Ellucian Reviews

Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

3.67/5 (88 reviews)

Anonymous

Not a good integrated solution

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-21
Review Source: Capterra

Negative, frankly. While helpful and polite, the team seems too inexperienced to be of much help. In fact, Ellucian seems to cause most of the problems themselves through self-inflicted wounds. Each update or patch implements some new ‘improvement’ that breaks most workflows and processes built for the previous version. As such, the hope to get a slight improvement ends up costing weeks of manpower to fix everything else in the test environment over and over again.

Pros
Ideally, when functional, the functionality between Ellucian products can be helpful. We use Banner and eRecruit CRM. We expected the CRM/ERP integration to be the best selling point when choosing the CRM application.

Cons
Despite being the same company, the products are not as seemless as we felt it should be. It took well over a year of implementation of the eRecruit CRM to customize it to fit with the Banner ERP. Even then, we still find issues where things are not being converted from one to the other well. One example, on the CRM, GB is the country abrieviation for the UK (Great Britain), but in the ERP, this is shown as Gabon. I’ve wasted so much time programming and converting little things like this that I find it hard to believe they were released by the same company.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Tara Freeman

Financial Aid User

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ellucian Banner is the platform that I have used at my previous and current university, while working in financial aid. I have only ever used Banner so I do not have another platform to compare it to. This system has been very beneficial in automating the processing for financial aid. I have used this program for over 7 years. All student, and employee, related information is stored in one location and necessary processing can be handled with Banner. Financially and academic based, this program has helped be the "one-stop-shop" for all information for our large student base. Banner 9 has made the screens easier to use for new users (due to acronyms) but Banner 8 was the most efficient program I have ran.

Cons
Banner 9 seems to have a lag between screens that has not yet been improved. Being web-based, it has really slowed down or processing. There are glitches that are quickly fixed but there seems to be more issues with this new Banner program than what we ever dealt with while using Banner 8.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Anonymous

University Accounting

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-28
Review Source: Capterra

Overall we are very satisfied with Ellucian. It provides our business and finance team books that are used for easy reporting and a clean UI interface.

Pros
I have been a user of Ellucian banner for over six years and have been through countless updates. The product keeps improving where I think things are already good, and is quick to address current issues. Our organization loves the fact that we can use a web based version as well. Additionally, the UI is very clean and I can understand what is affecting our balance sheet, income statement, ect., all at a quick glance. Finally, the reports that are generated from Ellucian are very helpful and make it so I can create accurate reconciliations.

Cons
The one problem we run into with Ellucian is that training to use the product is difficult. Many screens have specific acronyms to access them, which is hard for people to remember. However, they have introduced a search function that allows you to use words and it acts more like a google search, which is helpful to find what you need.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Anonymous

Outdated, Bulky SIS

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-31
Review Source: Capterra

Ellucian is the big player in the higher ed SIS market. This directly leads to complacency and a lack on innovation in their products. When Ellucian SIS works, it is a mediocre software at best. Hopefully they recognize this and improve their product.

Pros
Being a relational database, reporting out if is pretty straightforward. Querying is SQL based. The end-user and admin support community is active and very willing to help with questions and problems.

Cons
The interface is simply clunky. Archaic layouts, limited customization without large developer resources, poor technical support from Ellucian, and patches that end up breaking more than they fix are some of the many issues with Ellucian SIS. I have worked in multiple modules and all seem to be equally as bad. Admin guide documentation is present but there is a huge lack of functional documentation regarding how changes in tables affect other tables.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 3/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Kala Dunn

Decent user experience

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The updates that came with Banner 9 have made it much more user-friendly, although there's still a long way to go in this department. It has become much easier to search for various Banner forms, a feature that was lacking in previous iterations of Banner. The overall look is sleeker than the previous version and navigation within the forms has been made somewhat simpler with the reorganization of the page and inclusion of tool dropdowns.

Cons
Occasional glitches disrupt the daily workflow. Many processes are still not as intuitive as they could be, especially when it comes to entering multiple invoices with separate FOAPAL strings. There is some difficulty getting Banner to talk to other software programs. While exporting data is easier than in previous versions of Banner, some print screen attempts go better than others.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Mark Deuel

Ellucian SIS does what it is designed to do, store data in a standardized manner.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-15
Review Source: Capterra

Standardized data. Student lifecycle data storage. Central hub of data for all things related to the student, their experience, and relationships.

Pros
Easy to use and navigate. Validation tables prevent data from being entered incorrectly. Standardized data means consistent reporting outputs and expected values. Covers the entire lifecycle of the student journey so the Ellucian SIS is set up to be the storage space of all student data.

Cons
Difficult to customize and add fields to the SIS if business processes require it. Can feel overwhelming for new users to learn the system. Very limited ability for most functional users to create their own reports. Usually need to involve report writers with SQL report writing ability. Reporting on multiple areas of the student journey can be difficult when needing to see multiple screens and forms.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Cyrus Carter

Mixed Reviews

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-14
Review Source: Capterra

They are an established Higher Education software that is on the cutting edge with a lot of what they offer. The partnerships they offer with vendors seems to fall short in some cases. The support they offer for the products is generally good. But depending on the application may depend on how quickly they respond to support questions/issues.

Pros
Offers a variety of different software solutions that integrates with its ERP (Banner or Colleague). Along with a variety of ancillary applications that integrate with the ERP.

Cons
Cost would be by far the biggest issue. The second would be that as of late the company has a tendency to tout its upcoming or just released products will work but in reality it is being built and developed as the sales people speak. To be fair their established software generally works well and no complaints.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Ryan Smitt

I use this software every day for my accounting job at a major Midwest university.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-23
Review Source: Capterra

This software has allowed me to be very efficient with my work as I am able to identify any accounting issues that may arise. Additionally, the system makes it very easy to look at prior fiscal years, which is a very large benefit when our auditors are asking for that information.

Pros
This software, and the newest update, has made accounting a breeze. The financial system allows me to easily see where any reconciling item may be, and allows me reference codes so I may gather further detail. The new capability of using Chrome is a great feature as well because our entire organization is comfortable with the format.

Cons
My only con would be that on some screens I am not able to copy certain data, which requires me to manually input the data. This is a small complaint because it is minimal amounts of typing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Neisha Pander

Ellucian for Community College

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-14
Review Source: Capterra

In the beginning I had to constantly keep my list of instructions handy if I wanted to enter a requisition for a purchase order, now its easy because I've done so many. Practice makes perfect!!!!

Pros
I liked how you can add features, customize it for the needs of the institution. I work for a small college and we don't need all the extra features that the larger colleges might implement.

Cons
It can be a little difficult to navigate for the beginner. Unless the user knows what they want there is a chance of getting lost. Ive been using the software for about 4 years now and i sometimes get lost or have to search for specific information. There is no menu with a list of options. So I guess what I'm saying is that it would be nice if it was more user friendly, easier to navigate.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Justin Nagel

Banner Finance - A Highly Functional Financial Tool for Higher Education

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-16
Review Source: Capterra

Our overall experience with Banner Finance has been very positive. We are able to generate quarterly and annual financial reports that our auditors and finance staff can work with and drill down on to get detail behind the figures.

Pros
Banner Finance offers a lot of great functionality but what I liked most about the finance platform was its ability to interface between six campuses with Banner Student to communicate tuition payments and student receivables with our system financial system and update all as though they were one.

Cons
Because this financial platform is so big, when we have experienced problems with Banner, it has caused debilitating shutdowns that grind our finance and accoutning system to a halt and users are on standby until we can get traffic started again.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Mike Johnson

Colleague as an ERP

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2016-10-15
Review Source: Capterra

Colleague is an overall great product. Ellucian has been working hard to improve Colleague's features and functionality, especially on the Self-Service platform. This work has kept them at the front edge of innovation with responsive design that allows your constituents serve themselves from any device. This takes pressure off of administrative staff so they can focus on quality support to your students. Ellucian does a good job at being connected to their customers and understanding the constantly changing needs in the academic world. They hold focus groups, beta testing groups to allow the engaged community of customers to provide input, and it shows in the quality of the newer products they have created.

Pros
Mobile friendly self service Integration through Ellucian XE Active user community on Ellucian's eCommunities social media platform

Cons
Reporting. Expect to spend money on a reporting tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Anonymous

Banner is a fantastic data management tool.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It's a rock-solid application that you can count on. That in and of itself is a huge deal. It works, has minimal bugs, and is the backbone of how we manage our data. When other applications are having a problem or we have a data integrity question, we often say "What is it in Banner?" because we know it will be correct there.

Cons
It can be a little scary at first to new users, which I can speak to from experience. But the new interface is definitely helping with that. I would also love to see Ellucian develop a proper higher-education CRM tool. We had to go with another vendor because we needed something more comprehensive than what Banner could offer (Application Reviewing, Events Management, etc). I think Ellucian is missing out on a huge financial opportunity and could take a massive chunk out of the Higher Ed CRM market if they were to develop one.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Timothy Sawah

Very stable software used by best higher ed. institutes

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-19
Review Source: Capterra

Ellucian Banner has provided our students and staff with a single application that manages aspects of course registration, work, bills, payments, grades, academic status. Single sign on module was extremely helpful

Pros
It is a high-end software. Very stable. It integrates with the Microsoft LDAP. We have been using it for student and employee account management in term of course registration, tax forms, billing, salaries, student employment, grading, transcripts. It has very secure and solid database which is essential for the above mentioned matters.

Cons
Managing it requires training. It is not easy to administer. The price is very high compared to competing software in the higher education sector.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Cassaundra Lindberg

Literally the Worst

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-06
Review Source: Capterra

On top of clunky, unreliable system is a virtually non-existent customer service/support team. You can post/reference questions to/by other users, but other than that you basically just get the 900 page technical manual and have to figure it out yourself. If you have a home-grown system and are considering making the switch to Ellucian--don't! Just wait a couple years for another company, like Workday, to develop a SIS that makes sense. Ellucian is a dinosaur.

Pros
When Ellucian's products were first released--decades ago--they were cutting edge. Banner, their SIS (Student Information System) quickly became the industry standard for enterprise databases on college campuses which transformed the way higher education leaders use data to make informed decisions. Their products continue to be effective for large universities that have every module of Banner installed, i.e. have their entire campus from registrar to bursar to admissions running on an Ellucian solution. When used "out-of-the-box" it does its job, not easily or beautifully, but gets it done.

Cons
It's as if Ellucian (and their strongest competitor PeopleSoft) got comfortable once they dominated the market and just stopped trying to make the actual user experience better. They put on large, fancy conferences and have great branding, but using their systems is a NIGHTMARE. A different programmer designed every form/screen/section so they all function differently. Where two clicks should do, fourteen are required. The bugs far outweigh the features. Something breaks more often than it doesn't. It's awful, but they have us trapped because no one else can compete with them. Sometimes I think it would all be easier if we just used Excel to track student records! Since our school implemented Ellucian products 5 years ago, to the tune of millions of dollars, we've had to add 2 new positions in our office just to handle the tech components. And don't even get me started on what happens when you attempt to customize their products. Endless headaches.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Anonymous

Access your university from your pc

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-03
Review Source: Capterra

I have used this system when I was a professor assistant and student

Pros
This product provides a learning management system which makes the jobs easier for students and the professors. Students can easly check their duties and see their activities on this system and professors can easily manage their classes easily.

Cons
If there are a lot of students dont buy this software, during the peak times it makes lots of bottleneck and managing the problem is not that easy always some problem appears if some administrative user did something wrong. The money you pay and the service you have dont compensate each other

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Jacqui Geiselman

As a user can be frustrating

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-17
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I can't picture doing my job without Banner Finance, however, it can be a source of frustration too. But in the end it really is a powerful tool if you know how to use it.

Pros
As a person who uses this for work, only as a user (not an administrator) it is nice to have everything in one place and all info is presented clearly and as is. Sometimes you do need to take a few minutes or a few steps to get what you need, but its all there.

Cons
Transitioning from the last version to the latest has been cumbersome and challenging. Also, knowing the shortcuts for all forms can be like learning a new language.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Nadeem H

Banner Human Resources Module

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-05
Review Source: Capterra

This product is for higher education institutions. Ellucian is behind many competitors in this space however, it has realized this and is making positive changes in the right places.

Pros
Customer service is very good. The vendor is always willing to listen and help where they can. In addition, there is a customer portal which allows the customer to communicate with one another on issues or ideas.

Cons
My dislike is the current roadmap is very slow to achieve goals. Often release dates will be pushed out and this causes much frustration within the business that has planned to upgrade certain services.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Kathy Kraus

I work with one module for the software and they have a great network for help.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-22
Review Source: Capterra

The Ellucian software is very helpful in keeping our school on track and making it easier for the student to navigate Admissions to registration to financial aid to graduation.

Pros
Very functional and customizable to your school. We get the opportunity to let the company know what we want in the software and they usually update to meet the various schools needs. Very aware of all federal guidelines and requirements.

Cons
Training for use of the module or processes would be nice when something new is implemented. Several screens and options are usually available with short descriptions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Rebecca Beidler

Great Software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-27
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience has been great, just a few things that can get confusing or hard to do, but other than that, it is very useful for what we use it for. We keep a lot of information and this software allows us to do that.

Pros
This software allows us a great way to keep track of giving history, event information, solicitations and personal information. Also allows us to pull simple and in depth reports.

Cons
Can be a little cumbersome sometimes when you want to dive deeper. Pulling in depth reports can be confusing with continued training.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Ashley VanBemmelen

Ellucian works well as a student information system.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The software houses all of our student information and IT finds securing the database reasonable for higher education. Though Ellucian, we are able to recruit, register, and maintain financial aid records for students. Our HR office also uses it to house employee and faculty information.

Cons
Many of the screens take excessive commands to get through. There are three or four extra steps every time you want to pull a transcript, run an evaluation, or register a student for classes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Greg Kuhn

Unified ERP designed specifically for higher-ed

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Focused for higher education application. Provides fully integrated, unified database system built on Oracle platform with modules for accounting, Human Resources , financial aid, Advancement, and all aspects of student management from recruitment to admissions through to graduation and alumni relations.

Cons
Very expensive, not particularly user-friendly or intuitive, high-cost maintenance agreements, not best-in-class in any area.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Justin Gaver

Banner Finance - Higher Education Focus

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-30
Review Source: Capterra

Banner Finance allows our AP team to pull vendor data quickly and to export that information for closer review. Vendor management is a huge selling point for this software!

Pros
Banner Finance forms allow users to export into excel, which makes research easy. The vast array of available forms provide almost any data across the organization. The form search features are excellent as well!

Cons
The Banner 9 integration seems to make transitioning between forms sluggish.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Connie Taylor

Easy to use

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-04
Review Source: Capterra

We use this as our database for all alumni and friends.

Pros
It's easy to use and my favorite thing about this software is that I can enter very little info to do a search to find who I'm looking for. The possibilities are endless!

Cons
When it shows a listing of all the proposals a person has received, I have to pull each one up because there isn't anything about the listing that identifies specific ones. It's a minor irritation

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Gil Bowen

Not a registrar’s best friend

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-05
Review Source: Capterra

Ten years ago I moved from a non-Banner school to a Banner school. The transition to Ellucian’s Banner was a disappointment after using my previous institution’s software.

Pros
Ellucian’s Banner Student has the basic student records functions included. It will force higher ed administrators to change their business processes to fit the software.

Cons
I did not like the tool set (queries, printing, data loads) that come with the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 2/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education

Anonymous

Expensive and old-fashioned

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-21
Review Source: Capterra

It is a complete solution for a university management system.

Pros
One thing you can say about Banner Finance is that it is complete. It can handle whatever a university throws at it.

Cons
The interface is still forms-based, just like in the 1970s. There is a newer web-based interface, but it is just a webified version of the old forms. It could have been much better, but they are married to 50-year-old paradigms.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Ellucian

Suite of operations tools for higher education