App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Clustermarket Logo

Clustermarket

Online lab management platform for all resources & data.

see alternatives

Clustermarket Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.4

/5

181
92%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.02/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

So far so good - we have been pleased with how quickly we have been able to integrate the platform into our labs and it has met all our needs so far.
It is perfect for managing shared equipment, especially now that social distancing requirements are in place. Also the customer support is great.
The software has many nuances in which you can explore and fine tune to suit your needs. I love how much time it has saved us as a rather small organization, but we have to manage many residents.
The worst thing about the software is probably the notifications that the software gives the administrator.
We had many issues with our previous booking system. Difficult to use, not easy for people with little experience working with spreadsheets and confusing most of the times.
How sometimes it is hard to find some equipment if the organization is based when they are located.

Clustermarket users...

Google Docs-logocaret
listing-logo

Google Docs

Google Calendar-logocaret
listing-logo

Google Calendar

QReserve-logocaret
listing-logo

QReserve

Skedda-logocaret
listing-logo

Skedda

How would you rate Clustermarket?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


181 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Lab Management Solution

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

This product is a great lab management tool. Many nice features for instrument management, many different roles/access level to instruments and easy to deploy/scale. I highly recommend.

Cons

The only downside but I really hope it will be implemented in the near future is that it currently has no solution for inventory management, so I have to rely to alternative products

Vendor response

Many thanks for the positive feedback, Adrian!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Clustrmarket review

Reviewed 2 months ago

Excellent and easy-to-use laboratory equipment management tool for managing the equipment booking, maintenance and usage monitoring and recharging.

Pros

The software was very easy to set up, the technical support was excellent to get it working. The users find it intuitive and easy to use. Most of the features such as the booking calendar, maintenance announcements, reporting, equipment or user set-up are well designed. I am very keen to use QR codes.

Cons

I have the same equipment listed several times in different Groups. I cannot add to one user two Groups with the same equipment listed in these Groups.

Vendor response

Unfortunately, users are not able to have multiple points of access to equipment as there may be conflicting booking rules. For example, in group A all bookings need to be approved, whereas in Group B no bookings require prior approval. If a user was in both groups, it would cause a conflict as there would be no way of knowing which rule to follow. Nevertheless, we greatly appreciate the feedback and have shared it with the product team for their consideration.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Works well for managing a small number of users but becomes more difficult as our user base grows.

Reviewed 8 months ago

5/10

Pros

1. This is a good way to manage equipment bookings. 2. This is reliably way to ensure we are complying with most of the university regulations.

Cons

1. Hard to manage covid-19 restrictions - e.g. limited number of people allowed in each lab. There is no feature to help with this. 2. Users can book multiple equipment and lab spaces simultaneously. Currently, I am forced to spend lots of admin time daily checking and re-arranging people that have "double-booked". If they have double-booked, we cannot reliably say how many people were in that specific...

Vendor response

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback, Callum. We have shared this with our product development team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Clustermarket "Bookkit" is easy to use

Reviewed 2 months ago

Customer service has been absolutely fantastic since day one. Don't think I've waited more than a few hours ever for a response.

Pros

This software is very easy to use for both administrator (my primary use) and end user. Setting up new users and training take little to no time.

Cons

Users are unable to edit their bookings after-the-fact, which is difficult when this is being used for billing (I am doing it all myself). The only way for users to edit past bookings is if they get admin status, which would make it much more difficult for them to use (would see everything vs. just the instruments they can use) and take away the point of the software.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback, Jackie! We are already looking at developing a feature that tracks real-time usage, so if a user is finished with the equipment before the pre-scheduled booking time, the system will automatically update the booking information to reflect this correctly. Based on your comments, we believe this feature would address your issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lab Management Magic!

Reviewed 19 days ago
Pros

Clustermarket is extremely easy to set up and both essential & helpful in managing labs with a high volume of team members. It makes scheduling a breeze!

Cons

The methodology of scheduling and making edits to the reservations can be a bit rigid at first, but the learning curve is relatively low. Once you get the hang of it, its smooth sailing.

Vendor response

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Brandon!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Using bookit for shared university laboratory

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It works and is intuitive enough, allows to see what other users have booked.

Cons

Can't book multiple slots at once so have to click over and over again on things to make multiple bookings for the next week. Can't change the fact that I get an email for every single one of those bookings, which is annoying and not needed. Can't change the booking retroactively, for example if I forgot to cancel one and wish to change it one minute after the booking has "started" it cannot be done. The website doesn't work at all on mobile phones, it's impossible to make or change bookings from there.

Vendor response

Hi Giulia, Thanks for your valuable feedback. To help you with each one of your points, please see below: - Multiple slots: we have just made recurring bookings available to all users which allow you to book more than one slot in one go. You only need to ask your lab admin to enable this option for you - Email notifications: you can turn these off on the top right corner, clicking on your...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Superb Lab management software

Reviewed 18 days ago

fantastic!

Pros

It makes the lab management - booking, approval, and track record easier.

Cons

a few things could be improved: 1. create phone apps 2. assign trainer automatically/selecting option upon booking by an untrained user. 3. one click the approval page as an option for booking request

Vendor response

Thank you very much for your feedback! Your suggestions have been shared with our product development team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ClusterMarket for lab managers

Reviewed 19 days ago
Pros

I find it very easy to use and the new features that are being added makes it even more user friendly

Cons

Trying to get our lab users on board with using it

Vendor response

Thank you very much for the feedback, Chantelle!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very helpful

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Its great versatility and the chance to manage the booking of very different equipment and services.

Cons

In some cases is more difficult to customize groups of users.

Vendor response

Many thanks for your feedback, Josep!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for managing equipment

Reviewed 19 days ago
Pros

Really easy to use and set your institutional polices

Cons

Doesn't work well with safari! But otherwise great with other browsers

Vendor response

Thank you very much for your feedback, Alex!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software package for academic institutions

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We use Bookit to book equipment internally across all our research platforms, including high-spec and day-to-day equipment. They have a great offer for academic institutions and we have found the system easy to use for lab administrators and users. I would also note that the customer service provided has been great, they are very responsive and open to making updates to the system when we have suggestions. The updates provided have allowed for a sophisticated and robust set of permissions available to tightly control bookings on heavily used equipment. We also have plans to start charging some external users for access to some equipment and Bookit is equipped to manage this.

Cons

The reporting provided is comprehensive in that all data can be easily exported into a csv file and manipulated into your own reports. However, I think lab managers/administrators would benefit from some quick reporting directly in the system (e.g. usage of equipment across a facility or over time).

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive feedback, we appreciate it. We will continue collecting user feedback for any upcoming new features or relevant updates in the platform!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bookkit - new kids on the block

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very happy with the software and the support from the Clustermarket team. We have managed to solve all sorts of booking problems thrown up by the pandemic with minimal fuss and our users are very happy with the way it all works.

Pros

This booking system comes as part of the Clustermarket app and allows other customers to find services and equipment at participating organisations. A quote can be obtained for the service and the customer also pays Clustermarket a fee for facilitating the deal. This allows educational and research establishments like our NMR Facility use the app free of charge. We have found Bookkit to be very easy...

Cons

The worst thing about the software is probably the notifications that the software gives the administrator. As we have so many bookings each day the notifications soon built up to a level that caused the server to timeout when trying to display or mark them as read. It would be nice if we could switch the notifications off in the software whilst retaining them via email as a record of the bookings. I am also hoping that equipment will soon be able to be removed from the app if it is now redundant or not required to be bookable by the lab administrator so that the dashboard can be made less cluttered with equipment that no longer exists!

Vendor response

Hi Andrew - thank you very much for your honest feedback! Our development team have fixed the issues with notifications and they should now be deleted automatically after 4 to 7 weeks depending on the read status. We are also working on removing the equipment and will update you as soon as this is possible!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Life Sciences Student review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

-The software is definitely more user-friendly compared to the previous one we were using here at KCL. - It allowed the combination of all the softwares that were being used here and became the only platform we are using at the moment in the building - saving time for all of us researchers. - It also allows the notification via Bookkit of any problems present in the equipment we use, which is very...

Cons

- I would definitely appreciate if I could do several bookings in the same equipment at the same time - I mean, without the need to do it every time and click on the "confirm booking" button seven times for the same equipment in the same week. It would save time - and we, researchers, truly appreciate that. - Sometimes, some bugs appear (like double bookings from the same person in the same slot in...

Vendor response

Thank you very much for the review, Rita! We truly appreciate your feedback and will give our very best to continue improving Bookkit and help scientists like you in the lab.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A customizable program for instrument and personnel management that is a must for research.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Streamline equipment and personnel management in one software, improving efficiency across the board.

Pros

The ease of use of this software, easy implementation across all staff members, customizable nature, and the online nature of the data are all amazing pros for this software.

Cons

There really isn't anything I dislike about this software. Very easy to use and a great addition to our research group!

Vendor response

Thank you very much for the positive feedback, Gilbert!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game Changing

Reviewed 2 years ago

After looking to improve the way the labs were run and remove ‘the way we’ve always done it’ I came across Bookkit (Clustermarket) What was initially a way to manage approx. 30 pieces of equipment, this then became a real game changer for managing ‘space’ – I took it to the next level of creating bookable space to manage fair usage of lab space following our return to the lab after lockdown. Without Bookkit, this would have been impossible to manage efficiently!

Pros

• Easy to setup, use and train end users on all of the booking functions. • Simple yet effective communication with the announcements section • Managing chargeable equipment is a timesaver. • Generating reports on usage of equipment to allow us to develop strategies for the future.

Cons

• I would like to see recurring bookings for those regular weekly timeslots • The ability to structure pricing in custom settings (i.e £20 for the first hour, £10 an hour thereafter) • Linking to Outlook calendar would be hugely beneficial • No mobile compatibility due to the ‘click and drag’ functionality of the calendar.

Vendor response

Hi Mike - thanks a lot for the review, it is great to hear positive feedback! To address some of the issues you've mentioned - we are working on making our system more mobile friendly, and in the meantime I suggest you check out our tutorials (https://www.bookkit.org/guides-and-tutorials) to see how the click & drag function works on a mobile device. We are also currently working on recurring bookings and 3rd party calendar provider subscriptions which will of course include Outlook as well. We will make sure to inform all users as soon as these new features are available, so stay tuned!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good software for managing lab space with dedicated areas

Reviewed 8 months ago

I actually like using it (as a user, not admin or anything else) both on my computer as well as on my phone. All our meeting rooms for example are also listed, and it only takes a few seconds to check where room would be available for a short zoom-meeting or something like that.

Pros

I really like how easy it is to book - just choose the room/machine you want, click on a time and drag the box down - done. It also offers the option to only request a booking, which then needs to be confirmed by the head of the lab. I am only a simple user, but for me it is really helpful to check which spaces/machines are available when, and that I can book them when it fits me to make sure I can do my work in the best possible way, without being in the way of someone else or someone else interfering with my work.

Cons

The only problem I found so far is that it is not possible to book a room for example simultaneously - e.g. we have two microscopes in one room, and since they are not separated in the descriptions, only one person can book the room for a certain time. This is a small inconvenience however, since the comment-filed helps with that.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback! Please feel free to reach out to our team who will be happy to assist you in solving any issues you're experiencing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, good for lab management

Reviewed a year ago

I like the feature of back booking, and the report is simple to understand, and provide enough information for us to value the usage and benefits of certain equipment.

Pros

It is easy to use. Very useful for lab management, especially when you have a range of equipment to be shared by different users. The report is very useful to get an overview for the usage of various equipment/services.

Cons

Registering new users take time. Admin cannot register a group of new users directly and easily.

Vendor response

Hi Han, thanks a lot for the positive feedback! Actually, you can use our Multiple User Invitation tool to give access to many users at once. It is super easy - go to Users > Add Users > Invite Multiple Users > Select Role (e.g. Researcher) > Generate URL. Simply share this URL with your researchers - when they click on the link, they can register and have access to the account. You can even already create a Group for them with defined booking rules and equipment, and select it before generating the URL, this way, the users who gain account access via the URL will already be part of the correct group and have defined booking rules and will be able to book equipment. Hope this helps, if there's any questions please feel free to refer to our forum!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Returning to the lab during Covid-19 using Bookkit

Reviewed 2 years ago

So far so good - we have been pleased with how quickly we have been able to integrate the platform into our labs and it has met all our needs so far. Of particular note is how quickly the team have been to respond to any queries we've had, which has been excellent considering that the software is free to us academic users.

Pros

Bookkit has so far been an invaluable tool for our laboratory to return safely to work during the Covid-19 pandemic. As an academic lab we needed free booking management software that could be quickly deployed to make sure staff numbers on site could be controlled, Bookkit more than meets this need. We have found that as well as the basic function of booking equipment, Bookkit provides numerous other useful features that allows us to assign staff to 'bubble' groups (shift patterns), produce reports of staff present in various areas should we need them for track and trace, plus the ability to upload supporting documents such as SOP's and risk assessments.

Cons

Initially we had issues due to only one administrator account being allowed, which became difficult when our whole building decided to adopt the software (containing multiple labs). However the latest Bookkit version now allows multiple administrator accounts. The Bookkit team seem very keen to engage with users in order to provide a good experience and seem open to any suggestions made for improvements.

Vendor response

Big thanks for the feedback Joanne - we are very glad to hear Bookkit has proven useful during your return to the lab. We will continue to engage with our users and collect feedback to keep improving and making our system better!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bookkit for the win

Reviewed 2 years ago

Due to the pandemic we needed an option to replace the antiquated paper & pen sign in sheet option for reserving shared/departmental equipment. I was quickly able to offer up an easy to use system and the price was right: FREE!

Pros

The was an easy to roll out product. Customer support is excellent; they are quick to respond to an inquiry, and equally fast is a resolution. I provided Clustermarket/Bookkit staff an Excel list of our equipment, with the important details for each, and in a very short time (a day) we were up and running. It saved me a lot of time. All the pertinent information regarding a piece of equipment (including an owner's manuals and helpful documentation) is conveniently located in one place and is accessible to all users. End users have not complained about the new system. Control options for admins are sufficient and, again, easy to use.

Cons

I wish the mobile interface was better; the GUI needs a little help. I've been told they are working on that.

Vendor response

Thanks a lot for the feedback Kathie. As you've mentioned we are already working on improving the mobile-friendliness of the platform and will notify all our users as soon as any new features are released!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome support from ClusterMarket Bookit Employees

Reviewed a year ago

We enjoy using bookit especially during the pandemic, we needed to control for social distancing and this software helped us do just that. Users rarely need to be taught how to use the software, so the user interface is exceptional.

Pros

The software is easy to use! The support is awesome!

Cons

Sometimes there are more than one way to influence settings in the system, via user settings or instrument settings or group settings.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great feedback - we're glad to hear you are happy with our software and support!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic booking system

Reviewed 2 years ago

We had many issues with our previous booking system. Difficult to use, not easy for people with little experience working with spreadsheets and confusing most of the times. Our department has been using Bookkit for a month and, so far, all the users are really happy with it. It is a clear step forward that is helping everyone using our facility.

Pros

The most important feature is how easy it is to use, not only as a researcher/user, but also as an administrator. The software is clean, clear and allows you to create a booking system that will be of help for anyone using it.

Cons

There is nothing specially wrong. I was trying to personalize the web to use the colours of the department and that is something that you (probably) cannot change. It is a minor (minuscule) issue.

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive feedback Adolfo! It's great to hear our system is working well for you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

High Tech, High in Customer Support

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent, highly recommend!

Pros

The software has many nuances in which you can explore and fine tune to suit your needs. I love how much time it has saved us as a rather small organization, but we have to manage many residents. Using Bookkit has made our booking practices seamless for the users, and easy for us as management - it was really a no brainer.

Cons

Anything I had issues with have been resolved, or they were able to accommodate for us!

Vendor response

Thanks a lot for the positive feedback Natalia!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Simple and powerful

Reviewed 10 months ago

It did in a pinch, but the product is improving rapidly

Pros

Easy to configure laboratory equipment and groups. Wide-ish range of user permissions. Simple interface.

Cons

The calendar view doesn't make it easy to book a group of equipment together, e.g. a room, a centrifuge and a specific rotor set. The responsive interface is somewhat limited - best used on a desktop version.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback, Grant! We will shortly be updating the user interface as well as releasing a multiple equipment feature which will solve the issues you might've had.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing management software for your research institution

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is the best management software I have tried for booking instruments, rooms and spaces for research institutions... and I evaluated quite a few for the institute I am working in. It can easily handle more than 100 users and over 200 different equipments/spaces! AMAZING SOFTWARE!

Pros

Extremely flexible customisation for specific instruments. It can handle large number of users with different policies. Very advanced options to manage external bookings. Easy to administer.

Cons

Not easy to make multiple or repetitive bookings. Sometimes it is not extremely responsive during bookings.

Vendor response

Thanks a lot for the great feedback Filippo! We are really happy hear you enjoy using Bookkit.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for implementing controls due to Covid

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall it is very user friendly and easy to use.

Pros

The software comes with many features including assigning research groups their own equipment (which they can also be responsible for via the roles of instructors and technicians), it allows charging for the use of the equipment easily, and can place in time restrictions for reopening our lab due to Covid measures. The update recently that allows multiple admin users and viewing other labs/organisations in one makes it much more user friendly and allows for more flexibility.

Cons

I feel like multiple bookings could be made easier. Currently users have been block booking for the whole week but then that all falls under "one" booking even if it is across multiple days. Would be nice if bookings that last for longer than 24 hours be separated into separate bookings, so that when we run a report for Covid reasons, they come up as "completed".

Vendor response

Hey Leanne - thanks for the great feedback. We are constantly working on improving the system and will take your comments into account!