This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

athenaCollector

Cloud-based practice management system

see alternatives

athenaCollector Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Their training and preparation during transition is outstanding and their support after go-live is terrific.

Doug K.

Excellent Customer support. All our queries get resolved with good explanations.

Bhuvana N.

The ease of use by a billing end user is great. The patient's account is easy to navigate and the dashboard of holds are very clear to see.

Michelle G.

Cons

The posting team is awful. They were writing off charges constant that were not suppose to be written off.

Pamela M.

Lack of customer support and lack of knowledge regarding billing staff. Very cumbersome with claims rules and holds that are not worked by trained AR or RCM staff.

tonya z.

This is the worst, most complicated software I have ever used.

Pamela M.

Overall rating

4.1

5

4

3

2

1

21

14

6

1

3

78%
positive reviews
77%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


45 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The billing aspect is what I expected of the software. Easy to post payments, looking up patients is very simple

Cons

Reports are a task to create. When the reports are created you have to keep changing the settings to get what you want.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Up and running!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The thought of changing EHR systems is daunting. Our change to Athena however, was wonderful. We adore the system. The transmission of the info from our first EHR to this one was complete and accurate. We were able to make decisions about how we wanted it to conform to our needs. The trainers are wonderful and have been back several time for sessions to broaden our use and experience. We were pokey at first, but the system is intuitive and simple to figure out for the experienced staff and for the new staff. I've determined that Athena built in several paths to each task - so it appeals to logic across a broad range of staff.

Cons

I get comfortable in my little zone and have a tendency to stay there - THEN Athena shows up for a refresher course and next thing I know, I have a whole new bag of tricks! A little faster, a lot better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This is the worst, most complicated software I have ever used.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I learned from my mistakes. I knew what to look for and ask before we switched vendors.

Pros

They have an automated program that calls the patients if they don't pay. They have mechanisms in place that won't let the patient be until they pay.

Cons

1500 characters is not enough space to write the cons. The posting team is awful. They were writing off charges constant that were not suppose to be written off. Always posting wrong. You think a company that had the responsibility of posting payments would show their posters how to read an EOB. Their first tier support wasn't trained adequately. They would always refer you back to your account manager. We were inundated with phone calls from patients because their accounts were incorrect. They billed Medicare patients for services that were suppose to be written off. Then the patient paid before I'd find the mistake. I'd then have to send them a check for the over payment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Versatile Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Athena caters to everything a center needs to operate. Plus, Athena keeps getting better.

Pros

It is an all in one, one stop shop, software for our Gastro clinic and surgery. As the Quality Manager, what I like best is it has a marketplace that offers integration to the software. When the state mandates rules and compliance, Athena makes sure they can get you covered within their marketplace. This is very useful for our Billing Department.

Cons

Physical Chart keeping is still a good way to keep record for back up. When Athena has a malfunction for just a few hours or half of the day, our patient queue wait takes extremely long. Thus, we get bad service reviews. Athena is great but a health and surgery center should always have a physical backup management to continue operation in case Athena fails. Billing also stops operation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Partners for Life

Reviewed 8 years ago

This is a great company with amazingly smart people working with us everyday to make our lives easier at work. I cannot imagine choosing any other company, and I did a ton of research and due diligence. Athena is a company which sees the future and takes us there with them. We all love the products and the company. You will too!

Pros

The beauty of athenaClinicals is that there is only one version of athenaClinicals, and that is the updated version. They update for us and it is constantly being updated. The great thing about athena is that you don't "buy" it, you are basically a subscriber and they do all the updates, all the back office work for you. The implementation process went beautifully, we worked really hard to get...

Cons

Athena is a monthly expense and not cheap, but we feel we get more than our money's worth . Financially we are doing very well as a matter of fact, we have never done better

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Athena EMR

Reviewed 3 years ago

I like that it is comprehensive for scheduling, charting, and billing so there is no need to go between multiple programs, however it does have some flaws that impact workflow.

Pros

Easy to enter patient data and I like that there is a tab to access meaningful use as a reminder for screenings/vaccines/etc. that the patient is due for. Also excellent for maximizing billable services.

Cons

I don't like that you can't be in the patient's chart and keep the daily schedule open on the side to keep track of patient arrivals while you are charting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Its a pretty smooth running system. Not alot of major errors

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that it is easy to understand and navigate. The layout is simple and organized. Every office should use this!

Cons

There is really anything that I don't like about this system. It really has all the functions i need to be able to do my job effectively.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best We Have Found

Reviewed 3 years ago

We need this to collect all patient data, billing, etc. We like the ability to text our patients with confirmations, cancellations, etc.

Pros

I like all of the features, it takes some training to get everybody up to speed but pretty easy to use after that. The cloud based patient management is very helpful and cuts down on storage. We are a relatively small with about 30 physicians so this is perfect for us.

Cons

Communicator and Marketing Software. The email system for Communicator could be better. They charge a lot for features and all the partner software is expensive as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

review of Athena Collector

Reviewed 3 years ago

good overall.

Pros

powerful, can produce a ton of metrics. Helps us capture more revenue.

Cons

onerous to use, difficult to navigate, interface not very user friendly. Steep learning curve, not intuitive

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Its a great product that every collections agency should use.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The training modules makes it easy to use live. When I used Athena live, I was ready to assist my customers and patients.

Cons

There are no options to check box an amoun. You have to enter each payment manually. It can be difficult to keep up when working in a fast paced environment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Collections have been increased using athenaCollector

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like that athenaCollector has follow through on contacting patients whose accounts have been marked as delinquent. Also like that they separate out those patients who have been slated as possible collections referral.

Cons

I would like if athenaCollector was able to verbally speak with patient regarding delinquent accounts if necessary

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good for many things. Needs improvement with client support.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The ease of finding patients and finding the documents you are looking for - things are categorized properly and makes it much easier when looking for a specific document.

Cons

When changing things in an order group, sometimes the changes do not save properly. Therefore, you have to go back and make changes multiple times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Expensive and terrible software

Reviewed 5 years ago

-5.3% collection rate for my specialty for full billing service, many EOBs such as Cigna n texanplus are not posted yet they charge you 5.3% of the collections. I've provided our logins for various insurance websites, yet they don't do anything. -denied claims: some they tell you are denied, some are put on hold that unless you check you don't even know is denied. They do not do much for denied claims despite their advertisement. -they charge $1 for every e prescription you write -calling support line easily hold for 20-25 min then many times their twos do not know the answer and give you a reference number n call back later -my account manager and her boss ignore my emails and phone calls w concerns not just not know answer, flat out ignore.

Pros

Emr and billing in onr

Cons

Way too expensive for the level of service, lack of many EOB posting n denied claims work up make 5.3% not worthwhile

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great software needs support

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Built for the medical billing and EHR community. Very robust and thorough with many features to assist with new regulations

Cons

Lack of customer support and lack of knowledge regarding billing staff. Very cumbersome with claims rules and holds that are not worked by trained AR or RCM staff.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago

Excellent Customer support. All our queries get resolved with good explanations.

Pros

Using the software is self explanatory and easy to understand

Cons

None

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We recently switched from NextGen to Athena Collector.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The system is much faster than others we have used. Templates load quickly which saves a ton of time.

Cons

The first "round" of collections is automated by Athena. Often, the notes they have on the accounts to not relate to the chart. for example, they will state- referral needed, but the referral is in the chart already. Could be because its still new but it is still a major issue for us presently.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

athenahealth

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been using athenahealth since 2011. There have been many changes for the better. Athenahealth strives to be ahead of the curve when it comes to regulatory changes. They are proactive. Customer service is very helpful and seem to answer 90% of question up front. What they can't answer is researched and answered in a timely manner.

Pros

Proactive in regulatory changes. They are above in their field. Reports are amazing and customer service is very professional.

Cons

Office need to maintain the control with adjustments because they are aware of extenuating circumstances with each case.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

There are several things I love about Athena, but Customer Service and Account Manager

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love how the workable claims process are put into worklists, which is a great concept. Electronic eligibility is a definite plus. Auto reminder calls for appointments and payments, some flaws, but good concept.

Cons

Online training, which doesn't fully prepare you for going live. Customer Service and Account Manager response time or resolution of problems. Offshore posting and claims help, communication barrier and incorrect posting and working of claims on their part.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best Decision We Ever made!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Using athenaCollector, athenahealth's practice management service, enabled our practice to trim its billing staff from 8 to 1 ½ with our average days in AR at 16. Prior to that we were waiting over 90 days to receive money from the insurance company. Athena Collector provides a user friendly environment that gives us insight into revenue cycle management and organizational performance. It gives...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Athena software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Athena software allows the functionality of registering, scheduling, checking in and out a patient. These actions are performed in a prioritize and organized way.

Cons

n/a

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

athena meets the challange

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have used Athena for 6.5 years. Athena has changed over the years to meet all of the challenges and changes that have happened. The ICD-10 is coming the internal training program insures that the office and the provider will be ready. The ICD-10 training is easy and logical and specialized to the individual practice. The Athena team stands behind us with follow up on claims, makes the calls...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent Option For Independent Physicians

Reviewed 6 years ago

I love the Athena Health program and highly recommend it especially for independent physician with a need to have a solid base to their billing system. I have been highly satisfied with Athena's service but do recommend that anyone using their system has someone with billing follow up expertise on board to follow up and resolve billing issues as they come up. If your system runs well you can send the...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best software we've ever used

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have used several medical billing software packages, including eCW, and as far as we're concerned, Athena is the best in the market. Athena is the benchmark for all other billing software packages.

Pros

Patient collections, ins eligibility checking, claims scrubbing, Hold buckets for claims needing correction

Cons

That they don't offer a "basic" client option any longer (can't post your own payments)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Recent Update

Reviewed 5 years ago

Just like any system, Athena has good and bad. The most recent forced update which primarily grouped together similar insurances under a "super package". This change has caused many difficulties. One "super package" can include an insurance that does not require a referral while another insurance under the same package requires an authorization. There is no simple way to figure out exactly which insurance plan you are looking at unless you open up the eligibility details which is time consuming.

Pros

The scheduling feature is extremely easy to use. You can use as many or as little filters as you would like to schedule a patient.

Cons

The insurance policies in Athena have moved around and combined with plans they should not have been combined with. It is a nightmare to run a report for a certain insurance or trying to decipher which specific plan you are looking at without multiple steps. When making changes to a group of claims (for example adding a missing insurance), you have to go into each individual claim to make the change - there is no way to make the same change to multiple claims.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

If our billing department didn't double check their posting we would lose THOUSANDS of dollars!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

There are many reports that can be run but some of the reports you would think are needed for every practice are not loaded, you have to "build" the report yourself.

Cons

The staff is not trained to understand how to post claims. If you are an office that gave a great review you may want to spot check a few claims to make sure they are posting correctly-especially if you have any auto claims as you may not even realize they are costing you money!!