TaxCloud Features

TaxCloud

Sales Tax at the Speed of Commerce

2.85/5 (34 reviews)

TaxCloud Feature Summary

  • Automatically files sales tax returns for 24 states
  • Calculates sales tax in real time for any location in the US
  • Indemnification to Sellers & Marketplaces
  • Manages sales tax exemption certificates
  • Monitors changes to tax rates
  • Monthly state-by-state reports on sales tax collected

Competitor Feature Comparison

API
Auditing
Sales Tax Management
eCommerce Management
Learn moreCompare App
API
Auditing
Sales Tax Management
eCommerce Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Auditing
Sales Tax Management
eCommerce Management
Learn moreCompare App

TaxCloud Feature Reviews

24 reviewers had the following to say about TaxCloud's features:

Daniel Im

Solid plugin with woocommerce

2018-03-14

Pros

It was a bit difficult to setup, but once I got it going, it provides me with solid reporting every month.

Cons

I also wish that I could download past invoices from the website, but currently it's only being emailed to me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Daniel - Thanks for the review! We just released our new user interface to our website. Hopefully, the set-up process is easier to navigate now.

Read more
CL Gillespie

Supper easy integration and amazing product compared to other services.

2018-06-19

By voluntarily signing up to remit sales taxes in SSUTA states my business is indemnified against audit risks in those states.

Pros

TaxCloud works seamlessly across multiple platforms and is designed to scale with my business needs.

Cons

No real cons..at first customer service seems a concern.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kali L. Kirkendall

Absurd Customer Service

2019-10-23

I would not recommend.

Pros

It sounded like it would integrate seamlessly, but I honestly didn't have time to try it out fully.

Cons

Before I was even able to access the full functionality I received an invoice for a time period before I even had signed up for taxcloud.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Borrows

Very poor customer service - takes days to respond to technical issues

2018-07-06

It took care of our sales tax computations and saved time and at one time worked well.

Pros

The top line reporting is clear and concise for completing quarterly sales tax returns.

Cons

For this you get a slower dashboard and unresponsive customer service.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Thanks for taking the time to review our service and we apologize for the service issues you encountered. Regarding the customer service issues, we are taking action by hiring additional staff which will help us be more responsive than we have been recently. Based on the limited nexus footprint of your business and the recent Wayfair ruling by the SCOTUS, you should move to our Automated Compliance service - which would be FREE to you.

Read more
Mario Winkelman

Sales department was enthusiastic. Software integrated well. Problems caused mayhem with no fix.

2018-06-12

The software took a time burden from my shoulders.

Pros

Mostly the software runs seamlessly once it is set up correctly. Helps avoid expensive business costs.

Cons

Trying to get things back on track is not being addressed for their end.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Thanks for the review. Glad to see the positive ratings on overall quality, ease of use and Features/functionality. We apologize that our customer support has let you down. We do our best with limited resources trying to maintain our FREE service offer for small businesses. We do our best to respond to all inquiries within 24 hours and have plans to invest in additional support resources in the near future.

Read more
Richard Guenther

TaxCloud Difficult to Use

2019-02-10

Poor.

Pros

Inexpensive and makes reporting easy if it works.

Cons

Very hard to set up and very hard to get useful help.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Richard - Sorry that you found TaxCloud difficult to set-up. We have a great deal of material available at https://taxcloud.com/faq and feel free to reach to me via email at priley@taxcloud.com with any other questions.

Read more
Anonymous
(Consumer Electronics company, 201-500 employees)

It had everything to be a great tool, but not!

2018-10-24

It had everything to be a great tool for taxCloud compliance however customer service is almost non-existent and with the amount of bugs that it has it would help to get a hold of someone faster.

Pros

Easy to integrate. Streamline states is a big advantage.

Cons

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE and MANY BUGS to fix.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

1/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


We'd be happy to engage on the issues made here but the name and company name of the reviewer is withheld at their request. Without such basic information, we have no way to investigate this review to take corrective measures or reply in any fact based fashion - or even confirm that the person represents a TaxCloud client. If the reviewer sees this, please feel free to reach to me at priley@taxcloud.com to connect on your concerns. Thank you.

Read more
Brian Gustin

Cant integrate with Ebay , or cant find out how to.

2019-02-18

Overall, it would be a great solution, except the time-consuming registrations and expense required to get tax number for each state (those that are not in the Free list) , plus lack of eBay integration, We're seriously considering simply exiting the e-commerce business entirely.

Pros

Seems simple to set up, I did find how to integrate with Amazon, Bonanza, and I was all excited to start using it...

Cons

Can't find any way to integrate with Ebay which is our largest (by far) sales platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Brian - Thanks for the review. You are correct, we currently don't have a plug-in for eBay. However, you can still upload eBay transactions into TaxCloud via a .csv file in a spreadsheet. Reach to me at priley@taxcloud.com and I'll forward you the transaction upload template. I'll go into the system and try to find your email as well.

Read more
michelle guess

Tax Cloud Helps you keep track of internet taxes

2017-09-15

Helps me to keep track of my internet sales tax w/out all the hassle of figuring it out on my own.

Pros

It even has automated compliance for 24 states!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Richard Reiter

Attempting to terminate service agreement with taxcloud

2019-04-24

The TaxCloud Terms of Servce Agreement states that in order to terminate that agreement, 'Merchant must log into the TaxCloud Merchant Interface, and click the “Close Account” button.'

Pros

It appears to be better than most as far as a learning curve. I did not use it as too much, as I have decided to retire rather than go through this online sales tax situation.

Cons

I've spent quite a lot of time attempting to contact someone to talk to with no luck.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Richard - If you'd like to cancel your account, please email service@taxcloud.net and it will be taken care of.

Read more
Andrew M

Simply helps to keep track of sales taxes for internet transactions.

2019-02-05

TaxCloud seems to have been improved significantly with a better UI. It is much simpler to use.

Pros

I think many will upgrade to the full version in time. From what I can tell, it is the best value.

Cons

Can't complain at a free service and it was easier to set up that I anticipated.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer McVey

Such A Disappointment

2019-05-21

I'll find out, I'm sure, because I cannot close my account. I was so excited about the service.I filled everything out, I added my bookkeeper, I read a bunch of great information, learned about a few of the states and their the tax laws.

Pros

The concept is wonderful, your account is easy to understand, the map and sales tax information is great.

Cons

If your account is unfinished (not published) you will still be charged.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Hi Jennifer - Our apologies for the issue you experienced. Based on the way your account was configured, you erroneously got charged when you should not have. We will make sure your account is disabled and provide you a credit for the charges made against your payment instrument on file. Again, our apologies for the issue.

Read more
Andrew Costly

Easy to Set Up, It is Free, Does the Hard Part for You

2018-07-22

Helped in complying with state laws.

Pros

TaxCloud is really free. Easy integration with shopping cart.

Cons

Somewhat difficult for the novice, but good integration with other system helps.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Thanks for the review Andrew! We appreciate your business!

Read more
Brynn Roberts

Calcuates tax great - pray you dont need tech support

2019-02-26

I love the ease of which it works when it works. But when you do need help it is virtually impossible to receive it timely.

Pros

The ease of setting up an account and nexus.

Cons

The customer service is horrible. They have been saying since last summer that they are aware of the issue and are working to make it better but we still see that same lack of support. We have tried calling and contacting online but receive no response. The receptionist will not put you in touch with an actual human or escalate the message.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


I connected with the reviewer on this feedback. It appears there was some communication issues between our receptionist and support team that delayed our initial response back to the reviewer. For this we apologize. After two requests, I have not been informed of the issue that has been out there since last summer. We have no record in our service ticketing system that an incident was opened last summer for this client.

Read more
Matthew Joyce

Great Product at a Great Price

2019-01-23

Highly recommend.

Pros

It's full featured and low cost (or free if you're a small business with limited sites and sales).

Cons

Even though the interface is easy to use, like anything new it took a bit to get comfortable using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
S Nixon Barnes

Inexpensive and works well. Straightforward implementation. Looking forward to new marketplace apps

2017-11-07

Pros

They're about to launch a new UI, along with new marketplace mobile apps, using Polymer Web Components.

Cons

I have to file in all 24 streamlined states in I want to use TaxCloud for free, though I admit that that point might become irrelevant in 2018 with all the regulatory changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laks Sam

Makes Complex filing easy!

2016-12-13

It makes it easy for online businesses when it comes to Salea tax and the UI is easy enough to navigate and use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joy OReilly

Quality, easy help with taxes

2017-09-21

peace of mind, quality accurate help

Pros

I usually hate doing this and it pretty much is set up to automatically just calculate what is needed.

Cons

It is very easy to use and is very quality and accurate

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Larry M

Horrible Support

2018-12-12

Pros

Address lookup works most of the time.

Cons

We are being charged for duplicate transactions and cannot find a reason. The downloaded transaction history shows all transactions occurred at 4:00 AM so that was no help at all. A support ticket was created 4 months ago and still no answer. As a test, I created a test website, made one test transaction and immediately took the site down. There were no duplicate transactions from the test website that day however; the next day there was.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Our redundant API call policy is clearly outlined here: https://taxcloud.com/topics/Frequently%20Asked%20Questions/#Troubleshooting:tta360013700311 Redundant API calls are a problem as they hinder the performance of our platform unnecessarily and add to our technology infrastructure costs. We charge for redundant calls to change behavior, not make money. A decent developer should be able to look at your implementation and quickly fix the issue. Your charges for redundant API calls are in the single digit $'s per month. The reason you are not hearing back from support is that we can't fix this problem, but you can...and it is taking time away from more serious client issues.

Read more
Peggy Farabaugh

Deceptive advertising | Not an option for small business

2019-01-08

I cannot trust the company bc of it's deceptive advertising. The hidden fees are orders of magnitude higher than those they advertise and certainly a showstopper for any small business like mine. Using TaxCloud would surely put us out of business in a hurry.

Pros

Loved the advertising message: "helps online merchants easily manage all aspects of state and local sales tax, from calculation to collection to filing. Let us do the taxes so you can run your business." Unfortunately it's very deceptive for small businesses.

Cons

It's not until you get well into the implementation process that you discover hidden details like 1) you have to collect tax for all SSTP (Streamlined Sales Tax Project) even if you don't come anywhere near their thresholds and 2) you'll be charged up to 8% of your revenue for the service in addition to the fees advertised.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Thanks for the review Peggy. The 1000's of merchants that rely on us for their sales tax compliance disagree with you. Our FREE service is based on our partnership with the SSTP member states - are you looking for an apology for us offering a FREE service? Please talk to our competitors and you can pay all you want. We have no idea what you are talking about on the 8% of revenue claim. Our pricing is transparently presented on our website and within our terms of service (which you obviously didn't read when you accepted it). You created your account on December 28th and wrote this review 10 days later - you never went live, you never were invoiced, you never used the service! Your claim of deceptive advertising is false - really the result of your lack of diligence when registering for our service. We don't mind being critiqued, but object to the false claims you make in this review.

Read more
Rita Horvath

Terrible customer service

2018-07-25

Pros

I've been using this software for over a year and It works most of the time, however didn't calculate the tax properly.

Cons

I talked to customer service at least five times and promised to call me back, but never actually called me back.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


We appreciate the feedback Rita and apologize for the service response issues you've encountered. We have been dealing with much higher service ticket volume in recent months due to several factors including our UI upgrade, pricing change and mostly the Wayfair SCOTUS decision. We have increased the size of our support team recently and will be adding more people and improved processes shortly. We appreciate your business and are focused on doing better.

Read more
Anonymous
(Semiconductors company, myself only employees)

Automatic filing and period!

2018-12-10

Very poor to bad experience is all I can say about this software.

Pros

The software is capable of automagically calculating sales tax and even assists in filing them directly.

Cons

Also there is no easy way to include county and local taxes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Not sure what you are speaking of. We calculate sales tax at every jurisdictional level for every address in the US. This would include state. county, city and parish in LA.

Read more
Jeffrey Kyle

Slow/Poor Customer Support

2018-05-30

Pros

We have liked how easy it is to calculate shipping in our WooCommerce store when their Simple Sales Tax plugin is not having compatibility issues.

Cons

We're strongly considering switching to another tax services provider that has a better track record of actually helping customers, especially paying ones.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


What Jeffrey indicates is accurate but has to be put into context. There was an issue with the SST plug-in caused by an poorly communicated update to the Woo platform which created the issue with the SST plug-in. In addition, we released our new UI and did a price change at the same time. This caused record ticket & call volume from our 1000's of clients which as a small company we needed to prioritize. Not using this an excuse but rather just sharing the reality of what happened. Our call volumes have returned to normal so response times are normalizing. I'd also point out that as the FREE and low cost provider in the marketplace we don't have the resources to pick-up every call or respond to email tickets as they come in. We apologize to Jeffrey for his experience and hope he will remain a TaxCloud customer.

Read more
Ryan Richards

Horrible service - Hidden Fees

2019-09-14

It should make dealing with taxes easy, but the setup and end user experience is horrible.

Pros

It should make sales taxes simple. It doesn't....

Cons

The service to get things started is horrible. They charge for things not spelled out at beginning and won't resolve questions through email or by calling in.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FedTax


Ryan - Our apologies for your poor customer service experience. We do our best to be responsive to our over 4000 clients, but come up short from time to time. We are working tirelessly to improve. Regarding your assertion that there are hidden fees, we respectfully disagree. In reviewing your invoices, the fee you seem to be referring to is for Redundant API calls. These happen when we receive additional Lookup calls on a cart that hasn't changed or is identical to the cart on the initial Lookup call. Redundant API calls are the result of a flawed implementation by merchants and add cost to our business through additional computer infrastructure. Redundant API call costs are expressly discussed in our Terms of Service and transactions that have Redundant calls are specifically highlighted within the TaxCloud portal. You should talk to your developer to see why redundant calls are being generated and have them fix the implementation.

Read more