App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

athenaOne Reviews - Page 25

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


759 reviews

Recommended

WT
AvatarImg

William T.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

avoid it at all costs

Reviewed 6 years ago

When we 1st purchased/contracted with athenahealth, it was, like all EMR's, not optimal but at least reasonably functional. With each upgrade, the system has become more difficult to use, requires more bandwidth, more employees to manage and creates more problems to solve. Its primary function is obviously not to help physicians take care of patients or office staff to run an office. Can't quite figure out what the purpose is at this point. They charge an arm and a leg for billing which essentially translates to sending claims. They do no follow-up and it is much more difficult to send claims in the system than it was in our previous one. We are actively looking at new systems now.

Pros

Cannot come up with any now.

Cons

The lack of customer service, the number of clicks it takes to do even a basic function. The number of error pages received.

BT
AvatarImg

Beth T.

Financial Services,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Athena Review

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

That they can usually talk me step by step through something... and they are VERY friendly.

Cons

It would either be the wait time or how I get an answer to a question one day then have to call back the next and get a different answer.

AM
AvatarImg

Andrew M W.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

New to athena

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I help my sister with her systems at her practice and she says it is very useful because it understands medical lingo and requirements

Cons

She (my sister) doesn't like that, to record a visit she has to check off every step that is propositioned by the software even if it is just a simple check up

HE
AvatarImg

Heather E.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great Clinical Tool, always improving

Reviewed 7 years ago

I am a clinical user and have used the software to access patient history as well as enter diagnostic testing data and reports.

Pros

I like the ability to see all pertinent patient info in one screen and the scheduling tools are great.

Cons

The entry of diagnostic testing data and the editing/formatting of templates can be somewhat cumbersome.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Beautiful Software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This software is sleek and beautiful. It has great ease of use for patients and myself and the office. It gives a lot of information that is pertinent to the patient. Patients have said that they stay with my office not only for the great care, but also because they felt "in the loop" using this software. These days, the technology we use and share is so important. Not everyone is health literate, but this helps make it easier.

Cons

I don't have much that I don't like about this software. I am still a fairly new user. Some cons are that it is expensive and can be slow at times.

SL
AvatarImg

Sandra L.

Medical Practice,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Practice Manager

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

I love the ease of the workflow and how helpful they are getting through any issues we have.

Cons

Sometimes the hold times can be a bit too long. I've often been on hold for a very long time, however, when they get on the line, I'm usually helped right away.

NM
AvatarImg

Nicole M.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thanks for all you do Athena!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Athena has been very helpful with easy step by steps programs when there is a new update and making sure we understand it. Anytime I have opened a case with them they make sure to take their time and complete the tasks. As more and more updates come in it is getting easier and faster to use!

Pros

Some updates are very helpful and easier to get around a patients chart.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

jv
AvatarImg

jasmine v.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The software, for me, was easy to learn.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I liked that the encounter notes would fax automatically to their PCP's and how easily it was to fax any document.

Cons

I did not like that we had to click in and out of the patients folder to find an answer, such as authorizations and referrals. Another thing was there were many steps to take to just file one document.

RS
AvatarImg

Rasha S.

Hospital & Health Care,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I like it!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Great customer service!! Love them!! The potential for this product is huge, and the customer service support is there to help each time.

Cons

Practice manager does NOT substitute having an in-house biller and payment collector. They are unable to give advice on coding which sucks.

SG
AvatarImg

Subhash G.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and accessible on any platform.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Enhanced workflows for easy documentation Automatic patient identification Rich patient snapshot view Continuation of care with patient engagement tools

Cons

Clinical decision support alerts need to be improved Not good layout and design Too much of noise alerts/suggestions

AH
AvatarImg

Adam H.

Medical Practice, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

So far so good

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to use interface, low up front costs. When compared with some other industry leaders I saved a lot on implementation costs.

Cons

So far my only gripe has been onboarding staff rescheduling meetings and phone calls at the last minute. Hopefully this doesn't become a trend.

DK
AvatarImg

Debra K.

Mental Health Care,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Live In 2015 and New release 2016

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

We enjoy learning and speaking to CSC when we have a problem.

Cons

My lack of familiarity and time to really learn the product.

AT
AvatarImg

Ashley T.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Not what you pay for

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

integrated with a lot of other systems tracks meaningful use patient portal so patients can contact us

Cons

Price almost tripled to remove billing and scheduling abilities No customer support for portal issues Customer support for office issues can sometimes take days to be resolved or you just don't hear back

RC
AvatarImg

Rodni C.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Awful, simply awful

Reviewed 6 years ago

Requested a refund because although we were told we went live initially, over a month later we were told oh I don't know who said that our why but you aren't live. Then even after the new Mgr took over, nothing worked ad described. But was told I was not entitled to a refund. Worst waste of money for my practice ever.

Pros

Erx is about it Nothing else seemed to work well at all. We were told multiple things that were absolutely false, our accounts were ignored until major complaints, then people tried to be overly helpful and available, always CCing their boss.

Cons

Everything else No support, implementation managers always MIA, unless they are trying to impress a boss. Worst situation I've ever experienced with an EHR.

AD
AvatarImg

Alexander D.

Medical Practice,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Too many steps to complete a task. Need to work on medications.

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

Nothing. Overall, it needs to go back to the drawing board and make it easier for physicians. When you're seeing 30-40 patient a day, you can't spend your time clicking, scrolling, repeating tasks, and taking several steps to complete a simple task.

Cons

The flow is awful. It takes multiple steps to complete a task. There are issues with medication defaults. For example, Valium or Flexeril defaults to TID. I have five documented cases where there are problems with medications. Any changes in medications make you have to manually change it in the medication list, which is found on the top of the screen. It doubles the work. Other EMRs automatically change the dosage and stop dates. With Athena, you have to do it manually. Complaints to Athena seem to go nowhere. They have very poor followup and poor customer care.

BC
AvatarImg

Brian C.

Medical Practice,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best EMR product on the market.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

This product is all inclusive. Makes your practice like a resort, as you have your billing, your communicator, your EMR, and you have amazing support behind the scenes at all times working for YOU!

Cons

Delay in getting minor details tailored to your practice.

NC
AvatarImg

Nancy C.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

First 3 months using Athena

Reviewed 6 years ago

Athena far exceeds past medical programs I have used! It is very user friendly and geared towards our specialty (pediatrics).

Pros

By far, the immunization history capabilities for past and present records.

Cons

Not having a list of 10 most recent patients, or even recall of last patient record accessed.

TN
AvatarImg

Thea N.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good

Reviewed 6 years ago

I found this software is very easy to use. I am an accountant for an orthopaedic center and my daily job is to go to Athenanet for daily report. I found the reports are very accuracy. I sometimes need to search patients by their name to check outstanding balance if any. So far everything is good and i have not experienced any difficulty with the software yet.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

ML
AvatarImg

Mark L.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

"All in one" package

Reviewed 8 years ago

We originally started with Athena because the meaningful use functionality was built in. Also since it is cloud based there is no weekend staff time setting up every update. Since starting with Athena, we have achieved meaningful use every year and we hardly notice when there is an update. The help line is set up to direct you to a specialist according to the page you are working on. It never takes more than a couple of minutes to speak with someone knowlegeble. All EMR's seem to be cumbersome with all of the necessary info but I am now doing the same work and bringing in more income and taking less time to get paid.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JB
AvatarImg

Jamie B.

Medical Practice,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The EMR and its accompanying staff are very organized and efficient. This product makes patient chart organization very easy and accurate.

Cons

There's a lot to learn at first, but it's still easy to understand.

DR
AvatarImg

David R.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Too many flows

Reviewed 6 years ago

The overall design is not bad but aspects of specific tasks requirements were not thought out. Requests for changes are felt to be a responsibility of users' consensus, rather than logical functionality. Some tasks requirements are cumbersome requiring extra time.

Pros

Rapid save feature is good, which prevents loss of data.

Cons

The extensive learning curves with inadequate preparation and poor training. The system has requirements that loop, causing need to review the same information.

rs
AvatarImg

rachelle s.

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The cloud

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

cloud base system, disaster recovery, price per patient no add on fees , Updates included in price point.

Cons

scheduler a little awkward to use, for the lab and the medical imaging departments, 2 choices with built in interfaces for PACS

rw
AvatarImg

rubina w.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

athena EMR and Billing

Reviewed 6 years ago

trying to switch from free PF and Medisoft Billing to Athena which is included with my membership in a group. Found it to be very complex and difficult to navigate. Right from making appointments to patient encounter, billing and EOB. ERX is another issue

Pros

detailed

Cons

not user friendly

SR
AvatarImg

Sarah R.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

medical assistant

Reviewed 6 years ago

The intake is a very long process and multiple clicks take too long.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

The medications having multiple clicks and the order button is too close to the delete button on the medications making it easy for the person deleting the medication to order a medication instead of deleting.

BK
AvatarImg

Brittany K.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It looked clean at first, but quickly proved otherwise

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall, this is one of the worst systems we've had to deal with.

Pros

The software seemed intuitive at first. It is fairly easy to navigate and get to all the different billing screens.

Cons

We couldn't post the insurance payments ourselves. If we sent a copy of a remit, athena wouldn't post it but then would themselves request the remit again. The AR is almost impossible to work. We can only print statements one at a time from the patient and not generate whole batches. You have to click through so many screens just to sign off a visit note or update something in the patient chart.