App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

PlanGuru Logo

PlanGuru

Business Budgeting, Forecasting & Planning Software

(16)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

PlanGuru Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

55

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.2/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Support was really helpful at the beginning, and it made my experience with PlanGuru better. It's good software for the price.
Perhaps, the tool’s greatest benefit lies in its ability to automate and simplify complex budgeting and forecasting practices.
That it does this without the help of messy and unwieldy excel sheets is fantastic.
From start to finish I am sorely regretful for making this purchase.
Limited forecasting years. Difficult to make 3 year forecast.
I don't use it very much and will probably cancel my subscription.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


55 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shelly H.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Plan Guru for financial consultants

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've been able to help my clients create future plans and look at many what if scenarios and their affect on the balance sheet without having to worry about whether my formulas are correct in excel.

Pros

The flexibility of the application for creating multiple forecasts and budgets using a variety of assumptions and KPI's. the use of excel to integrate and add additional flexibility to the program. The subschedules allow multiple ways to forecast revenue and track other expenses. the integration of the balance sheet and ability to see affect the forecast has on the balance sheet items.

Cons

Some lack of flexibility in reporting. Lack of ability to print reports from analytics.

JS
AvatarImg

Jeff S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great value in cash flow planning

Reviewed 14 years ago

Overall a great cash flow program for the price. it has many features that programs 10 times the price do not have.

Pros

Plan Guru is a straightforward application for generating cash flow statements. I have used the product since 2003, and have watched it evolve from a simple tool to a more sophisticated application. The company has been receptive to user requests such as increasing the size of database fields to allow larger numbers, adding supplementary schedules, and direct cash flow projections. Some of the debt amortization wizards are very handy, providing current portion of LTD in addition to amortizing loan balances and interest charges. They have also included some valuation and ratio analysis work papers that are very handy. This is a small company (at least it operates as one) where you can actually talk to a real live person. All in all, it is a very good application for the price.

Cons

The application occasionally will show some instability, but this has been vastly improved over earlier versions. There are recovery routines so most of the data is not lost. The crashes seem mostly due to print driver compatabilities. The developers are pretty good at fixing these issues. Large, complicated formulas may run into size limits when calculating dollar outcomes. When this occurs, I...

JA
AvatarImg

James A.

Chemicals, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Plan Guru review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall our experience with Plan Guru has been pretty good. The price point was extremely appealing and is what pulled us to the software. For the most part the software runs without any major issues. I think our one issue we had may have been specific to just our company. I can honestly say that working with their customer support was pretty easy as well. All communication was handled through email.

Pros

One of the pros to this software is the price point at which features are standard. I worked with our CFO to pick out the software. We review different suites of software and found that Plan Guru offered the most for the price.

Cons

We have had some issues where we setup multiple user accounts and they share some of the same files. I think they may have some glitches in the software as everyone had the same access but certain individuals were not able to create copies or new documents from the same exact file.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mark D.

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid product, Feature-Rich, Intuitive Design, Great value for small- to medium-sized businesses.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am attempting to build budgets for my clients using the PlanGuru software installed on the remote cloud desktop. Overall, the product has met my expectations. I have used several similar large/deluxe budgeting tools built for Fortune 500 companies that cost 10 times as much (or more), and this is a very good "abridged" budgeting software for small businesses that is still very feature-rich. The...

Pros

Very intuitive design. Most features/functions are just a right-click away. If you don't understand exactly what you are looking at, the tutorial videos are GREAT, and they have links to the relevant videos built right into the program where you need them. Excel Add-in is a very powerful tool. A real selling-point for PlanGuru. If you know how to use a pivot table, you will love this tool. Consolidations. If you have multiple departments, or groups of departments, consolidations is a must-have. Excel Links. If the myriad of PlanGuru projection methods aren't good enough, just suck in whatever data you want from Excel to the budgeting tool.

Cons

It would be great if this product was built as a web/browser-based product, rather than a local client install. Then the users could also save on the cost of the remote cloud desktop, and installation/connectivity should be easier. There should really be a "mass-refresh" button/method in the Excel add-in that would refresh every tab at once. A "mass-consolidation" button in the PlanGuru application would be nice, too. I wish there was a "help forum" where users could assist one another and help troubleshoot issues. Support is responsive, and the videos are great. But support can't answer you as fast as a forum search would, and the videos don't cover everything. Chances are SOMEONE has had the same question in the past.

MG
AvatarImg

Mary G.

Management Consulting, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall I have great experience with Plan Guru and will recommend to other users.

Pros

Ease to use, similar to excel format, good layout

Cons

Not flexible on data assumptions on each year, not probably formulated on depreciation calculation

JG
AvatarImg

Jody G.

Accounting,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product. A must have for all forward thinking companies.

Reviewed 9 years ago
Pros

It is easy to use. It is the only product in the market that I am aware of that focuses on the balance sheet and in particular cash.

Cons

Reporting features could be enhanced. Would like to be able to hide accounts that are no longer in use. When reporting condense some categories while expanding others.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Moira B.

Accounting, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

PlanGuru is great.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

PlanGuru is a wonderful tool that makes it extremely easy for small businesses to budget projects as well as determine how well the projects are doing. PlanGuru is extremely easy to use and integrate with software like Quickbooks. The customization of everything on plan Guru is immense and extremely flexible. Overall, PlanGuru is easy to use and wonderful to have.

Cons

PlanGuru lacks a couple of integrations that I would like to see implemented in the future.

EB
AvatarImg

Edward B.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good planning tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very flexible - you can be as detailed as you want to with this tool

Cons

Can be somewhat difficult to set up because of its flexibility

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dana W.

Accounting, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Good program for the price

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Ease of use. As a first time user learning curve was quick

Cons

Frequently of upgrades. More would be nice

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jerre F.

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Forecasting Software!

Reviewed 5 years ago

The cash-flow forecasting is key to our company, along with the forecasting and budgeting abilities for original forecast, revised and actual, along with the reporting capabilities.

Pros

The ease of use, cash-flow forecasting and variety of reports.

Cons

Can be a little tricky to start, but support can get you through the bumps.

DB
AvatarImg

Dave B.

Financial Services, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PlanGuru Forecasting Software is the Best

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use PlanGuru to build business forecasts for my clients so that I can provide great service, especially to growth oriented clients who hold themselves accountable to their goals. I have used PlanGuru results (P&L, Balance Sheet, Cash Flow, Valuations) to support my clients with their banking relationships and for providing investors with forecasts that support business models for startups and going concerns too.

Pros

PlanGuru provides upfront training on how to utilize the software using case studies so a new user can learn, practice and see the results of the case studies. This is critical to the user because it allows a new user the opportunity to learn from mistakes in a case study, as well as the opportunity to try different modeling techniques. I learned the importance of thinking through assumptions, KPIs...

Cons

I was annoyed when I learned that my software was shut down remotely when PlanGuru adopted an annual license fee after several years of no fees, unless you opted in for an upgrade to a new version. I got over it as I realize that the software and the customer service and support are superb.

VM
AvatarImg

Victor M.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good product but far from the ideal Forecasting software

Reviewed 7 years ago

Plan Guru is an excellent product, specially considering that there are no products out there with this many features at this price level. If you want to have the best products you will have to pay tens of thousands every year, ie. Budget Maestro. However I think PG has some room for improvement, such as 1.- More flexibility in the automatization for the recording of Historical and actual values....

Pros

-Once you have all the numbers, projections are very fast and exact. -Income Statement, Balance Sheet and Cash flow integration -Links to excel files

Cons

- The link process is very long and tedious - No possibility of using formulas in the actual and historical data - Need an inventory module - Need Supporting schedule for the Balance sheet

PK
AvatarImg

Patricia K.

Textiles, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Budgeting Software Every Business Owner Should Own

Reviewed 5 years ago

I own a manufacturing business and produce an annual budget and a multi-year projection. I am not a CPA nor am I trained as a bookkeeper. When I needed to replace my old budgeting software I was particularly concerned whether it was appropriate for someone who isn't a pro. I wasn't disappointed: once purchased I was up and running within the hour. Anytime I've had a question that I couldn't answer through the help screens or online tutorials I've been able to discuss my problem with tech support! This is huge for me. I've also taken some of the online courses called PlanGuru University, which were invaluable. I wish my CPA used this software.

Pros

1) Functionality. 2) Easy to use. 3) Great help screens. 4) Terrific tutorials. 5) Fantastic customer support.

Cons

I'd like to track 5 years historical data to project a budget analysis.

NA
AvatarImg

Nadim A.

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

A Basic Forecasting and Planning Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

- It's certainly not a system that motivates me to get off excel. I don't use it very much and will probably cancel my subscription.

Pros

- it has the ability to pull in actuals from Quickbooks online - there are some workarounds for managing revenue recognition

Cons

- it is not cloud based - and so requires you to download the tool, but doesn't work unless you're connected to the internet (so even though I have it downloaded, I can't access it when I'm on a flight, and I travel frequently) - very cumbersome to set up access with different Classes (from quickbooks). The Quickbooks budgeting tool is easier to use for this purpose - very cumbersome to set up any...

MF
AvatarImg

Michael F.

Public Safety, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PlanGuru

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall great experience and is highly recommended based on our needs, which is a company under $10M in revenue with less than 50 employees.

Pros

PlanGuru makes it easy to build a complete budget and forecast, compare budget to actuals, keep an eye on cash and track KPI's. When getting started and familiar with the software, PG has a very responsive and knowledgable support team. Lastly, for those in management that just want to look at the KPI's they can log into Analytics.

Cons

The one challenge we had as a business was having to move outside of PG during a period of time when cash flow was being managed weekly. PG is limited to monthly.

SR
AvatarImg

Scott R.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Value Offering

Reviewed 5 years ago

Challenging to get up to speed on using the software. Customer support is lacking. Bugs in software required me to upgrade - which feels like it lacks integrity.

Pros

Low cost. Full financials with balance sheet, cash flow, owners equity. Extra supporting schedules.

Cons

Limited forecasting years. Difficult to make 3 year forecast. Minimal customer support. I would like to customize reporting templates from PlanGuru, so I don't have to reformat each time.

TF
AvatarImg

Ted F.

Oil & Energy, 201-500 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy Starting

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

A very good starting package. Not overly complicated yet quite sophisticated with options that can accommodate large enterprises.

Cons

A bit on the slow side when you start putting together multiple divisions or consolidated corporations. Would like to plan on a monthly basis and report on a Qrtly. That can be done, but probably only by using the Advance Reporting Package which adds a little more complexity and time to the process.

EL
AvatarImg

Eric L.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

PlanGuru - Software for small business

Reviewed 10 years ago
Pros

PlanGuru is good software. One of its key advantages is you can import all your data from any accounting system, and it is really user-friendly software. Support was really helpful at the beginning, and it made my experience with PlanGuru better. It's good software for the price. It was one of the cheapest when I bought it.

Cons

My version of PlanGuru still has some bugs. When I import my data, the software notes the import date in the right account. It seems it doesn't recognize the information. Between each import, the description of some accounts are changed, so I have always to re-link the account or manually enter some accounts. I think using only a description as common information for the import is inefficient. People should use the account number.

DR
AvatarImg

Darvi R.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I can still remember what I used to do!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Professional and great customer support. When I have had a question they respond quickly. The software itself is very stable. I have never lost a clients data

Pros

I was using it within 15 minutes of installation. Used to have all of these excel templates and would worry about deleting or inadvertently altering a calculation. I can now concentrate on what our end goal is and don't worry about the mathematical accuracy and the presentation.

Cons

I rarely say this NONE! Apparently being completely pleased is not enough of a word count so I had to add this sentence.

DD
AvatarImg

Darin D.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

PlanGuru - Great Idea but leaves you lacking

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, I like the concept PlanGuru is trying to bring with this software; however, they don't provide great customer support (unless you want to pay for it). Any efficiencies I gained with the budgeting process were lost immediately during the first budget to actual comparison I ran. Will not be continuing my subscription.

Pros

Great program for budgeting and setting up a budget

Cons

Integration with QBs desktop is chunky and slow. It takes me longer to run a budget to actual comparison with PlanGuru than it did when I ran a similar comparison outside of PlanGuru. Costumer support is lacking...basic level help is available but in-depth help comes at a cost, which seems ridiculous for the price you pay for the software. Training was a waist of time. No structure just someone droning on about the features. Online videos are out of date and don't match new updates.

MM
AvatarImg

Mylene M.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool in making financial decision!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Business need to know if the financial condition of the company is sufficient before engaging to a business or project. With PlanGuru you can forecast your financial status at a given period. This will help to make sure that the project you are planning to work will be completed.

Cons

PlanGuru is a subscription based in consideration with number of users. Make sure to get the plan suitable for the company to maximize your savings.

RF
AvatarImg

Rose F.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Pretty Good Value

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, a good tool for the cost. There are some limitations and frustrations, but it is a definite improvement over strictly excel based models. Probably not a forever solution as out business grows, but is a good option for small companies.

Pros

Affordable Flexibility for planning different scenarios Payroll functionality Import function from QB

Cons

No Export to QB Need a bit of technical know-how to create the calculations and schedules On several instances my files have become corrupt or somehow had errors that required support assistance to get operational which took several days during the tight budget period Reporting functions are lack-luster. Would prefer an export to QB to use QB reporting functions for financials.

SS
AvatarImg

Santiago S.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Make Planguru part of your plan

Reviewed 7 months ago

Es un muy buen software,es muy recomendable para cualquier entorno empresarial.

Pros

Tiene una interfaz muy intuitiva los tutoriales que aporta son claros y concisos y el hecho de que pueda funcionar con excel es excelente para cualquier persona que tenga algo de conocimiento mínimo en esta ofimatica.

Cons

Unas veces puede presentar fallas de funcionalidad pero no es algo grave o que realmente arruine la experiencia

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

vw
AvatarImg

vicky w.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Product Awesome Support

Reviewed 7 years ago

it is very easy to use, very flexible. it saves my time and it generate results fast for planning. the platform is easy for the eyes, help links are awesome. lots of videos, articles, webinars! awesome supports i.e. friendly and knowledgeable.

Pros

friendly flexible fast

Cons

they really need to have monthly for current year plus next 3 years many businesses are seasonal

GH
AvatarImg

Garett H.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PlanGuru Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

This tool helps to get speed in building a set of projections. It is excellent to have the integration of balance sheet, profit & loss and cash flow.

Pros

Ability to build complex financial models/projections without having to worry about the integrity of a complicated Excel file.

Cons

Have had some software crashes with certain version releases.