App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Ellucian Logo

Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

see alternatives

(1)

Ellucian Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

3.6

/5

66
67%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6.65/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It is awesome to use for allowing students to track degree progress. It is simple for them to log on & see what is still needed.
It has a lot of great functions and features (when they work). Makes it easy to upload contacts into the CRM and it has a lot of customizable options.
The community that is always ready to help each other. You can reach out to hundreds of users and get answers.
The navigation makes absolutely no sense, it's is extremely hard to just register for classes and find your way to the proper information. Absolutely unintuitive and simply extremely ugly.
It's awful, but they have us trapped because no one else can compete with them. Sometimes I think it would all be easier if we just used Excel to track student records.
The company itself is the worst. Their customer service is abysmal.
How would you rate Ellucian?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


66 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

Went through a trial phase with Ellucian

Reviewed 6 months ago

Transcript

Speaker 1: Hi, my name is Chris. I'm an Assistant Director of Marketing. My rating out of one for five...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Decent, but like use improvement.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I think it could be a great software for higher education/universities. However, there are flaws and it’s not the most user friendly.

Pros

Ellucian has a lot of different capabilities and options for multiple departments to use. I like that all offices across campus can see the same information for students once it is updated by another user. It’s a one stop shop for those who work at the university, instead of each department using their own software system.

Cons

Very complicated codes to search for pages, it takes a long time to memorize them and the training for ellucian wasn’t the greatest. We struggled to get questions answered in a timely manner or correctly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Use HR module on daily basis

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

the support for Ellucian is awesome. It took a while to learn how to use Colleague but once I learned my area, it was very useful.

Cons

it's not intuitive. I wish there was a training that new employees could go to in their area to learn about the Colleague product to help understand how the change I make affects others.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

University Integration

Reviewed 4 years ago

The integration and partnership of Ellucian and Chrome River has been much needed.

Pros

Ellucian continues to find new ways to assist the universities with the many needs of the ever increasing technology needs.

Cons

Not always do you get the best "training" support, but they will always find a solution.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Worked in Ellucian at a community college

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very user friendly. Screens are very self explanatory making it easier to understand what fields need to be filled out

Cons

There is a lot of functions that cannot be changed once saved. In leaves it would be beneficial if you could delete something if it was inputted incorrectly

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Colleague by Ellucian (Student)

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

As a Colleague Support and User, the number one thing I loke about this particular software was the ease of use. It flowed easy for both users and students.

Cons

As an Admin using this software, I found that the update process was very complex and time-consuming.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It does what it's supposed to

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ellucian allows us to build a functional interface for students and faculty alike.

Cons

It breaks. A lot. Can't tell you how many times I've been doing something fairly simple and suddenly Ellucian stops working or says a page can't be displayed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Overall good customer service.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The community that is always ready to help each other. You can reach out to hundreds of users and get answers.

Cons

Upgrades can be very time consuming and complex, the reporting is not up to standard and some user functionality is not easy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ellucian

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that you can see a lot of different types of information and don't necessarily need additional software to get the job done.

Cons

It can be difficult to navigate through the different windows until you are really well versed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Not user friendly

Reviewed 4 years ago

n/a

Pros

It keeps all of our student databases, it integrates with our LMS so grades can be transferred without having to be manually typed.

Cons

The clunky look. It seriously needs to be updated to a modern, easier to use interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Improves education experience

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like how it allows users to view academic information easily. For higher education this software is greatly beneficial.

Cons

I do not like how there are times where the software is glitchy or will sign out if inactive for too long.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Difficult to use | Difficult to maintain | Expensive | Releases are poorly tested by Ellucian QA

Reviewed 4 years ago

-Business users in all departments find Banner difficult to use -Database engineers find Banner difficult to maintain -IT staff finds Banner difficult to support Banner is obsolete in the technological age we live; there are cloud finance, HCM, CRM, and student information applications which integrate well with each-other and outperform banner in nearly every category.

Pros

Customer support Is friendly and responsive.

Cons

-There is a Massive maintenance overhead -There is a need for business users to constantly watch the community for systemic issue and bug alerts -Documentation is intentionally over-complicated to encourage the purchase of Ellucian consulting -Implementation is more complicated than competitor applications due to the age of the product -Data is stored un-uniformly in 'shotgun' style in the database making migration away from banner very difficult. -There is no dashboard -- the entire user interface is a very weak showing -Self service is impossible to leverage for reliable company-wide / student-wide document delivery. -Almost no reporting capabilities are built-in; admins must instead write database queries for end users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great software!!! Easy to use and always updating?

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Lots of stuff! Love the new self service!! The innovation of Ellucian is amazing!!! They are helpful !!

Cons

Sometimes the cost are high for new products and innovations, but I understand they allot of work is done on their behalf.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Reliable and secure

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like that it is reliable and secure yet it allows me to save my password to log on. Some sites are so secure they do not allow it and it makes it frustrating to sign in and out multiple times.

Cons

There are times when the system is down due to maintenance. That is only because my university will perform updates at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Program, has everything I need to get my job done.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Ability to store a lot of information

Pros

I like the search capability and ease to look up any entity. I also like the ability to have all the information on an entity in one place.

Cons

Sometimes there is a lot of duplicate information, I wish there was a way to minimize that or to catch it before some information gets entered twice.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

It gets the job done

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Fully operational ERP, many different tools and options

Cons

The company itself is the worst. Their customer service is abysmal.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Ellucian Colleague

Reviewed 4 years ago

All Student Information and tracking, payments, HR, etc.

Pros

It did pull several systems together under one umbrella

Cons

Every time I turn around, they want more resources over and above the original specs

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Better that other similar products

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

the ability to see all the course work, history, current, gpa's, holds, etc at one place

Cons

still isn't always correct, some courses show up in places where they don't belong

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Started out as a great idea, but functionality is horrible.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Visually appealing and the user interface is easy to use and navigate through tabs. A nice face lift from the older interface.

Cons

The program is so slow. When you're trying to do multiple processes a day, the waiting adds up. Sometimes I will wait a whole minute to wait for a process to execute, very frustrating.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Recruit

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Implementation of Recruit allowed us to upload applications from a csv file. Our previous software did not have this capability.

Cons

It doesn't work as well as ellucian told us it would. The functionality and communication to our CMS does not work well. The implementation also took much longer than expected.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for students

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ellucian powers institutions with technology and services to help students like me to achieve these goals.

Pros

This software is one of the most useful software that I have gone though. It helps me a lot in finding scholarship oppartunities.

Cons

I did not find many cons on this software but if I want to say one this is quite expensive not user-friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ellucian in higher ed

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love the product & love using it but wish there was more consistency in if it will work or not.

Pros

It is awesome to use for allowing students to track degree progress. It is simple for them to log on & see what is still needed.

Cons

There are a lot of bugs with this program. There is a high chance it is not working when you log on to use it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Not very user friendly and when told the system will do something, it actually will not.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is hard to say because we have had issues with getting the system to do what we need it to, but I do like that it will create a positive pay file for manual checks.

Cons

It won't do some of the basic things for financials that I as an accounts payable person feel that the system should do.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Higher Education Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I liked the fact that it could house both student and faculty information at the same time. In addition, it allowed you to input information for instructors and move them around if necessary. We used the Banner by Ellucian software and it was useful for our needs

Cons

Nothing to note. It is good for meeting the needs of an institution.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Use this for University student records, receiving payments, accounts Payables, P/R and financials.

Reviewed 5 years ago

With angst and time we get what we need from it.

Pros

Contains a lot of integrated and complex data. From Human Resources, Student Records and Services, Payroll, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable all in one softward

Cons

so NOT intuitive or user friendly. We have to have a whole IT department just overseeing the functionality of this software. Users are frustrated in each area - Payroll, Accounts Payables, Student Services... no one seems to feel the software was created for their unique purposes. We keep trying to find the department that loves it...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review of Colleague by Ellucian

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall it is a decent product. I am on the non-credit side of the school and utilize it a little less than those on the credit side, however, it is still a decent product.

Pros

It is a decent way to organize all of student data. It also allows for managing the fiances of my departments.

Cons

It takes some time to understand how to use it efficiently. I have been using it for a year and still discover different features.