This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Apex LIS

Laboratory information system for the healthcare industry

visit website

Apex LIS Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The best things about the software are ease of use, reliability and adaptability to our needs.

Kyjuan B.

We selected Apex Healthware and have been very pleased with both the performance of the software as well as the professional and pleasant manner of the support services.

Kyjuan B.

The Apex LIS is perfect for the Physician Office Lab. Not only does it provide all the features needed, but, unlike most of its competitors, its is very affordable.

Lisa C.

Cons

There are a lot of bugs and the software team wants nothing to do with you. Customer service is terrible.

Shannon E.

The problem is that clinics are held hostage by software companies because it is frequently cost prohibitive to drop your LIS company and switch to another (same thing with EMR's).

Shane H.

This is a process that should only take 2 weeks or less. Our clinic is NOT the only one having problems with Apex.

Shane H.

Overall rating

4.1

5

4

3

2

1

7

1

0

0

2

80%
positive reviews
80%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


10 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Support Behind The Product

Reviewed 2 years ago

When I was brought on as the IT Director, this app was the biggest open issue. After doing some testing I found that our ISP latency response time was extremely high thus being the underlying issue with the app communicating with our cloud server. Called and had a discussion with Oscar, we had a test console deployed into our Citrix environment that evening and began testing the next day. Console ran like a champ and my staff couldn't be more thankful!

Pros

For the price it's really hard to beat. Anytime we have any issue we are able to get a tech on the phone and get the issue resolved in a timely manner.

Cons

Sometimes devices stop communicating and the system needs to be rebooted. We've put in a process to simply reboot the workstation every evening and this seems to have minimized this issue.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind review its a pleasure to be of service to Legacy ER

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Apex for your POL LIS

Reviewed 2 years ago

An LIS in the POL results in more timely results without transcription errors. However, most LIS are designed for large hospitals and are so expensive that the average POL cannot even consider the cost of installing one. Apex has changed that. I am the Lab Manager in a POL with 8 providers performing over 100,000 labs on an annual basis, and I must say that this was our best purchase ever! As a plus, the customer support has been very timely and personable.

Pros

The Apex LIS is perfect for the Physician Office Lab. Not only does it provide all the features needed, but, unlike most of its competitors, its is very affordable!

Cons

I honestly do not have anything negative to say about the Apex system.

Vendor response

Thank you for you for allowing us to be your LIMS. Its a pleasure!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Apex sucks! Unprofessional answer...... yes. Truthful?.......Absolutely

Reviewed 5 years ago

Apex had good customer service initially, in fact I referred several other clinics to them in the first year after opening in 2009. At first they seemed very responsive to our clinic needs, however, over the years they have gone significantly downhill. As in I don't think customer service could get any worse.

Pros

Most of the time Apex works just fine. But how many software programs do you know that work perfectly all of the time? Its when it is NOT working is when you see their true colors. When see a companies response when things aren't working is when you measure the value of the company and the software program.

Cons

For 13 months now we have been trying to get Apex to interface with LabCorp. This is a process that should only take 2 weeks or less. Our clinic is NOT the only one having problems with Apex. Here we are 13 months later and still no interface. The problem is that clinics are held hostage by software companies because it is frequently cost prohibitive to drop your LIS company and switch to another (same thing with EMR's). At MedNorth we are at the point where we are going to just bite the bullet and switch to a new LIS company....that's how bad it is.

Vendor response

Dr Hill we are sorry to hear of your frustration. Please note that this interface (1 of over 100) was completed by us in 10 weeks but we waited on your EMR for 9 months to complete delivery of insurance & guarantor data. what can we do to make this right for you?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SignatureCare Emergency centers Love using Apex LIS

Reviewed 2 years ago

We love using the software as it provides us the central platform to manage our in-house lab. We are able to serve our patients faster and efficiently.

Pros

It is user-friendly and easy to learn after it is initially set up by the expert staff at Apex support. We have worked with them to centralize the use across multiple facilities and successfully integrated with our EMR software. Results transfer to our EMR seamlessly.

Cons

Sometimes communications to the devices break but Apex support has set up a robust recovery process.

Vendor response

You are most kind. It is a pleasure to be of service to SignaureCare!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Robust LIS with excellent support at affordable price!

Reviewed 2 years ago

As [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] of one of Bermuda’s largest medical clinics we carefully evaluated which LIS would be best for us 5 years ago. We selected Apex Healthware and have been very pleased with both the performance of the software as well as the professional and pleasant manner of the support services.

Pros

The best things about the software are ease of use, reliability and adaptability to our needs.

Cons

Can think of nothing that we are not happy with.

Vendor response

Thank you Dr Brown for your kind words. It has been our great pleasure to be of service to you and your excellent staff!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good software

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have been working with APEX for over 5 years and we have never had a major issue. They have created multiple interfaces for our laboratory and it has always been done relatively quickly. When there is a delay in my experience it is the other party that is slowing the projects down.

Pros

I like the team behind Apex a lot. They are responsive to requests, and try to accommodate us without nickel and diming.

Cons

The biggest shortcoming of the software for us is that there is no easy way to enter manual tests results from worksheets.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lab manager Auspicious Laboratroy

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our previous LIS system can not interface our Mass Spec to the system, we had to manually enter the data. Apex has experts to solve this problem, we have been happily using this LIS for 3 years.

Pros

The software provides easy access for physician web portal. The interface to all the lab equipment is stable most of time.

Cons

It is not web based, can not work at home.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind review. FYI we are beta testing cloud version at large New Jersey Hospital.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great value!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, the Apex LIS is definitely worth the price.

Pros

The system was affordable and the customer service is great. I'm able to get on a first name basis with employees so it feels familiar and personal.

Cons

Like most LIS systems, it can be confusing at first. But Apex is great about answering any questions and remotely logging into the system to help in any way possible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great LIS excellent support!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Have enjoyed working with Apex.

Pros

It does everything we need reliably and at an affordable price.

Cons

Not applicable. The LIS is easy to use, does everything we need and support when needed is competent and friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

This software is garbage

Reviewed 3 years ago

No one ever teaches you really to use it. It works, but you will hate it because there is a lack of necessary functions. Looks like a kindergartner made it. HATE IT. HATE IT. HATE IT.

Pros

It stores your data. Crashes all the time. Not many things I like about the software.

Cons

There are a lot of bugs and the software team wants nothing to do with you. Customer service is terrible. They totally ignore you. If a data transfer error occurs features don't help you remedy the problem. Once we had to manually delete 1000s of accidental files. I remember asking to try the software before we bought it and they basically told me that wasn't possible....

Vendor response

Hi Mr Ealy just read your review and am mortified. With 100s of clients occasionally one falls thru the cracks. My apologies as founder of Apex i will make sure this is corrected quickly. What can i do to make this right for you?