Chargify Reviews

Chargify

Recurring billing and subscription management

Chargify

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


197 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Chargify has definitely made our ability to manage client subscriptions and payments very easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

Customized subscriptions, email reminders to clients for payment, metric and analytic features for revenue tracking, client information database for payment types/methods.

Pros

I love the different subscription features and being able to customize them to our business model as well as the email setting they've set up to remind our clients when it's time to pay.

Cons

There are some subscriptions where we wish we could customize them further with some minor details for the price that we pay for to have Chargify each month.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Platform

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I love how easy to use it is if I ever have questions, they are always there to assist!

Cons

Nothing! This software is perfect as-is.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review:

Reviewed a year ago

Easy to use on the whole. Only advice would be to improve the language used for email errors to helo isolate where the issue originated from.

Pros

The customer support team has been fantastic in resolving my issues as they came up. They were friendly, prompt and went through several teams to give me a comprehensive answer to my query.

Cons

The issues I had were around customers not receiving invoices and the reason I had to contact support was because of the way bounced emails were described. I felt like from reading the error I was not able to discern whether the issue was caused on the customers end, our end or Chargify. I would definitely recommend if possible, to simplify the language used so that a front line support analyst like myself can provide some guidance to customers about why they haven't received their invoices.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Simple

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Most features are easy to use and find so that I can get my job done quickly

Cons

Can't think of anything off the top of my head

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Visually Pleasing But Lacking Features

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I loved the reporting they provided. You could log in and see your MTD MRR and basically any stats on that same level in graph form.

Cons

They didn't have a great way for enterprises to track the parent/child relationship. It can get messy if you don't leave very detailed notes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

TCO issues need fixing

Reviewed a year ago

Good to start with and probably sufficient for companies that do not require multiple currencies, country-specific taxes or payment gateways.

Pros

Satisfies general needs for a subscription management service, supports long list of payment gateways, plans are highly configurable

Cons

It’s impossible to handle multiple currencies, tax regions or payment gateways in a single Chargify site. This necessitates to create separate sites for all combinations of the aforementioned settings, which is a huge administrative and integration effort. In fact, we decided to abandon Chargify for our flagship product for this very reason.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

OMC Review

Reviewed a year ago

Happy but not thrilled

Pros

That it works with Xero and Stripe. abcdef

Cons

It currently has slow/buggy integration with Xero

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Chargify Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to find what I'm looking for on a customer subscription

Cons

one account can't have multiple products

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Chargify

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Versatile able to make changes quite easily

Cons

Marries individual name, and not company name

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Chargify

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like the ease of use and the customer service

Cons

None that i have experienced. I like it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Makes payment processing and subscriber management easy!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We already had recurring billing set up through another provider but they were no longer supporting their platform and reached EOL. We moved over to Chargify and once we got past the initial move, things were much easier to manage and much more intuitive than our previous billing partner.

Pros

Clean and easy to use UI, and reliable and stable payment processing!

Cons

We had a hard time moving customers into the platform in bulk, but that was several years ago and we were a bit limited on our export options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

It works I guess..

Reviewed a year ago

I mean, it's been fine. I will say we're looking at other, more user/business friendly options with our site rebuild.

Pros

It is easy to edit and store profiles. Your customer support is usually kind and they do their best, but there's a lot of issues they can't fix because the tech is so clunky.

Cons

- Customers have a hard time editing their own items - once they do edit something we aren't notified - using the software on our end is very difficult to run orders off of. You can't download a list or have notes on a profile. We have to have a separate google doc that we load up with everything and keep track of orders. It would be so nice to have a way to keep track of when an order was sent, order notes etc.. - It's tough to figure out who your new users are for a monthly subscription - You should be able to customize the downloadable lists - We have a problem because we send it out once a month on a standard day, we can't just have those people sign up and then get charged on a certain date so they get recharged, or their billing is off until we change their charge date.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Extremely user-friendly, makes billing customers easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

Chargify makes billing easy for small businesses and their customers

Pros

Pages are simple and clean, easy to find what you're looking for

Cons

Wish there was a way to find a customer by searching for their address as well as name and email

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Solid, reliable, but pricey

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It does what we needed it to and saved us some development time up front.

Cons

It doesn't make economic sense for our business. It's just too pricey. We eventually decided that building our own billing system would make better financial sense over the long term.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple & Effective

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The software has made searching simplified. I can quickly access account information.

Cons

Communication to our internal software Zoho. I don't know if that is more of a Zoho issue, but I'm willing to bet on it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy-to-Use Tool for Billing Customers

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The simplicity of the UI, the onsite walkthrough to explain how to set up our account and what specific requirements needed to be complete for compliance purposes.

Cons

There is no payment processor. We chose to connect Stripe with Chargify.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Once you've setup, no more hassle

Reviewed 2 years ago

reliable service

Pros

Good price, relatively easy setup up and reliable

Cons

We have had some trouble with proving that a customer used our services after the customer complained he/she never subscribed to our services.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Chargify

Reviewed a year ago

Initially I loved it, but I feel that it is getting worse, rather than better! Plus, we now pay a lot more for the service, enough to encourage us to build our own software.

Pros

Automation and limited intervention which is what we require for an online system

Cons

Support being offshore often takes a long time to get results when this is critical for our business. Chargify still has manual intervention, raising manual invoices when payments drop off. Less than ideal! Now we have invoices being pushed through with multiple months on them, which we now have to manually fix, otherwise our income would be overstated!!!

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fairly easy to use billing solution

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

- set and forget. you can configure it at the onset and you can leave it and it would take care of automatic renewals without a hitch and follow-up on dunning situations on your set scheme.

Cons

- some options are confusing, - a statement doesn't get sent when a refund is triggered unlike when a renewal happens, or anytime the customer gets charged.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

This is a better software when compared to Others.

Reviewed a year ago

I would say chargify still has to improve. it is good but still needs improvements in it.

Pros

Well my management when first asked me to work on this software, i thought it was very tough to work on new billing system but it is Easy to use and user friendly.

Cons

when you compare the reporting stuff with other online billing software it has to improve a lot.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I recommend Chargify

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it's a product with plenty of options, with good documentation and helpful customer service you can get it to work exactly how you need it.

Pros

You can customize it almost 100% to your needs. It's a safe way to handle your payments, without you needing to worry about storing your customers data.

Cons

First experience was overwhelming, with all the options it takes time to configure properly.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for handling Saas Subscriptions.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Great customer support team. Does the job for managing SaaS subscriptions.

Cons

Not always the easiest to understand or navigate. At times seems overly complicated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Charify Subscription Service

Reviewed a year ago

It has been a good service that allows us to run a monthly subscription service on our Shopify website. It works well for our needs.

Pros

Allowing us to set up our products and promotions and then we do not have to worry too much. We promote our products and our customers come and sign up.

Cons

Reporting features are horrible. Not the easiest to understand We would like to see discount codes already in a customer account to be deactivated if... the customer cancels the account and the discount code expires, the code shouldn't be good when the customer reactivates the account.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Chargify your billing!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Very easy to use updating is easy upgrading and downgrading clients are at the click of a button

Cons

having to use dual authenticity to log in everytime

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Not perfect for my needs

Reviewed a year ago

It's hard to understand when you first start using it.

Pros

It can both handle credit card payments and send invoices.

Cons

1: It's really hard to reconcile payments from our payment gateway (Braintree) with credit card charges. We are having to pay a contractor tens of thousands of dollars to build an integration for this. 2: Chargify cannot generate EDI compliant invoices. This is becoming a pre-requisite in several European markets, meaning that for some of our customers, we need to move them from automatic non-EDI invoices in Chargify to manually created EDI-invoices in a different system. Very inconvenient.

page 5 of 8