile e pratico, sicuramente con dei limiti

Reviewed a year ago

Utilizzato come editor principalmente di pagine web e CSS, è sempre stato un valido supporto, estremamente rapido e semplice nell'utilizzo. Presenta solo piccoli difetti di stabilità con grandi files.

Pros

Semplicità di utilizzo, interfaccia intuitiva, quantità di formati supportati, valore generale e praticità.

Cons

Non esiste per ambiente Mac e talvolta può andare in crash con file molto grandi.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

MK
AvatarImg

Michel K.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Notepad++

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Notepad++ is easy to use, especially for beginners in web programming. because there is self-implementation and it allows you to give yourself a hand in your learning

Cons

Notepad++ is too basic and is only available under the windows environment.

CJ
AvatarImg

Collin J.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Notepad we always needed

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Notepad++ is as the name sugests, notepad but better. And we really like it, it makes editing some configuration file easy and fast. The Macros make the most tedious task easy.

Cons

The Theming could be better, and the overall ui feels dated.

MS
AvatarImg

Mohammed S.

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple & lightweight editor for newbies and pros

Reviewed 4 years ago

The thing about Notepad++ is that its very easy to use and does not require much training or a large learning curve. Because of this, it is something that developers, database officers and even testers can make use of to experiment with code or just open files very quickly to see what the files contain. As a result of this, the IT department/company benefits as it doesn't really need to provide much training for Notepad++ and because it is free, it is something that users can use right away.

Pros

-Notepad++ is one of the easiest software tool to use that I have come across. In fact, it is one of the first things I install when setting up a new machine -Notepad++ is completely free for one to use -It is an extremely lightweight and fast tool to use, which makes it perfect to code with or just write experimental code with -Notepad++ supports around 30 languages, with features such as syntax highlighting -Notepad++ search feature is great where you can search for a specific term and it will highlight all the places where this term exists

Cons

Overall, there isn't really anything to dislike about Notepad++ especially since it is so easy to use, costs nothing and offers so many features within a lightweight package. The only thing is sometimes if you try to open a very large file with Notepad++, it may freeze for a couple of seconds. But usually, this only lasts for a few seconds and then you can carry on your work very quickly.

MB
AvatarImg

Michael B.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My Near Perfect IDE for everything that's text!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Notepad++ has been my programming IDE for all things web for years. I started web development back on the old school "Notepad" (or in my nano linux shell). But there is only so far you can get with these basic tools. Notepad++ has so many helpful features to a programmer. The formatting guides, the expand and contraction of braces, color formatting, line numbers, all rock. The amazing find and replace features have found their uses in more than just my programming. Large csv files might need some major formatting changes. I can rock the file in Notepad++ and update the format, change the layouts, remove specific rows, all with ease and within seconds.

Pros

Amazing IDE/Text Editor/Swiss Army Knife! Powerful Find Replace Functions Powerful Mark / Clear Line Functions Line Numbers, IDE Features based on file format. Plugins plugins plugins.

Cons

Some plugins got a little old, outdated, and were unstable. But the software trucks on! Having ++ in the name, means plenty to programmers, but it makes it difficult to search for in Google :)

LT
AvatarImg

Lou Tizio Alida I.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Parfait logiciel de développement

Reviewed 8 months ago

J'ai beaucoup apprécié la coloration des lignes de code et aussi la facilité de la prise en main

Pros

Super simple à utiliser, une de ses meilleure fonctionnalité est de conserver des onglets ouvert non enregistrés même en cas de fermeture du programme

Cons

Son design est trop ancien, impossibilité d'intégrer avec d'autres outils de partage comme Teams et Google Drive

Showing original review in French. See translation

SG
AvatarImg

Samuele G.

Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Il mio editor di testo preferito

Reviewed a year ago

Notepad++ è veramente un ottimo editor di testo, ideale per i programmatori. Facile da utilizzare e da installare, inoltre è molto leggero e gira bene su qualsiasi pc.

Pros

Ottimo editor di testo, con tantissime funzionalità. Mi piace principalmente per la sua leggerezza e il suo essere estremamente semplice e intuitivo, ma anche funzionale. Lo utilizzo tutti giorni per lavoro e non, sono un programmatore. Per ora non lo cambierei con nessun altro editor.

Cons

L'interfaccia grafica appare un po' datata rispetto ad altri editor più moderni, potrebbe essere aggiornata. L'unica nota negativa invece è che purtroppo non esiste una versione per Mac. Per il resto non ho altro da segnalare.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Indispensable tool for developers

Reviewed 4 years ago

It' s very efficient and fast text editor. It really makes my life easier. Especially when dealing with t-sql queries it really helps lot. I also usually use it for code reviewing and comparing files.

Pros

Useful and fast search option with regular expressions Suitable for reviewing almost all programming languages Makes T-SQL operations easier for DBAs & developers Even more powerful with rich plugin options

Cons

Having trouble when dealing with really big files.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to edit or search data in files

Reviewed 3 months ago

I love using notepad ++ . It has made life easy to view files.

Pros

Searching algorithm and multiple language support.

Cons

Sometimes unsaved data gets cleaned up but this is not the case 90 percent of times.

ca
AvatarImg

cavan a.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LOVE THIS PRODUCT

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love it. I user it everyday to code. Simplifies your work and makes coding more pleasurable

Pros

Any coding language you can think of, this software allows you to format your code in that language so that it is easily readable. Creating Macros, installing different plugins , different encoding options and more ! This software is very useful for anyone that writes code.

Cons

Absolutely nothing. It does everything you can think of and more This software is perfect for anyone.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The prime text editor

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love notepad++ and i use it in my everyday tasks. it's really simple and cool to use. i 100% recommand it if you are looking for a text editor

Pros

What i like with Notepad++ is the interface that is really very simple, its user friendly and its offers a syntax highlighting, the search feature is epic and enjoy developping applications with it.

Cons

you need sometime a specific pluging to highlight some code extention. but its remains the best code editor

GB
AvatarImg

Greg B.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love This

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use this for all kinds of things. I constantly have many documents open for review, notes, comparisons, more notes, lists, and other things I can think to use this for.

Pros

The fact that it automatically saves a temporary file until I perform a true save keeps me from worrying about whether or not I need to hold on to a note that is meant to be temporary. Also, the plug-in that allows for document comparison is fantastic.

Cons

I've not had any specific issues that I would call out Notepad++ for.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alec P.

Semiconductors, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Notepad++ is my favorite text editor

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience with Notepad++ is incredibly positive, and I will continue to recommend it to all friends and colleagues. As a coder who frequently has to open text files containing code or data, this is the best program for me because it allows me to quickly read files simply and efficiently using this nifty little program.

Pros

I frequently need a text editor to be able to view and edit text-readable files for programming and data manipulation, and Notepad++ is my go-to program for this. I like that it has syntax highlighting for a large number of different languages, and I appreciate that it is a light-weight and quick program despite being packed full of features.

Cons

What I like least about Notepad++ is that the tab management of the program is a bit cumbersome. When opening the program and closing it and reopening it, the tabs from before remain all present, so this results in multiple uses of the program having dozens of tabs which all have to be closed manually.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sheikh Sakib Ishrak S.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The harmony between traditional and modern text editors

Reviewed 3 years ago

For developers using windows as the main/secondary platform, Notepad++ is a logical relief from the default notepad. This lightweight tool allows to quickly modify or write source code in most of the used programming languages.

Pros

Notepad++ comes with a small package, optionally portable carrying all the saved configurations. It is lightweight and fast. Compared to most modern source code editors, Notepad++ is lightweight and simple to instantiate and work with. Support for syntax highlighting and formatting for a large number of languages, a decent number of editor theme support and customization options are available.

Cons

Compared to some newer source-code editors and full-fledged IDEs like Visual Studio Code or IntelliJ IDEA, Notepad++ lacks some necessary features, e.g, smart auto-completion, keyword suggestions, refactoring, cleanup, and reformatting. Notepad++ is only available for windows. The UI feels dated and lacks modernization.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel T.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Editor plus than notepad

Reviewed 4 years ago

We used this tool in the past to manage XML files and configuration files from different systems.

Pros

This editor is easy to use with a lot of text edition and advance capabilities. It is a light in the CPU consume and also, have the possibility to add plugins with additional functions. It has support for some development code and file extensions.

Cons

This is an application for Windows only. Nevertheless, for me, it is the only problem of the tool.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Heshani H.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Notepad ++ for the advanced notes

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use this everyday for writing my codes , specially html codes. It helps me a lot since I know all the color codes, I can easily identify if I have made a mistake, as the expected color is not appeared there for. Also I use this for comparing codes. Overall experience is really good.

Pros

I use notepad basically for writting codes since I work as a software engineer. When I write codes, I can select the programming language I use there and it helps me to code accurately as the methods keywords and everything are displayed in different color codes. Also we can open multiple documents the same time and same time we can spit the window into two and compare two codes. There is a zoo in and out option, so that we can adjust the font size. Also the documents are saved so easily. And open them by selecting the location.

Cons

The documents are not shareable. We need to save the documents manually. No formatting options. Only suitable for codings. Not for preparing documents.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

La mia esperienza con Notepad++

Reviewed 3 months ago

Super positiva e soddisfacente, indispensabile nel mio lavoro

Pros

E' da molti anni che utilizzo notepad++ per consultare/modificare file che contengoo codice sorgente, è uno strumento incredibilmento potente per quanto basilare e facile da utilizzare. La funzione trova/cerca nel mio lavoro è indispensabile quando si deve modificare un nodo di un particolare file da N righe di codice . Grazie alla sua visualizzazione con colori è possibili capire anche bene cosa è cosa o cosa è commentato o meno ad esempio. provate ad aprire un file del genere col blocco note e poi con Notepad++ capirete di cosa parlo!

Cons

Ho adorato tutto fin da subito di notepad+++, facile ed intuitivo

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Darian L.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best of Its Class

Reviewed 5 years ago

Outstanding, I love it!

Pros

Notepad++ is hands down the best text and source code editor out there. Being distributed as open-source makes the deal even sweater. It has been a long time since I made the switch from the traditional Microsoft Notepad to Notepad++, and I haven't looked back once. Simply put, Notepad++ is like MSFT Notepad, but on steroid. It does everything better and in addition, it offers so much more for programmers and daily users. The software is easily customizable to fit your needs and offers tools for programmers to access an easy source code editor, that doesn't consume too many resources.

Cons

The only thing that comes to mind regarding cons for Notepad++ is that it lacks some syntax highlighting for certain programming languages. It is hard to complain about his though, since Notepad++ was made for on-the-go and quick edits as far as I am concerned

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Muhammad Rizki O.

Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really helpful to write codes

Reviewed 5 years ago

Notepad++ is a very good editor, especially for programming. I use this software for almost all of my projects, especially one that involves code writing.

Pros

I am a university research assistant that work a lot with coding. Notepad++ make doing coding easier since it is versatile: it can detect most of existing programming languages, and improve user experience to write the code. When writing a code, Notepad++ will give different color for different types of word I type in the code. Like in Fortran programming language that I used everyday, the statement I wrote will be automatically turned into blue color, number into orange, comment into green, and many more capabilities that make it easier to write and read any codes.

Cons

It's still lacking of some text formatting capability, like alignment (center, left, or right). Notepad++ is also not updated so frequently enough to catch up the development of existing programming languages.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jay M.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple but better!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm a developer who always faces constant testing phases for their project. Some of my projects dealt with APIs and Network related codes. Notepad++ makes it really easy to edit JSON files or any other code for that matter. It really saves up a lot of time.

Pros

Notepad has always been meant to be a simple note-taking application with bare minimum features. Notepad++ is also simple but much handier for developers. You don't have to always open heavy software to make minor changes to your code. Notepad++ is really useful when it comes to debugging phase with multiple trials and error testing as it saves a lot of time for development. The colour highlights and plugins for code also plays a vital role.

Cons

Finally, it's functionalities are limited as it was supposed to be and can only be used for minimal testing.

GS
AvatarImg

Gaurav S.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Lightweight, easy to use and powerful text editor tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using notepad ++ for more than 3 years now. Its been handy tool for small code changes, notes and other lightweight activities. However , it can't be used as an IDE as it lacks lot of IDE features. But overall its a must have tool for any project since its open source and free to use. Security and plugins could be handled better in coming versions.

Pros

1. Its autocomplete feature saves a lot of time. 2. Autosave feature automatically saved the file and even a backup. 3. Macros support and integration plugins support. 4. Very lightweight and open-source. 5. Strong community and options to request bugfixes and feature requests. 6. Highly customisable UI and syntax highlighting and auto indentation.

Cons

1. Can't rely on this tool as a full IDE or code compilation like features. 2. UI could be visually better 3. Plugin management could be improved, as searching for plugins is a hassle. Also lot of plugins are not available with 64 bit version.

KH
AvatarImg

Kamal H.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Handy Text Editor, No complain ever.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall quality is good as a basic editor

Pros

Notepad++ one of the old text editor and it has remarkable popularity same as before. As a software engineer it help me writing source code. I'm using this tool since 2017 and don't have any issue with that.

Cons

This tool perform as it own way but there are multi functional text editor in the market. I think they can upgrade their system but they don't.