App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Alma SIS Logo

Empower progress. Spark potential. www.getalma.com

(21)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Alma SIS Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


298 reviews

Recommended

M(
AvatarImg

Martha (Sandy) C.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Customer support is immediately available-this is a reliable aspect of Alma and the reason I recomme

Reviewed 6 years ago

Excellent management of student information - excellence in parent communication through Alma.

Pros

Wide variety of features and uses - also, the immediacy of customer support - when we have suggested the need for new features, these options have been added

Cons

Occasional shut-downs due to updates - otherwise, I don't really think of aspects that I don't like. Our past experience with RenWeb was negative, so Alma is comparatively flawless.

ED
AvatarImg

Elizabeth D.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CTA

Reviewed 6 years ago

Excellent. This is our 4th year with Alma. They've added so many features, making it better and better.

Pros

The Interface is highly intuitive and easy to figure out.

Cons

The problems I've had were that they let us purchase features that weren't actually ready. I think it wasn't fair, and it ended up creating problems, and Alma never apologizes or admits that they weren't ready. A few features don't make sense for us, and they're not customizable.

AV
AvatarImg

Alicia V.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

annoying

Reviewed 6 years ago

None

Pros

When logging it you can do that with ease. It is easy enough to switch to different classes in the program.

Cons

It won't let you break up assignments into different categories other than what is listed like classwork and exam. It isn't always easy to use and if a student disappears and reappears everything is lost from them. Sometimes it doesn't save what you have put in for a grade.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts! In each class, we have default assignment types. However, not every teacher uses the same terminology. Therefore, we allow you to edit the default types or add custom ones via the "settings" tab within your class. You can even have different assignment types for every term! If you are getting stuck, we highly encourage you to message us through the app. We will address your issue on the spot!

JD
AvatarImg

Jennifer D.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

From a teacher

Reviewed a year ago

It is an effective tool for keeping and accessing records, communicating with students and teachers, and recording grades.

Pros

Features are intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

It is unclear how emails sent with the software will appear to recipients. For instance, sometimes Alma automatically adds a greeting/opening so the message ends up having an automated greeting and the one that I write.

MP
AvatarImg

Mathew P.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Change is never easy!

Reviewed 4 years ago

The Alma staff have been terrific to work with. They reply when contacted and they get answers when we ask for them.

Pros

This product is very user oriented compared to many competitors that evolved from data.

Cons

They are new to Illinois and a lot of the state reports and other needed reports are being developed as we need them in this first year.

DT
AvatarImg

David T.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intuitive and Efficient Student Information System

Reviewed 3 years ago

Despite some minor issues, I really like using ALMA - it is the best student information system I've used (PowerSchool, Infinite Campus, several others)

Pros

ALMA does everything - attendance, grading, assignments - information is easy to input and update. I haven't used a system that has been so accessible and can produce such great results, especially that are easy to track and understand.

Cons

The attendance status defaults to present. This is contrary to what I do - it's easier to mark students present from a list of absent students . I need to manually change the status of every student to absent. It would be great if a link to Google Classroom would work. I have to input assignments and grades twice

CT
AvatarImg

Courtney T.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Steep Learning Curve, Responsive Customer Service

Reviewed 3 years ago

The best piece of advice I have about this product is to begin the setup process well in advance of when you need to roll it out to families, and to schedule tutorial time with customer service.

Pros

The appearance of the program is lovely, and once setup, is easy to navigate through the various tabs and functions. Easy to upload student information into, easy to access parent information when needed.

Cons

The onboarding process was very challenging, and there are many features or functions that are not as intuitive as we wished they were. After an initial challenging rollout, we have found customer service to be responsive and helpful.

KT
AvatarImg

Kenneth T.

Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Support!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Their customer service is superb. Always available and very helpful. Any requests for changes or new features they listen to and eventually do develop and implement.

Pros

The software is pretty straight forward to use. User friendly and consistently growing in its possibilities.

Cons

It isn’t tailored specifically to NY or NYC DOE systems and protocols but the system continues to adapt to better fit the needs of nyc schools.

BM
AvatarImg

Bonnie M.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use grading system

Reviewed 6 years ago

I work for a K-9 charter school and we use Alma to keep track of our student grades. I am not all that computer literate but Alma has been quite easy to learn and is capable of keeping and organizing all the information we need as a school.

Pros

Alma is easy to use with various features that make keeping track of grades easy and accessible.

Cons

It took a little bit of time to learn how to use it since it was very different from the system we had been using.

JL
AvatarImg

Janna L.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Happy we made the switch!

Reviewed 3 months ago

So far, very positive - highly recommend.

Pros

It is an intuitive student management system, and their customer service can't be beat!

Cons

We would like to get more student information entered via Alma Start to migrate to Alma SIS - I think they are working on these updates though!

jb
AvatarImg

jim b.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Nothing but problems since our school system started using it.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Nothing. Something is never right about Alma. Very complicated. Student information we needed at the beginning did not show up right.

Cons

Everything. Not easy to use. Information we need as educators does not show up sometimes. Teachers are always complaining about Alma.

Vendor response

I am sorry to hear your frustration. Change can be difficult, and while most Alma users have had positive experiences, we are continuously improving because our mission of serving educators is our life work. We have corrected any data issues your school had at the beginning of the year. I noticed you have not reached out to our support team yet. Every staff member has unlimited access to our support team so don't hesitate to reach out. There are often shortcuts or best practices which our team can easily show you. We are here to make your Alma experience better.

MF
AvatarImg

Michael F.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Super happy with Alma

Reviewed 8 years ago

Alma has been a game changer for us. As a small college-prep school with a very small administrative team, it was next to impossible for us to keep track of things like attendance and assignments on a day to day basis. We had tried other services and found them cumbersome and to have way too many features for our needs. When we implemented Alma this past summer, it was like a breath of fresh air....

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Michael, thank you so much for the kind words! We work really hard to make the platform simple and intuitive and it is great to hear that we are succeeding at that! We know how important a mobile app is and we hope to have that available over the next year. We will keep you updated!

KW
AvatarImg

Karl W.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ahead of all other competition with room to improve

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The UX and UI were engaging and somewhat easy to figure out. Visually appealing and good design.

Cons

Some functions can only be found when help was given. It takes some time to get used to it.

HW
AvatarImg

Hannah W.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome program!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great program for student records, accounts, parent information and transcripts. Alma is quickly becoming one of the best programs for schools!

Pros

Easy to figure out and work with. Awesome customer service and quick. You do not have to be technically advanced to work this program. Love the access to students, and parents and ease of access.

Cons

Would like to customize the layouts on transcripts a little more.

CH
AvatarImg

Christine H.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Happy Office Admin

Reviewed 3 years ago

Attendance is the best! Tracking our student body is simple. Also the directory for all the times we need to call parents, etc.

Pros

Alma is super easy to use. Having all the information you need in one place makes finding a student and their information quick and easy!

Cons

The reports. I am getting better at using them but they don't always seem to have what I need.

GB
AvatarImg

Galbadrakh B.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Hobby School of Ulaanbaatar

Reviewed a year ago

Create and download any reports that I wanted. That affects work easier.

Pros

Alma SIS is understandable to use and all the school management needs are included in it.

Cons

But Alma SIS doesn't match our region. Especially in the payment section. Furthermore, the time difference makes slower our connection.

GK
AvatarImg

Gary K.

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Always wishing it were better.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Good tutorials. It is relatively easy to learn. The gradebook makes it easy to keep track of assignments turned in. There is good data continuously available for class means and medians on assignments and tests. Students and parents have access to their current grades and missing assignments without having to ask teachers during class time. I wish that the attendance function did not default to "present" unless I actually mark present, and I wish that there were a way to create a seating chart that interfaced with the attendance. Most substitute teachers really appreciate an updated seating chart, easily printed.

Pros

It is easy to create and post assignments. It allows weighting of grades. Nice data summaries of grades. Being able to access school-wide student schedules and contact information is helpful.

Cons

Does not have the capability to create a seating chart for attendance. Roster printing is inefficient.

Vendor response

Hi Gary, We always want it to be better too, which is why we have teams of industry experts issuing weekly updates to Alma based on customer feedback. We're glad you find the assignment management, data summaries, and access to information helpful. Your suggestions have been logged and potential solutions are being explored.

DC
AvatarImg

Diane C.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alma SIS review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very good - Alma's support team is excellent and always willing to help

Pros

User Friendly when navigating Alma Start for pre- and post- enrollment of students Able to use in standards based grading - competency based

Cons

Reports - many are downloaded in a spreadsheet that needs adjusting to give the info we are seeking

KD
AvatarImg

Kevin D.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

edit and control the workflow with Alma

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

An app where you can edit and control the workflow as well as being a student platform.

Cons

Since it is a student information system, it would be better if it was open to personal use.

AP
AvatarImg

Adam P.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great customer service.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Though it took some time to get adjusted to a new management system, the people of Alma were always willing to listen and try to meet our needs. The best part of the system is it is continuing to grow, new features are added monthly.

Cons

The system works relatively smoothly, but there are times where I need a specific report that I cannot pull. There is a form builder beta that I am looking forward to see developed. Additionally, I would like to see a data warehouse portion of the system. One stop shopping would be nice.

KL
AvatarImg

Kaia L.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Pretty product, unusable in detail

Reviewed 2 years ago

We feel lied to and misled by bad products, bad customer service, and no options to personalize anyone. Buyer beware.

Pros

It looks pretty and professional. The student/parent side looks clean.

Cons

1. They have sold their scheduling I think to some 3rd party so none of the accessible API will allow you to access the times classes are happening. Truly a nightmare for integrations. 2. Customer service is atrocious. No one answers the phone and he text based service takes over an hour to get a copy pasted answer. Then the help person leaves and won't have a conversation with you. 3. Their reports are unusably bad. Truly nothing is in depth or customizable. This is beta software at best. 4. Nothing can be imported, everything from proficiency sets to data must be uploaded by hand one at a time, hope you like to copy and paste. 5. Admin can't do anything to set up classes. Teachers need to redo work a hundred times over.

JP
AvatarImg

Jean-Philippe F.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A killer SIS.

Reviewed 8 years ago

Every SIS should be this easy and straight forward. The team at Alma is extraordinary. The product is easy to use and efficient.

Pros

Perfect. It give you all that you need from an SIS. I mean...it really is.

Cons

Limited scope. I am Director of Technology at a private school. The system is not as robust as a Blackbuad or Veracross, yet.

Vendor response

Hi Jean-Philippe, Thank you so much! I'm so happy to hear that you find our product so easy to use. And yes, we release product updates each week so continue to let us know what types of improvements you would like to see within the system - we listen and use every bit of feedback! Kelly

BW
AvatarImg

Bob W.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alma

Reviewed 6 years ago

This past week one of my class grades was deleted accidentally by the office while in the process of grading the first trimester. Alma recovered the grades and sent them to the office the very next day.

Pros

The ease of use grading. The software allows the user to add one subject or grade to another class with just one click.

Cons

Sometimes the forms are long and hard to read on display.

JC
AvatarImg

Jessica C.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Alma Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

While the majority of the software is wonderful there are a few things that I wish were different. I do like the attendance feature and the assignment and gradebook features. My favorite part is the message board where I can send out one email to all my students and parents at once. This is a great help when doing Online Learning.

Cons

There are several things I dislike about the software. The first one is with curriculum. I would like to be able to copy the entire unit and all lessons included with that unit. I also would like to be able to pick a date to schedule the lessons, not just choose the number of days. This would make it easier to continue a lesson if I needed to spend extra time on it due to reteaching. The last thing that would be nice is if you can reopen and edit your units and corresponding lessons after you have clicked completed. This way if something was forgotten and needed to be added for the next year it is possible to add it.

SH
AvatarImg

Sara Hope J.

Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Alma is awesome

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, my experience using Alma has been very positive.

Pros

Alma is organized and easy to use. I can access it anywhere. I like it that we can generate transcripts on Alma.

Cons

I would love it if we could also keep our unit plans, standards and benchmarks on Alma.