App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Apache NetBeans Logo

Apache NetBeans

Open-source IDE that provides smart code editors & templates

see alternatives

Apache NetBeans Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.2

/5

149
87%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.06/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

It is good in intellisense for supported programming languages. Its user interface for database is good.
This is a great free IDE which has great community support. It works great with WAMP on windows, and the debugger is easy to use.
It is the best IDE for beginners. It was really helpful for improving my programming knowledge.
Some plugins are missing, the autoformat functionnality does not always work and there is no support for php 7.1+ version or ES6 javascript syntax.
Later in school we had to program in IDEA from IntelliJ and there I felt lost.
I used it exclusively for creating swing applications, the other tools I found difficult, besides having no integration with git and slack.

Apache NetBeans users...

Eclipse IDE-logocaret
avatar
avatar
avatar
listing-logo

Eclipse IDE

IntelliJ IDEA-logocaret
avatar
avatar
listing-logo

IntelliJ IDEA

Eclipse-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Eclipse

Explorer Eclipse-logocaret
listing-logo

Explorer Eclipse

How would you rate Apache NetBeans?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


149 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

NetBeans IDE

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

For a beginner programmer, NetBeans IDE does provide guidance in the C Programming realm. With innovative syntax suggestions, color-coded code snippets, debugging hints, and errors made evident for programmers to immediately resolve, this platform does aide the novice programmer immensely, particularly by saving individuals time because they do not have to commence on a scavenger hunt to find errors or bugs.

Cons

There seems to be compatibility issues with Windows 10 and NetBeans. NetBeans will download, but functionality will suffer greatly and many tools will be unusable. Often, multiple installs must be performed. However, this platform does work fine with Windows 8.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

A non-basic IDE

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This IDE is very direct at first, you create the project, set up the FTP connection and can upload your files directly to the server. It also has the debug functionality to test on local which is also good, but I've never tried that.

Cons

Too much of everything. Too much configurations, too much options. Ten minutes to disable an annoying option, is definetely too much.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Experience with Apache NetBeans

Reviewed 4 months ago

It was used for the development of web and desktop applications, both as a freelancer and as part of a work team.

Pros

It is an IDE that allows you to generate projects easily and efficiently, so that you have control of the application that is going to be generated.

Cons

Integration with other tools can become complex, and resource consumption can be high for what is being done.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

General purpose java dev tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

Basically it's a good tool for novice to medium experienced java devs, it includes everything a dev will need for starting a java project

Pros

- Matisse is the best swing GUI build tool in the market - Stability, robustness, and overall performance - Support Tomcat and GlassFish out of the box

Cons

- Need a pretty decent machine to run without sluggishness - Code Autocompletion needs tweaks

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

An product development tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been neutral. Not like i would recommend but neither anything negative.

Pros

This is almost similar to Eclipse IDE. I liked how it merged with various components like hibernate and lot of other financial tools.

Cons

There was an issue with our application not being stable. Our entire team faced this problem ultimately it was decided to get different framework altogether.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

NetBeans For Java Learning and Developing

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall NetBeans is a one of the best solution for java developing . NetBeans interface is easy to understand therefor it is a good choice for a beginner too.

Pros

First thing is that Apache NetBeans is a free software and it is available on Windows, Linux and Mac. So it is very convenient for students to use it. Netbeans also support multiple languages other than Java like PHP, C, C++, HTML and etc. Also we can add extension to customize the IDE as we wanted and add more supportive tools. When we need to create a GUI using Java it support GUI creating tool that helps a lot when creating them rather than creating GUI using codes. NetBeans have features like auto code completion, find and replace parts of the code and etc.

Cons

If it consume less resources and if it has ability to launch quickly NetBeans will be more popular. Default IDE is not very interesting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great IDE for starters Developers

Reviewed 3 years ago

If you are starting (even for more masterized developers) it got everything you need for being on top of your projects.

Pros

Several sections for code navigation but also for methods navigation. Integration for Java, PHP, Javasccript, Ruby and more other programming languages. Integration with Apache.

Cons

It is hard to run test plugins and it cost a lot of RAM Memory.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best IDE for Coding

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall It 's one of the best software IDE to develop the different kinds of software products very easy ,so highly recommend it with confidence!!!

Pros

Very easy to develop code with that IDE because when coding it will auto-generate the lot of coding parts so that developer time will be saved, I use it to create web applications mostly it 's the best environment to do such kind of things.

Cons

There are few things to mention, the user interface should be more user-friendly some time it processing time getting slow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy for Beginners, mighty tool for experienced users.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I’ve been using Netbeans since college, I made my first Java app in Netbeans and since then I’ve created dozens of projects, both simple and complex by using this IDE. If you are just starting with Java or if you are an experienced Java programmer, this is the IDE for you. A lot of plugins to choose from + you can always download more and easily install them. You want to create a Spring or Tapestry project? Not a problem, Netbeans has support for those. I like the GUI of the application and how’s it’s easy to navigate through complex projects with a lot of folders and files. The biggest con of this IDE is that it eats a lot of RAM and it does tend to load for a long time

Pros

Easy to use for beginners. Good code completion. Support for a lot of plugins and frameworks. Swing GUI.

Cons

Slow loading Uses more RAM then some other IDEs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Using Netbeans for development purpose

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience with NetBeans is good.

Pros

As a human being some times I forgot the syntax of function so the feature that I like most is auto-suggestion while typing the built-in function names in PHP.

Cons

It should be light weight, Sometimes it slows down my system,

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use.

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent for learning and developing skills in young people.

Pros

What I most support about this software is that during the years that I have used it I have felt extremely comfortable, despite having programming knowledge, there are other software in which I have not been able to feel as good as this, it is very easy to use and friendly for newbies. It can also be used on many operating systems.

Cons

Compared to the competition, compiling the code becomes a bit tedious, it is slow. The code import option is very limited and the debugger is less efficient. These were the two points that affected me when using it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly platform for development

Reviewed 4 years ago

I sure 100% will recommend this platform to others in development sector to use this software for there easy work. As I'm in the software field it had helped me out in my programming. The main advantage is that many activities can be done in single platform.

Pros

It is very easy to install and free open source platform. It an intergrated development environment for java applications. Main advatange is runs on Windows, macOS etc. and it also suports other programming languages also. While developing errors can be detected very quickly

Cons

I don't really have much negatives to come with but at times it takes long time to load and also covers lot of memory. And I suggest that it need to improve with custom formatting so that codes can be edited. Otherwise it is one of the best platform for java development.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Apache Netbeans: the best Java open-source IDE

Reviewed 4 months ago

Very good experience and this is why I used Netbeans in my everyday Java development work.

Pros

The code autocompletion and dynamic generation features

Cons

It is relatively slow compared to other popular IDE's such as Microsoft Visual Studio.Net.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best IDE for Java

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use it for some projects that require components that interacts with legacy databases or unix based systems , i build web services to be deployed in cross platforms environments and NetBeans makes it simple

Pros

Is a complete IDE that allows you to configure most part of it , very easy to use and it manage the full JEE in a easy visual way . Is multiplatform so the team can use any OS they want and still make use of the IDE and collaborate . I use it since the early versions and i saw it survive because of his ability to integrate new features without loosing performance or simplicity

Cons

Sometimes all the features are overwelming for the new programmers

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Dynamy coding with Neatbeans

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Independent of OS ( as it supports windows, linux, Macintosh etc ) Supports wide range of computer programming languages. Open source software. Application development at more precise level User friendly

Cons

Gain more memory, which makes it a bit slow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great IDE

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, can be used with a lot of languages , has a lot of plugins

Cons

Some plugins are missing, the autoformat functionnality does not always work and there is no support for php 7.1+ version or ES6 javascript syntax

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

awesome IDE

Reviewed 4 years ago

Featured pack IDE, lifesaver for developers :)

Pros

1) Git integration 2) functional and class tracking 3) Good Error reporting

Cons

1) Sometime slow 2) Get hangs when large files are open 3) Scaning for external changes takes too long

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Good IDE

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall experience was good.

Pros

I believe It's the easiest IDE available for beginners, I have used this in the earlier phase of my career..the best things is it's simplicity.

Cons

Takes time in debugging or hangs in between.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Famous open source IDE for the Software Development.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I'm a active user of NetBeans during the last 7-8 Years. My overall experience about Netbeans is really good. If you are working with Java or PHP this is one of the best IDEs in current market. It is supported for Standalone application as well as web applications too.

Pros

I'm using NetBeans IDE for JavaSE and EJB development from my university time.It is really easy to install and open source IDE. NetBeans supports multiple programing languages.It shows compilation errors during the programing time. We can easily integrate it with Github. NetBeans allows to do front-end programming as well as back-end programming too.

Cons

Netbeans is heavier IDE when we comparing the other IDEs. It consumes lot of memory. You will feel bit slow if you are using a older machine.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best IDE for create software applications

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is the best IDE for beginners. It was really helpful for improving my programming knowledge.

Pros

Apache Netbeans is the most suitable application for java developers. It is easy to use for beginners. It was really helpful for my java projects in university life. It has various features for the users and very easy to write codes. It supports more than one language. More inbuild functions help us to write perfect and clean code.

Cons

It takes a little bit of time to open the large files. Also, it is good for small projects. It supports limited functions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Netbeans IDE

Reviewed 4 years ago

Customization of existing Java projects to suit customers

Pros

Proper and hassle-free setup, extensive documentation, all needed extensions, adequate support

Cons

Difficult for New-Comers, needs a guiding hand

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review for Apache NetBeans

Reviewed 3 years ago

I feel a personal attachment with Netbeans because this was technically the first software that I used to code with. But I think the developers should put a little more work into making it faster and more efficient.

Pros

I like the fact that it's great for anyone who has just started programming. It features a lot of Java functionalities and has a very detailed library.

Cons

It is slow. I was coding in front of someone who uses another software and he compared NetBeans with an old person. It could definitely be made sleeker and just more updated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good IDE for developers

Reviewed a year ago

A decent IDE platform which is good to use and very efficient in debugging

Pros

Its ease of use and its suitable for developers of different levels that is from amateurs to pros. It is relatively fast in loading

Cons

Too many configurations needed and the price is a bit high

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The best out of the box

Reviewed 3 years ago

I’ve used Netbeans on my first Java experiences, and it was a good companion to learn the language, no setup hassle and painful JDK installation experiences. It just worked!

Pros

It just works, out of the box it’s the best Java experience I’ve had, no hassles on any configuration! For learning the language while it not being too heavy on the system it’s something I really enjoyed while using it. It also has a debugger which isn’t frustating to use, has other IDE’s have.

Cons

Theming could be improved, as well as font rendering.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

all in one

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use netbeans at works and at home. I really enjoy it

Pros

This is a very good software for programming in JAva, J2EE, PHP, HTML, SQL, JS. The IDE for debugging Java is very useful

Cons

I try to develop apps for androis and iOS and I think this can be improved a little.