App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ELSA Speak Logo

ELSA Speak

Personalized AI-powered language learning software

(1)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ELSA Speak Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

169

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.63/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The speech recognition that I use on ELSA is excellent. I also love using the dictionary and listening to stories.
The progress report is useful for me. I can improve with that report.
It is also very interactive and fun to use. I like the dictionary function as well.
UI / Gamification is somewhat confused. Somwhat costly if using not so often (should have more pricing options).
Some pronunciations are wrong or the IPA is wrong. For example, 'mouse'-> the program wants a Z sound instead of S and corrects you accordingly.
However, I lack information about different features such as how and why you get points in the League game. I lack extra info to read about new features in the app at all.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


169 reviews

Recommended

MP
AvatarImg

Maria P.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Elsa user feedback

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm very tagged and use it daily. However, I lack information about different features such as how and why you get points in the League game. I lack extra info to read about new features in the app at all. I lack lifetime statistics, not just a year, to be able to see the process over a long period of time.

Pros

It provides real confidence after a short time of constant practice.

Cons

It's a little slow, I have to wait a long time to be able to click on to next one.

SD
AvatarImg

Shakhnoza D.

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My best app

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like the content, variety of topics. My level was intermediate when I had started this app. Now I can pronounce like 90% as native speaker.

Cons

Only price is a bit expensive for me. Other things are great

AB
AvatarImg

Adriana B.

Legal Services, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good product to improve your pronunciation

Reviewed 2 years ago

Not great.

Pros

It helps with my pronunciation and speaking.

Cons

Sometimes the software does not recognize the voice or is not clear about why your pronunciation is wrong. I need to use it to improve my performance, but I hate the kind of feedback.

ES
AvatarImg

Ezra S.

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great app to improve your accent

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

* It gives a good feedback about how your accent sounds and what do you need to improve in your accent * It gives instructions about how to create those sounds (e. g. relax your lips, drop your jaw etc.)

Cons

* As said, the reminders didn't work well * I wish there was a lessson that focuses and elaborates more on the IPA showed on the feedback * Sometimes the app waits a few seconds to download the lesson or check for updates, not sure if it's my internet or something but it kinds of annoying

PG
AvatarImg

Prasad G.

Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ELSA Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good. I have recommended to 100s of guys till today.

Pros

1) Not dependent on tutor. 2) Ease and flexibility of use. 3) Quality of software interface.

Cons

Short duration packages shall be cheaper

EA
AvatarImg

Emanuel A.

Security and Investigations, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

best pronunciation

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am a good communicator and enjoy interacting with people

Pros

Help me with pronunciation and you ever learn a new word

Cons

You learn how to speak, you learn how to listen

AB
AvatarImg

Arlei B.

Consumer Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Elsa the beat experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

I feel very confident with Elsa, and I enjoy the App. It is one of the best I have tried.

Pros

The intonation was the most impactful because when I'm talking in English, I don't want to sound like a robot. The product was straightforward to use; it does by itself. Elsa helped me a lot; integration with my existing business was easy.

Cons

This is something I couldn't evaluate right now because I'm delighted till now.

OA
AvatarImg

Omar A.

Design, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AI technology in learning

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's the only perfect English learning app with AI technology and it is an organized and practical platform I have ever seen. In addition its motivation and reminder notifications play an important role in my goal progress process. Thank you!

Cons

It's the only perfect English learning app with AI technology and it is an organized and practical platform I have ever seen. In addition its motivation and reminder notifications play an important role in my goal progress process. Thank you!

TB
AvatarImg

Taisia B.

Translation and Localization, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My personal story of life inspired by Elsa ApP

Reviewed 2 years ago

I started using this app maybe 4 years ago. My pronoun Intuit was not at all good. I was at school then. And before preparing for my B2 Cambridge Test I started to feel concerned about how I sound in English. I used Elsa for checking different words and completing tasks. I mostly enjoyed this tests and progress charts. After using it I definitely became more confident in my voice. It’s impossible not...

Pros

I really liked that you cans speak and obtain the immediate feedback. It would be even better to have more practise on every sound itself. To learn more from phonology. However it’s nice that you can do an instant progress just trying to find the perfect sound.

Cons

I don’t like that I should pay, just because I am a student and I don’t have so much money on my own. Still I had several times bought 1month premium because I really enjoyed your app

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not perfect, but good enough to use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

In 20 min daily I can improve my English on an easy and interesting way

Cons

Freezing too often, sometimes I don't know what should I pronounce better. Big problem is the poor main dashboard, hard to monitor the achievement and development

OH
AvatarImg

Omar H.

Financial Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Elsa idvidual user!

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, Elsa is one of the best apps that add value to users and increase their knowledge of English! It is recommended if you want to learn English with an accent.

Pros

I have seen progress in learning English as a second languageThe App overall is easy to useThe app helped me to score a high rate in General ILETS

Cons

The app is full of features, and I wish there were a dashboard that reflects the progress with weak areas.There are no interactive achievements.

RL
AvatarImg

Rachid L.

Consumer Electronics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Elsa Speak, the best app to improve your English pronunciation

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

the design of the app gamification I like the fact that I can record myself to compare my pronunciation and try to correct my mistakes

Cons

I'd like to get more advices ore videos to correct the pronunciation mistakes

NL
AvatarImg

Nay Lin A.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Good Software for English Learners

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The best thing about this software is it can detect the pronunciation in every details and suggest you improve on it.

Cons

The subscription fee should be more affordable.

KT
AvatarImg

Kourosh T.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ELSA has improved my pronunciation easily

Reviewed 2 years ago

speaking is a skill that ELSA Speak tried to teach this and simulate usage in real life.

Pros

focus on interactive speaking, practical learning with assessment, seeing progress and improvement, understanding errors and fixing them

Cons

learning movement from zero to improved level

LS
AvatarImg

Laszlo S.

Accounting, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An accountant

Reviewed 2 years ago

I would like to work in an English speaking environment, and I could practice a lot with almost real example conversation dialogue.

Pros

This app helps me a lot to improve my speaking skills.

Cons

This app is a bit slow to open this app on my iPhone.

MK
AvatarImg

Mia K.

Management Consulting, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Into 4 months of daily use

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am an advanced user. It is really helpful to correct the little differences I didn’t notice myself.

Pros

I can learn what sounds I am making. When I say it, I believe I pronounce a certain syllable or a vowel. Elsa shows me what it actually sounds like. The short lesson lengths are very helpful to keep using the app daily. The example sentences and pronunciations are of quality.

Cons

To program structure is hard to understand. I think there are three different systems; the one provided me after test, the one with the planets, then 5 lessons a day recommendation.

OB
AvatarImg

Oksana B.

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Oksana’s review

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am satisfied

Pros

I like that it’s helping me to work on my weak spots

Cons

It’s not very intuitive. It took me some time to figure how to proceed to the bendy topic.

IP
AvatarImg

Iulian P.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

nice

Reviewed 2 years ago

It’s OK.

Pros

It’s easy to use and I like the feedback.

Cons

Sometimes it just stops, it doesn't work anymore and you have to restart the whole session.

AvatarImg

Karol Ż.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nice tool to improve pronunciation

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great help in mastering English pronunciation

Cons

Only mobile app No vocabulary translation

HD
AvatarImg

Ha D.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

ELSA API for English language centers in Vietnam

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The ELSA API really helps teachers of English in Vietnamese schools and language centers to make the pronunciation and speaking teaching easy and standardized.

Cons

It is still a bit on the expensive side for teachers and students in a low mi-income country like Vietnam.

Vendor response

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's a valuable asset for us to improve our product to meet clients' expectations. We hope to continue to work with you in the way of teaching and learning English

NW
AvatarImg

Nellie W.

Computer & Network Security, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Well-designed and self-study product to improve English

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Flexible, effective to improve skills

Cons

Failed to recognize student 's speech correctly

MM
AvatarImg

Morteza M.

Chemicals, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ELSA student

Reviewed 2 years ago

it was so amazing for me.

Pros

I used only the trial version. It was so productive and useful . Although I have tried a lot to get the full version of the software unfortunately I couldn't reach it because of financial problem in our country.

Cons

thanks to financial problem, I couldn't access to upgrade of your valuable software in our region.

TD
AvatarImg

Thuy D.

Insurance, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good to use

Reviewed 2 years ago

So far so good, if you can improve the speed of application will be better

Pros

Multiple options for learning: vocabulary, listening, speaking. I can know where I need to improve on pronunciation.

Cons

Sometimes the speed of evaluation of my voice is quite slow. It is not stable and freezed. I have to quit the application and access again.

MM
AvatarImg

Mahsa M.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Mahsa review about ELSA

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am satisfied overally

Pros

I see my progress and I can choose different skills to practice. It also has variety of topics.

Cons

Sometimes doesn’t detect pronunciation properly I passed a course and didn’t get the certification After a month it didn’t develop me an special course as it did on free trial

AL
AvatarImg

Arun Leo P.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent software to improve pronunciation, and fluency.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Wonderful tool

Pros

The word and sentence pronunciation percentage match with native speaker helps me to gauge where I stand and also slow motion speaker option helps me to get every bit clear.

Cons

Not sure if i see any, all the features are very helpful.