App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Blynk Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

1K

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.32/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

anypoint-platform
twilio-communications-platform
sensrtrx

Pros and cons

All widgets provided was very clear and I have all I need there. Thanks to the developer for making such a great and easy software for IoT.
Blynk has been the first choice for central software at my previous employment and I brought it to my current company. It is very fun and easy to navigate and everyone enjoys it.
Nice widgets are there to make all trackers about your project. You will have a nice dashboard if you try this.
What I experienced is the server is losing so often.
It seems no more development on current platform, even if already quite complete. It was announced a new enhanced platform to be available, but till now no news.
Large data cant be exported from blynk, in blynk local server database and data is hard to found, MQTT configuration is missing. Temperatures/reading auto delete after a certain readings.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


1,061 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Augusto Z.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A simple yet still very powerful IoT framework

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It supports a lot of different platforms (ESP8266, Atmel SAM, Atmel AVR, ESP32, STM32F1 and others) using different connection protocols (Serial, Bluetooth serial, various Ethernet modules, various WiFi modules, UMTS, BLE) It’s simple to setup and use The documentation get you started in a short time. It can be freely self hosted

Cons

The free trial is a little too much limiting in my opinion.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mudssar A.

Consumer Electronics, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

IOT, Live interaction with devices with Blynk

Reviewed 4 years ago

overall for home IOT system blynk is best, blynk is not recommnded for industrial use, support is limited i.e forum is availabe, but it takes time to get users/moderators respond. For home automation local blynk server is best, whereas blynk official server is also good optin to avoid diruption in connection.

Pros

Very easy pre programmed scripts almost for every projects available or little modification required, secured and reliablilty in connection. smooth and easy interfaces like button,guages and charts. All the technical setting to set user interface button etc can be configured on mobile.

Cons

Large data cant be exported from blynk, in blynk local server database and data is hard to found, MQTT configuration is missing. Temperatures/reading auto delete after a certain readings.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review. Blynk app is designed for prototyping and personal use. Commercial apps and configuration provides more data storage, MQTT. Also, when you sign up for commercial plan, you get a technical support from Blynk Team within 24-48 hours Commercial version of the platform offers

ME
AvatarImg

Mohomed E.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Blynk

Reviewed 5 years ago

I'm using blynk app over 6 month with my smart home. and its really smart app to control internet if things and its compatible wit many iot devices . in my case i'm using nodemcu board and i'm really enjoying my smart home with blynk app.

Pros

Easy to connect devices and user friendly

Cons

app interface is very smart and can control lights smartly

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

John W.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very goo IoT application for most situations

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very good service to get a mobile app up and running quickly and interfaces well with blynk specific firmware IoT devices. Does however require external services such as Node-Red to perform more complex operations or as a gateway to non blynk firmware or communications such as MQTT

Pros

Very cost effective able to be run as an onsite service or as a cloud offering Intuitive Mobile App

Cons

Mainly centered around multiple standalone devices and doesn’t handle cross device well Requires external service such as node-red for more complex logic Sharing with other people is limited does not support MQTT

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Muhammad Arifur R.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Controlling IoT devices has never been easier

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've been using Blynk to capture data from an atmospheric pressure sensor that is interfaced with an arduino for my research project.

Pros

Blynk supports a wide range of IoT devices. It also adds and updates new devices. This makes Blynk the best app when it comes to controlling IoT devices remotely and on-the-go.

Cons

The payment system to use Blynk is a little odd. It would've been better if there was a onetime premium purchase option.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Amr A.

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Building IoT Projects Made Easy

Reviewed a year ago

Blynk offers a wide range of pre-built widgets and components that help users to quickly add functionality to their projects. The platform also offers a wide range of integrations with different hardware platforms such as Arduino, ESP8266, and Raspberry Pi, making it a great choice for users who want to create IoT projects with different types of microcontrollers.

Pros

Blynk is its easy-to-use drag-and-drop interface and real-time data visualization features that make it simple for users to create IoT projects

Cons

mobile app has a limited set of features and could be improved

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

ARIUS B.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

great app

Reviewed 5 years ago

i use blynk to develop a smart home project for my final year project

Pros

blynk is a great app easy to use and implement into your projects

Cons

i dont think there is any con in blynk .

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jay M.

Industrial Automation, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Go to IoT application!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been making various IoT projects with this application and the most recent one was a smart lock. Set up a server and unlock your door with your phone.

Pros

This application provides a vast platform for even people who really cannot code various functionalities while integrating wireless communication with their projects. This is just simply amazing; the option to drag and drop whatever you want!

Cons

Token authentication key keeps on expiring and needs to be renewed every single time whenever you want to reconnect.

Vendor response

Hi Jay, Thanks for your review. Just wanted to let you know that Auth Tokens never expire. If you have any questions- please post to http://community.blynk.cc

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Josh B.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Timesaver for growing startups

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall Blynk is fantastic to smoothly and efficiently control hardware and use either their cloud or run your own server locally (did not do this myself though), but the flexibility of options is noteworthy and likely useful for others as well.

Pros

Blynk is impressive for its ability to control multiple devices and apps across the board, specifically the way that the remote control layout has a range of features and options.

Cons

Growing startup here, so setup is a bit more on the difficult side but that is likely because the newness and the growing team we have. Easy login with Facebook account.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Praveen N.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An great tool for IoT developers

Reviewed 4 years ago

Blynk can be used to develop IoT devices. I have been using this software for a number of projects including home automation and automatic garden watering systems, and it has been really great so far. Blynk offers almost everything needed in developing IoT devices.

Pros

Blynk allows users to connect various devices to the cloud and develop applications that can be used to monitor and control these devices. It can be used to develop prototypes, test them and even launch them commercially. If you want to develop Iot Devices, this is a must have solution.

Cons

It was difficult to find Blynk at first, when looking for a software that offers the features that it does. Maybe they should work a bit more on discoverability and advertising. In addition, I have experienced some difficulties when configuring the firewalls for IoT communication. If they manage to grow their community more, there will be enough tutorials and help, which is why they should work on being easily discovered.

RT
AvatarImg

Raweeroj T.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the wonders of the iot era that everyone can use !

Reviewed 5 years ago

For Blynk, I saw the development throughout the entire UI. I have always been a Blynk user and have recommended Blynk to everyone who works on projects or innovations related to IoT for both younger generations. Teachers and interested people Today I have my own Blynk server and always use it. I like and love Blynk because it makes me fun, challenging and more interested in the world of IoT. Blynk is a miracle of the world. I love every development team and thank you for creating Blynk. Thank you.

Pros

What I like for this software is that it is easy to use, easy to use, easy to access and learn. Is a software that covers the user from the point of reaching and controlling your various IoT devices. In my school, I use Blynk to teach my interested children. Including the use of Blynk software to create projects and innovations in order to expand education and apply in the competition until receiving a lot of praise and awards so that many people are interested in Blynk. Blynk is The ultimate software for IoT, which is considered the miracle of the IoT world.

Cons

My least favorite thing is the energy system. I need to install the Blynk server myself. The installation process is quite complicated for the Linux operating system. I want the team to develop the server setup to be easy to install and install in every operating system. And want to improve Administration UI for easier server management In addition to this, I think that's great.

IS
AvatarImg

Ioannis S.

Business Supplies and Equipment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User Friendly - Easy - Scalable

Reviewed 5 years ago

In my business, we use Blynk for automation control, industrial telematics, and reporting. We have hardware that is accessed by many users at once and we need to handle this control in real time and a user-friendly manner with no dead-locking conflicts. The Blynk platform and app made possible to have a custom made, industrial-grade solution for dirt- cheap hardware at a minute fraction of the cost.

Pros

With Blynk you can create an app in minutes. You have direct access to the hardware i/o and can easily incorporate data manipulation like statistics along with graphs, alerts, social networks, hardware, and process control, triggering and more. The apps can be developed further even when the hardware is already gone live. The apps can be shared and distributed via the Blynk app or standalone apps. No special platform or downloads needed. No ads whatsoever! Examples provided for everything.

Cons

It was a bit steep to catch the idea on the start but the tutorials were there to help. The videos should be promoted more for the first contact to show how simple it is to get along with Blynk.

MG
AvatarImg

Mansour G.

Marketing and Advertising, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

(Among the current best applications is Pearl Designs and Stuff)

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am one of the users of this application, and according to my experience and experience with this application, it is important and necessary that it saves the effort to do all the operations you want in a better way, and this is something that customers and students want for designs and the arcade of things on the Internet.

Pros

The Blynk app is the easiest to set up and integrate as it's easy to complete, and it has a master app programming option that can use the Blynk system with information and apps for your smart devices and can use the dashboard for basic tasks .

Cons

The program has some flaws, they may not be many, but they are many, and they are summarized in the delay that occurs in matters interested in responding to the client or the client and looking into this aspect to solve the obstacles and improve the image of the program for the beneficiaries .

AV
AvatarImg

Alejandro V.

Internet, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great tool for prototyping on the fly!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Blynk is helping me build applications with hardware to monitor gardens, monitor indoor temperature, and a centralized open/closed vent system. It cuts out the need to develop software for prototypes or even full fledged products. It is great tool to have for beginners and experts.

Pros

I like the modularity of the application. The ease of use makes building prototypes very simple and quick. The fact that I can take my idea to prototype within minutes allows me to focus more on the project itself rather than a functional prototype. The ability to send my finished product, built in Blynk, to others is a great feature. I can build the hardware and send the application to the users phone.

Cons

I would like the superchart to have a graph of some kind to help determine the level more accurately.

AR
AvatarImg

Albin R.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Incredibly awesome tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Blynk controls my proton particle interfaces to control several hardware in my house.

Pros

Blynk allowed me to create a system for a proton interface to control my house. I didn’t wanted to create an entire app, so Blynk came as a fast solution and ended up beign a complete tool to create a fully automatization system for my house, and apart from all that, amazingly let me share with family members who also live in my house.

Cons

There are no “cons”, only some little bugs that have appear from time to time, like disconnections, inhabillity to share with others trough qr, and thins that, asmwith any app, solves either automatically or trough app updates.

MA
AvatarImg

Muhammad A.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Blynk IoT Software platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

I found the creation of mobile applications on Blynk to be straight forward and really easy to setup. What Blynk lacks in app skin/background customisability it more than makes up for in functionality. I would definitely use this app for future IoT projects

Pros

I like the way Blynk has simplified and speeded up the process of creating functional mobile applications through the use of their drag and drop building style. I was able to create multiple fully functional apps using their prebuilt widgets, requiring very little programming (on the hardware side only), in a matter of 20 minutes on average. I was able to easily pair these apps with projects i created...

Cons

Although Blynk's widgets are customizable in terms of size and colour, but the widget icons cannot be changed. Also the application background is not customizable aside from selecting it to be either white or black. I also really dislike the fact that, although Blynk supports the use of a bluetooth communication between the app you create and your project, it does not allow you to access the app with your mobile device if your mobile device does not have an internet connection.

AA
AvatarImg

Alan A.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Blynk IoT platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great for creating quick and simple IoT dashboards but also has features for those more complex projects.

Pros

Very simple to get up and running, easy drag and drop interface. The developers have done a great job introducing new widgets which enhance the functionality and show that they listen to feedback.

Cons

Some minor things - projects are ordered by the creation data. When you have a large number of projects they can’t be re-ordered so scrolling through them is a pain. If you need high resolution long term history of readings you’ll need a local server rather than using the Blynk cloud service.

CD
AvatarImg

Cristian D.

Consumer Electronics, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Ease-of-use IOT

Reviewed 5 years ago

I created an amazing remote start for my car using this. The app and the software to run all of the automation was so easy to use. It was incredible to be able to create the front end to my project on a day.

Pros

Drag and drop app makes it incredibly easy to creatrean intuitive gui that would take weeks or months otherwise. The amount of inputs and outputs available are great and don't leave anything to be desired.

Cons

I don't know why they decided to use js and not python. I had to go find a port to use it. I the world of raspberry pi python is king and an official python api would be amazing.

PH
AvatarImg

Pavel H.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blynk is great for any IoT maker

Reviewed 5 years ago

The overall experience is great - I hope the community and the ecosystem in the platform will be growing. Our BigClown customers have been using it for their maker projects, but it is also used in the educational sector.

Pros

I absolutely love the simplicity and the pricing model. That's the reason why we have integrated Blynk as a #1 integration for makers to our BigClown IoT Digital Maker Kit platform. You can easily connect your hardware with your mobile app dashboard within minutes and without writing a single line of code. We find the Blynk cloud service very stable. The great part is, you can not only display sensor values (and plot time series graphs from them), but control your appliances as well.

Cons

I believe the app UI design for such a great tool deserves to be a bit better. We connect Blynk through a Node-RED plugin. However, a more CLI approach (and transparent bridge to MQTT) would be nice.

TR
AvatarImg

Tadej R.

Farming, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect IOT platform for me

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have a small farm about 20km from home, without Blynk platform I would need to go every day to farm to make some tasks ( like pumping fresh water, opening some gates etc.), now with Blynk and some IP cameras it is possible to go only on weekends or at least not every day.

Pros

I like the Blynk platforme the most because there are no limits of boards you can use in your projects, like on some other platforms, and a good description of function on web page. I also like that ESP2688 is supported and now I have made 10 IOT projects and they are all running from one to two years without any issues.

Cons

For me it would be helpful if Blynk platform would have a simpler function for delay function like the one used in Arduino.

ER
AvatarImg

Emilio R.

Higher Education, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Versatile, intuitive and modular.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Blynk has helped me a lot. I went from local executable projects to a worldwide controlled projects and, at the same time, reducing the number of coding lines making the projects faster and stable. It also helped me in learning new programming languages.

Pros

Easy to install and use. With just few easy steps, the hardware and the mobile App will be communicating with the world and with each others. Best of all is the flexibility to choose from the out-of-the-box cloud server or the local server allowing so, a total control of the project.

Cons

Blynk is not known to many in the IOT world yet. But I'm sure, when this will happen, the users community will be larger and the project will be even more powerful.

TM
AvatarImg

Tom M.

Maritime, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IoT made easy!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Having only one weather station in the nearby city (12km) the data wasn't reliable enough for me and my business. My job consists of being on the sea a lot and having consistent, reliable, real time (15 min increment) measurements provides me with a piece of mind for the upcoming weather at a quick glance on my mobile phone. It can also plot a really nice graph which can also be exported.

Pros

Very beginner friendly and straight forward. Took no time at all to set up, coding the sensor output takes longer! It has been my first IoT project and I loved it, does whatever I need and more. So easy even children can use Blynk.

Cons

No complaints, feature rich, reliable. The only con is that I didn't think of this idea earlier!

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Professional Training & Coaching, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great overall platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use Blynk to teach kids programming and using wifi and other protocols to integrate their projects with phones. I have been using it for my home weather station for two years without having to reprogramm or fix anything.

Pros

I like that it is simple and intuitive. The energy system is easy to get a grasp on. I have been a user and a customer for a few years now and have been in touch with their support and always had my issue resolved.

Cons

No flaws about it that I could see. All issues were resolved in a few days time.

AR
AvatarImg

Amitha R.

Farming, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Complete Solution Package

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am very happy with Blynk and I hope more futures will be added in days to come

Pros

Blynk has been a complete solution package,I used it in real world environment to manage remote automation of a huge agricultural farm, to my surprisem the experience has been awesome and It has been doing its job for the past 1 year without any downtime. Interfacing with hardwares has been easy. The long list of tutorial topics and and blynk community makes it easy for any developer

Cons

As this is a template based system, the look and feel always the same, maybe allowing user to use own design of buttons and interface would make it more awesome

pG
AvatarImg

prateek G.

Utilities, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Automation for Artist

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am using it at home only but it has a huge potential to use in businesses.

Pros

It is very easy to connect with Internet so even a person without any technical knowledge can do wonder with this software. Library comes with lot of examples and the software is very cheap and easy to use. Even student from Arts stream can use this.moreover you have a forum to discuss issues and achievements.

Cons

This software has its limitation that it can not be used on Windows platform.