Travis CI Reviews

Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

4.65/5 (20 reviews)

Tamseel Abbas

Travis CI is great automation tool is easy to configure and run.

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-10-12
Review Source: Capterra

We have used Travis ci for automation of code building, testing and deployment. Travis CI is one of the top continuous integration and continuous delivery tool available in the market. We usually use Travis CI for medium scale projects because it easy to use, few minutes of configure is needed comparative to Jenkins which require skilled professional to configure it. We have used it for test projects as it is free for public projects. Travis Ci is good for small to medium scale projects, which doesn’t require much of the customization or less complex projects. Travis CI is also good for public and open source projects because it provides free tier for public projects. It’s easy to use, you don’t need any professional skill to set it up.

Pros
Great thing about Travis CI is it’s easy to use, easy to configure and start running it, you can easily integrate GitHub account and whenever you push your code its integrated and tested on Travis CI. Travis CI doesn’t need hosting server to run it unlike Jenkins which require hosting server. For public projects you don’t have to pay, its free to use for you test and open source projects. Testing on different environment, devices, OS is optimized and run synchronously. You don’t have to maintain software updates for Travis CI unlike Jenkins. It is fast for testing code on different environment by having different jobs like you can have separate job for unit testing and separate jobs for integration testing.

Cons
Travis CI doesn’t have that much flexibility respect to customization as compare to Jenkins. Integration with third-party tools is not too much which reduces it flexibility. You code is accessible to Travis CI which is not good for most sensitive projects. You must pay for private projects as comparative to Jenkins which is free for private projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Elliott Landsborough

Really simple to use continuous integration.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
We use it to run php unit tests whenever we commit code to a repository. All we have to do is include a file in the root of the project and enable the project in the travis interface. Takes less than 5 minutes to set up fully automated unit testing. Much more easy than setting up your own CI pipeline with the huge amount of different apps that exists. Generous free tier.

Cons
Can be slow at times, documentation can on occasion be more minimal than I would like. As a developer you get used to this though, there are always loads of examples online.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Bruce Becker

Powerful, free and easy DevOps

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-03
Review Source: Capterra

Travis hasn't let me down yet. This services handles more than 90% of our builds.

Pros
Travis does a few things really well: 1. Documentation - the documentation is extensive and complete, and one never has the feeling that there are "hidden features" that only the power users know about. 2. Speed - waiting for more than a few seconds for a build to start is extremely rare. 3. Deploy integrations - builds can be deployed to a set of services easily. This is probably the easiest way to set up continuous deployment if you're on a tight budget.

Cons
The build environment can be somewhat restrictive, forcing one to choose language-specific base images and not giving access to the underlying VM.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Samwel Opiyo

Travis CI Review

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-30
Review Source: Capterra

I have only used Travis CI on Github repositories so I am not sure how it works with other code hosting providers. In Github, It works like a charm.

Pros
Travis CI is easy to use, it has a nice and easy user interface that gets you started quickly. Travis CI is well documented which makes onboarding easy. Some of my associates thought that when you have private repositories, you have to pay to use it. I have been using it with my private repositories. If before you had to pay, now things have changed. It would be nice to help support the product though so that development can go on. The servers also require funds to run.

Cons
Everything is perfect as per now. I have not come across any issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Anonymous

Travis CI is the Godfather of CI

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
For some reason Travis CI seems like the Godfather of CI even though it popped up at the same time as the others. I think this is because they aggressively had a bot add testing to open source projects, and it seemed to work.

Cons
For the price even though Travis CI is great its a little expensive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Anonymous

The long-standing king of open source CI/CD... but will it last?

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Been using Travis-CI for about 8 years now, and it's always reliably hosted my OSS projects.

Cons
Now with new ownership we've been seeing more downtime. Hope they can keep it afloat!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Anonymous

An awesome tool to handle autmatic testing with Github

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-04-23
Review Source: Capterra

overall a great tool for running CI tests automatically.

Pros
Remove the manual work in running tests before merging code. Also it's scalable to multiple branches and developers. And it give viability on how the build is broken if any issues arise.

Cons
1. A bit slow comparing to running the tests on local machine. 2. Have a verbose limitation of 4MB.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Anonymous

Complex testing tool

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The free version have a good result and usability

Cons
Somtimes it's hard to configure the test suite

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Bruce Elbert Bigirwenkya

Most powerful testing automation tool I've used

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
One of the most amazing tools I've ever used. It automates you testing and integration of your application and instantly notifies you when there are errors.

Cons
The build notifications to email can accumulate so much in your inbox. And the support for new users is not that good.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Suzyo Nyirenda

favorite auto builder

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-04-15
Review Source: Capterra

it auto builds my software's making it easy and convenient for me to start testing immediately

Pros
its easy to use, super fast and automated

Cons
i failed to understand the documentation first time i started using it

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Anonymous

Great option for testing - particularly for open source

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I have used Travis CI for open source software development for quite a while, and always found it to be reliable and easy to set up. The container-based approach makes the testing quick and repeatable, and the UI makes it very to see where your issues are. It also has brilliant integration with github, so that pull requests and branches can be tested independently, and results are shown right in the github UI.

Cons
I've wanted to trial this in a commercial environment, and was disappointed by the lack of a free private tier to get started.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Karen Galstyan

Best CI for OpenSource

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-18
Review Source: Capterra

I am using Travis for my open source project and I am very satisfied with this product.

Pros
Free for open source repositories. Easy to integrate status checks for pull requests. One time integration.

Cons
Sometimes build time takes too long. User interface is not the best but it is ok when you have integrated it into your GitHub repository(because you never go there anymore :) )

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Anonymous

Very easy to get started and free for open source projects.

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
This is probably the easiest CI platform to get started with. With very little configuration, you can create a nice CI/CD pipeline. It also supports a build matrix feature, which makes it easy to run tests with different configurations.

Cons
If you need to do some really custom builds, you are limited by Travis CI's configuration options.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Thembo Charles Lwanga

The best tool I've used for setting up automated tests

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-06-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
One of the best tools to integrate with github. Automatically runs you test suites everytime you push changes to your repository

Cons
The documentations is not clear on how to set up the travis.yaml file. My first time using the tool, took a long time to figure out the configurations

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Anonymous

Very Good

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The main advantage is the ease of configuration and operation. If time to market is a priority it is an excellent choice.

Cons
Has cheaper or more complete options, worth looking at options like Circle CI and Jenkins

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

James Francis Kisuule

Code testing has never been easier

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-05-16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It is the first CI I used and did wonders for me. It is open source and easy to configure

Cons
I haven't figured put how to disable the email notification which can really build up in your inbox

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Dennis Le

Travis CI is Awesome

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-08-03
Review Source: Capterra

Travis CI is great, it's reliable, it's powerful. This will improve the development experience tenfolds if you don't already use a CI system prior.

Pros
It's fairly straightforward to get up and running if you've used similar CI platforms. It's got great UI, it's got lots of features, and it's reliable. Travis CI doesn't face a lot of downtime.

Cons
It may be daunting to setup and configure, there's a lot to Travis, and if you want a very specific configuration, you may end up spending days or weeks getting it right.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Augusto Zanellato

The easiest (yet powerful) CI service

Used weekly for free trial
Reviewed 2019-04-03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ease of use All the functionality you would expect for a CI tool Github integration

Cons
You have to be premium to add Travis to a private github repository

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Rita Namono

Travis C.I

Used monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-06-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Travis CI automates the test process and makes test driven development so much more comprehensive and intuitive. Integration with github is unlike anything I have used before

Cons
Travis C.I was a little challenging to use at first because the documentation is not very clear and there is little youtube content to guide new users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes

Carlos Guevara

A fine Continuous Integration tool

Used monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Good amount of configurations. Easy to use. Free for small Projects.

Cons
Not so many room for customization. Enterprise is a little bit pricey (not that high, but high).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Travis CI

Platform for testing and deploying codes