This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

BigTime Logo
BigTime

Time, billing, expense, payment, and project mgmt software

visit website

BigTime Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


574 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

What Big Time Means To Us!

Reviewed 2 years ago

BigTime is solving our inability to properly track time put against our projects, which we have many of. Ben Kinsel was AMAZING in our first training together. He let us speak freely, as well as give us time to understand and learn anything we didn't immediately understand. 10/10 on training skills!

Pros

My favorite part about this software and the most impactful to our business in my opinion is the ability to assign fixed rates to our projects. It takes us far beyond what we were able to do before, which was very little. The ability to actually be able to track what we make or don't make on each project is HUGE!

Cons

There really isn't anything I have found yet that I do not like, I will most definitely let you know in the future.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We've used BigTime for many years. With the new IQ product we are expanding beyond just timekeeping.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Better project tracking for project managers

Pros

Timekeeping and tracking are super easy. You can report on most anything and being able to export info is great. The support staff is quick, efficient and friendly.

Cons

A few things take a lot of steps to use effectively - you'll have to enter info, run a report to see the results and then change the info.

Vendor response

Anne, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review - we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so! We're tremendously pleased that you're utilizing many of our product's other features beyond timekeeping and we hope that you find them just as simple and straightforward. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help you out in any way with your BigTime - that's what we're here for! Thanks again, The BigTime Customer Success Department

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Customer Service is top-notch

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very easy to use, and on top of that, the customer service reps are always very helpful and available. You don't have to wait a day or two to hear back from them.

Pros

The software is very easy to use. The user-interface is very streamlined. Information flows well to QBs.

Cons

Some features from old BigTime software are still unavailable, but it is not a huge dealbreaker

Vendor response

Maria, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review - we are so pleased that you're finding our Support team as "top-notch" - we work hard to make it that way and it's good to see our hard work paying off for you! Please reach out to us here at the Success Team and let us know which features you're missing - we'd love to know ways that we can make BigTime better for you. Looking forward to hearing from you and thanks again! The BigTime Customer Success Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Employee log and time allocation tracker

Reviewed 4 years ago

It allows our company to see if we are properly allocation our resources to all our clients. We also are able to detect if we are over staffing our projects.

Pros

We use Big Time to properly track how much time each employee have devoted to a certain project on a daily basis. In this method, we know how we can bill our clients, and how we can properly allocate our resources.

Cons

An error may occur sometimes when submit your time logs. It sometime duplicates the times you have worked on a certain task. The workaround is that you have to make sure that your total time is equivalent to the actual time you have worked. Nonetheless, the admins can clear the incorrect entries if you have submitted it by error.

Vendor response

Dan, Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review and to let us know about your experiences with BigTime. Regarding the error you mentioned, please reach out to our support team (support@bigtime.net) to see if we can provide some solutions for you - this issue is not one with which we are familiar and we'd love the opportunity to assist you further. Again, thanks so much for your review. We're hoping to help you more in the days ahead! The BigTime Customer Success Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

a very robust program. I am still learning.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Access online and ability for support team to look at data. Quick set up. Further training available for purchase.

Cons

I would like to work in tables for quicker input. Because it is complex and captures a lot of data, report drafing can be challenging.

Vendor response

Grace, Thanks so much for posting your review! We really appreciate both your time and your effort to let us know your thoughts about BigTime! Regarding your con, this sounds like something that would make for an excellent Feature Request. If this is functionality that you think would make BigTime better, we encourage you to submit it as a Feature Request. We listen very closely to our customers...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Still new at this...but so far, I'm impressed.

Reviewed 2 years ago

A little slow to start, but we are getting there. One recommendation I have is to spend more time educating BigTime reps on the specific practices and business model your company uses, so that then BigTime can guide you on the best set up versus what we did which was try to learn all the functionality that BigTime offers and then give thought to how it would best work for us. We did it backwards which cost us about three weeks of loss time.

Pros

The support. Our implementation rep, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN].

Cons

There has been a couple of glitches or areas (caught one bug so far) that I think could use some improvement, which is why I gave a few four stars versus all five stars. But we are still learning the software so we hope to be fully operational soon, and I will check back and update you on my new experience in a couple of months.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago

time and expense tracking. Chris P the Manager of Customer Success has be really helpful in getting us up and running

Pros

Very easy to use both the website and the iPhone app.

Cons

You have to submit expenses from both the website and the iPhone app

Vendor response

Harold, Thank you very much, sir, for leaving a review for us here at BigTime. We are most pleased that you're finding BigTime easy to use on both the site and our iPhone app - that is excellent news. Regarding your message here about having to post expenses from both the website AND the app, however, that should not be the case. Please reach out to us here at Customer Success or Customer Support (support@bigtime.net) and we'll be happy to assist you more with this. We're also super pleased to hear that your interactions with Chris are helpful - she is super awesome and a true cornerstone here at BigTime. Please do reach out to us and let us know if there is anything we can do to help you more! Thanks! The BigTime Customer Success Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use and Great Tech Support

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Each time I've needed Tech Support they've been able to fix the problems I was having really quick so I can continue working! Thank you!

Cons

There's nothing that I've come across about this software that I don't like. It's easy to use and customer support is wonderful!

Vendor response

Trisha, Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review here on Capterra - we really, really appreciate it here at BigTime! We're very pleased that everything is working so well for you with your BigTime and that our Support has been able to assist you - we work hard to have some of the best Support in the industry. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us to see if there's anything we can do to assist you more. Thanks! The BigTime Customer Success Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Support

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We have been with Big Time for the past 6 years and have recently went from Enterprise to IQ Pro, and we just are so pleased with all the improvements. Brea, the BT consultant has been fantastic in helping us transition. We have had a great response with the support team! she has gone over and beyond in getting our needs met. I needed some customized reports, and she was able to turn around in just a few hours. Overall, we are very pleased and happy to be a part of the BT family.

Cons

The syncing tends to be an issue at times. Once synced, the data tends to not always be correct. We work closely with the Support Team to resolve

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The customer support at Big Time in my opinion is superb. Live Chat offers quick easy access.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The software offers a great way to keep track of employee projects and PTO time. The reporting feature is extremely helpful in pulling quick data, such as hours worked in a specific range or remaining hours for a project/PTO. Training employees on the software is quick and clean because the software is comprehensible.

Cons

We've struggled with some intricacies that we've asked if modifications can be made. The response was if an area of the software is changed it affects all clients of BT. One example involves invoicing. It is confusing to us why hours entered by an employee are available to invoice even if the hours have not been approved. We have a few admins, so there are different admins approving hours and invoicing.

Vendor response

Hi Ms. Denise, You asked and we responded! As of our release last week we now have an advanced filter which allows you to only see time that has been approved in your WIP. Let me know if you would like some additional information. Best, Brea Customer Success

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Time Keeping/Project Management

Reviewed 4 years ago

This all is one software works perfect for our small office. Staff learned to use the software in one training and they've had no problems. BigTime is definitely a timesaver for our office.

Pros

Having an easy to use software for both timekeeping and project management is a huge timesaver. Being able to review/approve timesheets, as well as keep track of task completion proved to be exactly what the project managers needed.

Cons

Need the ability to customize invoices more than allowed.

Vendor response

Doris, Thanks so much for posting this review and letting us know your thoughts on BigTime. We could not be happier that the software is saving you time and money and is working as a major solution for your firm - these are things that are truly music to our ears. :) Regarding the ability to customize your invoices more, we've just released some new features that allow for even more customization for your invoices - you can read more about it here: https://www.bigtime.net/blog/bigtime-august-2018-release/ We hope this helps! Please let us know if you have any more questions. The BigTime Customer Success Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Awesome customer service, product lacks in many ways

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love that Big Time has the capability of integrating a variety of content that can help us organize systems and better perform.

Cons

I find that the software is not as customize-able as it appeared during our trial period. There are many things we can't do that we were hoping it could . This won't keep us from using the product but it has complicated the process for us.

Vendor response

Kristen, Thanks for this review - we at BigTime really appreciate the time you've taken to provide us some feedback. We are very pleased to hear that your customer service has been excellent and we would love to know more about how you see the product lacking. We're adding new features constantly to BigTime, many of them submitted by our users just like you via Feature Requests. Please feel free to reach out to us here at Customer Success if we can explain more about Feature Requests, or if we can help you more in any way. Thanks! The BigTime Customer Success Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Bigtime

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall this is for big company's with employees over 100 plus to time manage them but need a better system for invoicing.

Pros

I like that you are able to create your own engagements per client.

Cons

I least like the invoice part as it does not function how it is suppose too. There are to many steps for it to be integrated into QuickBooks.

Vendor response

Jenna, Thanks so much for this review- we really appreciate hearing from all our customers here at BigTime! We are very glad to hear that you're happy with our engagements and how you can create unique engagements per client, but we're sad to hear that you feel that invoicing is not working for you. There are many ways you can use BigTime's invoicing, and there are many help features that can help...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Helpful when you deal with multiple projects a day

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It helps keep on track of your different projects especially when each are billed separately

Cons

It wasn't as user friendly as I hoped. It took a while for everyone on the team to get trained on how to use it.

Vendor response

Morgane, Thanks so much for posting a review for us here at BigTime - we really appreciate hearing from you. We are very pleased that you're finding BigTime helpful and that you're staying on track as a result of the software! Regarding getting started, we have lots of free resources for training new users and of course, you can always reach out to your Customer Success Rep for more training....

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

great customer support

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

the customer service/response with questions is outstanding. the upload to QB is easy. and the time tracking is efficient

Cons

hard to understand how the budget tracking works - but, with help from customer support - all began to make sense

Vendor response

Alissa, Thanks so much for your review - we really appreciate your taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know your thoughts on your BigTime. We're very pleased that you've had a good experience with our customer support - we work hard to have the best support in the industry, so we're happy to see that you're experience was a positive and helpful one. Regarding managing budgets in BigTime,...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The transition takes a little getting used to

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Bigtime has all the features we need to effectively track and bill time and expenses. The layout has a great look to it. The feature set is full of different controls that allow the administrator to set up the system so that it works well for the team.

Cons

The biggest downfall of the software is the lack of ability to set up finite details on the invoice creation. We have been working with the team at Bigtime, who are great, and have learned that the invoicing section is being revamped and will be out in the next couple of months. With the new invoicing abilities, there will be very few issues with the software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Loving Big Time

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have slowly started to discover all of the wonderful features of Big Time. It is super easy for new employees to learn how to use. It has a chat online feature and that is so nice! No more stumbling through an instruction manual and wasting precious time. I was a previous user of Timeslips software but Bigtime really is super nice! It has great features and for us - is fantastic!

Pros

I like that it is easy, not complicated to set up, and the best is the free chat online feature! I have also emailed for tech support and receive back helpful and quick replies.

Cons

The only cons I come up with are that some of the fields don't allow enough characters. We have a complicated billing process and to get separate engagements that are often very similar, more characters would be helpful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is now super simple to see all of our companies current projects and update statuses in bulk.

Pros

I love the customization features of BigTime and how simple the layout is. I have also found the live chat function extremely helpful for setting up our software with the help of an agent in real time.

Cons

There could be even more customization options to provide more individualization.

Vendor response

Jillian, Thanks for leaving us a review! We really appreciate it and are happy to see that you're loving our customization features and the simple UI. We're also very pleased to hear that the chat feature is working well for you - please do continue to utilize it and keep us posted as to how things are going for you. We're always ready to assist here in Customer Success - we hope to hear from you! The BigTime Customer Success Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

excellent on boarding session Brannon was superb!!!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

it is very easy to use and understand and the fact that I can watch the recording again is very helpful

Cons

not much I don't like at this point I have used it ith another company and cant think of anything I would change based on usage

Vendor response

Christopher, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review - we cannot tell you how much we appreciate your opinion and your willingness to share it with us. We are very happy to hear that your training has gone well so far and that you find BigTime easy to use and understand. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if there is anything that we can do to assist you or if there's anything that we can do better! Thanks, The BIgTime Customer Success Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and great customer service

Reviewed 2 years ago

So far it's been good. We are still ramping up and doing the initial set up of projects and phases and doing our migration.

Pros

It was easy to jump in and add to projects and company/staff info

Cons

Migration is always a headache no matter what system you are moving too.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BigTime - A True Management Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

BigTime is a great management tool that easily helps me track my time and resources for myself and my employees. It's reports give me a greater ability to forecast workload and revenue.

Pros

BigTime provides me and my employees to keep daily time sheets and expense report entry. It automatically sends me as a manager notifications that I have specific tasks to perform in approving time sheets and associates expenses. It also provides valuable reports for tracking real time costs for projects that helps me manage my projects and allocate the proper resources.

Cons

BigTime has many features that require some training to implement. The learning curve for using this system can be lengthy if applied to a large company and needs the investment of time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

BigTime for Tracking time spent for each client

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We use BigTime in the office in order for us to keep track on the hours of work we dedicated for each client. I am handling different accounts (clients) in my line of business, and in order for us to ensure our client that we are billing them correctly, we track the duration of time we are consuming for each task for a certain client. BigTime is easy to use. It is a web-based platform that enables you to select the project, and put immediately how many hours and minutes you have used in order to complete a certain task for each client.

Cons

Whenever I submit my timesheet in BigTime, sometimes it adds more rows with corresponding hours. You need to be vigilant in submitting your hours because BigTime is not that 100% flawless.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Time Management Tool? Use BigTime!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, BigTime is the best tool that we've used so far in checking our daily time allocation for our numerous projects. It gives us confidence that we are billing our clients accurately, and when we are questioned we can always provide those data to our client.

Pros

We use BigTime in our office in order for us to know how many hours did we allocate for a certain project or for a certain search. Before, we only rely to our end of day report or to our memory, and it is really hard to just rely on that whenever we need to bill the client already. BigTime helped us resolve that problem by being systematic, orderly, and easy to use. It is a web-based program so anyone can access it anytime; anywhere. It is easily integrated to quickbooks as well so BigTime is the man in terms of time entry, and client billing.

Cons

What I least like about BigTime is that sometimes it is really hard to submit our time data entries. When we click submit sometimes it duplicates the hour spent we indicated on a certain project so we need to redo it and delete those dual time entry that I think is happening because of some glitches on their back-end unit.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Well designed time and expense tracking software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Bigtime is extremely intuitive to use and has some nice features to make time logging less of a headache. Two examples are that it carries over projects from previous weeks, and it prompts you to add a description per time entry rather than per week of entries (like QuickTime does). It also has a decent mobile app for when you're not by a computer.

Cons

While it is nice that they offer a mobile app, it has minimal functionality. You can't see a view for the week to enter time into, so you need to re-add the manual information for each time entry like the project and task. The reporting part of the site is also a bit less intuitive than the time entry portion.

Vendor response

Chelsea, What a wonderful review - wow - thank you so much! We appreciate you taking the time to post this for us and let us know how we are doing - we are most pleased that you're finding BigTime intuitive and easy to use! We hear you loud and clear on the minimal functionality for our mobile app and we are looking at some ways to expand that capability, so be sure and stay tuned! You can subscribe to our blog at the following link (https://www.bigtime.net/blog/) and if any new updates are coming, you'll hear about it on the blog first. Regarding the reporting, we'd suggest checking out one of our Live Reporting Webinars, which should help: https://www.bigtime.net/webinars/ Thanks again! The BigTime Customer Success Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is what we've been looking for!

Reviewed a year ago

Its been great so far! super friendly and helpful staff

Pros

budgeting, specific pricing per client, and time tracking.

Cons

Just learning something new is always hard, but the staff made it very easy to learn