ZapWorks Reviews

ZapWorks

Development tools for creating Augmented Reality experiences

4.38/5 (8 reviews)

Pros
  • The tool is very simple to use and most users, even non creative ones, can create an experience quickly.
  • Love the easy to use and interactive User interface. really clear and friendly. the videos are a massive boost
  • I like the easy to use interface. The video tutorials and forms are a massive help to me. I love how I can ask questions on the forms and get help from the developers.
  • The fact that is user friendly. The interface is straight forward and you can build all the funcionality even if you don't know how to code. And of course, if you do then even better. What is really important is the support. 10 out of 10 when you have a question, the support team is brilliant and you always get the help you need.
Cons
  • would prefer a 3d barcode to zapcode or something that can allow somebody without the app to get the content still
  • I would like a better way to work with 3d models inside ZapWorks. I'm new to 3d models so having it in ZapWorks would help me out a lot.
  • As with all products of this nature and wide scope there is a bit of a learning curve, especially the more intricate the experience that you're building.
  • Zappar's proprietary tools restrict the user from using industry standard formats. Zapworks allows users to create experiences easily but with extremely limited creative freedom. The end result is "AR Lite".
100%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague
Milenne Tanganelli

Zapworks is a really friendly AR tool, easy to use whatever skills and experience with AR.

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-05-16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The fact that is user friendly. The interface is straight forward and you can build all the funcionality even if you don't know how to code. And of course, if you do then even better. What is really important is the support. 10 out of 10 when you have a question, the support team is brilliant and you always get the help you need.

Cons
I cannot think of a negative. I think the documentation can be improved with more practical tutorials. I have learned most of it from the tutorials so the more the better. Having said that the tutorials are really good, well explained and step by step making it very easy for anyone to follow.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


ZapWorks

Development tools for creating Augmented Reality experiences

Destery Hildenbrand

Zapworks Studio is the Augmented Reality Rapid Prototyping tools you need

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

So far as an organization and contractor in the learning and development space Zapworks Studio has been a key addition to our development toolbox. We have started developing interactive experiences and more immersive training options for the learners and Zapworks has allowed us to enhance and expand on that. The ease of use to get started creating and the possibility of more advanced development through scripting makes this a valuable fit to our team. We have a wide range of coding experience between the group of developers and Zapworks studio allows for all of us to get involved at some level in the creation of training. If your looking to get started developing for AR Zapworks Studio is a great tool to use.

Pros
The existing resources and tutorials available by the Zapworks team and the forum of users willing to help get you up to speed. The Zapworks Studio tool is a great way to get into developing for Augmented Reality(AR) experiences through it's easy to use GUI and timeline features. This ease of use is highlighted in the fact that to start creating interactive AR experiences you don't even have to know any code.

Cons
When it's time to start doing extra things above and beyond the basics that involve scripting Zapworks Studio can be tricky. It's not for the faint of heart or beginning coder. If you have soem C# or Javascript background it will serve you well however the Zapworks hybrid script can still be challenging to get started with even with that background. From an experience point of view the more you come in with the easier a transition it is.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


ZapWorks

Development tools for creating Augmented Reality experiences

Frans Tihveräinen

Good and versatile AR production software

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-11-15
Review Source: Capterra

We offer custom augmented reality solutions to companies and cities and use ZapWorks as our publishing tool for AR.

Pros
ZapWorks is a very versatile and can be used for simple video-based augmentations as well as very complex and interactive 3D works. With Zappar, almost anything can be achieved one way or another and it is always great to see the wow-effect of augmented reality. ZapBox, a recent addition to the ZapWorks family increases this wow-effect even more. ZapWorks handles the software/infrastructure/cloud side of things very well and allows us designers to concentrate on only the fun part (=design & implementation!). ZapWorks is also reasonably priced and delivers serious bang for buck.

Cons
Some restrictions like flat target images (not round surface or 3d tracking) and the must to include the zapcode limit some possible use scenarios. Also the lack of dynamic lights in 3D is slightly challenging, but luckily textures can be baked to 3D-assets nicely.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ZapWorks

Development tools for creating Augmented Reality experiences

Anonymous

Doesn't play nice in the sandbox

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The tool is very simple to use and most users, even non creative ones, can create an experience quickly.

Cons
Zappar's proprietary tools restrict the user from using industry standard formats. Zapworks allows users to create experiences easily but with extremely limited creative freedom. The end result is "AR Lite".

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


ZapWorks

Development tools for creating Augmented Reality experiences

Len Van Der Westhuizen

Fantastic, I'm loving it!

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-11-21
Review Source: Capterra

I come from a traditional Graphic Design for print background, incorporating a good amount of 3d Concept Visualization work for Point Of Purchase, Product and Visual Merchandising. Augmented Reality breathes new life into this field, and ZapWorks is helping me do just that.

Pros
I have to completely agree with other reviewers that ZapWorks is a highly versatile product. One can create anything from simple-to-implement 2d animations and videos to very complex, and intricate experiences incorporating 3d content and sound, from games to product visualizations and promotional experiences. Deep knowledge of scripting is not necessarily needed either, Zappar's growing online documentation and Customer Support is fantastic and will get you into building great experiences in no time.

Cons
As with all products of this nature and wide scope there is a bit of a learning curve, especially the more intricate the experience that you're building.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ZapWorks

Development tools for creating Augmented Reality experiences

Steve Morrison

I started with ZapWorks because of a KickStarter they had forZapBox.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-16
Review Source: Capterra

An easy way of making AR experiences.

Pros
I like the easy to use interface. The video tutorials and forms are a massive help to me. I love how I can ask questions on the forms and get help from the developers.

Cons
I would like a better way to work with 3d models inside ZapWorks. I'm new to 3d models so having it in ZapWorks would help me out a lot.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ZapWorks

Development tools for creating Augmented Reality experiences

Johan Walters

Absolutely love working with Zapworks Studio!

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-03-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I'm not a developer, but knew I had to understand how Studio works in order to effectively communicate with our AR developers. Zappar's Tutorials are easy to use and follow (for a beginner) and gave me a great foundation on how Studio works. As a result, I'm having effective communication with our AR developers to produce great Zappar powered experiences.

Cons
Definitely a learning curve if you're a non-developer. But as I've mentioned, the tutorials are great and Zappar HQ can definitely invest in producing more - will assist many non-coders liker me to truly see the potential of the platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


ZapWorks

Development tools for creating Augmented Reality experiences

Paul Armsby

Great fun to use and amazing what you can produce quickly

Used monthly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-09-07
Review Source: Capterra

Internal Comms was brought into the future

Pros
Love the easy to use and interactive User interface. really clear and friendly. the videos are a massive boost

Cons
would prefer a 3d barcode to zapcode or something that can allow somebody without the app to get the content still

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


ZapWorks

Development tools for creating Augmented Reality experiences