App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Admin By Request Logo

Admin By Request

Local admin rights, managed.

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Admin By Request Reviews

Overall rating

4.9

/5

37

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.43/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The customer service is great. Not only were they extremely helpful with us implementing this, but they are also very responsive if we have questions about features.
It has all of the features required from a PAM solution. The portal is very intuitive and easy to understand and the deployment is super easy.
It can help you eliminate local admin rights and improve your security posture. You can allow users to perform elevated tasks when needed, without having to wait for IT approval or intervention.
MacOS Break Glass could use some work, though most of that is on Apple since they have horrible identity management for enterprise users.
You now need to drop the application to the Admin by Request icon. Users don't now that sometimes.
That feature is the geolocation of devices makes some users nervous that our IT team knows where their devices are in gmaps; however, this feature is very helpful when a product is missing.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


37 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shlomi F.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AdminByRequest Product for PAM for Workstations or Servers

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

it has all of the features required from a PAM solution. the portal is very intuitive and easy to understand and the deployment is super easy. there are no issues with the software like glitches or bugs.the agent is very small (under 2 MB) and doesn't generate performance issues on devices.you can pre-approve software, and deploy and approval mechanism. you can even revoke admin rights for Helpdesk teams but leave them an easy to use elevation method.

Cons

blocking elevation of child process for pre-approved software.

KS
AvatarImg

Kevin S.

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A tool that improves security and makes life easier!

Reviewed 5 months ago

Easy to buy, easy to use, low pressure sales team. It's amazing to find a tool that does what it's supposed to at a reasonable price!

Pros

Easy to use, easy to setup, so much easier to authorize admin requests than having to remote in and type in credentials.

Cons

The only downside is we didn't implement it years earlier.

TE
AvatarImg

Tamer E.

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A must for higher Education

Reviewed 2 months ago

We had a lot of users at the university with local admin rights. There are so many different departments that use different software and are always in need of updates. Having Admin by Request allows us to manage admin rights, and we do it all remotely using the app on phones to grant permission. We recommend Admin by Request to any organization that wants to keep their network secure by denying local admin rights.

Pros

What we like most is the flexibility. We are able to use ABR off campus through our cell phones to grant requests. Also the price point for the software is excellent and helps us make the decision to renew every year!

Cons

I know this may sound crazy, but we have yet to see any cons at this point. This could change down the road, but as of now there is not any.

RS
AvatarImg

Ryan S.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Admin By Request Works

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall, it has helped us to not give local admin privileges to users but still allow them to install software.

Pros

It's easy for the clients to use and request access.

Cons

Sometimes the interface for the console feels a little bulky

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mick Jagtfelt N.

Food Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easiest way to achieve zero-trust on your endpoints

Reviewed 8 months ago

Everything from pre-sales to purchasing and support has been a pleasure. We have in a very short time eliminated all local admin accounts on all endpoints (including the previously fixed ones, used by IT-support).

Pros

Easy and fast deployment, great feature set (including mobile apps for admins, break glass accounts, integrated SSO (and MFA), AI approval) its all something we did't have before, and its made our security posture and administration of local admin permissions so much easier. From purchase to fully implemented a total of 2 weeks passed, including testing.

Cons

None i can think of really, it does what it does great.

TG
AvatarImg

Tom G.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Definite Fan of Admin by Request

Reviewed 8 months ago

The overall experience with Admin by Request has been great. The fact that the initial set of licenses is no charge allowed us to work through the full setup and release process on real users so that the rollout was clean and users in acceptance of it, due to ABRs ease of use.

Pros

Unfortunately we were slow, in general, in cutting off users from Admin Access of their company-issued devices. By the time we reached the point of finding Admin by Request, most users were 'entitled' and so we expected resistance. First, FastTrack was easy to work with and helped us manage a pilot project to test deploy to a diverse group of users. This allowed us to work through implementation challenges,...

Cons

No real cons. Would be better if there were a way to add licenses a little more easily ....but it's not painful.

AR
AvatarImg

Anthony R.

Semiconductors, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best bang for your buck

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

It's a seamless transition to go from local administrators to a privilege on demand model. We were able to quickly implement this solution, without some of the general onboarding required from other vendors. This also saves on cost. Despite this we have been impressed with how well the product works.

Cons

It's not as feature-rich as the product offerings from a couple of big names in the industry, but those products are over double and triple the cost. If we were looking for a tool that provided robust endpoint security to help mitigate zero-day exploits, we would have looked elsewhere, but Admin By Request does what it's meant to do extremely well.

EE
AvatarImg

Eric E.

Architecture & Planning, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Admin By Request is a must have for securing local Admin rights

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall we have had a great experience with Admin By Request. I highly recommend the product.

Pros

Ease of use, simple install and everything just works. Its very easy for users to simply request an elevation for Admin access to install anything they need. Once IT approves, they have a short period of time where Admin access is available and then everything reverts back to regular access.

Cons

The only thing that can be improved upon would be the ability to sort agents by check-in date/time so its easier for Admins to remove computers that are no longer on the network. Or have the ability that after x amount of time, certain clients drop off and dont take a license. A recent change made this a bit harder. I wont drop a star on the review for it, but it would be great to improve upon in the future.

NS
AvatarImg

Nimeet S.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Admin By Request Review

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overall AdminByRequest has been an amazing product to manage both our Windows and Apple devices with one platform.

Pros

Admin By Request is a great product. Much easier to use than other Access Management Systems and very user friendly compared to most.

Cons

Customer service could be a little more responsive

EP
AvatarImg

Eric P.

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Worth the purchase | easy to deploy

Reviewed 2 months ago

ABR does exactly what it states. We're continuing to learn how to better utilize the software, but it solved immediate issues in the first week.

Pros

We have a variety of applications that require administrative permissions to update. ABR has solved the issue in that our technicians can perform software updates while we maintain the security over the endpoints. The amount of time my staff spent performing these updates easily pays for the software as well as technicians do not have to request software updates, which causes them to lose access to their shop laptops. We deployed using PDQ Deploy and had 120+ laptops installed in less than an hour.

Cons

It's not free. :) We're still learning how to better utilize the software, but we have no complaints thus far.

EG
AvatarImg

Enrico G.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Finally take away the Admin Rights

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Admin by Request offers a comprehensive set of features expected from an end-user PAM solution. Its setup and the portal are admin friendly and straightforward, making deployment possible without a lengthy preparation. The software runs smoothly on all end-user clients and is lightweight. Notably, you can pre-approve software, implement an approval mechanism, and even selectively revoke admin rights for Helpdesk teams while providing them with a convenient elevation method. Also easy integration into 3rd party software, like Slack. Finally you can remove the permanent, standing admin rights for all users, while still giving them a secure way to requesting them, as needed.

Cons

Not much to report here, the software is easy to use and was well accepted with all our users.

JK
AvatarImg

John K.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Admin By Request MCPSS

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

It can help you eliminate local admin rights and improve your security posture. You can allow users to perform elevated tasks when needed, without having to wait for IT approval or intervention. You can monitor and audit all privileged activity on your endpoints, and get full software and hardware inventory.

Cons

It may not work well with some applications that require admin rights for installation or updates. You may need to create custom rules or scripts to handle these cases. It may generate a lot of notifications or requests for IT staff, especially if users work in different time zones or need frequent elevation.

Kv
AvatarImg

Kevin v.

Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ABR Easy PAM

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Easy to useefficient time useBreak Glass - emergency admin

Cons

Server license cost could be slightly better

TS
AvatarImg

Tobias S.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Privileged Access Management (PAM) mit Admin by Request

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Die Fähigkeit, den administrativen Zugriff auf Systeme und Anwendungen zu kontrollieren und zu überwachen, trägt dazu bei, unbefugte Zugriffe und potenzielle Sicherheitsverletzungen zu reduzieren.

Cons

Es gibt Situationen, in denen ein Administrator spontan auf erhöhte Berechtigungen zugreifen muss, um schnell auf eine bestimmte Aufgabe reagieren zu können. Diese sind dann leider nicht immer direkt verfügbar, da Windows hier doch noch weitere Programme startet, die dann nicht unter erhöhten Rechten gestartet wurden.

Showing original review in German. See translation

JV
AvatarImg

Jan V.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Und tschüss lokale Admin Rechte

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Mit ABR konnten wir erfolgreich lokale admin Berechtigungen reduzieren und haben eine Lösung, die trotzdem bei Bedarf die notwendigen Rechte temp. bereitstellt. Und das für unsere Windows und MacOS Landschaft und mit geringem Betriebsaufwand.

Cons

Wir haben aktuell keine Probleme; die Einführungherausforderungen konnten alle mit dem Support geklärt und gelöst werden.

Showing original review in German. See translation

JC
AvatarImg

James C.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

First thing in 25+ years to work!

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

We are able to remove local admin rights from users and easily grant permissions to run items as admin when needed. Tried for decades and this was the first thing I foudn that was easy to use, admin and deploy

Cons

I literally can not think of any cons. There were growing pains with our users who were used to having admin rights locally, btu that was to be expected.

JP
AvatarImg

Jeremy P.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fantastic savings of time.

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

We use ABR for the use of requesting Admin use by those that need it often, but do not have permissions due to our customer security requirements. My IT team has designated and created some auto-approved tasks that streamline the process significantly for the employees. The audit log feature is amazing to ensure that what is requested is what was done by the user.

Cons

It does seem that some of the default settings with in ABR override the settings that we enabled for our standard user set via Azure AD/Intune. Things like deleting an icon or changing the time on a computer were allowed by our user setup, but the ABR removes that permission upon installation.

SP
AvatarImg

Sachin P.

Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A must need to be security compliant

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Ease of use and set up, definitely fit into our cloud first theory and future design using Intune.Level of customisation, we're able to build our own slack bots and application workflows using the API

Cons

Linux was initially quite clunky during testing phase, however there is increased development around the Linux agent which we're testing currently.

SG
AvatarImg

Stig G.

Outsourcing/Offshoring, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Saves you you the trouble

Reviewed 8 months ago

ABR really solves the problem of removing local admin privileges without loosing the ability to perform the necessary tasks on the endpoint.

Pros

We managed to implement ABR in a tech organization where more that 50% of the end users where Local Administrators without making the users annoyed

Cons

I don't really have any cons. The product does what it claims to do, and maybe a bit more.

JF
AvatarImg

Jonathan F.

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User Friendly quick temporary permission elevation

Reviewed 8 months ago

Makes it easy for users to quickly gain access to install applications and have temporary admin sessions to get what they need done. Especially if they are remote.

Pros

Ease of use, features for the price, break glass is nice when you are a non Microsoft shop.

Cons

macOS Break Glass could use some work, though most of that is on Apple since they have horrible identity management for enterprise users.

JS
AvatarImg

Jacob S.

Wholesale, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Loftin - Admin By Request Review

Reviewed 9 days ago
Pros

Robust feature set and easy to use, manage, and deploy

Cons

Some bugs, not many now as the bugs I experienced have been addressed and patched.

DB
AvatarImg

Daniel B.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great PAM Solution

Reviewed 8 months ago

We needed to remove local admin rights for users, but still allow them to be able perform administrative tasks. ABR accomplishes this and allows users to perform administrative tasks on demand without being a local administrator. The customer service is great. Not only were they extremely helpful with us implementing this, but they are also very responsive if we have questions about features.

Pros

Easy to roll out and use. Inexpensive. Great customer support.

Cons

There is really nothing I do not like about this product.

MM
AvatarImg

Michael M.

Insurance, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ABR solved an age old dilemma around local Admin rights

Reviewed 8 months ago

Admin by Request has been a very cost-effective solution and great people to work with.

Pros

The easy-to-use request function, software preapproval, and malicious software security scanning adds crucial defense mechanisms.

Cons

After years of allowing end users Administrator rights, there was a learning curve after deploying ABR. All in the name of security though. Hard to argue against.

HE
AvatarImg

Heath E.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic, affordable product

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Once we implemented, we've barely had to think about it. It delivers what it promises.

Cons

It would be great if the 'reason' field (which we set to mandatory) would detect/reject nonsensical entries.

DM
AvatarImg

David M.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product, easy to use, great support

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

The ease of deployment and administration across our organization is excellent.

Cons

What I like least about the tool is also something that I find very helpful. That feature is the geolocation of devices makes some users nervous that our IT team knows where their devices are in gmaps; however, this feature is very helpful when a product is missing.