App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Square Point of Sale Logo

Square Point of Sale

iPad & Android point of sale (POS) system

see alternatives

Square Point of Sale Reviews - Page 6

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


1,861 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed a year ago

I do continue to use Square point of sale for my customers in-person as well as on my website. Overall, I do enjoy the software as it is very detailed and everything is done for you. You get invoices for each purchase.

Pros

I downloaded Square Point of Sale for my book signing. I loved it! It was easy to navigate for myself as well as my customers.

Cons

What I liked least is the percentage that it takes from the purchases. Also, it did appear with that first purchase, it required a few extra steps.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square: For ANYONE!

Reviewed 4 years ago

My entire experience has been positive. Square brings the technology of accepting card payments efficiently to average people.

Pros

As a new business owner, I have to minimize my costs. When I began vending, I noticed that I was losing out on sales because I had no way to accept card-based payment methods. I began to research and realized that this option was within reach, despite being a small business with no experience in accepting card payments. The process of setting up my account, ordering my Square reader, accepting digital payments, and transferring my money couldn't be easier. This software makes accepting card payments accessable to EVERYONE - even if you have no experience with the process. I do not consider myself especially tech-savvy, but I found the process to be a breeze! The fees are very low per transaction, and instant access to your money is extremely convenient.

Cons

Occasionally, I had to re-swipe cards due to a reading error. This could have been human error, however, it does make customers nervous to see their card swiped twice.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great POS system for a great price

Reviewed 6 years ago

Square is a great app with amazing features. It has a clean interface which helps a lot. When introducing Square to one of my clients they loved how easy it was to use the app with adding items to adding and rearranging items on the POS screen. The easy to use interface was great for them as they are older and they don't really understand technology but now they are waiting tables with their iPhones....

Pros

Easy to use Great for all businesses Connects to Bluetooth recipt printers

Cons

Only works with Star printer not Epsom No Square loyalty or Gift Cards yet No offline more in Australia

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best POS ever.

Reviewed 6 months ago

I have actually had the best experience except having to make fake emials with XXXX@gmail.com for example.

Pros

I like the fact that everything syncs between all of your devices at home or at a location. I Like how you can see your inventory also after you add it.

Cons

I wish it was a little easier to work the inventory. I also do not like how you have to have a phone number and email to save a contact. it should be one or the other not both.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

New Standard for Small Business POS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Creating less friction during each and every point of sale, and tracking trends of our business.

Pros

I love how Square POS anticipates the likely needs of its users and provides simple, efficient solutions. For example, the rewards program that we have used in our business (10 stars = 1 free) is so freaking easy to set up on Square. Because it's so easy for our customers to set up, more and more of them are using it. Another thing I love about Square's POS is all of the different reports you're able to generate. As a numbers-nerd, I love being able to track our progress and look at trends over time. This software has been invaluable to us in doing so.

Cons

So far, there really isn't anything that I've had trouble with. I have no complaints or suggestions for improvements. Anytime we think of something we'd like, it turns out that Square has already thought of it and has it as an available option.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Works well for our small business needs

Reviewed 6 months ago

I am very happy with Square POS. I am able to run reports, gather data and have our information streamlined. The register app is very easy to use.

Pros

I love that I can remotely work and get real-time updates of what is happening at our shop when I am not there. We are a small business and because there is no "office' space in our store, much of the administrative work is done at home/remotely.

Cons

As far as the last time I checked, the inventory management was a bit lacking (that may have changed, but I haven't looked into it in quite some time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Square is Very User-Friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, having Square enables us to capture payments onsite and offsite, which is helpful! We don't have as many mess-ups with mis-written cc #s.

Pros

I love that it's easy to download onto any phone and then really easy to explain to others who need to use it. The interface is straightforward, the emails come thru right away and the gross and net are shown by the next day.

Cons

There is absolutely NO customer support whatsoever. No phone number, no email address. Once you're in you're in and if you have a problem you are totally on your own to try to figure it out. Luckily it's an easy system, but if you screw up somehow, you're literally screwed. Also, the fees are rather hefty. And, you have to have the cc, the exp date, the CVV and the zip code to run a card manually. That's a lot of info that we don't always have (esp. the zip!). Makes this not a convenient alternative. Finally, the square reader does NOT fit all phones.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SQUARE FOR THE WIN

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I loved square. We moved into quickbooks with invoices to help with tax season but I did love the ease and use of this product. Being able to take cards on the spot and track invoices was a huge help. I used it for four years and it did get better every year. Worth the money.

Cons

It would have been great if it let you link it to quickbooks to help with the tax season. I don't know if this has been added or not but it was the only reason we moved on. Customer service was helpful and the payments to the bank were always on time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hands down best solution for small business

Reviewed 4 months ago

Solves my payroll concerns, is inexpensive and effective to use

Pros

It is very easy to set up and use. It is very inexpensive as a POS, for payroll, marketing -all features are very effective, efficient and inexpensive. Great value

Cons

I would like a little better payroll reporting reports (i.e individual employee payroll history including date of pay increases, bonuses, etc...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square are brilliant!

Reviewed 6 months ago

Taking payment with a card reader instead of cash has genuinely changed my life, gone are the days where I have to take a wad of cash to the bank when I eventually remember!

Pros

I honestly adore using square, I love their customer service team, a business that really gets it right on all fronts, the card readers are inexpensive and easy to use and set up, the staff are amazing to speak to and the fees are really reasonable. Thank you square!

Cons

Honestly I have no cons with this software. Please keep doing what you're doing, it WORKS.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It has consistantly outshone the competition

Reviewed 3 years ago

I mostly use the app, although the virtual system is fine too. It has become easy to set up repeat payments and subscriptions, and keep a database of frequent clients to make card processing easier. I also like that they now have a debit card so I can access funds easier and faster.

Pros

I have stopped using Paypal for business because Square is superior and more reliable. They keep upgrading with new features and ideas. They also transfer money to your bank the fastest, with an even faster option for a nominal fee.

Cons

I used to say customer support, but that is no longer an issue at all.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great system I’ve used it as a business and a customer however not competitively priced

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall I’m happy with square I use it and Venmo/PayPal because it’s free also PayPal has the tools for shipping built into their system so I can easily use that. Another plus for PayPa is that it has email functions.

Pros

I love that the square POS it’s simple to process purchases and sales. Very user friendly easy to input items sku number and names and addresses and create invoices and receipts to be emailed or texted to customers.

Cons

Not competitively priced the fees are not as low as other point of sales. They have built a great name and can charge higher prices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square Point of Sale

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall the Square Point of Sale system is surprisingly simple to setup and use. Sending invoices via email as well as reminders for over due bills is ridiculously easy and even fun. Square provides users with a code so they can recommend others use the application, that when used, allows both users a free period of use of the application. I would recommend anyone needing a POS system check out Square.

Pros

Square POS is easy to setup and use in a very short time frame. They offer the Square card reader which allows both small and large businesses to accept credit cards in places that would normally not be able to provide that kind of service. Vendor and Craft fairs for instance. It not only offers easy invoicing and employee management, it also allows you to produce some reports and identify some trends.

Cons

Hit a few snags during the initial setup stage of my business as I seemed to do things a bit out of order than I should have. Once I figured out what I missed, I was able to keep moving forward with ease. The application allows for reports and some data filtering, though it does appear to be somewhat limited. It is not a full on CRM system like the ones I am used to working with, but I don't think it is intended to be. Not really cons, just some thoughts on it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Square point of sale is a good system

Reviewed a year ago

I had a great over all experience with the square point of sale system and I am still using the system. I also see a lot of other businesses using the system. I have no complaints. It also looks great set up and takes up little room.

Pros

What I like most about the square point of sale system is the ease of use. It is very easy to use and very quick, even compared to all the systems we are use to using these days. It is also very up to date, can email receipts instead, which is great, and sign electronically which is also convenient and saves waste.

Cons

What I like least about the square point of sale system is that you do have to get used to it. It is very easy to give up on something so modern and new. Of you take the time and learn the system before you start using it daily it will go so much easier and you'll see how great it is.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good for quick transactions!

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was overall positive and was very versatile, allowing us to quickly add different POS across the board.

Pros

It's ease of use as POS software made it a great addition so we could use tablets and small devices to take orders and were able to increase our delivery revenue.

Cons

Cresting invoices and remotely charging repeat customers from the online invoicing feature was a bit cumbersome of the customer wanted to use the saved card on file, so we had to re-write our regulars card info rather than quickly using the saved ones on file for online orders.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Point of Sale Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy to set up products and users. We liked it so much in our Corporate location we just rolled it out to our 11 Branch locations!

Pros

With Square Register we have the ability to easily and quickly move our customers that are buying itmes not covered by their insurance, through our showroom with out waiting for the Computer Driven Software we need to use when customers are getting items that will bill through insurance

Cons

We have been using Square Register in our Corporate Showroom for a few years and I have nothing that I don't like about it!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great for start ups, pop ups and all Entrepreneurs

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like its sleek design and ease of use. It was super easy for me a newbie to learn how to use this in less than 3 min. its great because you can tie in you inventory, add pictures. (which sounds stupid but is great for marketing/getting repeat business) . I love the tip option at the end. Their cost is pretty low, compared to other POS systems out there that require all kinds of other grab. Again the easy of use and the visual appealing-ness of square are what have kept me using it. i have tired a couple others because you never know if the grass is greener on the other side! but i keep coming back to square pos and its what i recommend to everyone .

Cons

The only con is the % but again for the ease of use, i dont think its an outrageous fee, however if your business is running on super low margins than maybe you dont want to use square...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Without Square my business of one couldn't afford to take credit cards

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

With Square it's easy and affordable for a small business to take credit cards and contactless forms of payment such as Apple and Google. As a healthcare provider, I can also take FSA and HSA cards. They're brilliant for having an offline mode of taking payments for when their servers or my wifi are down.

Cons

I honestly can't think of anything I don't like. I've never had an issue aside from their servers being down for part of a day, but I was still able to take payments in offline mode and was still paid on time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Point of Sale by Square

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We as an organization really like using Point of Sale by Square when we are at fundraisers we put on as a non-profit and people want to make donations but do not have cash, check, etc. but only have a card. It makes it really easy that the card reader just plugs into the iPad and we can accept credit card donations while out and about!

Cons

Even though our donations can still process without our iPad being on WIFI, I still don't recommend doing it unless you absolutely have too. It can sometimes be tricky to get that information to show up on the back side of things.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Square Point of Sale

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall I had been having a decent experience with Square but having to spend so much time looking for a phone number and then waiting so long for a person to tell me my customers had to wait 7 to 10 business days for a refund that was caught 15 hours or less from the original transaction was ridiculous. I had to go and get a money order to give one customer for the refund and NOW have to drive across town to now pick up a money order from her once the refund was posted to her account so I can deposit the additional money I gave her Saturday so she had funds through today when the refund posted. A lot of unnecessary running around when it could have been corrected within a day or two not 10 days! It was enough aggravation that I'm looking for another money transfer app for our events.

Pros

I liked that it was a convenient way to accept payments anywhere via my mobile cell phone through the Square App.

Cons

I didn't like that customers couldn't make a payment directly from their phone & that Square charges a higher fee to manually enter a credit card. There was a glitch with square that kept showing a different totals than what was entered $82.00 it showed $82.03. The customer said run it with the .03. Then the next day LESS THAN 24 hours later I saw the deposit total from Square to our bank account...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square makes my invoicing life easy!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I use Square as one of my main invoicing tools. They have a very user friendly back end and I can quickly manage money and invoices. They have a a lot of great features that I love within the invoicing system. They keep making it better, Any issues I have had their customer support was great in amending quickly

Cons

It is way too easy to accidentally signup for their add on features. I wish they would have a confirm button before they automatically enroll you into one of their add on they you accidentally click on.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square POS for Retail

Reviewed 3 years ago

Retail Point of Purchase is handled for all aspects of our need for retail. It solves our time constraints in training our staff due to its ease of use.

Pros

Square is very intuitive and user friendly. It's kvery easy to train new staff to use all the functions that Square POS has for daily operations.

Cons

There is hardly anything negative I have to say about this software that is the fundamental software we use in our business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Real Winner

Reviewed 4 years ago

We sell books and services at trade shows. Square allows us to seamlessly accept credit cards.

Pros

It's available for small businesses without having to undergo the usual hassle involved in accepting credit cards in your business. It's easy to install and use, and it's loaded with useful features most small business can use immediately. We can take payments anywhere, even if there is not internet connection.

Cons

The cost is higher than most "traditional" credit card processors. But, you get what you pay for with Square.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Extremely useful POS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Back in my days as a server, Square was (and still is) a powerful POS solution for restaurants. So much time can be saved in the front of the house by being able to see back of the house status without having to make the walk back, especially in large restaurants. Course items and table status and layout are very simple and intuitive to use. All in all, Square makes wide acceptance of credit card payments and inventory integration make life a lot easier. Also, the pay a fee per transaction model is very fair.

Cons

The card reader is not always foolproof and sometimes there are problems with newer model phones. No major cons, however.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GREAT PRODUCT, EASY TO USE, EASY ON THE FEES

Reviewed 2 years ago

I SWITCHED FROM THE BANKS SYSTEM OF FIRST DATA, IN FEES ALONE EACH YEAR I PAID FROM $600 -$800, THEY CHARGED RENTAL FEES, INSURANCE FEES, MAINTENANCE FEES, CREDIT CARD FEES, SERVICE FEES (SEPARATE FROM MAINTENANCE FEES) AND TAXES, YEAH NOW I PAY ROUGHLY MAYBE $50 - $125 A YEAR WAY BETTER.

Pros

THE SIMPLICITY, ONCE YOU SET IT UP, JUST START USING IT. THEY CHARGE MINIMAL FEES, THEY PUT THE FUNDS INTO YOUR ACCOUNT USUALLY NEXT DAY, OR DAY AFTER IF SALE WAS AFTER HOURS OR WEEKEND.

Cons

IT COULD TAKE 48 HOURS TO GET PAID IF A SALE WAS ON THE WEEKEND OR AFTER HOURS, AND IF A CLIENT ALREADY HAS AN EMAIL SET UP THE SQUARE SYSTEM WILL AUTOMATICALLY SEND THE RECEIPT TO THEM, IT JUST MAKES ME HAVE TO GO BACK AND RESEND THE RECEIPT TO MY BUSINESS EMAIL