App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

TruLookup Logo

TruLookup

Detailed identity reports and actionable insights

see alternatives

(1)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

TruLookup Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

19

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.2/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I really like that this system is easy to use. Pricing is great and the results are very helpful and useful.
Our company is very happy with the the value we get from using Transunion. It has fulfilled our needs and is not expensive as well.
This is a very inexpensive yet very useful software that we started using about 5 years ago. It is very easy to navigate and can fulfill requests as applicable.
Sucks, I will never again try to get on with TLO.
It’s customer service and lack of communication.
Do not know never got to try it because TLO was too busy playing games, ignoring emails and anything else they could do.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


19 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alex F.

Market Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fantastic compliance database

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

TLO is a more intuitive, aesthetically pleasing, and detailed platform that will naturally be compared to its competitor, LexisNexis. TLO's generated individual/business reports are also slightly easier to navigate than those from LN. Search function also includes features like previous state/county/city locations, date/year of birth, etc.

Cons

LexisNexis's generated subject reports usually identify tax liens and judgments that sometimes fall through the cracks and do not show up on those by TLO.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

chris p.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

TLO has beat every competitor we have thrown at them to date

Reviewed 4 years ago

Due to my statement above we have actually streamlined our process and now batch all files day one through TLO. We saw a production increase of 16% on the 50% of non legal staff whom had the website access taken away. We saw little to no issues or data loss factors with batching over manual searches

Pros

The data is most accurate, you can really drill down if you need to locate someone. They have what appears to be more data per person than most.

Cons

I have seen where new collectors can become overwhelmed with the amount of information supplied.

JT
AvatarImg

Jeff T.

Legal Services, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

TLOxp - Don't waste your time or money

Reviewed 6 months ago

Poor. Opted for a competitor because customer service not adequate.

Pros

Format is okay. Reliability seemed okay.

Cons

Undisclosed access restrictions prevent remote employees usage.

DC
AvatarImg

DANIEL C.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Back to TLO

Reviewed 4 years ago

Used TLO in the past then left for another one of TLO's top competitor. After a year or so with the "Other Guys" we learned that TLO had an over all better, more reliable and accurate product. This is what has brought us happily back to TLO.

Pros

Ease of use & accurate information. Feed back from staff was extremely positive and recovery results have dramatically increased.

Cons

Search results can at times look a little cluttered.

HB
AvatarImg

Hannah B.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great asset to my buisness!

Reviewed 6 years ago

I really enjoy everything about this software. They are always improving it and finding ways to make it easier. They also offer tutorials and videos on how to use it and the best ways to use it.

Pros

I really like that this system is easy to use. Pricing is great and the results are very helpful and useful. This software has been one of the best assets to my buisness. There are multiple different reports you can run to get valued information.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AK
AvatarImg

Aaron K.

Information Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Major customer service nightmare changing company name

Reviewed a year ago

Was GREAT! NOW horrible!

Pros

The service worked really well for many years

Cons

If you have a problem with customer service or their sales department- They will discriminate against you. They will withhold information, and in some cases force you into a process that is unnecessary hindering your business - go with somebody else for your data and don’t have this problem. Do not rely on TLO just to have them let you down.

SM
AvatarImg

Scott M.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for a Collector

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like the batching function to where is makes less work for us collectors. Also having the option to get in and do a deep dive searching for information is great.

Cons

I don't really have a con, it works well.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Skip Tracing Took

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The information provided is very useful and detailed. It doesn't just provide what we need but beyond.

Cons

This is a great tool for our company and there isn't anything as far as what I use it for that I don't like.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly recommended

Reviewed 5 years ago

TLO runs smoothly without interruptions and the results are very dependable.

Pros

When researching, it has valuable information all on one screen.

Cons

The recent pricing change is still fair, but not as good as we have had in times past.

da
AvatarImg

diane a.

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

about tlo

Reviewed 4 years ago

I like it but not any better then accurint

Pros

I like that you can find family members and employment info fast.

Cons

its not always as current as I would like.

Nk
AvatarImg

Nick k.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Skiptracing done right

Reviewed 4 years ago

We like using TLO and believe we will continue to use it for a long time to come.

Pros

TLOxp does a great job in providing skip tracing. We also started batching with the product to save our staff time.

Cons

I don't really have too many cons. It is a bit pricy but we use multiple difference services which brings the price point down.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

TLOxp was exactly what we needed!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

What I like most about this software is the plethora of options it provides us with regards to running searches. We are a firm that is involved in all types of cases and are in need of obtaining various kinds of information and having a single, affordable, place to obtain it has been great!

Cons

The con about this software is it's intense security measures with regards to username and password. The biggest issue we run into with this is the user's forgetting their passwords and needing to get them reset because they are required to change them so frequently.

ZP
AvatarImg

Zina P.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Transunion review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our company is very happy with the the value we get from using Transunion. It has fulfilled our needs and is not expensive as well. Glitches happens and as an administrator you have to keep up with users which sometimes takes time but over all we are very satisfied with the product.

Pros

This is a very inexpensive yet very useful software that we started using about 5 years ago. It is very easy to navigate and can fulfill requests as applicable.

Cons

You are required to always re-certify and reactivate so as the administrator I have to spend time re-activating or resetting passwords

JG
AvatarImg

Juan G.

Alternative Dispute Resolution, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Tloxp review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Terrible, the software is great but the people behind it are not the best.

Pros

All the great information it provides and that it’s user friendly

Cons

It’s customer service and lack of communication

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kenneth S.

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is great software that has been a tremendous help to our business.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The software comes with plenty of instructions and tutorials. It is very easy to use and user friendly. Trans Union keeps the software up to date which makes it a key tool. It provides a person with about all the information they could need with the many different kinds of reports you can get from the system. TLO is a key asset within our skip tracing and repossession portion of business.

Cons

We have no complaints with the program. It performs above and beyond anything we could ask for. We have never had any problems or complaints.

KF
AvatarImg

Kenneth F.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Stay Far Away

Reviewed 2 years ago

sucks, I will never again try to get on with TLO

Pros

nothing, After three weeks of TLO playing games with me, being extremely slow at answering emails if at all they tell me oh sorry we can't help you because you have a home office.

Cons

Do not know never got to try it because TLO was too busy playing games, ignoring emails and anything else they could do.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use

Reviewed 3 years ago

With our company we have to verify who a customer is. TLOxp has been exponentially helpful in doing so.

Pros

I like the ease of use. It is very easy to find someone on here and verify who they are.

Cons

The only thing I don't like is that I was not using it sooner!

JB
AvatarImg

Justin B.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Gold Standard of Skip Tracing

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

the best and most reliable system for skip-tracing and obtaining hard to find information

Cons

just the cost is hight, and barrier of entry

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Brandon M.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quality skip tracing software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Vast database, easy to use, quick, no frills

Cons

No problems with it of yet. TU is a great company