Wave Reviews

Wave Reviews

Wave

All-in-one accounting, invoicing, payroll, payments, and receipt management solution.

4.24/5 (162 reviews)
12,033     11,484

James Steinbach

Great Value (it's free)...

23/02/2017

The bookkeeping is not great. Reports should be better. Tech support is a little slow, so I would recommend the paid support. But you can't beat the price!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrew Atkins

Great program for creating/sending/managing invoices and other basics, especially for free!

07/02/2017

Well first of all, go read (well have a glance at) their ToS page. This was one of the first times I've seen a company summarize along-side their terms which was a nice touch. Secondly, they don't charge for their biggest product which is also nice. It works and it's simple. They also offer free services like receipt tracking which would be VERY useful and they have paid services like payroll and payment processing.

Pros

It's simply easy and FREE

Cons

It doesn't do as many things as I'd like it to, the back-end accounting features are a little lacking.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Try it out and if you have issues contact them about them.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ryan McLaury

Wave Review

01/02/2017

Wave software is a great value for the cost of the service. Some of the features aren't extremely intuitive, but customer support is good and the software is easy to use once you figure out how to navigate through the various features on the site.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jose Solano

Simple and usefull

27/01/2017

This was my first accounting app to start my business, and still one of the best options for any startup company...

Pros

complete and easy to use

Cons

I cant customize into my native language...

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

nah

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lea Williams

Great For Small Businesses!

24/01/2017

Wave is a great accounting system for small businesses. It would be even better if they included some of the standard reports/functions such as cash flow statements and assistance with generating projections. Overall, it is user-friendly and has a nice interface.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gary Sekigahama

Works fine for a small business

06/01/2017

This has served us well for about three years. Out needs are simple for a small business with no inventory to deal with. We have some problems with downloading transactions from a CU, switched to a large bank and the problem went away. It was pretty much a problem with how the bank did things, not Wave. We have another person who now downloads and maintains the data and has not really heard any issues from her about using the program and she is very familiar wth QB. For the price it's great!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wendy Carlile

Small Business User Dream!

05/01/2017

We found this software a few years ago for my MIL's small business and have really liked it. It is easy for us to use and it allows us to set up invoices, keep up with what has been paid, what is due, and what invoice is overdue. I really like that I can send a link to our accountant and give him privileges so that he can see exactly what our business expenses were for the year. The times that I have had to contact customer service they were very quick to answer my questions and explain what needed to be done to fix my problem. Most times there have been links to videos that have helped with most of my issues.

Pros

User-friendly, load of options, can connect with bank and credit card companies

Cons

With so much to offer it can be somewhat overwhelming to a new user.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Play around with the software and get to know it, you do not have to use the credit card service that they offer to use this software which is really great.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carol  Nace

Small Business Sufficient

12/12/2016

Having a background in accounting and a small number of transactions makes this tool easy to use. I'm using it to log the monthly transaction on a property we own.

Pros

free based option

Cons

need to have some accounting background to optimize

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shelle Pourmanafzadehardabili

Very Powerful for the price!

08/12/2016

Wave is a very powerful accounting program that syncs with your banking, giving you separate setups for your business and personal accounting with an ability to transfer transactions between. We all know we need to keep business and personal separate, but it happens at times - we throw in one business item in a cartful of personal ones! Create estimates and turn them into invoices, allow online paying from your invoices - it is seriously a very powerful application. The one bad thing is that it can run a little slow, but they have made improvements several times since I started (2 years ago) and are always working on improvements (new UI launching soon and they just gave a preview with a survey for feedback).

Pros

- Free version lets you do everything except maybe payroll - Sync with your banking - Great estimates, invoicing and online payments - Great reporting - Ability to transfer transactions between personal and business accounting

Cons

- It doesn't "remember" your account categories for sync'd transactions - A little slow - If you don't understand basic accounting, you might need to sign up for a paid version to get the level of support you may need (according to some of my clients I've recommended it to)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Give it a try - you have absolutely nothing to lose and incredible to gain!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Spaeth

Hear for a free product

06/12/2016

This software had a bit of a learning curve. Not as intuitive as some software but worth it since it is free.

Pros

Free and has the major accounting reports needed. Separate business and personal expenses easy so perfectly for small business owners. The receipt image feature is great.

Cons

The reconciliation feature is a bit awkward. Tagged time to figure out the tricks to it. the receipt feature doesn't match up to downloaded transactions as promised. You have to manually match them

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gavin Wieske

It's free!

06/12/2016

We use wave accounting for our company revenue stream. It is great because it's free however the lack of customer support is a bit of an issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tim Waxenfelter

Free Accounting Software? Kidding right?

05/12/2016

Starting a new business we were seeing mounting costs for new products we needed. I had used QuickBooks in the past and always struggled with it. We opted to give Wave a try because it was free. If all else failed, we could export our data. While the site is not the fastest and there are some minor features missing, we have been stunned by how useful it is for a free product.

Pros

A free tool that let us move away from a spreadsheet without spending more.

Cons

It is slower than I expect from an online tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Try it. It won't be the worst thing if you need to switch to FreshBooks later.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Hahn

Free Accounting Software for Small Businesses that does not suck

22/11/2016

I have 3 businesses that I run on Wave. Very easy learning curve, and auto importing transactions from most banks and credit cards. Payroll is not free, but most other features are completely free.

Pros

- Free - Auto import transactions from most banks & credit cards - Easy to use

Cons

- A little bit slow - Each transaction needs to be approved. While it makes its best guesses which category each transaction should fall under, it is not perfect and it does not auto select categories based on past transactions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonathan Koe

Great software for business on a budget

07/11/2016

My family runs a boutique Pilates studio that just started this year and needless to say, we are strapped for money as a new business. It was important to find/use a software that was easy to use for everyone involved, does the calculations correctly (surprisingly, this is not always a given!), and preferably free. Wave Accounting fulfills all these criterias. So far, we enter everything manually, so yes it's quite cumbersome but the software is pretty good about generating simple reports we can use to analyze our financials. I knocked one star off because I've run into situations where an income is not automatically reflected in our P&L generated report - which was pretty annoying. So I think there are some kinks but hopefully over time they smooth these out.

Pros

Free of charge, user friendly, easy to customize to your business

Cons

Some kinks in functionality - sometimes expenses or income not accounted for properly

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Al Coors

Great Software for Small Business (Beta User)

08/10/2016

I started a business and wanted to avoid getting locked into the Quickbooks infrastructure like last time. Wave Accounting online was successful in helping me with that goal! I found everything I needed for income and tax reporting as a small business. Wave Accounting made me look very professional with the ability to email invoices and collect payment using credit cards. Issues I encountered included occasional sync problems with my checking account (similar to issues's I've had with MINT by Intuit). When I decided to change from Suntrust bank to a local credit union I went a couple of months without ability to sync my accounts. Customer support (by email) was friendly and adequate. Some features like payroll are paid features. Processing credit cards will cost you a percentage of each transaction (4% it was at the time I used it). Some features like paying 1099 (contract) employees were very necessary for small business but still in development while I used the software (it works now). I didn't personally find anything else fundamental missing but I'm not an accountant - I'm an IT guy who wanted to do my own books. Wave fit my needs exactly and will probably be enough for you. During the time I owned and operated my business I may have saved over $300/year and avoided the frustration of working with the crazy behemoth that is Quickbooks (however my credit card fees added up to about twice that). If I were starting over again today I would have to carefully reconsider and compare with Quickbooks Online. I would NEVER willfully choose to run their desktop products. Cloud based products with online support and integrated security features is the current way to go.

Pros

Cloud

Cons

Support

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Runs on anything because it runs in a browser!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ken brewer

Great for SMB

07/10/2016

I helped a small startup that needed a full cloud based accounting program. They have been very happy wiht it so far.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
sairam bodepudi

Wave analysis

06/10/2016

It is fast but it should be more comparable when compared to other applications of the peer groups but is still good

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
patty nugent

use it for 3 businesses

07/09/2016

Pros

its free and easy to use. it is basic but fills the need of a small business

Cons

system is really slow. Would like to be able to post one payment to multiple invoices instead of splitting the payment and posting it seperately

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

servier needs to speed up, it takes a minute to move from screen to screen to make a payment for example.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joe Satterfield

Software has been easy to use

02/06/2016

Pros

I like the interface and most info can be found under help and the faq

Cons

Payroll does not handle zero payroll checks for tipped employees.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Restaurants are less likely to use Payroll if it can't handle tipped employees. I dropping wave payroll soon because of this.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chad Chang

"Sole"ly simple

22/03/2016

Pros

Integrated data connection to banking and credit cards. Stock visual reporting capabilities and ability to export data for more deeper reporting possibilities.

Cons

The setup of the accounts. Template for basic business (ie. sell cookies) is there, and adding to it is easy (ie. sell balloons in the cookie shop), but I've found many clients have issues such basic configurations. Perhaps they lack foundational accounting knowledge or web app knowledge, or simply the confidence to make such adjustments.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Limit your scope to that of a simple business, with one or a few revenue lines, and the basics such as no investments (ie. funds to invest extra cash).

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremiah Thomas

Simple & Wonderful for Startup or Hobbiest

05/03/2016

Pros

Wave makes invoicing very simple. It allows you to track who sees it views, pays etc.

Cons

The credit card integration transition was not smooth and 2.89% is not a great rate for larger (small) companies that need lower rates.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Remember that this software is free and for what it offers, it 1000% worth the time to look at.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jay Wasack

The Wave Accounting: Alternative to Quickbooks

05/03/2016

Pros

Wave promises to be a great alternative to quickbooks and quickbooks line with all of the features a small business needs and small business-friendly pricing.

Cons

What has made us hesitant to go all-in with Wave is their lack of migration support. The process of changing from QB is time consuming and if you're a small business you sometimes do not have the time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

I'd say if you can see yourself taking the necessary effort to export QB accounts and establish them in Wave, you might be very happy that you did.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Quintin Pease

Verified Reviewer

I suggest this to my startup business clients

01/12/2015

I'm two years into my business and for nearly the first year I used Wave. It's what I suggest to my clients who are looking for something cloud-based and easy to use. Yes, it is not perfect, but it's FREE. I currently use InvoiceASAP, but I'm strongly considering switching back to Wave after the first of the year. Why? The cost of one, but features are another. Nothing else free compares.

Pros

Receipt scanner. Invoices look nice. Email is sent from Wave account (Not quite sure that is a plus or a negative). Connects to your Bank Account and lets your categorize the transaction. Dashboard has great-looking layout with graphs. Paid invoices are marked as a receipt instead of an invoice which makes more sense to me. Will alert you of non-payment on a regular basis. Sales Tax Report is basic, but layout is very appealing. Has Premium Payroll option starting at $19/month with direct deposit included. On a more positive note, I recently received an email from the CEO saying to look out for improvements to Wave in the near future. Apparently, there will be new tools and features and it will be faster. I look forward to that.

Cons

The App on iPhone and iPad is slow. I don't remember using support, so I can really speak to how quick or effective they are. It's FREE so I'm guessing it's not superior. It's not Quickbooks, but it works. However, it you have Quickbooks (Stand Alone version) on your computer and you bank with an up-to-date institution that allows you can integrate for a fee and not have to pay an additional ongoing subscription to Quickbooks online.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John Clark

My business increased with help of this Software

17/04/2015

I have been using this software for almost 2 years. I would say that it is a great Software for me. It does so many functions that a small business needs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Josh Zweig

Great for new businesses!

02/12/2014

If you're a recently incorporated subcontractor or freelancer, Wave is a great and cost effective (because it's free) choice . From the owner's perspective, Wave gives you the functionality you need for effective invoicing and expense tracking. From your accountant's point of view, you should be able to complete a stress-free year-end as all the important documents such as the trial balance, bank reconciliation and receivables report can be easily exported. If you don't currently have an accounting system, Wave is a great option!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more