App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Bellwether Purchasing Software Logo

Bellwether Purchasing Software

#1 Purchasing Software since 1985. Money back Guarantee

see alternatives

(12)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Bellwether Purchasing Software Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


78 reviews

Recommended

DW
AvatarImg

David W.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bellwether Purchasing Management Software

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall I would highly recommend Bellwether to anyone looking to keep track of their purchasing and inventory. I'm very glad we selected Bellwether. They work with us when we ask it they can add any features to fit our needs. Customer service is excellent; they always answer right away and have solved every problem we've ever came across.

Pros

Bellwether is super easy to use. I was given the task of finding a way to track our company's expenses on the indirect items that are bought throughout the company. Choosing Bellwether was one of the smartest decisions I have made. The software makes managing the companies purchasing and creating bills in Quickbooks very simple.

Cons

One feature I would like added, when creating a purchase order, is a check box that could be selected that indicates the order has already been received. We have a lot of purchases that happen at the local hardware where the items are received immediately after purchase. If there was a check box on the purchase order that said "Received" you could select that and take one step off of the process.

Vendor response

David, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Bellwether's BPM solution. Our goal was to make BPM as user friendly as possible and easy to adopt for organizations like yours. It's great to hear you are finding it easy to use. Additionally, Thank you for your feature suggestion. We will review that and possibly add this in a future update! We are always looking to flesh out our products and suggestions like yours are paramount.

RW
AvatarImg

Rosann W.

Newspapers, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A lot of functionality for a moderate investment

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, we've had a very good experience with this software.

Pros

Our primary use is for inventory management and stock requisitioning. The system works very well for those functions and has vastly improved our inventory audits. At the time we purchased (2010), web-based software was just becoming popular and was a huge plus.

Cons

We've been using it for so long now (12 years) that its use is second nature so it is hard to think of a specific "con." I would say at this point in time, one could be that there is not yet have a mobile app. Since the software is used primarily by our distribution team that works from the field, a mobile app that allows them to create and submit stock requisitions would be ideal and further streamline our efficiencies.

TP
AvatarImg

Tas P.

Hospitality, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Software for Vendor, PO and Requisition Tracking, among other features.

Reviewed 9 months ago

Very Good.

Pros

Bellwether is simple to navigate and it does not require a huge effort do get up and running. The catalog updates itself as orders are placed, so that frequently ordered items are easy to re-order. It is a great tool to track receiving and account for items that are to be split up among multiple properties. We replaced our archaic system of generating POs through an excel spreadsheet and the results we are seeing are impressive. It is super easy to track a purchase all the way to receipt. The implementation process was a breeze and the training sessions as well as online tutorials that are provided are very helpful. Our implementation manager (Regina) was amazing at responding to emails and answering any questions we had.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve when using "filters" and reporting could be a little more user-friendly, but overall, it is exactly what we were looking for. Is is worth adding that between the documentation (user guide) we were given, as well as the online tutorials provided, it is rare that we find ourselves in a situation where we are unable to find an answer to a question that came-up while using Bellwether. The system does everything we need and we are pleased.

Vendor response

Hi Tas, Thank you for your review. It's so nice to hear how easy it is for you and your team to use our product. I also appreciate the praise regarding the Implementation process. It was a pleasure to work with you and your team!

JE
AvatarImg

Juliet E.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy and cost effective for small business

Reviewed 8 months ago

This software has been a real eye opener into spending habits and getting everyone to use a PO for tracking has helped us get control of our spending.

Pros

It was easy to implement and going forward easy to upload the annual budget so we can track spending. The dashboard is great for management who want to be hands off - yet need quick visibility into spending.

Cons

This is a basic system and we don't fully utilize all it has to offer so there is nothing additional we need to run this side of the business.

Vendor response

Hi Juliet, Thank you for the great review! It's so nice to hear how our product has helped your team get control of your spending habits and gain visibility for your management team.

AR
AvatarImg

Anna R.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Harbor Bridge Project Bellwether Review

Reviewed a year ago

Great! We previously used excel to for requisitioning which would need to be printed, manually signed by approver, scanned and then emailed directly to Procurement. PO's would be in an excel as well, then saved to PDF and emailed to Vendors. This cuts down on a lot of miscommunication and "lost" req's/PO's

Pros

The ease for field team members to submit requisitions, on multiple devices. The ability to turn a requisition into a PO and transfer the data seamlessly. The ability to see the status of the Req's and PO's easily and quickly.

Cons

The amount of clicks it requires to search something - option to short key would be great! Also, when multiple PO's are approved they come together in one PDF, even if they are for several different vendors and they have to manually be separated through adobe.

IR
AvatarImg

Ilyssa R.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Program for Purchasing

Reviewed 4 years ago

Bellwether has helped our company tremendously. Over the last few years we have been able to utilize it to help us keep track of our spending like we were never able to before.

Pros

This software is very user friendly and simple to learn and use. My favorite thing about the program is the customer service that you get along with the product. They are always helpful and quick to answer any time I have a questions. They are improving all the time, which is actually a great thing because we've been able to make suggestions and express issues while having it fixed in a timely manner.

Cons

I feel that this is a growing software, so we've encountered some issues, but it's always very minimal. It can sometimes be picky on how you enter information, but it's nothing terrible.

Vendor response

Ilyssa, Thank you so much for the great endorsement of Bellwether! Kevin Chief

KT
AvatarImg

Kerry T.

Libraries, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Long time user of user-friendly Bellwether

Reviewed 2 years ago

For our public library, this product is the right price and has the right functionality for us. It is fairly easy to use for an average user. On the administrative side, it is easy to figure out for the most part. Some things like reports and items entries and be a little difficult.

Pros

Bellwether is simple and easy to use. It is affordable for most small businesses.

Cons

The reporting function and search functions of Bellwether could use some improvement. The search function is not the easiest, and compared to other software programs on the market, I believe it could work better. The report function is clunky and has never been a key feature of Bellwether, so if your organization requires financial reports from your PO system, this is not the software for you.

AA
AvatarImg

Annessa A.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We love Bellwether

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have loved our Bellwether experience. Customer service has been great and quickly responds if I've had an issue or question. This is our favorite product we use at the church.

Pros

We have loved the approval process and also the customization of the product. We use the product for more than just Purchases. We also use the product for reimbursements, credit card approvals, Check requests and petty cash requests. It has been great at holding people accountable with making purchases and getting the proper approvals before making purchases. It also has helped out tremendously with communication between departments when it comes to purchasing.

Cons

I have no complaints we love Bellwether!

AA
AvatarImg

Amad A.

Machinery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Daily Use

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

This program is fairly easy to use and does well with our daily operation.

Cons

When the PO goes past 15 lines, it is very slow.There is no warning when a duplicate number is added to a PO.When an item is received, sometimes the PO closes completely even though there is still an unreceived item left.

Vendor response

Hi Amad, Thank you for your review. If you can let us know what product you're using (EPMX or BPM) and what your company name is, we can look into the issues that you're having with PO's. Thanks!

SL
AvatarImg

Sue L.

Religious Institutions, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great program and Great customer service

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The Bellwether program really helped us to get a handle on our purchase approval process and followup on outstanding orders. It tracks everything from purchase requests to invoices to budgets. The customer service has been stellar - we haven't had to make very many requests but when we do, we get a response very quickly.

Cons

A couple of minor things: I would like to see the progress bar for the status of an order on the Purchase Order screen instead of the Requisition. It would also be helpful to have the Add Item box a different color or somehow differentiate it from the Order Lines section. That has been a point of confusion for some of our users.

JB
AvatarImg

Jordan B.

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fit perfectly into our workflow

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall it works very well and brings a lot of tracking and reporting that we did not have before.

Pros

We needed software that could serve as the bridge between our rental software and our purchasing department. Not only do we purchase a lot of assets for rental but our warehouse inventory needed a more convenient way to be processed. BPM serves us in both capacities.

Cons

There is a little bit of a learning curve when using "filters" to hone in on finding items (this is a newer way of doing it that people with less technical prowess has probably never seen before).

LK
AvatarImg

Leanne K.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fabulous Program

Reviewed 8 months ago

I love this program!

Pros

The ease of the use of the program and the assistance of the employees of Bellwether

Cons

I have not found any cons to this program

Vendor response

Hi Leanne, Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review and sharing your feedback. It's great to hear Bellwether staff are supporting your business well as our goal is to have the best support team in the industry!

SQ
AvatarImg

Susan Q.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Bang for your Buck

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

I like the ease of using this program. I

Cons

I do not like not being able to upload my own spreadsheets into the system and the inability to update codes without deleting the old ones. I sometimes get the same code or product in the system a couple times.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review Susan. We appreciate your feedback!

RT
AvatarImg

Reid T.

Oil & Energy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for vendor payment management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience is great.

Pros

-Simple receiving platform with drag and drop attachment capability -browser and mobile browser friendly interfaces - full approval matrix rules so the right people are approving the right spend.

Cons

- When receiving, the rate of the purchase invoice /packing slip received is not presented on the receiving lines for confirmation before receiving - post invoicing and received credits cannot be applied to an existing PO since it locks as completed.

KN
AvatarImg

Kimbery N.

Textiles, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bellwether makes our purchasing process easier.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Creating requisitions and purchase orders are intuitive and easy to explain to new users. I have trained many people in Bellwether and find that the help center is great for them and a wonderful tool.

Cons

I feel that the reporting process could be made much more user-friendly. Once I find the correct set up, the reporting is great, but it takes a lot of work to figure out how to get the data that I'm looking for.

JM
AvatarImg

Joshua M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Heavy Bellwether User

Reviewed 5 years ago

Lot's of problems are being solved. One centralized place for all purchases makes keeping track of budgets a lot easier.

Pros

The User Interface is one of the best I've seen. Very easy to navigate. Very quick and snappy for being a cloud based program. Great catalog and template that make requisitions very easy to submit.

Cons

Not really any large cons. Easy to use and solves a lot of problems other software have.

SW
AvatarImg

Steve W.

Industrial Automation, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

This was a good choice for our company

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very good experience with Bellwether, and the support has been effective and timely. The cost of the system kept me in budget.

Pros

The software is intuitive, and training employees was very easy. The set up and implementation process was very straight forward, and the Bellwether team very supportive. The automatic approval process from email is helpful, and means you don't have to log in to approve requisitions.

Cons

The report writer is chunky, and finding the right fields can be a challenge

Vendor response

Steve, Thank for the great endorsement of BPM. We have our new reporting module coming out in the next two months that will make your life easier. Kevin CEO

JJ
AvatarImg

James J.

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fairfield Properties

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to place and manage orders. Easy to train new employees. Purchasing features were customized well for our use.

Cons

I wish the requisition feature were more flexible to meet our needs.

PL
AvatarImg

Phil L.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This product fit our needs well both from capability and price point perspectives

Reviewed 8 years ago

Our organization was looking for a purchasing software package to replace an antiquated and cumbersome excel routine. After viewing a number of available packages at various price points we felt that ePMX would best meet our needs. Our set up included the institution of a part numbering system for repetitive needs and inventory management purposes. We also needed a custom bridge to output...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

SR
AvatarImg

Sheri R.

Individual & Family Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Bellwether PO and Inventory Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Love it.

Pros

The digital aspect is used across the organization.

Cons

Not everyone within the department can see their own department.

MS
AvatarImg

Michael S.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

It is a great way to track your spending on consumables. It also allows you to create a library of frequently ordered items for easier reordering.

Cons

I haven't found any reasons to dislike the product yet.

ST
AvatarImg

Summer T.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Purchasing System

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I really like the search function of this program. It is so easy to search through all of our purchases for an item that we have ordered.

Cons

I don't really have any complaints, this program does everything we need.

MB
AvatarImg

Megan B.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Sending internal notes to our purchaser to let her know specifics without needing it to be on the actual Purchase Order itself helps when setting up welder's to test at a lab and also for having Subcontractors com to perform work. Extra emails are not necessary because of this feature.

Cons

N/A -- This program is far beyond what we were using before (excel spreadsheets) for purchasing.

MM
AvatarImg

Michael M.

Law Enforcement, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product and Great Customer Service

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

It streamlined our current way of completing purchase orders and keeping track of our budget. It's great to have everything all in one program.

Cons

That we could not set our purchase orders format exactly the way our Town wants it. Bellwether did everything they could to make it work though.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, Michael. We are glad to hear we have helped streamline your purchasing and tracking. We look forward to working with you!

ER
AvatarImg

Elizabeth R.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Purchasing Management is great/Inventory Management leaves a lot to be desired.

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Purchasing system is an easy way to keep the whole team on the same page. Email notifications help to stay on top of order progress.

Cons

We have inventory at several locations and we were looking for a system that allowed us to manage inventory at all locations as well as track movement between locations. This system does not have those capabilities. It would be nice if you could repeat Requisitions.