This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

ACTIVE Camps vs Sawyer Comparison

Add to Compare

Compare similar apps

RMS Cloud logo

RMS Cloud

4.4

Regpack logo

Regpack

4.4

Playbook logo

Playbook

4.9

Bookeo logo

Bookeo

4.4

Bookinglayer logo

Bookinglayer

4.7

CampMinder logo

CampMinder

4.7

Good recommendations?

Overview

ACTIVE Camp Manager is a camp management solution designed to help camp organizers manage & market camp programs as well...

Category Leaders

Simple class registration tools built by parents for educators. Our software makes it easy to process payments, customize...

  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials
  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials

Video & Screenshots

Pricing

Starting from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

  • Free trial available
  • Credit cardless trial
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

Starting from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

  • Free trial available
  • Credit cardless trial
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

User reviews

4.7

56

5

4

3

2

1

43

8

4

1

0

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
86%
would recommend this app

4.6

248

5

4

3

2

1

165

64

14

2

3

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
93%
would recommend this app

Pros

I have been with active for over 12 years, I love their customer service, their software, and their dedication to bringing healthy lifestyles to people all over. It's a wonderful company.

LH

Lindsay H.

The support from Active employees as well as the user friendly software. The initial walk thru and set up with a capable instructor from Active was key to our success.

MW

Melissa W.

We have used Active for our camps programs for many years, and are very pleased with its functionality, reliability, speed and support.

CS

Charles S.

Pros

Customer service is very responsive and friendly. Color scheme/design of software is nice.

MT

Morgan T.

Love the comprehensive scheduling capabilities and the way it works with my website.

GA

Genie A.

I love their prompt replies to help requests. They are easy to work with and overall the platform is easy to use.

SM

Sofia M.

Cons

They did not complete our set up until the day before it went live- which was completely ridiculous.

SZ

S. Z.

The pop up adds have bothered some of our customers.

BJ

Benjamin J.

The problem is they don't want to send you the registration money. My first remittance payment wasn't sent and I had to bring it to there attention.

JF

John F.

Cons

I am confused as to why we have to set up an activity AND a camp or semester.

FM

Fonda M.

The reports that you are able to run are useless. Parents should be able to register and select check or homeschool funds.

JB

Jaimee B.

I noticed that, when I added a few more weeks to an existing semester, a few random classes were displayed as cancelled. This happened immediately after I added the weeks.

FJ

Freny J.

  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last reviewa month ago
  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last review2 months ago

Key features

  • Total features28
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Activity Management
  • Activity Tracking
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Attendance Management
  • Attendance Tracking
  • Attendee Tracking
  • Automated Scheduling
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Blended Learning
  • Booking Management
  • Built-in LMS
  • Calendar Management
  • Calendar Sync
  • Class Management
  • Class Registration
  • Class Scheduling
  • Client Management
  • Client Portal
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Communication Management
  • Communications Management
  • Contact Database
  • Contact Management
  • Costume Management
  • Course Management
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer Database
  • Customer Management
  • Customizable Fields
  • Customizable Forms
  • Customizable Reports
  • Data Import/Export
  • Discount Management
  • Document Storage
  • Electronic Payments
  • Email Templates
  • Employee Management
  • Enrollment Confirmation
  • Enrollments/Onboarding
  • Event Calendar
  • Event Management
  • Event Registration
  • Event Scheduling
  • Faculty/Staff Management
  • Financial Analysis
  • For Classroom
  • For Labs
  • For Summer Camps
  • Forms Management
  • Group Registration
  • Immunization & Allergy Tracking
  • Independent/Private
  • Instructor Management
  • K-12
  • Live Chat
  • Marketing Automation
  • Member Database
  • Multi-Location
  • Multiple User Accounts
  • Online Booking
  • Online Calendar
  • Online Forms
  • Online Payments
  • Online Registration
  • Onsite Registration
  • Parent Portal
  • Parent/Student Portal
  • Payment Processing
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Program Management
  • Promotions Management
  • Real Time Analytics
  • Real Time Data
  • Real Time Reporting
  • Recurring/Subscription Billing
  • Refund Management
  • Registration Management
  • Reminders
  • Remote Access/Control
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Role-Based Permissions
  • Sales Reports
  • Scheduling
  • Search/Filter
  • Self Service Portal
  • Staff Management
  • Student Information/Records
  • Student Management
  • Summary Reports
  • Surveys & Feedback
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Transaction History
  • Wait List Management
  • Website Integration
  • Total features97
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Activity Management
  • Activity Tracking
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Attendance Management
  • Attendance Tracking
  • Attendee Tracking
  • Automated Scheduling
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Blended Learning
  • Booking Management
  • Built-in LMS
  • Calendar Management
  • Calendar Sync
  • Class Management
  • Class Registration
  • Class Scheduling
  • Client Management
  • Client Portal
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Communication Management
  • Communications Management
  • Contact Database
  • Contact Management
  • Costume Management
  • Course Management
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer Database
  • Customer Management
  • Customizable Fields
  • Customizable Forms
  • Customizable Reports
  • Data Import/Export
  • Discount Management
  • Document Storage
  • Electronic Payments
  • Email Templates
  • Employee Management
  • Enrollment Confirmation
  • Enrollments/Onboarding
  • Event Calendar
  • Event Management
  • Event Registration
  • Event Scheduling
  • Faculty/Staff Management
  • Financial Analysis
  • For Classroom
  • For Labs
  • For Summer Camps
  • Forms Management
  • Group Registration
  • Immunization & Allergy Tracking
  • Independent/Private
  • Instructor Management
  • K-12
  • Live Chat
  • Marketing Automation
  • Member Database
  • Multi-Location
  • Multiple User Accounts
  • Online Booking
  • Online Calendar
  • Online Forms
  • Online Payments
  • Online Registration
  • Onsite Registration
  • Parent Portal
  • Parent/Student Portal
  • Payment Processing
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Program Management
  • Promotions Management
  • Real Time Analytics
  • Real Time Data
  • Real Time Reporting
  • Recurring/Subscription Billing
  • Refund Management
  • Registration Management
  • Reminders
  • Remote Access/Control
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Role-Based Permissions
  • Sales Reports
  • Scheduling
  • Search/Filter
  • Self Service Portal
  • Staff Management
  • Student Information/Records
  • Student Management
  • Summary Reports
  • Surveys & Feedback
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Transaction History
  • Wait List Management
  • Website Integration

Integrations

  • Total integrationsN/A
  • Authorize.Net
  • CANVAS
  • GoTo Meeting
  • Google Analytics 360
  • Google Calendar
  • Google Classroom
  • Google Drive
  • Google Workspace
  • Mailchimp
  • Meta for Business
  • Microsoft 365
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • Microsoft Teams
  • Moodle
  • PayPal
  • Salesforce Sales Cloud
  • Stripe
  • WordPress
  • Zapier
  • Zoom Meetings
  • Total integrations9
  • Authorize.Net
  • CANVAS
  • GoTo Meeting
  • Google Analytics 360
  • Google Calendar
  • Google Classroom
  • Google Drive
  • Google Workspace
  • Mailchimp
  • Meta for Business
  • Microsoft 365
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • Microsoft Teams
  • Moodle
  • PayPal
  • Salesforce Sales Cloud
  • Stripe
  • WordPress
  • Zapier
  • Zoom Meetings

User reviews that mention these apps

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Not perfect for what I need, but useable.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like how it looks on my website. The staff are very quick to respond when there is an issue. I like the reports and spreadsheets.

Cons

Not quite designed for summer camps. Better for people who offer lesson, which I don't.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Love Sawyer

Reviewed a year ago

Amazing! Sawyer is the best POS I've used for working with children. I'm looking forward to the expansion of the Zapier add-on to automate communications to clients. Customer service is also very responsive and always helpful.

Pros

The software is super easy to use and provides an easy setup for camps, classes, and events!

Cons

Some features like birthday parties and appointments need a little more versatility and ease. I find it easier for customers to only have one step in registering versus multi steps. It would be great to have functionality on the admin side to complete certain orders.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

LOVE Sawyer, huge improvement over MindBody

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Sawyer's customer service is stellar, they always respond quickly and usually are able to address the issue within a day or so. The interface is user-friendly, both on the admin backside as well as for the parents looking for classes. I appreciate that it looks good embedded in my website, and that each activity has an option of a direct link.

Cons

There are a few spots where I can't customize as much as I need. Particularly around summer camps.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Sawyer should be the "GO TO" software for running summer camps and classes

Reviewed a year ago

Being brand new to teaching summer camps and kids' classes I am grateful to have found Sawyer. They help me to present my brand professionally and they are affordable.

Pros

It's very easy to use and minimal learning curve. I launched a summer camp for kids and was figuring it out as I went. Sawyer made that easier for me because they had everything in place already including things I hadn't even thought of. Sawyer had all the features I needed and they continue to add more, especially when the pandemic hit and businesses needed to pivot to online classes. Their onboarding couldn't have been easier. Their front-end AND back-end interfaces are modern and "Apple-like" making it easy for me as well as users. The other softwares I tested were outdated and extremely clunky. Their customer service is very helpful.

Cons

I've used the software for going on 2 summers now and I cannot think of anything I don't like. Oh, I wish I was able to embed my Registration page on my website myself but Saywer does it quickly so really not a big deal to me.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Hands down absolutely been a positive change for my business as well something to offer my clients.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Able to stay more organized with our offerings in more way than one. As well have an up to safe data base. Truly I can go on and on.

Pros

The simple process and viewing for the families (clients) to sign up for our offerings. Also love that I'm able to have all the information for the camps and classes imported into excel!

Cons

All the clicking here then here to set up a class that will be offered. I'm sure once I get more used to it might be easier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Makes my Life so Much Easier and my Business Organized

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

I like the organized dashboard. I can see the calendar of my week of classes, and I can set up registration for future classes. I can pull info from previous camps, events, etc.

Cons

I can't think of anything except: I wish it was easier for my customers to switch from "semesters" to "camps/events." When I list something under camp/events tab, I have to explain it a lot to customers how to get there on my enrollment page.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

The staff is amazing! Any questions I have they quickly help me.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Ease for our families to purchase multiple classes.

Pros

I love how families can purchase more than one class. I love how it adds a professional look and experience for families.

Cons

I wish we had more options for personalizing the layout. For example we don't have camps and call our events Pop-Ups so we had a few families confused on where to look.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

This is a great product!

Reviewed 3 years ago

overall we have been very happy with our experience with Sawyer. It has really made managing our workshops much easier.

Pros

This is the first product we found to have all the functions that we wanted in one place. Easy to set up new classes and workshops. Easy to access class rosters, and communicate with students in the class. It makes registering for our workshops very easy on the customer side.

Cons

We would like to be able to add multiple photos to a listing. Because the software is geared towards classes and camps for children some of our clients are confused at first because we primarily have adult classes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Quality integrated software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I found the site easy to use and integrate into my site. The folks at Sawyer are super friendly and helpful.

Cons

I wish I could integrate it into a schedule/ calendar but haven’t tried to expand my site so may be me. Also, when I want to do one time drop in classes, they fall under camps/ events, making it hard for some folks to find.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Good with potential to get better

Reviewed 3 years ago

Every time I have a question it is answered but the answer is usually, "we are working on that function - stay tuned!".

Pros

I thought it was beautiful to use and look at and loved the design. I enjoyed the initial on boarding experience.

Cons

The software caters to companies that run camps and week long events for kids but it doesn't have options to view rosters and add kids in that way which has caused a lot of confusion and work for me this season.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Great Solution to Online Registration using Credit Card

Reviewed 3 years ago

Super experience, company has strong leadership and support communicates quickly and clearly. Willing to help me when priority requests made on using special features of the Sawyer Tool. I'd high recommend Sawyer Tools to any organization taking online registration for classes, events, camps, etc.

Pros

Cloud based, handles all sorts of online registration for educational programs; super support to set up and onboard; affordable; terrific support team; growing company --> adding new features to help me with online registration, class management

Cons

no training videos. Training videos on on-boarding, intro features, advanced features and troubleshooting would be helpful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Love the comprehensive scheduling capabilities and the way it works with my website.

Reviewed a year ago

From the start I have loved using Sawyer because it's complex yet easy to figure out. And, the company has adapted so much to Covid and feedback.

Pros

That I can see clearly my schedule for the day, week or month, and plan. That I have all my clients info safely in the system and do not need a separate system in my space.

Cons

Some of the features are hard for clients to find like switching from classes to camps. Also I wish I got notifications for products like when a party request comes in like I get a notification when someone gets off the waitlist.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Brava to Sawyer!

Reviewed a year ago

Great experience! Brava!

Pros

Easy to set up. Easy to have individual functionality / details for variety of end services (can set different price-points, days, add-ons, discounts, etc for various camps, classes, events -- while also building on common components like activity-description). Integration into website is great. Customer service excellent and continued improvements much valued. Marketplace exposure is great!

Cons

The bookings / orders feature is a little limited in not displaying current enrolled activities for families who have made changes to their registrations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Sawyer Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are solving are registration process by using Sawyer. Originally, we were using about 6 different spreadsheets that were all complicated on their own level. Because of this, the registration process became very lengthy because parents couldn't register on their own but instead, they had to register with me, an individual, and would have to wait for a process to be completed in order to move forward with registration. This became extremely difficult because one individual registering over 500+ students is not an easy task.

Pros

I like how easy it is to manage and use. Our clients seem to enjoy it as well since it allows them a lot of accessibility and privacy especially when registering. I also appreciate all of the options that we can do for creating camps and classes. Overall, there are a lot of options that we can do for our programs now that we have Sawyer.

Cons

Because of how easy the program is to use, there are some options that we would appreciate having but do not have yet. For one, it would be nice to have the ability to send out receipts to clients on the financials page if we were to increase their balance or charge them through there. It would also be nice to have a notes section on the financials page so that our accountant and I don't have to look...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Chefsville

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am still developing our relationship with Sawyer. Can't say that I am able to give any fair opinion of the overall experience at this time.

Pros

Its ease of use. Many concepts make sense. To be able to assign teachers and increase parent communication. *** Please add ability to attach files *** and please *** update your form software for custom forms - it is terrible right now ***

Cons

This summer Chefsville had over 30 camps. The normal training schedule for Sawyer didn't allow for us being out working those camps so getting trained was twice as hard for Mollie. We actually had to test, play and figure it out until she advised us and we could follow. I still have no idea of what an acknowledgement/registration confirmation e-mail looks like and have customers calling me asking...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Sawyer site

Reviewed 4 years ago

We love working with Sawyer! They have been so helpful and patient with us- going through all the various steps of setting up etc. We are very thankful for their readiness to step in when needed. Thank you Sawyer!

Pros

I liked the accessibility of the ‘tools ‘ for vendors such as we and how it was separate from the main Sawyer site.

Cons

Not as clear when trying to set up classes or camps etc. I had to go through many steps in order to set up, input forms etc. it got very confusing at times. Also on the main site I wish there was a search engine so that users could directly go to the class they wanted, or get selected categories instead it going through the motion of looking for type, then area etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Sawyer logo

Sawyer

Didn’t work for us

Reviewed 5 months ago

My overall experience was not good. The learning curve was too long and steep. And that wasn’t completely the fault of Sawyer. I took over, rather I was thrown head first into, running the barn. So nothing had been defined. I had to define every aspect of the program and the same time as I was hiring people and learning the business. Now that I have been running the business for a year, I am more comfortable with it but Sawyer still wouldn’t be the best option for us. I also had a lot of trouble getting help.

Pros

I didn’t like anything about it. I liked the “promise” that it could be amazing. But the implementation was too cumbersome for us

Cons

It was confusing, it wasn’t self explanatory. It was cumbersome. Setting up new classes and camps for a new “semester” was tedious. There was no option to do the same as the current semester and change the dates. I think this was the biggest draw back for me. My classes are the same from semester to semester, so to have to enter them all manually each time was a huge pain in the ass.

Vendor response

Hi Kristin, I'm sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with Sawyer. Being thrown into an experience, as it seems like you were, is never easy especially learning new software. I know our team tried working with you directly to remedy these issues but ultimately you made the decision to cancel your services in August 2021. We would love another opportunity to support your needs and hope you give us a chance to improve your experience working with Sawyer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support