Wave Reviews

Wave Reviews

Wave

All-in-one accounting, invoicing, payroll, payments, and receipt management solution.

4.24/5 (162 reviews)
12,033     11,484

James Steinbach

Great Value (it's free)...

23/02/2017

The bookkeeping is not great. Reports should be better. Tech support is a little slow, so I would recommend the paid support. But you can't beat the price!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
KEN Kosch

I SEE, I CAME, I CONQURED

16/02/2017

There is a small learning curve to master how wave runs but thanks to their awesome support you can do it. I am one who works with my hands as a finish carpenter. I am far from even wanting to do accounting as I lack at paperwork. Wave makes it possible and I love it.

Pros

It functions very well and is an easy system to master.

Cons

One feature I hope they come up with is to be able to type in an amount in transaction and wave will find all those transactions that match. Bank of America has this feature. So why not WAVE!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

USE IT.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephanie Ramos

Helps me keep track of all my income & expenses as a freelancer!

07/02/2017

After a tough first year trying to file taxes as a freelancer I wanted something that would help me keep track of everything throughout the year. This app makes keeping my expenses logged in an easy way, and gives me access to various accounting reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrew Atkins

Great program for creating/sending/managing invoices and other basics, especially for free!

07/02/2017

Well first of all, go read (well have a glance at) their ToS page. This was one of the first times I've seen a company summarize along-side their terms which was a nice touch. Secondly, they don't charge for their biggest product which is also nice. It works and it's simple. They also offer free services like receipt tracking which would be VERY useful and they have paid services like payroll and payment processing.

Pros

It's simply easy and FREE

Cons

It doesn't do as many things as I'd like it to, the back-end accounting features are a little lacking.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Try it out and if you have issues contact them about them.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Randy Shuttleworth

Good accounting software

06/02/2017

We were looking for accounting software for our small businesses. Found Wave and presto, just what we needed. Easy to set up credit card payment systems, invoicing. Plenty of horsepower for a small business.

Pros

No ongoing cost. Just the right mix of features.

Cons

Bit tricky to get used to at first.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Find a Wave expert to assist you in setting it up.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
AARON T. Boone

Quality web accounting

01/02/2017

We needed a simple web based accounting program and wave apps solved that for us! We love the phone app.

Pros

Phone app for receipts

Cons

Lack of gl support

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ryan McLaury

Wave Review

01/02/2017

Wave software is a great value for the cost of the service. Some of the features aren't extremely intuitive, but customer support is good and the software is easy to use once you figure out how to navigate through the various features on the site.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jose Solano

Simple and usefull

27/01/2017

This was my first accounting app to start my business, and still one of the best options for any startup company...

Pros

complete and easy to use

Cons

I cant customize into my native language...

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

nah

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lourens de Villiers

Ideal for Freelancers

26/01/2017

Takes all the stress of worrying about invoices getting paid or whether they have been paid already. It sends automatic payment reminders to clients so you don't have to worry about hassling them to pay. You can even link it to a bank account making it easy to record payments. A whole suite of software for free!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lea Williams

Great For Small Businesses!

24/01/2017

Wave is a great accounting system for small businesses. It would be even better if they included some of the standard reports/functions such as cash flow statements and assistance with generating projections. Overall, it is user-friendly and has a nice interface.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sanjit Mandal

Awesome accounting, and it's FREE!

24/01/2017

I switched from Quickbooks after my cost went up and then I had to pay for a monthly merchant account. For me, I did the math and it was more valuable to switch to Wave and just pay their merchant fees as they were the same as Quickbooks. I love it and I can add in more than one business too! Everyone should use it! They are continuously innovating and it is only getting better!

Pros

Ease of use and it's cost, FREE :)

Cons

Maybe some minimal support a month, but it's free so I can understand why it dose cost a little.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Just use it!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
T King

A wave of relief for my accounting needs

12/01/2017

I am a small business owner - I am not able to afford an accountant. I took a QuickBooks course to learn how to use an accounting software to manage my finances but I found I did not need all of the options that QuickBooks offered. After researching alternatives to QuickBooks I found Wave and it has given me the tools I need at an affordable price. I was able to sync my business account to the software, as well as my PayPal. All my expenses and payments automatically sync to Wave. It keeps a tally for me and sends me reports. I am now able to generate accounting reports with ease.

Pros

Ease of use. notifications.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gary Sekigahama

Works fine for a small business

06/01/2017

This has served us well for about three years. Out needs are simple for a small business with no inventory to deal with. We have some problems with downloading transactions from a CU, switched to a large bank and the problem went away. It was pretty much a problem with how the bank did things, not Wave. We have another person who now downloads and maintains the data and has not really heard any issues from her about using the program and she is very familiar wth QB. For the price it's great!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Becky Taylor

My favorite invoicing software!

05/01/2017

I tried Wave on a whim when I was in desperate need for something to organize my invoices - and I fell in love. Wave is easy to get started and use. It makes accounting and invoicing so easy! Plus, the ability to let clients pay via credit card through Wave makes life just so much easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wendy Carlile

Small Business User Dream!

05/01/2017

We found this software a few years ago for my MIL's small business and have really liked it. It is easy for us to use and it allows us to set up invoices, keep up with what has been paid, what is due, and what invoice is overdue. I really like that I can send a link to our accountant and give him privileges so that he can see exactly what our business expenses were for the year. The times that I have had to contact customer service they were very quick to answer my questions and explain what needed to be done to fix my problem. Most times there have been links to videos that have helped with most of my issues.

Pros

User-friendly, load of options, can connect with bank and credit card companies

Cons

With so much to offer it can be somewhat overwhelming to a new user.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Play around with the software and get to know it, you do not have to use the credit card service that they offer to use this software which is really great.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Thomas Gaudet

Great Accounting for Small Business!

05/01/2017

I'm using a free version and it's very convenient. I have a degree in accounting, so it's probably easier for me to figure out than someone that doesn't have accounting experience. Highly recommend.

Pros

Great Software. Easy to use. Well, formatted financial statements.

Cons

I haven't had any problems with the software yet. I've been able to do everything I wanted so far. I have a very small company, with basic accounting, though.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Great free solution to do simple accounting and create financial statements. Recommended by a friend.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chen (Hen) Levi

Verified Reviewer

For a free app it's great

28/12/2016

I have been using this app for almost a year and I am using it a daily use to issue invoices. All you need to do is make a little setup including your business details and products and tax settings and you are ready to go. The use of the program is pretty intuitive and simple and you can export each and every invoice to a PDF file. I use this app in foreign money and it's a bit more difficult to set up and handle but still possible and for free.

Pros

Absolutely FREE Very easy to set up Very easy intuitive use. You can export each invoice to PDF

Cons

Too many clicks to get things done Not so easy to use with foreign money other than Dollars

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

If you are a small business without a budget to spent on a program that will issue your invoices, this is a very recommended app to start with.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Luke Docksteader

Great accounting software for small businesses

14/12/2016

I've been using Wave for a little over a year now and really like it! It's a very well designed system that meets the vast majority of my needs of my small business.

Pros

Quality software yet cheap.

Cons

Can be a bit buggy when making lots of changes o the transactions page.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jared Erni

Great Starting Accounting Software

13/12/2016

I've used Wave Accounting for several small businesses, and it has worked great. It is the perfect, free accounting software to start a business with, giving easy invoicing features, syncs with bank accounts, and good reporting.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Destiny Thielemier

BEST of the Best

13/12/2016

Has literally SAVED my business. Pros: EVERYTHING. Cons: None so far. GREAT APP! Thanks Wave for the Accounting app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carol  Nace

Small Business Sufficient

12/12/2016

Having a background in accounting and a small number of transactions makes this tool easy to use. I'm using it to log the monthly transaction on a property we own.

Pros

free based option

Cons

need to have some accounting background to optimize

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John Thielemier

upper echelon of accounting software

09/12/2016

was a bit leery due to it being free. But not anymore, wave accounting app has saved my career and business. Thank you wave apps!

Pros

It's got pro features that let you run payroll, there's even a mobile app for every bit of your accounting needs, very customizable, easy to jump right into and learn, and has a free version or if you want to go pro version it's still extremely in-expensive.

Cons

Couldn't connect to my Business bank account because it's a smaller branch of bank.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

If you're looking for an accounting software that will invoice, run payroll, and that you can download for free this is most definitely the software For you.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Leigh Phillips

Use with all my companies online!

08/12/2016

Love the Wave system. Credit Card processing is reasonable and fairly quick to deposit. Would highly recommend to small businesses.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Samuel Cote

We use this everyday

08/12/2016

The simplest invoicing software you can find. If you are a large business, you can't use this but for small businesses it is a good choice because nothing is complicated about it. We don't use it for expenses.

Pros

so easy to use.

Cons

does not have complex features if you need them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Great for small businesses.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shelle Pourmanafzadehardabili

Very Powerful for the price!

08/12/2016

Wave is a very powerful accounting program that syncs with your banking, giving you separate setups for your business and personal accounting with an ability to transfer transactions between. We all know we need to keep business and personal separate, but it happens at times - we throw in one business item in a cartful of personal ones! Create estimates and turn them into invoices, allow online paying from your invoices - it is seriously a very powerful application. The one bad thing is that it can run a little slow, but they have made improvements several times since I started (2 years ago) and are always working on improvements (new UI launching soon and they just gave a preview with a survey for feedback).

Pros

- Free version lets you do everything except maybe payroll - Sync with your banking - Great estimates, invoicing and online payments - Great reporting - Ability to transfer transactions between personal and business accounting

Cons

- It doesn't "remember" your account categories for sync'd transactions - A little slow - If you don't understand basic accounting, you might need to sign up for a paid version to get the level of support you may need (according to some of my clients I've recommended it to)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wave

Give it a try - you have absolutely nothing to lose and incredible to gain!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more