TaxCloud Features

TaxCloud

Cloud-based tax management and compliance tracking platform

2.73/5 (40 reviews)

Competitor Feature Comparison

API
Address Validation
Audit Management
Audit Trail
CRM
Compliance Management
Corporate/Business
Customer Accounts
Data Import/Export
Electronic Filing
Email Marketing
Exception Notification
Exemption Management
Inventory Management
Multi-Channel Marketing
Multi-Store
Order Management
Returns Management
Sales Tax Management
Shopping Cart
Tax Calculation
Tax Filing
Taxability Verification
Transaction Tracking
eCommerce Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Address Validation
Audit Management
Audit Trail
CRM
Compliance Management
Corporate/Business
Customer Accounts
Data Import/Export
Electronic Filing
Email Marketing
Exception Notification
Exemption Management
Inventory Management
Multi-Channel Marketing
Multi-Store
Order Management
Returns Management
Sales Tax Management
Shopping Cart
Tax Calculation
Tax Filing
Taxability Verification
Transaction Tracking
eCommerce Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Address Validation
Audit Management
Audit Trail
CRM
Compliance Management
Corporate/Business
Customer Accounts
Data Import/Export
Electronic Filing
Email Marketing
Exception Notification
Exemption Management
Inventory Management
Multi-Channel Marketing
Multi-Store
Order Management
Returns Management
Sales Tax Management
Shopping Cart
Tax Calculation
Tax Filing
Taxability Verification
Transaction Tracking
eCommerce Management
Learn moreCompare App

TaxCloud Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about TaxCloud's features:

CL G.

Supper easy integration and amazing product compared to other services.

2018-06-19

By voluntarily signing up to remit sales taxes in SSUTA states my business is indemnified against audit risks in those states.

Pros

TaxCloud works seamlessly across multiple platforms and is designed to scale with my business needs.

Cons

No real cons..at first customer service seems a concern.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brent W.

Shady and Unsupportive Operation - Avoid

2021-05-03

While the actual software works fine, I absolutely cannot recommend a company that treats their customers like this. I feel like we got the bait and switch treatment and their staff was not entirely forthcoming about the pricing changes, and instead of treating my company like a valued customer they coldly shut us down for the sake of two months worth of charges with a single sentence: "We can not issue refunds for services rendered." When our business picks up again after COVID eases up, we'll be using a different service, even if it costs more. Support and customer service really matters, and TaxCloud severely lacks it. This entire experience shows me that they care more about their monthly charges than keeping satisfied customers.

Pros

It was fairly easy to integrate, and reported accurately.

Cons

Then, I got hit with another monthly charge in April because my site had 7 (SEVEN) API calls towards the end of March before the account was closed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Brent - Thanks for the review. A few comments on your post. First, we apologize if your service experience was poor. Regarding pricing, yes, we did make a change in January 2021 the basis of which were changes that no longer allowed us to offer fully free services in our member states, they are now subsidized but not free. So yes, your invoice went from $0/month to $33/month. Still seems like a pretty fair deal to get rates and have us file for you in 25 states. Regarding your termination, our billing runs one month in arrears, so if you cancel in March, activity from March will be billed to you in April. I hope you would agree that we shouldn't eat the costs for your legitimate account activity if you cancel. Best of luck with your business.

Read more
Daniel I.

Solid plugin with woocommerce

2018-03-14

Pros

It was a bit difficult to setup, but once I got it going, it provides me with solid reporting every month.

Cons

I also wish that I could download past invoices from the website, but currently it's only being emailed to me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Daniel - Thanks for the review! We just released our new user interface to our website. Hopefully, the set-up process is easier to navigate now.

Read more
David B.

Very poor customer service - takes days to respond to technical issues

2018-07-06

It took care of our sales tax computations and saved time and at one time worked well.

Pros

The top line reporting is clear and concise for completing quarterly sales tax returns.

Cons

For this you get a slower dashboard and unresponsive customer service.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Thanks for taking the time to review our service and we apologize for the service issues you encountered. Regarding the customer service issues, we are taking action by hiring additional staff which will help us be more responsive than we have been recently. Based on the limited nexus footprint of your business and the recent Wayfair ruling by the SCOTUS, you should move to our Automated Compliance service - which would be FREE to you.

Read more
Richard G.

TaxCloud Difficult to Use

2019-02-10

Poor.

Pros

Inexpensive and makes reporting easy if it works.

Cons

Very hard to set up and very hard to get useful help.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Richard - Sorry that you found TaxCloud difficult to set-up. We have a great deal of material available at https://taxcloud.com/faq and feel free to reach to me via email at priley@taxcloud.com with any other questions.

Read more
Kali L. K.

Absurd Customer Service

2019-10-23

I would not recommend.

Pros

It sounded like it would integrate seamlessly, but I honestly didn't have time to try it out fully.

Cons

Before I was even able to access the full functionality I received an invoice for a time period before I even had signed up for taxcloud.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mario W.

Sales department was enthusiastic. Software integrated well. Problems caused mayhem with no fix.

2018-06-12

The software took a time burden from my shoulders.

Pros

Mostly the software runs seamlessly once it is set up correctly. Helps avoid expensive business costs.

Cons

When there are issues with accounts that need attention the customer support is not there.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Thanks for the review. Glad to see the positive ratings on overall quality, ease of use and Features/functionality. We apologize that our customer support has let you down. We do our best with limited resources trying to maintain our FREE service offer for small businesses. We do our best to respond to all inquiries within 24 hours and have plans to invest in additional support resources in the near future.

Read more
Richard R.

Attempting to terminate service agreement with taxcloud

2019-04-24

The TaxCloud Terms of Servce Agreement states that in order to terminate that agreement, 'Merchant must log into the TaxCloud Merchant Interface, and click the “Close Account” button.'

Pros

It appears to be better than most as far as a learning curve. I did not use it as too much, as I have decided to retire rather than go through this online sales tax situation.

Cons

I've spent quite a lot of time attempting to contact someone to talk to with no luck.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Richard - If you'd like to cancel your account, please email service@taxcloud.net and it will be taken care of.

Read more
Andrew C.

Easy to Set Up, It is Free, Does the Hard Part for You

2018-07-22

Helped in complying with state laws.

Pros

Well documented user and technical guides.

Cons

Somewhat difficult for the novice, but good integration with other system helps.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Thanks for the review Andrew! We appreciate your business!

Read more
Anonymous
(Consumer Electronics company, 201-500 employees)

It had everything to be a great tool, but not!

2018-10-24

It had everything to be a great tool for taxCloud compliance however customer service is almost non-existent and with the amount of bugs that it has it would help to get a hold of someone faster.

Pros

Easy to integrate. Streamline states is a big advantage.

Cons

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE and MANY BUGS to fix.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

1/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


We'd be happy to engage on the issues made here but the name and company name of the reviewer is withheld at their request. Without such basic information, we have no way to investigate this review to take corrective measures or reply in any fact based fashion - or even confirm that the person represents a TaxCloud client. If the reviewer sees this, please feel free to reach to me at priley@taxcloud.com to connect on your concerns. Thank you.

Read more
Andrew M.

Simply helps to keep track of sales taxes for internet transactions.

2019-02-05

TaxCloud seems to have been improved significantly with a better UI. It is much simpler to use.

Pros

I think many will upgrade to the full version in time. From what I can tell, it is the best value.

Cons

Can't complain at a free service and it was easier to set up that I anticipated.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer M.

Such A Disappointment

2019-05-21

I'll find out, I'm sure, because I cannot close my account. I was so excited about the service.I filled everything out, I added my bookkeeper, I read a bunch of great information, learned about a few of the states and their the tax laws.

Pros

The concept is wonderful, your account is easy to understand, the map and sales tax information is great.

Cons

If your account is unfinished (not published) you will still be charged.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Jennifer - Our apologies for the issue you experienced. Based on the way your account was configured, you erroneously got charged when you should not have. We will make sure your account is disabled and provide you a credit for the charges made against your payment instrument on file. Again, our apologies for the issue.

Read more
michelle g.

Tax Cloud Helps you keep track of internet taxes

2017-09-15

Helps me to keep track of my internet sales tax w/out all the hassle of figuring it out on my own.

Pros

It even has automated compliance for 24 states!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katrina J.

Ripped Off

2021-06-26

Horrible. I'm not the only one saying it I find out too late. Wish I'd looked first.

Pros

I liked it *at first* before they changed their pricing tiers. They had a free option and a paid option. I tried the paid option and it worked wonderfully at first.

Cons

And NOW they're charging me a "rejection fee" because I've had to stop their activity directly at my bank.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Katrina - Thanks for your review. We did change our pricing in January and no longer have a free service in our member states. This change was necessitated by a contractual change that no longer allowed us to offer a fully free service. So your invoices went from $0/month to $30/month (our miniumum charge). If you were billed after cancelling your account, it's because we were still getting API calls from your store. 375 in FEB, 144 in MAY, 25 in APR and 4 in MAY. So the charges were for using our platform even though you may not have been aware your store was still sending us transactions.

Read more
Brian G.

Cant integrate with Ebay , or cant find out how to.

2019-02-18

Overall, it would be a great solution, except the time-consuming registrations and expense required to get tax number for each state (those that are not in the Free list) , plus lack of eBay integration, We're seriously considering simply exiting the e-commerce business entirely.

Pros

Seems simple to set up, I did find how to integrate with Amazon, Bonanza, and I was all excited to start using it...

Cons

Can't find any way to integrate with Ebay which is our largest (by far) sales platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Brian - Thanks for the review. You are correct, we currently don't have a plug-in for eBay. However, you can still upload eBay transactions into TaxCloud via a .csv file in a spreadsheet. Reach to me at priley@taxcloud.com and I'll forward you the transaction upload template. I'll go into the system and try to find your email as well.

Read more
Anonymous
(Design company, myself only employees)

Does what it says

2021-05-25

TaxCloud is hard to compare with competitors because I've only ever used them. In my limited experience with TaxCloud I didn't notice anything to be missing that I needed.

Pros

Has a fair number of integrations where tax setup is turnkey.

Cons

Can get fairly expensive for smaller operations. You'll generally know if you need software for this

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Thanks for your review!

Read more
Brynn R.

Calcuates tax great - pray you dont need tech support

2019-02-26

I love the ease of which it works when it works. But when you do need help it is virtually impossible to receive it timely.

Pros

The ease of setting up an account and nexus.

Cons

The customer service is horrible. They have been saying since last summer that they are aware of the issue and are working to make it better but we still see that same lack of support. We have tried calling and contacting online but receive no response. The receptionist will not put you in touch with an actual human or escalate the message.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


I connected with the reviewer on this feedback. It appears there was some communication issues between our receptionist and support team that delayed our initial response back to the reviewer. For this we apologize. After two requests, I have not been informed of the issue that has been out there since last summer. We have no record in our service ticketing system that an incident was opened last summer for this client.

Read more
Matthew J.

Great Product at a Great Price

2019-01-23

Highly recommend.

Pros

It's full featured and low cost (or free if you're a small business with limited sites and sales).

Cons

Even though the interface is easy to use, like anything new it took a bit to get comfortable using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
S Nixon B.

Inexpensive and works well. Straightforward implementation. Looking forward to new marketplace apps

2017-11-07

Pros

They're about to launch a new UI, along with new marketplace mobile apps, using Polymer Web Components.

Cons

I have to file in all 24 streamlined states in I want to use TaxCloud for free, though I admit that that point might become irrelevant in 2018 with all the regulatory changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laks S.

Makes Complex filing easy!

2016-12-13

It makes it easy for online businesses when it comes to Salea tax and the UI is easy enough to navigate and use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Larry M.

Horrible Support

2018-12-12

Pros

Address lookup works most of the time.

Cons

We are being charged for duplicate transactions and cannot find a reason. The downloaded transaction history shows all transactions occurred at 4:00 AM so that was no help at all. A support ticket was created 4 months ago and still no answer. As a test, I created a test website, made one test transaction and immediately took the site down. There were no duplicate transactions from the test website that day however; the next day there was.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Our redundant API call policy is clearly outlined here: https://taxcloud.com/topics/Frequently%20Asked%20Questions/#Troubleshooting:tta360013700311 Redundant API calls are a problem as they hinder the performance of our platform unnecessarily and add to our technology infrastructure costs. We charge for redundant calls to change behavior, not make money. A decent developer should be able to look at your implementation and quickly fix the issue. Your charges for redundant API calls are in the single digit $'s per month. The reason you are not hearing back from support is that we can't fix this problem, but you can...and it is taking time away from more serious client issues.

Read more
Rita H.

Terrible customer service

2018-07-25

Pros

I've been using this software for over a year and It works most of the time, however didn't calculate the tax properly.

Cons

I talked to customer service at least five times and promised to call me back, but never actually called me back.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


We appreciate the feedback Rita and apologize for the service response issues you've encountered. We have been dealing with much higher service ticket volume in recent months due to several factors including our UI upgrade, pricing change and mostly the Wayfair SCOTUS decision. We have increased the size of our support team recently and will be adding more people and improved processes shortly. We appreciate your business and are focused on doing better.

Read more
Jan H.

Buyer beware

2021-01-19

Used to have a chat feature, but it is gone.

Pros

The software itself is relatively good. We upload our transactions on a monthly basis rather than using the live feed. It has been working great until recently.

Cons

Difficult to determine if uploads have been received at Tax Cloud.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

1/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Jan - Sorry for your experience. Our support phone line is 877-TAXCLOUD and chat is indeed back. It was done for a bit when we introduced the new website. I'll make sure someone reaches out to you.

Read more
Joy O.

Quality, easy help with taxes

2017-09-21

peace of mind, quality accurate help

Pros

I love that this software makes taxes so easy for me.

Cons

It is very easy to use and is very quality and accurate

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
(Semiconductors company, myself only employees)

Automatic filing and period!

2018-12-10

Very poor to bad experience is all I can say about this software.

Pros

The software is capable of automagically calculating sales tax and even assists in filing them directly.

Cons

Also there is no easy way to include county and local taxes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Not sure what you are speaking of. We calculate sales tax at every jurisdictional level for every address in the US. This would include state. county, city and parish in LA.

Read more