Penelope Reviews

Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

4.26/5 (57 reviews)

Rebecca Mohler

We love our "Penny"

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-14
Review Source: Capterra

In our company we refer to the Penelope Software familiarly as Penny. She is our friend in so many ways! She makes documentation, scheduling, reporting, payroll, invoicing easy! So much time is saved. She is User friendly as well making auditing for accountability and accuracy a breeze. I would recommend the software to anyone.

Pros
User friendly

Cons
Would like easier use of documents

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Kim Hamilton

Best Case Management Software ever! Does everything we need it to and then some!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-25
Review Source: Capterra

It's all in one - we don't have to fool around with multiple software programs for various functions.

Pros
The flow of the product; user friendly (our placement students have no difficulty using this software); efficient; accounting portion; great customer service through the help tickets.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Anonymous

CSC

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-15
Review Source: Capterra

We have had Penelope for several years and use it for our Clinical Counseling services. Especially like the Profile, Accounting and scheduling segments of Penelope.

Pros
Scheduling and client profile information.

Cons
It is not easy to pull reports that we need specifically.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

John Coffey

PENELOPE offers much in the way of case management, and tracking informal workshops etc

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-26
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to access and capture case management information securely, and the information from group meetings also both formal and informal.

Pros
The software is cloud based and has a wide application for use. We are happy with the software itself.

Cons
The software's wide application for use means lots of options, unfortunately the knowledge base doesn't provide the level of information required or is not easy to navigate. The availability of local technical support and expertise in New Zealand appears limited. It would be good to have face to face contact to talk about our ongoing set up (new programmes) and reporting needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Sor Moi See

Using Penelope

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-26
Review Source: Capterra

Penelope enable us to document all events by client Easy to train any new employees-user friendly Easy to get data by staff, client, date, service type, etc. Staff can do collaborative documentation with client in the community.

Pros
User friendly, flexible, you can design to fit the needs for Case Management Program

Cons
I wished there is one report that I can run to obtain all the critical data I need in one report.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Beth Moore

Beth Moore

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-29
Review Source: Capterra

We have loved the people that trained us and helped us configure Penelope.

Pros
I like that we are able to customize it for our non-profit needs.

Cons
I would love it if it could merge with google spreadsheets.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Marianne Bradley-Arkush

Electronic web based office suite

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-05-14
Review Source: Capterra

Penelope has given us the ability to store our notes electronically and to manage our time through the scheduling function.

Pros
The scheduling function is easy to use and helps us ensure that our time is being used efficiently

Cons
The reporting function is limited. I would like the option to pull queries that could be down loaded into excel for further slicing and dicing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Maureen Houtz

Excellent for group psychotherapy practice

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-01
Review Source: Capterra

We have used Penelope for a few years now. We are able to log, bill, schedule, remind for appointments. It is easy once you get the hang of it. The customer support couldn't be kinder and more patient.

Pros
All inclusive

Cons
So much to learn in the beginning

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Raymond Pritchard

Excellent software, does what we need and in time may need to roll with changes of improvement

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-08-24
Review Source: Capterra

Ease of use

Pros
Understanding the software helps, once you do this and you can appreciate it more and what it does and becomes a very simple solution.

Cons
May need a redesign of the workflow but probably more so in training of navigators. Feedback from customers is essential in developing a catered solution for that market but keeping the same NGO concept of the original design and perhaps improving the use of the product based on your target market.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Joni Mantell

Good program. Bizarre service

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-10-02
Review Source: Software Advice

Good program. Bizarre service. Not an optimal combo

Pros
Program good, easy to navigate like many other programs with similar functions. Have used this for a long time and reluctant to switch...so grinning and bearing it with the strangest service I have ever witnessed. Head-spinning actually

Cons
Support is super strange. Took a week and too many emails to get help for a minor fix, and they charge money for a password change. Never been charged fir that before. Left a bad feeling

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

JENNIFER PARRISH

WORK ON IT EVERYDAY

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-12-20
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
THE PROGRAM IS IT FAIRLY SIMPLE FOR THE MOST PART, MOST EVERYTHING IS EASY TO FIND AND TELLS YOU IF YOU MISS SOMETHING

Cons
SOME THINGS ARE TOO COMPLICATED AND USE TO MANY SCREENS JUST TO GET TO ONE POINT TO CORRECT A CLAIM.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Cristina Gonzalez

Great system for tracking and billing.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-06-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like the versatility within the site. We have numerous programs in our company that we run out of this system.

Cons
When pulling specific reports can be hard because we don't have all the reports built in that we need.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Christine Decker

Penelope is reliable software for scheduling, case notes and financial needs.

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-12-10
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I love that the software is super reliable. Customer support is wonderful. It's easy to navigate with great instructions right there. Really easy to use!

Cons
Pulling reports can be tough at times. I would like to see reports that were customizable. The search field is too broad.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Will Martin

Good results

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-26
Review Source: Capterra

Enables our organization to easily retrieve information even though you may not have personally put the information in the system.

Pros
Great resource for storing records, adding updates and retrieving information on clients. New accounts are very easy to set up.

Cons
Some parts are difficult to navigate without referring to the written instructions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Kasey Kahmann

Penelope Review

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-09-03
Review Source: Capterra

I don't use the software as often as some of our field staff but the process of customizing the software to fit our needs was great. Representative was our point of contact/penelope expert and did a fabulous job of walking us through the significant amount mapping and customization that our case management process requires.

Pros
Penelope was the best solution available for the advanced case management work our staff do across the U.S. Our customized employment professionals needed a case management system that allowed for a significant amount of narrative description and the folks at Athena were able to accommodate this need.

Cons
There's a bit of a learning curve with Penelope but it's well worth the effort to learn.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

FELICIA HARRIS

iTS GREAT

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-05-12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I really like the reports feature. I am able to run a report on almost everything that I have to discuss and report on on a weekly basis.

Cons
I not really fond of the date range on the reports feature. If it is possible can it include the setting "last week" or "previous week".

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Anonymous

Not user friendly at all

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-12
Review Source: Capterra

It accomplishes having a medical records. We stay with it due to the headache of changing and being a small non-profit.

Pros
I am not a fan of Penelope at all so there is very little I like.

Cons
It is terribly difficult to schedule clients, indirect appointments, or interface with other staff members. The fees are too high for what you get. It is impossible to get basic reports. Due to the high fees we are unable to purchase enough licenses for everyone which means we have to take turns entering information into the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Sandra Cutbirth

Configuration of Penelope

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-10-19
Review Source: Capterra

Web base has been extremely easy. It is very easy to maneuver due to us being at different school sites in a day at times. Being able to have all the documents that we need on line. Our assessments are in bedded within Penelope. Our supervisors are grateful to be able to see the associate's BIRP's .

Pros
Software is easy to navigate and to access since our team work at school sites and we sometimes do not go to our offices. Being able to access clients files is so much easier than when we were doing it by paper.

Cons
It took about a year to complete from talks about what we want it and how we were going to use it to actually going live.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Maurice D. LeBlanc

Was involved and led the requirements study to bring Penelope to the Family Service Canada network.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-29
Review Source: Capterra

Cons
not at all user-friendly, costly, unreliable for data compilations and billing processes, reports are bad and inflexible, can not be effectively or easily or cheaply customized and adapted to needs, I could go on. Would be pleased to talk to the CEO or senior directors to propose recommendations and provide more information

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Mark Hindle

Lack of modern functionality, lack of communicating to customers, broken promises with timing.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The product is targeted to our industry. Its installed and we are used to it. We have little issues with it.

Cons
No portal functionality. No way of connecting external systems for resource management/bookings. No self help intake process (clients filling in their own information).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 2/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Emma Richardson

Layers Upon Layers

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-11-04
Review Source: Capterra

Penelope is used at my workplace to document client interactions. In many ways, the system is complex and integrated. It allows our 110-member staff to record information in the correct categories. We are able to source the data collected from Penelope and integrate it into our excel spreadsheets. There are some bugs that create mild frustration, but overall, it was programmed by a specialist here to suit our needs. I am grateful we have the program.

Pros
Integrated data

Cons
Not overly intuitive

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Anna Packer

I used this system as a mental health intern - it was my first exposure to mental health software.

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-11-02
Review Source: Capterra

It was at least a basic way to electronically organize and store confidential client information.

Pros
It has a lot of different and very useful functionalities. You can get very granular with your documentation if you choose to.

Cons
The user interface was rather convoluted and sometimes not very easy to engage. There would be multiple ways to access different parts of a case file, or different places to deposit similar information, which was very confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Sheryll Prinz-McMillan

Penelope Review

Reviewed 2017-02-21
Review Source: Capterra

Penelope is a robust case management software that has numerous flexible areas to meet the demands of differing social service agencies. Our agency, consisting of 50 clinicians, has mental health contracts with state, county and insurances -- all of which Penelope can manage quite well. Service and support are usually responsive. Although we are struggling to get Athena software to add some new features that most health care software has already incorporated, such as integrated client sign ins. There are some innovative features such as incorporate the ORS and field to add other outcomes measures. Canned reports meet basic needs, but custom reports are not only possible, but are utilized by us on a routine basis. Overall we are satisfied with Penelope.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Konrad Gawlik

It's clunky, appears to be on a platform from the 90s, not intuitive, convoluted, expensive support.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-07-03
Review Source: Capterra

Maybe better than nothing

Pros
Case management is OK Initial costs cheap

Cons
Doesn't work at all for EAPs in Australia. Reporting is hopeless. Schedule is as user friendly as a brick.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.

Anonymous

Great so far

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-05-17
Review Source: Capterra

My organization is about to go live with Penelope so we have not realized the benefits yet. However, we are confident that we will, and Penelope's guidance and technical support throughout the implementation process have been outstanding.

Pros
Penelope provides a great balance between functionality and ease-of-use. The interface is very attractive and can be used on virtually any device. The system is easy to configure. Penelope provides everything my organization needs from a business functionality standpoint with the exception of accounting, which we do in another system.

Cons
Reporting out-of-the-box is very limited, but an interface with Tableau is available for an additional fee. Security setup is very cumbersome.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Penelope

Cloud-based case management software for human services.