This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Learn why GetApp is free

Emburse Chrome River Expense Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


144 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great base product with fantastic add-ons on the horizon

Reviewed 2 years ago

Fantastic customer service with a quality product that allows a lot of flexibility regarding expense reporting.

Pros

Able to customize all aspects of the expense reporting, and easy to use functionality in every way.

Cons

Difficult to utilize 3rd party connectors for systems such as FinancialForce.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Love ChromeRiver!

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall ChromeRiver Expense is a great tool to use for invoicing and expense management!

Pros

Once the compliance and rules are set-up behind the scenes for this system is it really a more efficient and easy tool to use. It helped streamline the reconciliation process for our P-Card and Travel Card programs. Users really appreciate that all the accounting information needed to process payment for expenses out of departmental budgets is readily accessible

Cons

the reporting tool is not easy to use. We would really like to see more adhoc reports provided to higher eds and other companies that utilize this system.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Chrome River is part of a global end-to-end solution for travel and expense.

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Chrome River is an easy to learn travel expense tool. Training effort is limited. Compliance rules are guiding the users to correctly upload and enter receipts, which are already uploaded and recognized via OCR during the business trip. Uploading can easily done via APP, mail or receipt gallery. There is no need for storing paper. Chrome River is supporting digital archiving. Interfaces to SAP are working smoothly and the effort for installing was minimal.

Cons

We would prefer, if the accountants / auditors could change / adapt the expense report by themselves. Entries / information for which traveller's are not the experts like expense types, VAT or other income related stuff should be possible to change without return and starting the approval process once again.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Designed to fit each companies wants.

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

What I like most about the software is that we have the ability to customize to meet our companies needs, while also being able to take out a large part of manual tasked by having reports routed automatically within the platform to lessen some of the administrative burdens.

Cons

What I would say is least liked about the product is that there are some functions that would be beneficial but are not yet envisioned, but with the ability to provide enhancement requests I am very positive that if it is possible that Chrome River will eventually have whatever it is added to the platform.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are very happy with this software as we knew their were some deficiencies and this software has made it easier to identify it and to eliminate it moving forward.

Pros

The software is easy to use. It enables expense owners the ability to submit their expense reports quicker and on time. Using the snap app makes it more quicker to submit receipt directly to your receipt library. The OCR capabilities to recognize receipts and auto populating the information reduces staff time . The mileage expense reports are amazing. Chromeriver uses Google Maps to calculate the travel trips. Employees just need to enter the destination points and the calculations are done for them. Setting up the routing for expense reporting is simple and the HelpDesk support from Chromeriver is quick to respond and tailor things to your needs.

Cons

I have no issues at this time with the software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Chrome River Rocks Your Socks

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This software provides everything we were looking for...and then more. The implementation was great and very easy to customize to our needs. The user experience has been nothing but positive through the first few months we have used the system.

Cons

N/A - everything about this product has been top notch. Implementation, End Users, Reporting, etc. Leaves nothing to be desired.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Efficiencies increase over 50%!!

Reviewed 10 months ago

At Indiana State University we use Chrome River for all of the Travel expense reimbursements. The product is a great tool to have, especially in today's environment. I was able to process requests remotely from home.

Pros

I am so happy that this system was in place prior to COVID19. Electronic invoicing made it easy to review and approve expense reports and pre-approvals for travel. Routing steps that were already determined per index made it easy for approval to be completed without requiring signatures from everyone. Adobe signature is not readily available for everyone.

Cons

We have had some issues with the files from Chrome River being

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Chrome River Expense Reporting

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This software is very intuitive for the front-end user while handling all of the needs of the back-end user with all of the options of customization to fit the product to the company's needs like a glove. Before we selected this product, we had a list of everything we wanted and then went to market. Every single product we demoed was lacking many items on our list. Right when we were about to give up, we demoed Chrome River and felt very confident with selecting this product. The 1-2-3-Go Implementation was one of the best and quickest implementations I have ever been through. Communication and understanding as well as the technological knowledge was spot on. Three months later things are still running super smooth, and customer service is great. Couldn't be more happy!

Cons

Honestly, at this point there is not anything that we have encounter that there has not been a resolution to.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Chrome River has made my work much easier!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

As an administrative assistant, my favorite function of Chrome River is that the information for all the dozens of people I support is located in one place. This function has made my work much simpler and easier than it was when we had to authorize and reimburse travel by hard copy.

Cons

It would be nice if Chrome River had a function where I could duplicate pre-approval reports or expense reports from one user to another. Frequently, our staff travels in groups and have identical expense reports for their reimbursements (e.g. meal per diems) and I frequently end up submitting the same expense report for several employees.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Chrome River Expense system

Reviewed 4 years ago

Chrome River is light years ahead of the previous system we used. It is user friendly for the most part. It has reduced the work load in our Accounts Payable Department tremendously. Chrome River is much easier for navigate and to use to assist our staff in researching problems with their reports. There are a few things I don't care for, such as how you enter account allocations and how the system allows staff to enter an account allocation wrong by giving it an alias and then telling them the account is wrong when they try to submit the report. It should just tell them it is wrong in the beginning to avoid all the corrections they need to make later. Otherwise, it is great and the service is great also!

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

How you enter account allocations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I Recommend Chrome River

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Chrome River provides wide variety of feature which make the day to day lie easier. We have done lots of automation after moving to Chrome River platform and it saves time for users, approves and auditors. It has also brought controls within the process.

Cons

I like all the features it has and definitely there is scope of new features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Chrome River for a lawfirm

Reviewed 2 years ago

We no longer need to track paper expense reimbursements and our entire approval process is streamlined. Our attorneys like that they don't need to keep a file of receipts when they travel, they can take a picture and throw away.

Pros

Chrome River is always making updates, changes and new ways to customize the software to fit our business.

Cons

Ad hoc reporting is not user intuitive but the standard reports are useful for the majority of needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Paperless Heaven

Reviewed 4 years ago

Chrome is extremely user friendly! You do not need an app to use on your phone, or connect to any database except the internet. The snap and send function makes sending receipts to my reports flawless and easy to manage. Approvals are faster without paper and go directly to the person to review. Fast, easy and efficient!

Pros

The snap and send function and being able to review reports without paper and no overload of information

Cons

Sometimes updates can take a while and if the internet is slow it can take a while to load

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Chrome River Expense Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Keeping track of my daily mileage and expenses to submit at the end of the month for reimbursement.

Pros

I like that you can see the past 90 days of submitted reports all in one spot. Also, the map feature allows you to type I a business name and it will auto populate the address for you.

Cons

It does sometimes glitch if you dont enter everything in correctly, and you will need to go back and do it again.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Our wonderful CR project team helped us improve, streamline, and rethink outdated travel policies.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Automated rules that drive compliance thereby eliminating manual checking. It has taken the guess work out of 'where's my expense report'. Employees receive reimbursement quicker. Paperless system!!

Pros

It drives policy compliance with reminders, warnings, and hard-stop violations. Plus, no more paper!!

Cons

The credit card reconciliation has been difficult for us, however, a big part of that could be related to our stringent state requirements.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Expense reports made easy!

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Ease of use from a user perspective. Very flexible from an administrative perspective - we can set routing rules to be as simple or complex as we wish. Automated approval routing is the best! Chrome River is also constantly making improvements. They truly listen to their users.

Cons

Reporting is still a bit clunky, but they're working on it.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Happy Chrome River Admin

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

I love how user friendly the software is for my colleagues that need to enter expenses. On the admin side, I love that I can pull information and analytics easily. Since everything is automated I can focus my time on projects and cost saving initiatives rather than be buried in paperwork.

Cons

I do not have any complaints. Chrome River is constantly updating and giving more power to admins. I can make a lot of changes on my own, and create custom reports.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Chrome River Experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

Chrome River has helped the expenses flow through our system a lot smoother and with less issue. It also, help with accountability. We know when an expense report was submitted and how long it takes for it to process.

Pros

I like how user friendly it is. You are able to upload a receipt multiple ways.

Cons

You are not able to add an expense to a returned expense report.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Chrome River Experience

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Great integration with our ERP system (PeopleSoft). Nice features like Snapp App, Uber integration. Really easy workflow process. Nice, user friendly design

Cons

I don;t see any disadvantages so far. App is stable, in case of any issue we have the service desk for the support we need

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Chrome River...amazing product.

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

The best part of the program is the ease in teaching others how to use. We have users that come in, not knowing anything about the program and with one training and 1 or 2 uses, they make it work.

Cons

The settings section in the new platinum version is not very user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Chrome River has improved our overall expense management

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

the ease of use and accessibility. users can upload receipts on the go, approve and review reports, and have historical access of their submitted expense reports.

Cons

I wish all users were as excited as I am about it. We've found that it takes a bit of time to adjust, but the overall response has been very positive

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Enhanced compliance monitoring, approval configurability, more robust analytics reporting and capabilities.

Pros

The configurability of the UI, the compliance warnings, the routing rules, and the approval flows is hard to beat.

Cons

The system seems like it can be slow at some times, but it is very difficult to identify the source.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CR Review

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, users are able to submit requests and be reimbursed quicker.

Pros

I like the ease of use and the ability to have all information in one place.

Cons

The ability to make changes sometimes involves higher Customer Support involvement and the lack of response is critical to our business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great system, easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have found Chrome River to be the best fit for our expense management. We have been able to build in rules which cover all of our internal policies, as well as routing to specific approvers. This has saved us countless hours per day in chasing approvals and expense claims.

Pros

The flexibility and ease of use

Cons

Original version is a little slow, especially when loading

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent Tool to go from paper to Digital Expense Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Chrome River helped us digitize, and streamline our expense claims and workflows for all levels of our organization.

Pros

from a user perspective, this software has helped eliminate steps in submitting and processing expense claims. The use of the Snap App to process the paper claims and combined with OCR capabilities help to make claims a breeze compared to our older manual method. Further, our AP team and others have gained greater efficiencies by being able to collect this information in real-time and process it faster. Easily integrates with other accounting system or organization uses. Easy to use user interface.

Cons

The reporting/analytics features can be revamped, as well as greater flexibility in customization. Overall, the tool does a great job.

page 2 of 6

Select your country

10+ YEARS RECOMMENDING SOFTWARE

Ā© 2010-2021 GetApp. All Rights Reserved.
GetAppĀ® is a registered trademark of Nubera eBusiness S.L. Nubera eBusiness uses its own and third-party cookies. By using the website you are accepting the use of these cookies. To get more information about our cookies click here.