Sage Business Cloud Financials Reviews

Sage Business Cloud Financials

Integrated cloud-based accounting solution for SMBs

3.21/5 (14 reviews)

Kristen Bowen

Great accounting software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-12-12
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Sage has so many features! We use it for inventory, invoicing, accounting and much more! Our team can look up our parts, customers and jobs quickly and easily

Cons
It requires training to learn. You have to know what you are looking for and learn where Sage stores that information. We have had issues with multiple users adding inventory numbers. It doesn't automatically catch them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Aaron Smith

Comparable Systems Cost Much, Much More

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-11-02
Review Source: Software Advice

Built on the Salesforce platform so it can handle any number of users. Sage has initially targeted the small business segment with Live, however it is just as good for mid-market or enterprise. Consider the following features: Capable of handling 1-1000+ users. SAAS (hosted and browser-based) so no software to install. No server needed. Multi-Company consolidation Inter-Company transactions Dimensional accounting Multi-Currency Multi-Language Purchase Requisition/Approvals and Workflow Easy setup but can be configured as complex as you want, it's a very open database if you choose to use it that way Open API, integrates with many other web-based apps Well integrated with SalesForce Tablet and iPhone/Android apps These types of features are typically only available in enterprise level software like Intacct, Acumatica, Financial Force, X3, NetSuite, Oracle or SAP. You won't find this in Quickbooks, Freshbooks, Xero, Sage 50 or any other entry-level system. There's always been Microsoft Dynamics, Sage 100/300/500, Epicor, Infor and others, but those aren't true cloud based/browser based systems, nor are they inexpensive. What's unique about Sage Live is that they've priced it to be affordable for most companies - starts at monthly for 2 users and 1 company. 2 users and 100 companies is only $$$d/month. That is ridiculously less expensive than the other enterprise level systems out there. You can certainly use Sage Live as a small business, but the nice thing is that as you grow you can stay on the same system and not feel the need to change. If you are a mid-sized or large company, you owe it to yourself to take a look at Live before you make a decision on spending lots more money for perhaps the same thing.

Cons
It has only been around for 3 years, so it's not as fully developed as some more mature offerings out there. They are adding new stuff all the time but you might find some features missing that you are used to.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Ross Cooper

Sage Financials Review

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-06-08
Review Source: Software Advice

Do not take the sales video/demo as something you can achieve on this product. They are nearly three years in with the product and it is not fit for purpose.

Pros
When they finish the product it will be great. Do not consider purchasing this until they have or you have a fulltime salesforce developer within your finance team.

Cons
The worst customer support I have ever experienced in 20 years of software support. Not fit for purpose. They release "upgrades" each month that they have clearly haven't tested as large parts of functionality stop working once they release it. It takes several weeks each month to firefight and fix these problems before they release another update and inevitably another part of the system goes wrong.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Useful tool, keeps our books in order

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-01-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Speaking from a non-finance position, this tool has been very helpful to allow my staff to easily track all of our financial operations. I enjoy the clear, and simple printouts to give me a snapshot of specific accounts or our overall financial picture.

Cons
The software itself works great in a silo. I have had some trouble trying to link it with some non-profit donor tracking software which has meant double entry rather than a smooth sharing of information between systems.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Robust software for all our accounting, financial and CRM data

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-08-12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It works great for small firms and can scale up as the company does. It takes away the need to set-up a separate server to host all of the accounting, CRM and financial that we need, so that’s a huge plus. Customer service can be easily reached and are data always more than helpful, even for simple questions that new users tend to have.

Cons
Payroll and some of the reporting can be a headache, but I suppose it could be that I’m just not using some of the features correctly. There’s still a lot I need to learn about the product, but the positive aspects definitely outnumber the negative ones ,

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

David Butler

This product isn't fit for purpose

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-03-01
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The introduction videos were great - but ultimately misleading

Cons
Sage do not make it clear that this system isn't a traditional Sage program and because of that you will need an approved partner to do a lot of development to even get it working. This is then compounded by things not working properly, or their suggested partners running into problems that they can't fix , coupled with almost non-existent support.(obviously you're being charged while this happens as well.) To top this all off on this dog of a programme, I recently found out that Sage will no longer be developing this product and will drop it for another program in the near future. Stay away from this program if you don't have someone who understands the problem to an expert level.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review

Brian DiDonato

This is a quality financial reporting system

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-04-16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The customer service is always good and they help you build reports if you're having trouble so that's really helpful.

Cons
The actual reports available aren't the best for financials. It would be better to have a 3rd party financial reporting software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Zach Harrison

If I could give Sage a zero I would.

Used occasionally for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-11-17
Review Source: Capterra

Our company didn't benefit from this product whatsoever.

Cons
Customer support. Very, very poor customer support. I do not recommend this product for anyone who is interested in Cloud Accounting software. Our account was set-up and handed over to us without offering training. They referred us to their "Sage University" for training which was cumbersome to find what we were looking for.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Craig Dunlap

New software, robust system, find a good implementation partner

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-07-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Built on Salesforce, keeps the CRM and accounting together. The concept is great. Sage Live has good problem resolution.

Cons
It’s a new product for Sage so there is a big learning curve. The only major problem we had was that they referred us to an implementation partner (Edgeware) that didn’t know the product well and made promises they couldn’t keep. In the end, Sage Live was helpful in resolving the issues that Edgeware couldn’t or wouldn’t resolve.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

TERRA DICKSON

Sage Live

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-04-12
Review Source: Software Advice

Great product. I have used much worse and better. I am a new user so still learning.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review

LUELLA ARMSTRONG

VERY GOOD PRODUCT

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-10-04
Review Source: Software Advice

ENJOY USING IT, VERY USER FREINDLY, KEEPS TRACK OF ALL MY ACCOUNTING NEEDS

Cons
PAYROLL

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Great on paper, poor support and execution

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-07-26
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
What it says it can do is really good. We found that we were told certain things and once we signed up, those things then weren't possible.

Cons
Customer support is slow, they recommended an implementation partner (Edgeware) that doesn't fully know the system. Cost us a lot of money. Beware. There are existing companies that know Salesforce better than Sage Live and Edgeware.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review

John Ordovas

Terrible

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-12-20
Review Source: Software Advice

We are ending up in court against SAGE and ION (the company who did the implementation). We spent 2 months trying to get the software implemented and we decided we had had enough. The product does not solve problems but creates problems. We spent 5000 pounds and they have refused to refund us. I STRONGLY recommend users to stay away. There are much, much better options out there.

Pros
The initial appeal was that it was native to Salesforce. Having spent time trying to implement the software, there are really very pros beyond that.

Cons
The product is crazy complex and buggy. Implementing it is a nightmare. Unless you are willing to spend months and thousands of pounds, I can't see how it can be done. To be in a position to do simple transactions will take tens of hours of training.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review

Tonette Peterson

Perfect!!!

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-10-12
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Perfect for a small company and can grow as you do. Love not having to keep all of this data on a server. Perfect!!!

Cons
None I can think of but I am new!!! Maybe if it was free..lol. But honestly I am new to this product but so far it is a home run.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review