TaxCloud Pricing Plan & Cost Guide

TaxCloud

Cloud-based tax management and compliance tracking platform

2.73/5 (40 reviews)

TaxCloud Pricing

Starting from: $9.00/month

Pricing model: Free, Subscription

Free Trial: Available

TaxCloud has two pricing options available:

Automated Compliance - A state paid service option in 25 member states. All services are free in the member states while non-member states can be activated for a modest fee.

Selective Compliance - A highly flexible service that allows selecting services in an "a la carte" fashion. Pricing is tiered based on the number of transactions or API calls you do in a month starting as low as $9/month. TaxCloud offers 25% off our month to month pricing if a retailer pays us up front for a year.

View Pricing Plans

Competitors Pricing

Xero

Starting from: 5.50/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available

FreshBooks

Starting from: 6.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

Fidesic

Starting from: 49.00/month
Pricing model: Free, Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

Emburse Chrome River Expense

Pricing model: Subscription

SAP Concur

Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available

TaxCloud Pricing Reviews

Pros

  • I was so excited about the service.I filled everything out, I added my bookkeeper, I read a bunch of great information, learned about a few of the states and their the tax laws.Jennifer M.Read the full review
  • The best is it is up to date in all city and local taxes that can change in an instance. We saved some money from a local tax that had expired.GARY D.Read the full review
  • Before their pricing model changed, it was a perfect solution for small companies who needed just the basics of sales tax support. It was fairly easy to integrate, and reported accurately.Brent W.Read the full review

Cons

  • If your account is unfinished (not published) you will still be charged. If you enter your information in, you are unable to delete it.Jennifer M.Read the full review
  • TaxCloud is hard to compare with competitors because I've only ever used them. In my limited experience with TaxCloud I didn't notice anything to be missing that I needed.Verified ReviewerRead the full review
  • He told me "I don't believe your plan will be changing, but I'll ask about it and get back to you through email if it is." I never heard back. Then in March I got hit for a bill.Brent W.Read the full review
33%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague

12 reviewers had the following to say about TaxCloud's pricing:

Matthew J.

Great Product at a Great Price

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Highly recommend.

Pros
Compared to most every other tax software out there, TaxCloud is by far the best value. It's full featured and low cost (or free if you're a small business with limited sites and sales).

Cons
Even though the interface is easy to use, like anything new it took a bit to get comfortable using it. But after that it's second nature and does just what it needs to do.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

CL G.

Supper easy integration and amazing product compared to other services.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-19
Review Source: Capterra

Extremely cost efficient scalable sales tax processing and reporting that eliminated all burdensome sales tax matters. Sales tax is now easy. By voluntarily signing up to remit sales taxes in SSUTA states my business is indemnified against audit risks in those states.

Pros
All sales tax functionality is simplified, and now is much more cost effective. The service has been completely re-engineered and is much improved. The new reporting and customer interface are superior to anything else on the market. I love not having to buy an expensive enterprise software solution. TaxCloud works seamlessly across multiple platforms and is designed to scale with my business needs. TaxCloud is a true very powerful cloud based system providing my business with a tremendous service that frees up valuable time and resources.

Cons
No real cons..at first customer service seems a concern. However, this is short lived once the immediate anxiety of employing a new service is overcome. I quickly realized that this is an efficient customer friendly self service platform, and after integrating the service most all customer service issues were unwarranted. Therefore, there was little need for me to actually request customer service. That said, this product is a tremendous value. I could pay more for a competing service with more immediate customer service, however there does not seem to be any advantage in doing so. Once up and running TaxCloud is seamless and needs no additional handholding, and their scalability, reporting and functionality is the best value out there.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Brent W.

Shady and Unsupportive Operation - Avoid

Used occasionally for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2021-05-03
Review Source: Capterra

While the actual software works fine, I absolutely cannot recommend a company that treats their customers like this. I feel like we got the bait and switch treatment and their staff was not entirely forthcoming about the pricing changes, and instead of treating my company like a valued customer they coldly shut us down for the sake of two months worth of charges with a single sentence: "We can not issue refunds for services rendered." When our business picks up again after COVID eases up, we'll be using a different service, even if it costs more. Support and customer service really matters, and TaxCloud severely lacks it. This entire experience shows me that they care more about their monthly charges than keeping satisfied customers.

Pros
Before their pricing model changed, it was a perfect solution for small companies who needed just the basics of sales tax support. It was fairly easy to integrate, and reported accurately.

Cons
I have no cons about the software itself, just the company. Their pricing model changed in January 2021 from a free model under one of their plans to a paid model. They notified clients in December that would be happening. However, I called and spoke with one of their support agents (when you actually COULD call someone) and asked if my plan would also be changing to a charged model. He told me "I don't believe your plan will be changing, but I'll ask about it and get back to you through email if it is." I never heard back. Then in March I got hit for a bill. I immediately contacted support and was told that yes, my plan was now charged a monthly fee. I immediately closed the account. Then, I got hit with another monthly charge in April because my site had 7 (SEVEN) API calls towards the end of March before the account was closed. After writing support for a refund, the exact reply from their finance department was, "We can not issue refunds for services rendered."

Response from FedTax


Hi Brent - Thanks for the review. A few comments on your post. First, we apologize if your service experience was poor. Regarding pricing, yes, we did make a change in January 2021 the basis of which were changes that no longer allowed us to offer fully free services in our member states, they are now subsidized but not free. So yes, your invoice went from $0/month to $33/month. Still seems like a pretty fair deal to get rates and have us file for you in 25 states. Regarding your termination, our billing runs one month in arrears, so if you cancel in March, activity from March will be billed to you in April. I hope you would agree that we shouldn't eat the costs for your legitimate account activity if you cancel. Best of luck with your business.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Katrina J.

Ripped Off

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2021-06-26
Review Source: Capterra

Horrible. I'm not the only one saying it I find out too late. Wish I'd looked first.

Pros
I liked it *at first* before they changed their pricing tiers. They had a free option and a paid option. I tried the paid option and it worked wonderfully at first.

Cons
After the payment plans changed - maybe they also changed hands - everything went downhill. The tax system stopped collection. I was getting charged $30 a month for their "free" service but having to do all of the work myself anyway. Have been trying to successfully stop their charges and get it through their heads I've closed my account for more than 2 months now with no success. And NOW they're charging me a "rejection fee" because I've had to stop their activity directly at my bank. They do not answer emails, they will not acknowledge the account is closed. If I had a lawyer, I would already have called them over this just to make a point.

Response from FedTax


Hi Katrina - Thanks for your review. We did change our pricing in January and no longer have a free service in our member states. This change was necessitated by a contractual change that no longer allowed us to offer a fully free service. So your invoices went from $0/month to $30/month (our miniumum charge). If you were billed after cancelling your account, it's because we were still getting API calls from your store. 375 in FEB, 144 in MAY, 25 in APR and 4 in MAY. So the charges were for using our platform even though you may not have been aware your store was still sending us transactions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Mario W.

Sales department was enthusiastic. Software integrated well. Problems caused mayhem with no fix.

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-06-12
Review Source: Capterra

The software took a time burden from my shoulders.

Pros
Mostly the software runs seamlessly once it is set up correctly. Helps avoid expensive business costs.

Cons
When there are issues with accounts that need attention the customer support is not there. Trying to get things back on track is not being addressed for their end. While TaxCloud claims to be easy it becomes difficult and frustrating to make corrections. I will consider a different Tax integration system.

Response from FedTax


Thanks for the review. Glad to see the positive ratings on overall quality, ease of use and Features/functionality. We apologize that our customer support has let you down. We do our best with limited resources trying to maintain our FREE service offer for small businesses. We do our best to respond to all inquiries within 24 hours and have plans to invest in additional support resources in the near future.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 2/10

Minimize review

David B.

Very poor customer service - takes days to respond to technical issues

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-06
Review Source: Capterra

It took care of our sales tax computations and saved time and at one time worked well.

Pros
Easy to install. The top line reporting is clear and concise for completing quarterly sales tax returns.

Cons
Recently increased pricing model so our few $/per month increased to more $ per month. For this you get a slower dashboard and unresponsive customer service. It used to be so much better.

Response from FedTax


Thanks for taking the time to review our service and we apologize for the service issues you encountered. Regarding the customer service issues, we are taking action by hiring additional staff which will help us be more responsive than we have been recently. Based on the limited nexus footprint of your business and the recent Wayfair ruling by the SCOTUS, you should move to our Automated Compliance service - which would be FREE to you.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Carol N.

Very decent service

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very good value, nice customer rep's service

Cons
They charge you for some problem that sometimes happens with your shopping cart if it sends too many signals - called duplicates.

Response from FedTax


Hi Carol - Thanks for the review. We do charge for Duplicate API calls. These are redundant sales tax lookups on the same items in the shopping cart. These unnecessarily use platform resources and can easily be corrected by your software developer. We charge for them to change behavior (fix your implementation), not to make money.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Steve B.

I would give them minus stars on customer service. Their email doesn't work and no one return calls

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-05-17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
They provide free service & filings for member states if you register with the SST as a model 1 filer. You also limit your choices if you choose to back away from them.

Cons
1. Can't communicate with them. Changed pricing structure, yet they over charged and there is no one to communicate to and email bounces back. 2. They don't provide any assistance on setting up Tax Categories. The definitions are theirs, yet they provide no support. Avoid using them unless you have a strong IT team and will take risks

Response from FedTax


We apologize for the difficulty in getting to our service desk recently. The release of our new UI and a new pricing change has created a large volume of calls. As we are the service provider that can offer a FREE service, we don't have a large number of resources available to deal with surging call volumes. Rest assured, we will respond and deal with any issues you are experiencing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Andrew M.

Simply helps to keep track of sales taxes for internet transactions.

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-02-05
Review Source: Capterra

TaxCloud seems to have been improved significantly with a better UI. It is much simpler to use. It saves a lot of time and effort, and is a necessary service to those of us growing online sales in multiple states.

Pros
The free version is very useful. I think many will upgrade to the full version in time. From what I can tell, it is the best value.

Cons
None really. Can't complain at a free service and it was easier to set up that I anticipated.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Does what it says

Used occasionally for free trial
Reviewed 2021-05-25
Review Source: Capterra

TaxCloud is hard to compare with competitors because I've only ever used them. In my limited experience with TaxCloud I didn't notice anything to be missing that I needed.

Pros
Has a fair number of integrations where tax setup is turnkey. Setup the integration once and everything is generally easy

Cons
Can get fairly expensive for smaller operations. You'll generally know if you need software for this

Response from FedTax


Thanks for your review!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review

Jeffrey K.

Slow/Poor Customer Support

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
We have liked how easy it is to calculate shipping in our WooCommerce store when their Simple Sales Tax plugin is not having compatibility issues.

Cons
Our organization has been using TaxCloud for tax calculations over the past few years in conjunction with the free Simple Sales Tax plugin for WordPress. The original developer of the plugin did a good job of keeping it up to date with the changes in WordPress and WooCommerce. Then TaxCloud acquired the plugin and now dealing with customer support for the plugin is a nightmare. As others have said, support typically takes over a week to respond to tickets, even urgent ones. There was a recent software incompatibility with Simple Sales Tax and WooCommerce that took nearly two weeks to get addressed and resolved. The first person who replied, Stephen, obviously didn't read the ticket and provided a "solution" that was unrelated to the software plugin issue. The support staff later replied saying that he would provide an update once they had an action plan to fix the plugin issues but that reply never came. Eventually, they finally fixed the plugin issues but it simply took much longer than it should have. They recently changed their prices for the monthly package (we pay the fee because we don't allow them to file our tax returns for us). With the price increase evidently came no improvement in customer service. We're strongly considering switching to another tax services provider that has a better track record of actually helping customers, especially paying ones. This review is not unfair and is an accurate representation of our experience with the company.

Response from FedTax


What Jeffrey indicates is accurate but has to be put into context. There was an issue with the SST plug-in caused by an poorly communicated update to the Woo platform which created the issue with the SST plug-in. In addition, we released our new UI and did a price change at the same time. This caused record ticket & call volume from our 1000's of clients which as a small company we needed to prioritize. Not using this an excuse but rather just sharing the reality of what happened. Our call volumes have returned to normal so response times are normalizing. I'd also point out that as the FREE and low cost provider in the marketplace we don't have the resources to pick-up every call or respond to email tickets as they come in. We apologize to Jeffrey for his experience and hope he will remain a TaxCloud customer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Brian G.

Cant integrate with Ebay , or cant find out how to.

Used occasionally for free trial
Reviewed 2019-02-18
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it would be a great solution, except the time-consuming registrations and expense required to get tax number for each state (those that are not in the Free list) , plus lack of eBay integration, We're seriously considering simply exiting the e-commerce business entirely. (Thank you SO much SCOTUS for that stupid ruling!)

Pros
Seems simple to set up, I did find how to integrate with Amazon, Bonanza, and I was all excited to start using it... But then could not find any way to integrate with eBay platform despite finding the ebay connection logo... So it stopped right there - we never went live.

Cons
Can't find any way to integrate with Ebay which is our largest (by far) sales platform. Would have been a perfect solution for us, but for that little problem. Also, it appears we'd have to sign up for sales tax license for each state we need to collect for (those that aren't in their automagic 24 states list) which would be tedious, time-consuming and was why we were looking at options (We looked at TaxJar, but $100-ish per state would cost more than it's worth for many states where we may end up with an economic nexus this year - in some cases we'd only be collecting and remitting a few dollars a month)

Response from FedTax


Hi Brian - Thanks for the review. You are correct, we currently don't have a plug-in for eBay. However, you can still upload eBay transactions into TaxCloud via a .csv file in a spreadsheet. Reach to me at priley@taxcloud.com and I'll forward you the transaction upload template. I'll go into the system and try to find your email as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review