ShopController Features List

ShopController

Automotive repair & fleet management software

4.75/5 (16 reviews)

ShopController Feature Summary

  • Labor rates
  • Parts management
  • Parts pricing
  • Maintenance tracking
  • Vehicle information
  • Maintenance management
  • Tire management
  • QuickBooks integration
  • Vehicle tracking
  • Service module
  • VIN decoder
  • Web conferencing integration
  • Web search integration
  • Email job status updates
  • Client interface
  • Time clock
  • Preventive maintenance
  • Technician management
  • Asset tracking
  • Service history tracking
  • Estimates
  • Mileage tracking
  • Automated scheduling
  • Planning calendar
  • Planning tools
  • CARFAX tools
  • Data export
  • Pre-built standard reports
  • Custom reports
  • Custom invoices
  • Automatic notifications
  • Custom inventory reports
  • Multi-location
  • Client management
  • Real-time data
  • Daily incremental backups for 30 days
  • Remote access availability
  • Appointment management
  • Workflow management
  • OpenEdge merchant card services
  • Franchise management
  • Fleet management
  • Fleet maintenance reports
  • Online ordering
  • Labor times
  • Mobility vehicle management
  • Automatic real-time backup

Finance & Accounting Feature Comparison

Most popular features of all Finance & Accounting apps

API (165 other apps)
Accounting Integration (103 other apps)
Accounting Management (99 other apps)
Activity Dashboard (108 other apps)
Auditing (80 other apps)
Automatic Notifications (100 other apps)
Automatic Reminders (76 other apps)
Billing & Invoicing (109 other apps)
Customizable Reporting (80 other apps)
Data Import/Export (87 other apps)
Electronic Payments (95 other apps)
Expense Tracking (105 other apps)
Invoice Management (153 other apps)
Invoice Processing (94 other apps)
Multi-Currency (91 other apps)
Real Time Data (88 other apps)
Receiving (86 other apps)
Recurring Billing (76 other apps)
Reporting & Statistics (99 other apps)
Third Party Integration (91 other apps)

Competitor Feature Comparison

ShopController Feature Reviews

14 reviewers had the following to say about ShopController's features:

Don Reid

I have the 8.3 version and I like it, I had tried out the 10.0, but it wasn't user friendly

2017-08-08

it was easy to use, helped many times when we put in the wrong vehicle serial #, it would not accept it and we would have to go over our tracks and find Our mistake, especially with gov't inspections, saving us embarrassment with wrong vin #'s for vehicle insurances etc

Pros

the 8.3 is easy to use for people like myself who aren't computer savvy, It stays up to date with new vehicles,

Cons

it doesn't update part costs while in the process of an invoice , we have to go back into inventory to correct and update values each time (if you change the price on an invoice, and close the invoice it defaults to the original price, for the next job)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


Don,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Shop Controller. We understand that you feel more comfortable with the previous version of our software. In the updated version, we have recently added integration with Worldpac Speed dial, Epicor, as well as Nexpart to assist in parts ordering. When you use the new software you will have the ability to have the parts imported from the parts catalogs right into the work orders. With the price matrix, increasing your margin has never been easier, as the markup is done automatically. We are glad to hear that our Carfax integration has assisted you in preventing data entry issues. We also agree that Carfax is a great way to save time in the data entry process when entering vehicle information. Finally, we value your business and look forward assisting you in the future.
Respectfully,
Shop Controller

Read more
Tara Thompson

We build custom vehicles and ShopController is the software that customizes along with us.

2017-08-15

Being able to customize reports in the Analysis section has helped me get a better look inside my data to help me manage my company better.

Pros

I love the ability to set our program the way we want to use it. Reports and screen views are easy to adjust to fit our needs as a shop.

Cons

My biggest issue has been training my people that have weak computer skills on how to use this system. It has so many options that it frustrates the 1,2,3 people.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


Tara,
Thank you for the opportunity to assist you in your Shop Management Software needs. We understand that you may have some challenges training your employees, and we will be more than willing to assist you with the software implementation and training of Shop Controller. Please give us a call, and we will ready to help you in any way we can.

Read more
Jeff Griffith

It is nice that I can access Shop Controller from anywhere

2018-03-26

Pros

This is a professional management system that I would recommend to others!

Cons

With a small shop, this management system does just fine for us.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


Thank you for taking the time to review ShopController. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you further.

Read more
STEPHEN GUNBY

we have used Shop Controller since 2005 and have been very happy with the older version, still have

2017-08-15

simplified our workshop, saved a lot of paper filing and with easily access to repair history it saves a lot of time, it is also very affordable and support is always available.

Pros

simple easy to use keeping accurate customer files and history , does everything a small shop needs. features are very clear and easily accessible

Cons

lack of reports , we run a dealership and the reports of efficiency and productivity that are required are not in detail in Shopcontroller

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brian Browning

We have mixed feelings with this software. You have to remember we are not computer technicians

2017-08-23

It allows me to run my business

Pros

The program is fairly easy to learn and use for basic stuff.

Cons

Maybe our internet server but it is a major issue when the customer is standing in front of you ready to pay his bill. The transfer of our data from the old Shop controller program we were using was not perfect.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brad Werner

As a customer for well over 15 years, in my opinion they are the best on the market!

2017-08-08

It makes running the shop efficient and quick

Pros

The software's best feature is probable with the support.

Cons

My only issue is with exporting some file, but we are running original shop controller and Windows XP, so it's not really Shop Controller s fault.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


Brad, Thank you for the review and we have enjoyed having you as one of our most loyal customers. Please let us know if we can assist you in any way.

Read more
Rodney Blake

A Really Good Program - Everything Flows!

2017-04-26

Moving a work order along through the stages from appointment to invoice is a simple process, and it's easy to tell what's going on in the shop at any time.

Pros

No contract Great support Flexible - set it up to work your way Access it from anywhere

Cons

None that I can think of

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


Thank you Rodney, we enjoy having you as one of our most valued customers. .

Read more
Lee Lashley

Affordable shop management system with reliable tech support

2016-10-14

We would recommend this professional management system to any professional repair shop looking for a great and affordable shop management system with reliable tech support.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


Lee,

Thank you for your review of ShopController. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you further.

Read more
Rainer Garcia

Really Customizable and tailored to your needs.

2017-05-11

Pros

I want to thank Steve, my account manager, for all his effort to make sure everything was up to my standards/requirements.

Cons

It does not work with Mac OS X. Although they set me up with Parallels Desktop and it runs great.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


We appreciate your business and thank you for your review.

Read more
Lisa McClanahan

love the product, the tech team is awesome !!!!

2017-08-15

Pros

very user friendly I recommend this product to all my friends who are setting up new businesses to see if they can use this as well.

Cons

that you have to go through so many steps to download into quick books. and payments do not show up in the link when downloading

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


Thank you Lisa,

We always enjoy working with you and appreciate the business you send our way. Thank you for being one of our most valued customers.

Respectfully,
ShopController

Read more
Conrad Kramer

Shopcontroller is an excellent tool for managing an automotive repair business. I am satisfied.

2018-04-04

Tracking technicians growth, scheduling repairs.

Pros

Also, the ability to track my Technicians hours and productivity was a game changer and assured that their work was getting done.

Cons

I do love this software enough to justify the price, but if I had to point out anything I didn't like it would be pricing. We do not make much income and pay a decent amount for this service. However as mentioned I will continue to pay for it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jake Anundson

Customer Service right when you need it

2017-06-09

Pros

Customer Service right when you need it, you talk to a real person and they really make the software tailored to your needs.

Cons

TheY have a great training and support group, but I would like to also have access to more documentation besides the user guide, so many features I feel I could take more advantage of the software

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


Thank you for reviewing Shop Controller. We appreciate having you as a customer and look forward to assisting you..

Read more
Jennifer King

Love the program.

2017-08-18

Easy to use. Keeps vehicle history information, customer information

Pros

User friendly. Customer support representative has always been there for tech support wherever i have had any questions. I think we first started using the program when he first started in 2000, And went back to his program after a short lapse.

Cons

The newest program is wonderful, however we have stuck with the older version because it is more simplified version, not as many options we don't want or need.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


Jennifer,
Thank you for the review and continued business. Please let us know if you would like a demo of the new features that were recently added to the software.
We look forward to many more years of assisting you with your software needs.
Respectfully,
ShopController

Read more
Steven Yamasaki

Extremely satisfied customer since the start of our business in 2014

2017-05-01

Pros

This software is very easy to use by most anyone.

Cons

I don't see a tutorial we can print so that we can utilize the program to the fullest. There are some modules that we could use to help us analyze our business, but we are not familiar with how to go about doing so.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from ShopController


Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your patronage, and we are glad that you find ShopController easy to use and customizable to your needs.

We are currently adding our Tutorial and User Guide as a link within ShopController, so it is easier to find and more readily accessible.

We are also adding Feature pages to our website, and we will be sending updates to our clients describing available features as well.

All of us here at ShopController are excited to assist you with all of your Shop Management needs and will schedule any additional training required.

Read more