Wave Reviews

Wave Reviews

Wave

All-in-one accounting, invoicing, payroll, payments, and receipt management solution.

4.24/5 (162 reviews)
12,033     11,484

Anonymous
(Import and Export company, 1-10 employees)
Verified Reviewer

NEVER EVER EVER USE THIS -

01/03/2016

Do you remember 1996, when it took 10 minutes to download a page on the internet with just text - 20 minutes for one with a photo? That is what using this software is like. If you have 10 hours to do something that would take 30 minutes on any other platform / software etc, use wave app. If, however you have more to do than stare at a rainbow ball waiting to do things, check transactions etc etc stay away or you might end up smashing your computer in despair. Never worked with something so goddamn awful as this.

Pros

ARE YOU KIDDING ME??

Cons

EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS IS A CON

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
2 of 13 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nate Mandel

Verified Reviewer

Be aware!

14/02/2016

Be aware! Let’s get straight to it. No polishing, no lies. Wave’s actual system is pretty good. If it “actually” worked… One sad truth about this company that you’ll notice right away is that their servers or hosting is worse than blogs were in 1980. It is slow, freezes and crashes all the time. Way too annoying to work with on a daily basis for a professional company. Bottom line: the system is unreliable. Moving along to the stuff that matters even more… Customer service, honesty and professionalism. Uum, try again. You will not find any of that in this company. They clearly have no clue what it means to run a professional service. Last week I processed two transactions. Both of them were more than 2 grand. Keep in mind that i’m a new startup that needs my money right away, or at least when promised. 2 days go by and no money. Okay…. here we go again. I email Wave asking what’s the deal with the money. I say “again” because I had the same thing with my first few small transactions. But then I thought it was only because I was a new customer so they had to confirm some details. (by details I mean force me to show them communications between me and my clients). That same day I get an email from the department that deals with the money saying in fancy words that they are withholding my money for security reasons until they can confirm some details. Again they ask for communications and authorizations. (who do they think they are?) I respond within 2 minutes with snapshots of communications and conversations straight from my client explaining who he is and that he authorized the payment. a day or two goes by and nothing. You can imagine how angry I feel about now. Projects are on hold, business stops, Wave is running me into the ground…. Of course there is no one to talk to until you sign up for the live chat at ($9 a month). So I sign up, because I cannot wait. Open a chat, explain to the woman really respectfully what is going on, she looks it up for 10 minutes and responds by saying that she sees my ticket (email) and that she will escalate it to the top… blah blah blah. So there I learn that live chat is basically if you have a question regarding the functions of the site, but it is basically useless regarding the things that really matter. MY MONEY! In short, you CANNOT contact anyone about it, you can only email. But emails, despite their promises may take 3 days get answered. So I send another email asking what’s going on and get a response that since I submitted 2 emails my ticket was moved back down to the bottom. (That wad their way of apologizing or exusing themselves). In that same email they don’t tell me that my snapshot isn’t sufficient or anything like that (even though it worked for the first 3 transactions), they tell me that they need to speak to my clients to confirm payments…. Really? …. wow, okay I respond within 2 minutes with two phone numbers. (this is Friday after 5pm) One of my clients get’s a phone call, confirms payment and they tell him that the money will be released “right away”. The second client get’s a phone call, but misses it. (He is still waiting for another phone call). And of course you cannot call them back, because they use fake phone numbers using local area codes. Well, guess what? The money from the first client that got the phone call from them was not released… and it’s Tuesday already. (almost a week from when I processed the transaction). Never heard anything back from them in past 3 days!! Conclusion: (aside from me being so frustrated, hardly able to contain myself) Well, firstly I would like to say that I switched to Quickbooks online right away. They are a professional company with lower rates and faster deposit times (ONE DAY!). And you can call them! The only reason I chose Wave over Square is because they had a good invoicing system. But i’ve used Square before and never had issues like this. What I mean is this: Why make an issue when there is none???? Wave makes security issues when there is none. I’m a legal, professional company in the United States. Why in the world would you pretend like there are security issues with my transactions if no one ever disputed or complained? There is no answer. Because if there was a valid answer, Square and Quickbooks would be the same concerned. Stop making issues where there are none. I would advise anyone reading this to go with Square or Quickbooks. You will end up being much happier. Unless you can afford these criminals withholding your money for as long as they like. So again: system: too slow, crashes and freezes. OH, and annoying advertisements. Support: only for functionality questions. Service: absolutely horrible and un professional. You choose. Thanks!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
9 of 13 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

BAD!!

20/01/2016

I've only used this service for a couple of months. I had a problem with a customer making out the check wrong, so I returned it, and he paid by credit card. The payment was to be deposited in my account today, 9 days after it was made, and all of a sudden, my account has been disabled, and I have no clue when I will receive my money. And, now their website is down!!

Pros

Easy to use, nice invoicing

Cons

They apparently like to screw with your money. I will not be using this service again, once I finally get my payment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
2 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Josh Rachlis

Verified Reviewer

I want to like Wave, and have been trying for years

07/06/2015

..., but I need them to help me figure it out. I have a full-time salaried job as a copywriter and a few self-employment careers, like freelance writing, voice acting. I've always found doing my taxes to be a nightmare. I'd spend months stressing about it and trying to calculate income and expenses. Originally, I was adding up all my expenses with a calculator. When I discovered I could put things into Excel, it got a bit easier add numbers. And then about 4 or 5 years ago, I started using a new accountant, and he suggested Wave to me. I was excited to hear that it would important my bank and credit card statements, and that I could then quickly and easily categorize everything. I was sure this would save me so much time and stress. But I found Wave very hard to use. I wasn't sure how to create my own categories. I could never tell if my statements had been uploaded completely, and I would often wind up with duplicate transactions. And I still can't find a way to view the categories after I've allocated transactions to them. I tweeted to Wave a lot, and they were nice enough to send one their IT guys to sit with me in a coffee shop for a few hours. He watched as I tried to do things and he gave me help. He said this was useful to him, to see what people might be having trouble with. And, I figured I would then be ok. But I'm still having a lot of trouble. I'm not asking a lot. All I want to be able to do is import my bank statements and credit card statements, and categorize all the transactions. And being able to invoice people would be nice too. And it seems that his app has those features. But I still find it very complicated. I don't understand the categories. I can't find where the totals are. And lately, my mbna Mastercard has been saying it can't link to Wave. So tonight, I went in and started deleting all the transactions from 2014, hoping that I could start fresh and be sure that everything was imported correctly. But now I see that mbna won't give me the data files for before August (that's an mbna problem, not Wave) and I can't undelete what I deleted. And there's no way to get support without paying for it. But I don't want to pay until I'm confident the site can do the simple things I need it to do. Anyway, I'd love to support a local Toronto company. And I appreciate that someone from the company sat with me in person. And I see people reviewing positively, saying it makes a freelancers life easy. Someone even tweeted today that Wave makes doing accounting fun. But I just don't understand how people are able to use this site. If someone from the company, or one of the satisfied customers, could explain to me how to use this site properly, I'd love to be converted. But at this point, I fear I need to cut my loses and simplify my life by paying for some other software. I just want to be able to file my taxes and concentrate on my creative projects.

Pros

It seems like it offers the ability to import credit card and bank statements, categorize expenses, and invoice people. Those are the features I want. But...

Cons

...I haven't been able to figure out how to smoothly and accurately use the features I want. This app is making my life harder than it was when I just manually typed in all my expenses into a Microsoft Word and added them up with a calculator.

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Wave Accounting Inc.


Thanks for sharing with us your experience. Firstly, thanks for being such a valuable customer over the years. We especially appreciate your patience trying to make WaveApps work for your financials.

We have available Premium Support for customers who are getting started with Wave. We suggest those looking to best learn work arounds, and setting up proper customizations subscribe to our chat and phone support (unlimited - 9am-5pm EDT M-F) - $49 for three months. You can place a call and speak to one of our product specialists to help you work through your challenge.

If you could reach out to me jdaly@waveapps.com. We'll try to match you with a member of our team to help troubleshoot since you have invested your valuable time into Wave to manage your business financials.

Jennifer from Wave

Read more
David Tolbert

Verified Reviewer

Very poor customer service

28/05/2015

Have been using wave for about 6 months.So far since they have added the new payments options to receive credit card payments I have had numerous problems with my account. Ongoing for over a month the connections in my account have never worked properly. Since I wanted a faster response I opted for the 9.00 per month charge to have access to live chat. But that has proven to be of no use as I still have issues.Since starting with the new payment features my account has been disabled twice.Holding payments up for as much as a week. And you have to email back and forth for several days until the problem is resolved. Getting customer service on the phone is next to impossible.When we first started there was a phone number listed to call,I noticed recently it had been removed from the page as a way to contact.So email is a long drawn out process.Now they have blocked my payments account because there is a similar business in another state...very funny.I have a business lic,business bank account,website with MY business name .So why a flag.Not to mention I am listed on numerous other websites as well.And this has been going on for over a week and has yet to be straightened out.

Pros

Overall the program itself is a very good platform.BUT with the current customer service the cons out weigh the pros.

Cons

Very SLOW customer service.NO contact number email support only.

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Wave Accounting Inc.


Thanks for sharing your experience with WaveApps. We're sorry to hear it has been less than ideal. When you have a moment, if you could please email me jdaly@waveapps.com - I'd like to get some information from you for us to look into your account. Furthermore, to see if there is anything we can do (i.e. refund your premium services fees).

Hopefully our team has sorted out the risk flag. If not resolved, we'd like to investigate and provide an answer and/or resolution.

Note, as part of transitioning customers onto our new payments service we need to make all the same necessary precautions like any other financial stakeholder to exhaust potential fraud and risk. Therefore, the first payment transaction (as advertised) takes up to 10 business days to complete. Thereafter, we do our best to commit to 2-3 business days for all subsequent payment transactions. We do this not only to protect our business, but for the protection of online payments industry as a whole. Every payments processor plays a role in maintaining a fraud free platform for our customers using Wave or competitor products.

Look forward to hearing from you to see what we can do.

Jennifer from Wave

Read more
Bill Savage

Verified Reviewer

You will regret wave! Save yourself now

01/09/2014

I have had Wave for about 4 years. I like them fine until this year when I added a business credit card account as a linked account on a new company I set up. When you connect to the bank, Wave brings the credit card transactions in with debits as debits and credits as credits. You then show a transfer from your main to the credit card to show a payment. Fine. HOWEVER, if you need to import credit card transactions, as in bring in a batch of old ones that were present before you set up wave and need to have your entire year in there to do your taxes, wave brings an imported file (csv, etc) from the very same back, in exact opposite. The debits are credits and credits are debits! Now you're stuck with one portion of your transactions showing in one method, the other in another method, making your books a completely inaccurate mess! Wave wants to point the finger at the bank and has no solution for this, other than going in and manually deleting every line that is messed up, then manually adding in each line again as it should be! Wow. I'd be better off doing old school manual books. If you never intend on having a credit card account linked to Wave, then go ahead and use them. If, however, you think you might ever want to have a credit card account show in your books, save yourself now and look elsewhere!

Pros

Free, relatively simple, bank connections (though they are often not working properly)

Cons

Terrible support, shouldn't be used with a credit card (or other credit line) account, not friendly to business that purchases inventory for resale.

Source: GetApp
21 of 39 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Wave Accounting Inc.


Thanks for being such a loyal customer, using Wave for over 4 years would make you one of our earliest product adopters. The good news is we have significantly improved many aspects of the product over the years - while still maintaining our account service free of charge.

If you're still using Wave, and are challenged by inefficiencies - please reach out to us (jdaly@waveapps.com) - we'll have someone look into what we can do to help.

Please note that we offer Premium Support services for users getting started with WaveApps.com. For a one time payment of $49, this entitled users to 3 months of unlimited chat/phone support between 9AM-5PM EDT, Monday through Friday.

We typically suggest users who are importing and organizing a hefty load of transactions to reconcile prior months of bookkeeping to work with a product specialist. Our team of specialists can advise on what is required for the purposes of reconciliation, and leveraging bulk categorization and deletions to ensure this is easier and more efficient.

Jennifer from Wave

Read more
Cash vs Accrual

If Only

14/03/2014

I've been using Wave for 9 months and have been satisfied with the ease of use, but Wave does not off Cash basis accounting. Wave is supposedly designed for small businesses, most small businesses in the US use Cash Basis. All your invoices are shown as income as soon as they are generated, lots of fun with taxes. Additionally bank sync is inconsistent, invoicing customization is very limited, seem to miss the drop down menu concept in a lot of areas. "You get what you pay for", Free.

Pros

Free

Cons

Accrual Basis only - check Wave forum for timeline, yikes

Source: GetApp
13 of 29 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike

Used to be good

30/03/2013

So, Wave did an update in December 2012 which was promised to make it the best free accounting system on the market - It was a very poorly executed rollout. There had been clearly no user testing and worse of all they took away functionally that was there before, such as the ability to mark an invoice as 'sent' or a PDF version of an invoice that actually looked correct and added up. After two years of using Wave I'm leaving. It was good, but now they are only interested in developing new revenue streams for themselves and not correcting the errors.

Pros

free

Cons

see above.

Source: GetApp
14 of 17 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Wave Accounting Inc.


Hi Mike,

We're very sorry for the situation that happened in December 2012 and our support teams were working nearly 24 hours a day to help our customers and repair the issues. I'm happy to report that everything since has been restored with extensive new features added in accounting, invoicing, receipt management, and more. We're still a free service for accounting and invoicing with no limitations, and provide affordable payroll and credit card collection solutions that integrate with your accounting directly.

Hope your business is doing well.

Sincerely,
Andrew

Read more
Christina Bowman

Verified Reviewer

12/12/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: GetApp
Read more