App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Moodle LMS Logo

Moodle LMS

Free, open-source LMS for educators, admins & learners

see alternatives

(58)

Moodle LMS Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


2,897 reviews

Recommended

AB
AvatarImg

Aman B.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best student platform for higher education

Reviewed 20 days ago

Moodle is a powerful and flexible LMS that is suitable for educators and organizations.However, it has a steep learning curve and limited design options. It may also have limited mobilesupport and third-party integrations compared to other LMS platforms.

Pros

1. Open-source and customizable: Moodle is open-source software, which means that it can befreely downloaded and customized to fit the specific needs of the user.2. Large community: Moodle has a large and active community of users, developers, andeducators who share resources and provide support.3. Wide range of features: Moodle offers a wide range of features such as assignmentsubmission, gradebook, quizzes, and forums that can be used to create engaging andinteractive online learning experiences.4. Accessible: Moodle is designed to be accessible for users with disabilities and it has beendeveloped to support web accessibility standards.5. Scalable: Moodle can handle large amounts of content and users, making it suitable for largeorganizations and institutions.

Cons

1. Steep learning curve: Moodle can be complex and has a steep learning curve for new users,it may take some time to learn how to use all the features and customize it to suit yourneeds.2. Limited design options: Moodle has limited design options and it may not be as visuallyappealing as some other LMS platforms.3. Limited mobile support: While Moodle is mobile-responsive, some users have reported...

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. At Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rafal M.

Management Consulting, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Moodle has first mover advantage, but now there are many LMS that are easier to use

Reviewed 25 days ago

We used Moodle as an advanced certification platform. It has built-in features such as quiz, assignments, and course completion tracking that can be used to administer assessments and track student progress. Additionally, it was integrated with other tools such as e-signature and digital certificate provider to provide secure and verifiable certifications. Moodle allowed us to create custom certificates and badges, which can be awarded to students upon completion of specific courses or activities. Furthermore, Moodle's reporting and data analysis tools can be used to generate detailed reports and analytics on student performance and certification progress. With own modifications we created also a validation tool that can verify validity of issued certificate.

Pros

+ Flexibility: Moodle is open-source and can be customized to individual user and institution needs.+ Support for different teaching methods: it allows for the creation of various educational activities and resources such as quizzes, discussion forums, assignments, etc.+ Integration with other tools: Moodle can easily be integrated with other educational tools such as chat, group work tools, video...

Cons

- Learning curve: Moodle can have a steep learning curve for users who are not familiar with the platform or with e-learning in general, and it may take some time for users to become proficient in using all its features. Compared to Wiziq or WP Courseware - moodle is most complicated.- Limited design options: While Moodle does offer some customization options for its appearance, it may not be as flexible...

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. At Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Yasas Sri W.

E-Learning, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Moodle LMS from a Lecturer's View

Reviewed a month ago

Moodle offers a variety of features for managing curriculum, student engagement, and communication. It also allows for integration with other tools and services, making it easy to access and share course materials and assignments. However, it also has its limitations in terms of navigation, customization options, multimedia integration and speed. Overall, Moodle is a valuable tool, but it also has some room for improvement.

Pros

effective online education. The platform offers a wide range of features that help to streamline the management of online curriculum, student engagement, and communication.One of the key benefits of using Moodle is its flexibility and customization. The platform allows me to easily upload and organize course materials, create assignments and quizzes, and track student progress using the gradebook feature....

Cons

One of the least liked features of Moodle is its navigation and layout. I have found that the platform can be difficult to navigate, especially for new users, and that it can be overwhelming to find the information you need. The layout can be cluttered and not user-friendly, which can make it hard to find specific information quickly.Another downside of Moodle is its lack of customization options for...

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. At Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The free Software that saved my Education

Reviewed 2 months ago

As an African student who managed to get a Scholarship to study in India during the Pandemic, it sounded almost impossible to continue my education. I was back home sending emails to the [SENSITIVE CONTENT] at my Uni practically every week regarding travel restrictions, and his response was always, "The school got it covered; you will be able to learn from home." Previously, I knew people with terrible...

Pros

Whether you are a student, Lecturer, Employer, or Employee, Moodle has almost everything traditional Education can offer. The fact that it notifies me about my deadlines is a win, and it's almost impossible to miss out on submissions; I can easily track every step I have made through my educational journey with just one login. It also allows you to choose what you want to appear on your dashboard. And for professionals, Moodle is highly secured, allows you to be versatile and offers good Customer support.

Cons

I feel the software can be made more attractive to student. Though most people use it for educational purposes, I personally think there is still room to make it more attractive.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. In Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Hèlia T.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great learning platform

Reviewed 2 months ago

Moodle is a definitive educational platform that helped the learning process during pandemic and am pretty sure will continue to be used in the following years.

Pros

Moodle is a very versatile learning platform that can gather all the activities a professor needs to conducts remote learning. It can host texts, media, lessons and grade activities which give an opportunity to assess students learning as well.

Cons

Impor and export of materials to clone tasks to different courses need significative improvements.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. In Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

EG
AvatarImg

Emilio G.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A User-Friendly Learning Management System for Students

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall, I would highly recommend Moodle to any student looking for a comprehensive and user-friendly LMS. It has greatly improved my ability to stay organized and engaged in my coursework, and I believe it would be a valuable resource for any student.

Pros

Moodle is a learning management system (LMS) that is widely used by educators and students around the world. As a student, I have had the opportunity to use Moodle in several of my courses and I have been consistently impressed with its user-friendly interface and the range of features it offers.need for their coursework in one place, rather than having to search through various locations or emails...

Cons

One potential issue is that it can be somewhat time-consuming for instructors to set up and manage a Moodle course, as there are many different options and settings to consider. This can be especially challenging for instructors who are new to Moodle or who are managing multiple courses at the same time.Another potential issue is that Moodle may not be as visually appealing or intuitive as some other...

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. In Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Janith A.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Experience the Power of Moodle: A Review of the Popular LMS

Reviewed 2 months ago

Moodle is a popular learning management system (LMS) that is used by educators and learners in a variety of settings. It is highly customizable and flexible, and includes a range of tools for organizing and delivering course materials, creating and grading assignments and assessments, and tracking student progress. Moodle is also known for its collaboration features, including forums and wikis, which...

Pros

Here are some of the pros of Moodle:1.Customizability: Moodle is highly customizable, which means that it can be tailored to meet the specific needs of different institutions and departments. This can be a valuable feature for educators who want to create a unique and personalized learning experience for their students.2.Flexibility: Moodle can be used to support a wide range of learning activities,...

Cons

Here are some potential cons of Moodle:Complexity: Some users may find Moodle to be a complex platform, with a large number of features and options that can be overwhelming or confusing. This may be particularly true for educators who are new to using an LMS, or for those who are looking for a more simple and straightforward platform. Customization requires technical expertise: While the customizability...

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. In Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

MH
AvatarImg

Macon H.

Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pretty versatile learning management system

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall, I'm happy with Moodle. The assignment organization and task list has been very helpful in the new update. Moodle has been very reliable for me and I feel generally happy with how both I and my institution are able to use it.

Pros

The biggest thing I like about Moodle that I like is that it's easy to access all of my course material in one place. Almost everything is just a couple clicks at any given point in the website. I also like the new update that reorganized the dashboard to a much more customizable setup. Overall, I'm pretty happy with Moodle and feel like it's been very reliable for me in my years of using it.

Cons

It seems like it's hard for professors to get Moodle to accurately reflect grades. Something about getting the weighted percentages or the assignment classification seems like it could be difficult on the back end. I also wish that the course pages for classes could have separate pages within the larger page. It would help subdivide the course information more evenly.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. In Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

JC
AvatarImg

Juan Carlos E.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Academia Online de código abierto

Reviewed 2 months ago

Me incentiva el hecho de poder crear cursos bien estructurados y con muchas formas y fórmulas para llevarlos a cabo. Mi experiencia comenzó con un curso de formador de formadores, y actualmente estoy creando un proyecto con mucha ilusión y de manera muy sencilla y profesional.

Pros

Me gusta mucho un software siempre que es código abierto, porque esto te permite hacer pruebas, e incluso crear cursos en este caso, antes de decidir que ingeniería usar para lanzar un proyecto de cursos online.

Cons

En el sistema de Moodle Cloud, no se permite instalar temas nuevos, lo cual resulta limitante a la hora de definir una apariencia adecuada y en sintonía con la línea de la marca de la academia.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. In Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Please access the following link to see how you can customise themes on Moodle Cloud: https://support.moodle.com/support/solutions/articles/80000831609-moodlecloud-themes Regards.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mamadou Lamine G.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Utilisateur_Moodle

Reviewed 2 months ago

Gestion informatisée des parcours de formation, des enseignants, des étudiants et des contenus pédagogiqueAssurer une modalité d'enseignement ou un d'apprentissage basée sur les approches pédagogiques hybride, inversée, à distance avec un mode de communication synchrone et/ou asynchrone.

Pros

Plateforme d'apprentissage open sourcePossibilité d'ajouter des plugins supplémentaires pour une adaptation aux besoins spécifiquesMise en oeuvre de l'approche par compétences avec l'outil "Competence", intégré dans MoodlePluralité d'outils intégrés pour la création de ressources et d'activités d'apprentissage

Cons

La prise en main n'est pas facile car elle nécessite un investissement en temps pour l'appropriation de l'environnement et des outils intégrésCertains plugins ne sont plus maintenus ou ne sont pas à jour par rapport à l'évolution de Moodle

Showing original review in French. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alfredo G.

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

El mejor y más completo LMS del mundo

Reviewed 6 months ago

Mi experiencia es la mejor, el apoyo de la comunidad para un LMS tan completo es de valorar. Permite integrar proyectos de todos los tipos, elearning, presencial, blearning, videoconferencias, educación formal, capacitación, etc. Es una gran plataforma.

Pros

Es el LMS más utilizado del mundo, es open source y cuenta con una de las comunidades más grandes del mundo, por lo que siempre encuentras información y ayuda para resolver cualquier particularidad que se llegue a necesitar. Entre lo que más me gusta se encuentra: - Es gratuito - No tiene límite de usuarios - Traducido a todos los idiomas - Excelente manejo de roles de usuarios, puedes crear roles...

Cons

Es dificil encontrar cosas que no me gusten. - Se critica mucho la cantidad de opciones que aparecen en la interfaz de los usuarios, lo que se mejora mucho en la última versión - Creo que le falta un poco de orientación al marketing, aunque algunos temas ya te lo permiten.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. At Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rikaz S.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A reliable learning platform with a vibrant community.

Reviewed 9 months ago

I'm proud to be a Moodle user for over 15 years and it's steady progress and the ability to have a paid rollout shows how much this Leaning Management System has grown over the years. If you are starting your E-Learning journey and want a LMS that is easy to use, free, & with an active community then look no further than Moodle.

Pros

I have been using Moodle since 2007 and boy, has it come a long way since then. The Learning Management System has always prided itself on being open and even back then had a wonderful community who are keen to help. Moodle is now widely available for instant installation in many hosting providers so it's easy to setup and there are plenty of paid and free resources to learn how to setup your first...

Cons

Being a free and open-source software, Moodle requires the user to be somewhat tech savvy with some basic knowledge of how code works and this is especially useful when needing HTML to prepare content. Since their is no customer support, Users should also be willing to seek help from the Moodle community forums which usually give good advice.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. In Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Moodle's network of Service Providers are certified by Moodle's exacting standards in customer service, technical capability and include our endorsed network of 100 Moodle partners and premium partners. Providing regionally relevant expertise in customisations, hosting, support and training. Find your Moodle Partner here: https://bit.ly/3tMjSve

AT
AvatarImg

Alan T.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Moodle - The Perfect Open Source LMS

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have used Moodle since 2005. I first introduced it to the school district I worked in. After its introduction, it became the number one online source for teachers, students, and parents. I based my doctoral thesis on the use of Moodle in our school district. I've also used it over the years, as an educational consultant, part-time college faculty remember, and educational trainer.

Pros

First off the software is free. If you have a server, either hosting yourself or hosting service, you can easily set up a Moodle. With a little experience, you are able to have your class up and running in no time. Easily import information into your course. Finally, there are numerous free plugins that enhance your course.

Cons

The biggest problem is if you find a plugin that you can use in your course if you don't have access to the backend to install you may run into problems with whoever administers the Moodle to install the plugins.

NB
AvatarImg

Nathan B.

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A Great Open Source LMS

Reviewed 2 years ago

Moodle was a great first LMS for our school. We used Moodle from the very beginning and it served us well until we reached about 3000 students. Beyond that, we felt we needed more stability from an out-of-the-box LMS. We essentially had no tech team at this time, so we elected to remove the tech aspect. Any organization that has the tech skills would do well with Moodle at much greater numbers.

Pros

The fact that it is open sources is really nice. There are really endless possibilities with Moodle as a result, you just need to have the tech skills and personnel to put your vision together. The ability to customize heavily is a huge selling point for Moodle, one you don't get with many other LMSs.

Cons

This goes against my point about loving the open source nature of the platform, but there is no real support. You can work with a Moodle partner to handle technical issues for you, but this is quite expensive. Instead, I found myself spending many hours reading through forums to try and solve problems myself. Managing the hosting and updating of Moodle is tough if you do not have a strong tech team.

AS
AvatarImg

Adonay S.

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An excellent learning management system

Reviewed 2 years ago

Although it was a bit difficult and had to figure it out on our own about the server setup, once it was working, the path to set up courses, integrating modules was pretty straight forward. Our already made SCORM resources were loaded without any major trouble and worked flawlessly.

Pros

It has lots of features 'right out of the box', setting it up once installed is relatively easy and it has a great community where you can find answers for almost every issue or 'how to setup X' you could find. Also, there are lots of modules made for the platform that integrate really well.

Cons

The recommended installation process (directly from server terminal) didn't work for us on any server we tried to deploy it. We ended setting all our instances via web (which is a very great option). Also, although they have lots of support about their features and setup, they don't have the same level of support on setting the platform under certain circumstances (at server level) like reverse proxies, nat, etc.

FL
AvatarImg

Florian L.

Media Production, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Capable to power a whole university

Reviewed 3 years ago

While certain parts could be improved, the whole experience never feels overwhelming. Content can be grouped into weekly chunks to set the right rhythm for both teachers and students. Announcements and Q&As take place in discussion boards, with automatic email notifications for those who don’t want to check manually for updates. It is even possible to hold entire exams with automatic grading (for multiple choice questions) and an automatically generated score.

Pros

With not just employees but also students working from home, efficient educational software is more important than ever. Moodle is capable to power online teaching for a whole university, including online exams, file sharing, video uploads, discussion boards, surveys and homework submissions.

Cons

At the moment, there is no native video conferencing feature. We work around this limitation by pasting links from external platforms, like Zoom or Jitsi. It would be nice to have this functionality baked into the core, together with the possibility of referencing existing content inside the video call: documents, discussion boards, surveys, etc. Another pain point is the grading section. It is meant to calculate a student’s score based on homework submissions and online exams. Unfortunately, there are just too many figures relating to absolute score, relative score and more, so in the end it is hard to grasp what the final score is actually composed of.

CE
AvatarImg

CLYDE EUGENE M.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Robust LMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I would say Moodle has been great, since I have now mastered many aspects of the LMS. The first few months were painful, but it was all worth it.

Pros

Moodle is a robust LMS that we use at our university. It exceptionally manages student learning by offering the tools that educators need to teach in the 21st century. The quiz creation tools are what won me over from a competitor in this space. My reluctance to jump on board was further eased by discovering just how customisable it is. Admins can install new plugins that add extra functionality (and...

Cons

Moodle is a beast in terms of functionality and this, unfortunately, is its biggest drawback. It is not an easy job trying to onboard new faculty members with no background in IT. It has a somewhat steepish learning curve that can certainly be tackled but not without exerting some effort and patience. The UI is also not as inspiring. I am glad that recent updates have really modernised the look and feel of the LMS but other competitors excel in offering an intuitive out-of-the-box experience. This can be easily overcome by theming the LMS and Moodle has done well in allowing this though it needs an experienced professional to do this.

AS
AvatarImg

Aman S.

E-Learning, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Moodle up the way

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall experience with google is under satisfactory as compared to Blackboard and Canvas. It is the least help application I have ever used.

Pros

The software is an online education learning module software. It is mostly used by universities and other educational institutes. Overall the software is very decent, it offers a variety of features, plagiarism checker, and other variety of features. It does not have any option of predicting grade which is offered by Canvas. As a T.A. I would as it is a decent software but there are better softwares than moodle.

Cons

The software does not have a fully functional mobile appliation which is offered by Blackboard and Canvas which are other learning management systems. Moodle is also sluggish and courses appear later and from time to time there are bugs in the application.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A complete solution for blended learning!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have implemented Moodle LMS for many industries including Colleges, Universities, Manufacturing, Retail, Career Development Centers, Online Training institutions, Information, Media & Entertainment industries. Except the product is an open-source, I do not see ANY issues. This can be hosted in Amazon Web Services or in Azure cloud, it can be hosted in client environment. Moodle can be integrated with any 3rd party (both inbound and outbound) applications as long as their APIs are exposed. This has lot of in-built plugins/tools to manage ILT Events and Sessions, Chats, Virtual Learning Environment tools, etc. I highly recommend this low-cost solution for any type of industry.

Pros

Moodle is a complete e-Learning platform for many industries. It is well-suited for Education Industry. I have implemented Moodle in the large universities and colleges in the world. Most inspiring features are - the course section which can be grouped based on customized categories and sub-categories - forum which can be associated with the topics at course level or at organization level - Cohort which helps the institute to manage the batch-wise students group every year and can be promoted to next level without much manual efforts - Question Bank which can accommodate more than 12 types of assessments and can also be integrated with other assessment management systems or plugins

Cons

There is no limitation on the features, since this is an open source application, we cannot use it for GxP contents in Life Sciences and may not comply with Banking/Insurance industries.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Flexible for designers, teachers and students

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

As an online learning designer, Moodle is a fantastic tool because it integrates multiple options for learning and collaboration between both on and off campus students. It is incredibly flexible with a plethora of both simple and advanced features which can be integrated at a teacher’s preference, and the entire teaching experience can be run through the system. It’s agile enough to integrate with...

Cons

Whenever updates for Moodle are released (six monthly) there are always some problems with existing content, especially with non-standard features that have been designed exclusively for a course or institution. Sometimes they are not immediately evident and can cause issues during the teaching period. Moodle is a very large, powerful system, so it can take considerable time to understand it well enough to be confident designing and teaching courses. Also, if support staff are not on hand it can be difficult to resolve issues or find ways to integrate special requests from teachers.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Moodle has been one of the best tools I have ever implemented in my high school courses!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I think I stated most if not all the benefits in the "pro" section. It's a great time saver once courses are set up. I can see the stats on my students' involvement with the various parts of it. I can cut down paper work by having files submitted electronically. I can use rubrics of my own design to quickly grade programming assignments I can mark up PDF submissions on the screen to give feedback. I can moderate discussions and teach students how to speak in a forum setting. I can provide more opportunities for students to think and produce more creatively. I can enjoy creating my own materials!

Pros

Moodle allows me to provided a blended learning environment for my students. I use it for AP Statistics, AP Computer Science A, AP Computer Science Principles, and Integrated Math 1. I can post assignment schedules, additional readings, links to off-site materials, etc. just as I did in my web pages in the past. However, it also allows me to assign "lessons" that my students do interactively online,...

Cons

Moodle is not intuitive to the novice. It took some time for me to learn how to use its many features and implement them well. I have been doing this for at least 8 years, but I am still learning more about the system and its capabilities. As the server administrator, doing upgrades has always been problematic. I don't think an upgrade has ever gone smoothly. The reason I stick with it is because I haven't found a LMS that can offer me as much as Moodle. Plus, it's free and we can run it in-house.

VT
AvatarImg

Vashi T.

Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Moodle as a student and administrator

Reviewed 5 years ago

There is not really any cons about Moodle. It is a highly satisfying product that is worth a try.

Pros

First: It is free! As a student: it has easy navigation, provides a dashboard with all the related courses currently enrolled, it has a calendar on the right highlighting all the upcoming submission dates. It also notifies us about the upcoming events the lecture has set. All the information are arranged in a neat format. It shows the online users. It has portfolio option, makes it easy to keep track...

Cons

The chat feature should be an in-built feature rather than a pop-out screen available only when the administrator adds it as part of a lesson.

AP
AvatarImg

Arlando P.

Higher Education, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Moodle Through a student's eyes

Reviewed 2 years ago

The overall experience using Moodle is good. It great to navigate even if your a first time user and is very effective in online teacher especially during this pandemic.

Pros

I've been using Moodle for three years now. Since the pandemic i had to be using it more frequently to check for assignments, course outlines, discussion forums and due dates. What I enjoy about Moodle is its easy navigations and how organize it is. It also provide a mini calendar that publish the due dates of assignments from different courses. Now here is another plus to this calendar, it takes you...

Cons

What I don't like much about Moodle is that sometimes when there are a lot of users accessing the portal it tends malfunction and bar users from accessing the website. This happens especially when there is a major assignment due and everyone is trying to submit before the deadline ends.

kk
AvatarImg

karan k.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best tool for learning management

Reviewed 2 months ago

My overall experience with Moodle has been positive. I have found the platform to be very user-friendly and easy to navigate. I have been able to quickly create and manage my courses, as well as customize them to meet my specific needs. The platform also offers many helpful features, such as activity completion tracking, grade book, attendance tracking, and more. The customer service team has been responsive and helpful when I’ve had questions or needed assistance. Overall, I’ve found Moodle to be a great tool for creating, managing, and delivering course content.

Pros

1. Easy to Use: Moodle's interface is user-friendly and intuitive for both students and instructors. It doesn't require any special technical skills to use the software. 2. Flexible: Moodle is highly flexible and can be customized to meet the needs of most organizations. It offers a variety of features that can be tailored to fit any organization's learning goals. 3. Cost-Effective: Moodle is open-source...

Cons

1. It can take a long time to set up a course in Moodle, especially if the course is large and complex.2. The cost of implementing and maintaining Moodle can be high.3. Moodle does not offer an easy way to integrate with other systems, such as third-party applications or data sources.4. Some features are difficult to find and use.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. In Moodle, we are constantly working on new ways to improve our solutions to deliver the best learning outcomes. Discover Moodle 4.0's fresh and intuitive user experience. https://bit.ly/3bgVsDC Regards.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kavindu Githsara K.

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free Open-Source Powerful Learning Management System

Reviewed 3 months ago

Great LMS Platform for both Teachers and Students. Ease of configuration and deployment. It includes all the features like, courses, Assignments, Exams and many more. Secure place to keep students files. Moodle mobile app brings mobility to users in anywhere at anytime. Specially, Moodle id Totally FREE and Open-source System. Anyone can use Moodle without Hesitation.

Pros

Ease of Deployment. Our team never faced any issues when we deploy our online courses and materials via Moodle. There are lots of tutorials and guidance out there, that will help anyone to archive their goals with in Moodle. User interface is very friendly for both Students and Teachers. Moodle helps us a lot in Covid Pandemic period. Best Long Distance Learning System we found so far. Moodle has a Password Encryption method that helps it users to keep their account safe and secure. Online exam feature is a great tool in Moodle. We don't have to use any other third party tools to conduct online exams.

Cons

Nothing to mention but Moodle Developers should improve the user experience in Moodle Mobile App.