App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Avalara Logo

Tax compliance done right

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Avalara Reviews - Page 13

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


319 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly recommended for outsourcing your U.S. sales tax needs

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It speaks with our GL software and everything is streamlined and automated. I can review everything quickly and easily. If I have any questions regarding the software/website, our filings, nexus, or other prospective services Avalara offers, my account manager Lauree Burse and their dedicated support team are quick to respond and very helpful.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

HY
AvatarImg

Hongyun Y.

Information Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tax Accountant

Reviewed 2 years ago

It went well.

Pros

It is easy and accurate to prevent the human errors.

Cons

Sometime the response from customer service is slower than expected.

Vendor response

Hongyun, thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We work hard to deliver our customers an easy-to-use solution, and we're grateful to serve you.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great program

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use and set-up! I'm still new to the program, but no complaints so far.

Cons

N/A - it was easy to set-up. No complaints about it at all.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Avalara. We're happy to hear your feedback, and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

JY
AvatarImg

Jordan Y.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Avalara Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

Very helpful and quick to respond to support requests.

Pros

Easy to use once you get the hang of it. Has detailed instructions posted online.

Cons

Only allow 2 support contacts that can submit cases per company. It would be more convenient if all users could submit issues directly.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AMAZING PRODUCT!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This is a great software for filing your tax returns

Cons

Nothing, I found it extremely useful and easy to use

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kellen R.

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Poor performance and service

Reviewed 6 years ago

Avalara is one of the only buinesses I will go out of my way to tell others to avoid.

Pros

When it works and calculates and submits my returns it is valuable

Cons

Support is terrible. Avarala has cost me thousands of dollars for their mistakes ans they will not own up to them.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very effective and fast response.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

This is definitely a very dinamic and friendly tool. The level of service and prompt response is impeccable.

Cons

Too expensive. Pricing prevents small companies to have access to it. We got over 100% increase from our original starting price.

DD
AvatarImg

Dean D.

Retail, self-employed

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Avalara Tax Review 2019

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Great software. Covers a broad area of tax calculation needs

Cons

Way too expensive for startup to small businesses.

Vendor response

Hi Dean, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. We work hard to deliver our customers a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we're grateful to have the opportunity to serve you.

TB
AvatarImg

Tierra B.

Packaging and Containers, 1-10 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not really worth the expense

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and great way to ensure accuracy of tax data. Helps to ensure that I’m organized and tax compliant

Cons

For start ups, I’d recommend saving the money instead to subscribing to the monthly plan. You can get similar results on an Excel spreadsheet

CL
AvatarImg

Connie L.

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Avalara Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

Very good - very good customer support

Pros

It takes the burden off of staff to file returns which saves us time and allows us to focus on other things.

Cons

Setup and integration was cumbersome but we had a lot of customizations.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ingrid V.

Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for novices

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I needed assistance with my taxes and sales tax as a business owner and this helped so much!

Cons

While it is great for novices, it does take a bit to familiarize yourself with the system.

Vendor response

Hi Ingrid, thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Avalara. We work hard to deliver our customers a reliable and easy-to-use solution, and we're grateful to have the opportunity to serve you.

TT
AvatarImg

Talia T.

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

AvaTax Review

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The ability to file all states and internationally. Great guidelines and links on various help needs.

Cons

The customer service is okay and could be better.

Vendor response

Talia, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Avalara AvaTax. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to continuing to serve you. If there are additional comments you'd like to share, particularly around areas where you see need for improvement, please contact customercare@avalara.com.

MT
AvatarImg

Matt T.

Building Materials, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Worst company I have ever dealt with!

Reviewed 6 years ago

This has to be the absolute worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. I cannot believe the lack of communication and lack of follow up they have. Dealing with peoples taxes is a very serious business and they are one of the most unprofessional companies I have ever dealt with. I would never use this company ever again.

Pros

Absolutely nothing. I highly recommend others look elsewhere.

Cons

Everything.. they are horrible. I highly recommend others look elsewhere.

TF
AvatarImg

Trevor F.

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Avalara is a great tool for small businesses who need to get their sales tax payments in order.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Avalara is great for our smaller clients because it is so user friendly and allows them the ability to stay up on their sales tax.

Cons

It is hard to sell Avalara to some of our larger clients due to the marginal price increase for an increased number of transaction.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jim G.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lois B.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Karla C.

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

BF
AvatarImg

Bonnie F.

Environmental Services, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

VERED G.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review