App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Wolfram Mathematica Logo

Simulation solution for technical computing.

(3)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Wolfram Mathematica Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

169

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.43/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

tableau-software
zoho-analytics
minitab-statistical-software

Pros and cons

If you are starting out and want to learn this software I'd recommend it. The ability to solve symbolically is awesome and easy.
I like that their software system usability options are super wide, from algorithms, super functions to live data.
It has a great symbolic tool box great for solving very complex mathematical equations.
It was impossible to correct if there was an error trying to graph functions, and it ended up starting over multiple times. It performs poorly when dealing with vectors and matrics.
While working on an online module on Mathematica it is very restricted and does not provide many options compared to the offline module. It needs to be upgraded.
There is only one thing that I dislike about the product is its online module.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


169 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tigran K.

Owner

Real Estate, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

Great product for research and teaching

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Tigran: Hello, my name is Tigran. I'm a university professor and I give Wolfram Mathematica the rating...

JD
AvatarImg

John D. K.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mathematica was utilized throughout my Calculus I, II, III, and IV course work.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Great software for any DBA to utilize.

Pros

Mathematica has a vast number of tools and resources for anyone seeking to better understand trends, environmental data, forecasting and solve complex multivariable calculus problems for homework.

Cons

Mathematica saved my 4.0 in college, no cons from me--I hope I get to use Mathematica again in my professional life.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best symbolic math software, with a learning curve

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Mathematica is the go-to software when manipulating mathematical expressions that must be solved, simplified, visualized, modelled, etc. It defines an entire language dedicated to writing expressions precisely, with the option to write them with math symbols (e.g. sum, product, etc) or more similar to other programming language. Particularly useful is the symbolic differentiation feature, which is easy and intuitive to use. Many more advanced and domain-specific features are available, and keep being added at each release (yearly). There is a 'cloud' version of the software which can run Mathematica notebooks in the browser, making it possible to make quick checks without a full installation.

Cons

The Wolfram language's syntax and patterns is unlike any that I've seen, and so becoming proficient with Mathematica isn't just a matter of a few hours. Thankfully, the built-in help (reference manual) and tutorials are of great quality, and come with many practical example. The dedicated StackExchange community is also a great resource. Contributing to the difficulty is the fact that certain expressions...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adriel O.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Not worth the Price

Reviewed 3 years ago

Not worth the money - get SageMath instead

Pros

It makes symbolic algebra easy for laymen

Cons

Any features in Mathematica are replicated and performed much better by free software, like SageMath or JACAL. The syntax also lends itself to erros, which can be resolved only by copy-pasting the exact same syntax from another source

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful Computational Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been using Mathematica for three years, both in the context of my work and college. I have several applications written purely in Wolfram Language that I still use on a weekly basis. I have used Mathematica for solving differential equations and mechanics problems, building deep learning models and doing image processing. My most recent application is a function which takes as input video, audio or text and returns the key phrases and tags extracted from the speech/text.

Pros

The thing that I like the most about Wolfram Mathematica is that it is incredibly versatile. It handles almost all of the facets of technical computing starting form simple algebraic equations, solving ordinary and partial differential equations to image/ audio processing and machine learning. Moreover, Mathematica also has incredibly powerful graphing and modeling capabilities. The interface is aesthetically pleasing and intuitive. The ability to add hierarchical cells is a big advantage and allows to format notebook in a beautiful way. Regarding the features, Wolfram Mathematica has almost everything you need. Moreover, it's ability to be integrated with C++, Python and other languages, makes it an exceptionally powerful application.

Cons

The only thing that I dislike about Mathematica, is the fact that there is a certain learning curve, as Wolfram is a very vast language and it may take time to learn and use it comfortably. Other than that, there is nothing I dislike about Wolfram Mathematica, as it perfectly suits my needs.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A lifesaver for a lab with different levels of mathematical expertise!

Reviewed 5 years ago

With this, you don't need to be able to develop complex programs to successfully complete routine calculation tasks. Our lab uses it to get accurate calculations for unit conversions as well as resuspension volumes, etc that usually take a while to calculate with excel or other data processing software. It's easy to use and can be customized given the right expertise.

Pros

This software maes complex calculations that are routine a breeze to complete. We used to use excel for our calculations, which required really complex formulas typed in to the formula bar that were easily corrupted by an accidental click. Additionally, you had to be really familiar with the spreadsheet already in order to use the formula. With Wolfram, we have automated much of our routine calculations, such as titrations and reconstitutions. The formulas are already built in and require very little calculation on the user's part. Everything as simple as converting millimoles to micromoles, all the way to more complex tasks such as calculating dilution factors, can all be done quickly and has improved both accuracy and productivity in the lab.

Cons

In order to make many of the calculations and formulas relevant to our particular needs in the lab, we needed a person who was highly competent with program design and logic. For the longest time we were stuck with only using the basic functions until finally someone more familiar with computers in general helped us to design custom functions.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An application that you can use to do calculation and solve complex mathematical problems.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been using this platform to solve many complex mathematical problems like integration, differentiation etc. Also I used it to make presentation slides one time and it was quite nice.

Pros

By using this platform, It is very easy to solve complex mathematical problems . Also It can be used to perform computation and solving statistical problems.

Cons

I think the cost of installation is high so it would be much better for a student like me if the cost can be reduced . Also sometime I feel that Mathematica language is slightly harder to understand for me.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Unparalleled Mathematic Computing Capabilities

Reviewed 4 years ago

If Mathematica suits your needs for computational power, it is an unparalleled and invaluable tool to have at your disposal.

Pros

Mathematica is a powerful computation and analytical coding framework. While not as versatile as similar computing languages, Mathematica is simple enough to use in day-to-day computations but powerful enough for any project. its visualization tools are very powerful, allowing you to easily view and manage data in both 2D and 3D sets. Its integration with additional packages is very powerful, and updated frequently. For symbolic mathematics, there is no competitor quite as powerful as Mathematica.

Cons

Given that it is a coding framework, the barrier to entry can be quite high to people without a programming background. Strict syntax rules dictate that functions be written precisely and correctly, or else you'll run into errors or unexpected behavior. While Mathematica doesn't have the worst error checking I've seen in some programming languages, it lacks on-the-fly error checking. The cost of Mathematica can seem prohibitive, but if Mathematica suits your needs it can easily make up for its cost in time savings.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A useful mathematical tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been using Mathematica for the last 4 years both for my research and clas work. It hase been very useful to me, and my experience with Mathematica has been exceptional.

Pros

It has a wide range of mathematical feature ranging from linear algebra to complex differential calculus. This platform is very easy to use as it is pretty intuitive.

Cons

One of the biggest shortcomings of this platform is its failure to identify or point out the error in the code/programming. The cost can be a barrier too.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

SK J.

Information Services, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Helping scientists, artists, business houses implement advanced mathematical models into their work

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

One of the oldest mathematics software (first version 1988) that has helped many scientists, artists, business houses implement advanced mathematical models into their work.

Cons

They need to work in a team and stop giving an impression that the world of programming is the world of Wolfram. Little reference or appreciation for other programming languages and habit of self-praising by its founder belittles his own real accomplishments.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tuieng R.

Research, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Expensive tool but very intuitive for learners

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The features and coding language is intuitive for first-time coding beginners. Helpful for learning how to code and is very useful for plotting graphs and functions especially with he manipulate function.

Cons

Very expensive to purchase a liscence and is difficult to switch to other coding languages given how simplified their language is.

SA
AvatarImg

Serdar A.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The graphic drawing with Wolfram Mathematica in mathematics is a craft

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, It provides great convenience in symbolic operations and graphic drawings, it is far superior to matlab with these features. but there are such equations that mathematica can't solve for hours. If you are working with fractional numbers, the rationalize command shortens the processing time quite a bit.

Pros

Especially drawing complex graphics can create a masochistic pleasure in people. Unlike matlab, which almost industrialized the graphic drawing business, creating graphics in mathematica is a craft. all the coordinates are entered manually (at one point they came to the mercy and put the 3d viewpoint selector command on the input menu, but there you see only the axes, not what you drew, the rest is up to your imagination). The handiwork that comes out at the end is brilliant, you can't help showing it to your friends.

Cons

Although it is a software that I greatly appreciate, it can sometimes drive me crazy with the error sentences it gives. opening and closing the program from time to time can be useful. It needs to be emptied when the memory is full, otherwise it gives more errors in new calculations.

ZR
AvatarImg

Zouheir R.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Poor Customer Service

Reviewed 4 years ago

I had to call quite a few times before getting an answer which at the end turned out to be complete​ nonsense. I 've just acquired a license for my own use and install it on a MAC. However, since the OS Catalina update, my license stopped​ working and required an update from Mathematica "32-bit app compatibility with macOS High Sierra 10.13.4 and later". I contacted Wolframe thinking that they would be understanding in providing a free upgrade. "No way" was their answer.

Pros

Great software which has been very useful to me for more than 12 years now.

Cons

I was really surprised by​ their poor customer support.

BD
AvatarImg

Bhawin D.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great platform to calculate, integrate and so on.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This is a very useful software in physics and engineering. We can download and install in our computer via our university link. It is very easy to use. Sometimes people from Wolfram come to our university to run a workshop about wolfram mathematica. Besides mathematica, I use wolfram alpha frequently.

Cons

Some computational work and big data analysis in Nuclear physics may be difficult using Wolfram Mathematica.

AZ
AvatarImg

Aileen Z.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The gold standard of symbolic mathematical programming

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I've used Mathematica for classes for years, from testing the validity of my intuition to writing up problem solutions. It's been always unexpectedly powerful and well-documented. Any frustrations I encounter lie in my own ineptitude, not the quality of the software.

Cons

Mathematica is not the easiest software to use. It requires a very clear idea of the problem you are trying to solve and a good understanding of the language syntax (which is notoriously different than most other languages). The built-in integration with WolframAlpha can help you address questions best phrased in plaintext. Also, the program is by far the largest on my computer (>10 GB).

BB
AvatarImg

Binod B.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A must have software for every science and math student

Reviewed 5 years ago

I'm highly satisfied and recommend Wolfram Mathematica.

Pros

I like how easily it solves complex algebra and integration problems. It's so easy and intuitive to use.

Cons

The cloud version sometimes freezes otherwise it could be a great feature for users to have a powerful Computational tool everywhere.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best mathematics tools available for students

Reviewed 5 years ago

Life-saver for anyone who is struggling with mathematics.

Pros

This software can be an absolute life-saver for any student learning mathematics. The software solves such a large range of math problems ranging from simple to complex in an instant. It demonstrates step-by-step problem solving which facilitates learning. I used this software throughout my undergraduate education and still use it today.

Cons

Like any great software, there can be a slight learning curve in order to get the most out of it. For the simple functions, it is click-and-go. For the most advanced functions, it may take some time to learn.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Design, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Useful tool to have around

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I used Mathematica in my undergrad and continue to use it. First of all - it's the best graphing, master, super calculator you could ever have. With Mathematica one can quickly create graphics that are useable in presentations and reports. The graphics are attractive and professional. Wolfram also has a great team. I've recommended their Wolfram Alpha for people struggling with mathematics for years. Mathematica's language take a bit to learn, but with the basics you can hit the ground running with help from their massive support system. Great software overall. Plays well with Linux and Mac.

Cons

I have no beefs with Mathematica. I've heard people complain about inability to do what AutoCad can... but then just go use AutoCad for that! I've also heard it's not 'industry/university standard' 'Nobody uses it' but I think it's a shame if that's not the case now.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

My favorite calculation software behind excel

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

For complicated algorithms or system design - Mathematica is, hands down, my favorite calculation software. You can make your calculations very presentable and can customize the look of your notebook as much as you want.

Cons

With all of the wonderful things about Mathematica - it has a fairly significant learning curve. There are lots of quick keys that make the software faster, but without it, the time to create calculations can be really slow. It takes a good amount of time to really understand the software.

EU
AvatarImg

Eric U.

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall wolfram is good and a great learning tool. Ithas the best visual aids.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The ability to change variables and see how it effects the graph is a lot of help when trying to understand a function and how the vdidderent variables change the graph. Also just seeing a accurate representation of a equation in a graph, whether it's 2 dimension or 3 dimension, makes learning the material much easier.

Cons

A moajor con for me was the inability to get wolfram to work properly. Every time I needed to open something on wolfram I would have to manually open it with wolfram instead of just clicking on the display and having wolfram open it automatically. I would do this every time and was very annoying after the first 10 times. I don't know if wolfram doesn't work well with Macs or maybe it's older Macs. Nobody could get it to work properly and I'm still stuck doing it the long way.

FA
AvatarImg

Francisco A.

Higher Education, 1-10 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A powerful tool for science students

Reviewed 3 years ago

It’s the best mathematical software I’ve ever used

Pros

It’s UI is one of the most easy to use, even if you don’t understand much of programming

Cons

Like many other software of this type it requires for you to mess up before you actually achieve what you want

SI
AvatarImg

Sandeep I.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Technical computing software!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I had a great experience using Mathematica to solve research problems.

Pros

I enjoyed using Mathematica for solving research problems for a master's and PhD level course named 'Mathematical Methods of Physics'. Its great for visualizing the data and creating/viewing both 2D and 3D graphs. Ideal for technical computing.

Cons

Entering equations or math is definitely hard. Its difficult to understand the typos or mistakes, as the displayed error message is not easy to understand. There is a learning curve associated with the use of Mathematica.

PD
AvatarImg

Pallavi D.

Biotechnology, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ideal software for technical computing!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I had a great experience using the Wolfram Mathematica. It's an ideal software for technical computing.

Pros

I like Wolfram Mathematica software because of its high speed mathematical calculation, instantaneous graph illustration, and 3D image view capabilities.

Cons

There is a learning curve to write or enter equations in Mathematica. It's easy to make mistakes.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Mathematica Review

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Mathematica is a useful tool for solving equations numerically. After spening sometime getting accustomed to the software it is rather easy to do many different mathematical operations which can be used to help with many areas of science and math.

Cons

The software can be rather confusing so there is an entry curve before you can use mathematica to work on more complex topics. Be prepared to look at outside resources as Mathematica's examples are very trivial and rather hard to get to work for what you are doing.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Student Experience

Reviewed 5 years ago

Utilized for multiple math classes. Was impressed with the capabilities, but trying to learn the both complicated interactions in the software and learn the course subjects was difficult. If you enjoy computer programming and understand the language, well worth it.

Pros

The 3D capabilities of this software are great visuals! The input was fairly easy, and the calculus based operations were helpful in understanding the concepts.

Cons

If you do not understand computer programming, you will not understand the language needed to input the functions and calculations. If there was an error attempting to graph functions, it was difficult to undo and ended up starting over several times.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Anil A.

Chemicals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Impressive tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

My overall experience is great. Wolfram language is like a swiss army knife.

Pros

I mostly use Wolfram Mathematica for quick calculations, visualizations and some mathematical modeling.

Cons

Mostly, for long programs, it might not be straightforward to debug and understand where you made a mistake.