App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

EpicCare Logo

Modular, cloud-based ambulatory EMR software

(3)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

EpicCare Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


366 reviews

Recommended

AL
AvatarImg

Asghar L.

Medical Practice, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Suboptimal at best

Reviewed a year ago

see above.

Pros

Epic's main benefit is the large number of health systems that use it, which makes cross-communication possible. Epic does limit this by making it's product modular, which limits different institutions' ability to communicate. The only benefit to Epic is it's size and number of health systems that use it - so if you work at Hospital X, and move to Hospital Y, the chances that they also use Epic are higher than another software.

Cons

This is not a "patient care" software by design. It is a billing software first and foremost. Instead of starting the software from scratch in the 2000's once it was appearent that EMR's were the wave of the future, they simply piggy-backed what they could (most pop-ups and messages are done by what was originally meant to be error messages for bills). From a patient care stand-point, it is terrible...

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Epic and Epic Rover Review

Reviewed 9 months ago

My overall experience has been very good! I really enjoy using epic and have not really had any major problems with it! Any hiccups in the system can be handled by IT very quickly!

Pros

I really like the mobility of using the app. I would like to see the river system improved upon and expanded! Home health is a very large and important aspect of healthcare today, and a lot of clinicians are out in the field and need access to epic!

Cons

Sometimes I find that using epic on the computer in the office is daunting because of the many pages you have to search through!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nick S.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The BEST EMR out there

Reviewed 5 years ago

Having used another EMR (in addition to paper charting), this is by far the best product out there. Navigating different clinical unit censuses and consult lists is simple (and you can customize what information is listed within these lists). Within the medical record, tabs make it easy to navigate between lab results, demographic information, and chart notes. It is quick and easy to do a chart review...

Pros

Best layout, easy to navigate, quick documentation

Cons

Epic is consistently working on new functionalities and layouts, and sometimes the implementation of new things with the EMR becomes laborious to relearn when there is little added benefit.

JC
AvatarImg

Joshua C.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The best around, but that isn't saying much

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Epic is by far the best EMR out there, but really that is not saying much. It does have some great functionality, and is user friendly after awhile. Clean design and great shortcut utilities

Cons

EMR's in general are not designed by physicians, but for physicians, EPIC is no different. It seems clean, organized and user friendly at face, however, the excessive clicks needed to navigate, the constant updates that change layout and function, and lack of certain functions that you would think should be an integral part make EPIC frustrating. That being said this is not exclusive to EPIC and i would still recommend this program over any other.

RJ
AvatarImg

Renee J.

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Epic is good!

Reviewed 5 years ago

What our practice is solving with Epic is the hunt for medical records and patient information. The switch has made it so we are more efficient with our patient care.

Pros

I like the ease of use. Everything is pretty self explanatory and using the software can cut down on time spent doing any one task. In our practice, we converted to share the EHR system with a local hospital and its practices, cutting down on any type of hunt for medical records

Cons

Yes, there is more than one way to do everything, but the process in which to get from point A to point B can be frustrating and long. A lot of clicking and doing things you may have already done before. If you know how to get around it, it can be easy, but those who struggle with technology might not find it as easy.

MV
AvatarImg

MJ V.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Complete Medical Medical Overview of the Patient

Reviewed 3 years ago

I like using this software as the roadmap for the entire healthcare institution. This section is not large enough to write about the expansive overview of the healthcare web capability that EpicCare EMR provides for our institution. It is a great evolving product that evolves as healthcare styles evolves.

Pros

It is easy to use, once you get the appropriate training and practice. I like that is a great investigative tool to search for timelines in the past. It is the one stop shop for all patient complete history, and it is interchangeable with other institutions with the same software. Tip top secure capability and traceable history of patient profile access. Patient linked via MyChart gets a sense of autonomy to manage appointments, communicate with healthcare team and review medical notes.

Cons

It is very busy due to all tiers embedded in the software based on access levels, however, you can get to pic what you choose to see based on your personal workload, or access needed. Ample training is needed and repetitive practice for the non-tech savvy.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Epic review

Reviewed 6 years ago

Overall- I think it helps me deliver safe care to my patients. This platform allows me to accurately chart and organize my day to best serve the population in my hospital.

Pros

It allows for safe medication administration- links the drug info. right there with the medication and allows for user friendly charting. Plenty of flowsheets to chose from. Information that isn't helpful can be completed or hidden. Integrates with our devices to pull in vital signs and information about the patient. Also allows for communication between the interdisciplinary team connecting each other through messaging and allowing for contact information. There are a few ways to get to the same spot and I find the navigators are helpful.

Cons

Some charting/flowsheets are a bit redundant. Also, sometimes when flowsheets or sections of charting are hidden- it can be hard to find specifically where to reactivate it. I think it takes a while to get the right custom EPIC for your institution in place so there are tons of upgrades and learning curves with new versions.

BS
AvatarImg

Barry S.

Mental Health Care, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Comprehensive but complicated

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, it was an excellent communication tool with other parts And providers and customer service representatives of the huge system within which I worked

Pros

There is a tremendous amount of functionality and ability to check various parts of the medical record. It can be set up with drop-down menus that provide frequently used choices in the record. There is the ability to create personalized phrases one can push into a clinical note.

Cons

I do not know if it was a bottleneck with our a team that was to fine-tune the epic product, or whether it was the epic troubleshooting team, but it took a very long time to correct glitches or to add features when there was an update of the program. This may be nitpicking, but for me, it would’ve been helpful to be able to run several different windows side-by-side within a particular medical record, in order to quickly go back and forth either to cut and paste items or two I’ll check on various values or previous interventions in the record over time

lm
AvatarImg

linnie m.

Medical Practice, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Unnecessary changes

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

They are constantly making unnecessary changes to the system. It makes usage difficult because you have to hunt for what you are looking for. They change things that just add additional clicks with no actual benefit to the change. It is very frustrating to get used to where something is located and then find it suddenly not there or to find the whole process of getting to what you need has changed. For example my telehealth visits are now listed as office visits and then you have to make 10 additional clicks to make it a televisit and then on you schedule you have to click 10 more steps to make it show as a televisit on you screen so you know if they are coming in or if you are supposed to be calling them. This constant change is VERY aggravating and unnecessary.

EH
AvatarImg

Elizabeth H.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Tons’o’clicks

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

That I have access to other EMR’s through Epic. That Epic automatically capitalizes the first word of a sentence.

Cons

Minor complaint- the .HM phrases for some things pull in the date it was resulted instead of the date it was done.Major complaint- When I came back from my lunch break at 1:00 after seeing patients all morning, Epic had disabled my user account. I had received a warning that my password was going to expire in 1 day when I logged in this morning but did not get the usual pop up you get from other sites...

DM
AvatarImg

David M.

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great EMR

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It’s it’s the standard of electronic medical records. It’s super user friendly and very easy to navigate and makes your work life much more efficient.

Cons

That it is a little on the pricey side when it comes to private practice.

AA
AvatarImg

Alexander A.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It could be worse

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Okay, let's be honest: Most EMR software is lousy. It's got dozens of features bolted together ad-hoc, without any real thought behind UI or UX. The result is a confusing mess. And most vendors don't mind it being so confusing, as long as the functionality is there, because then they can charge for enterprise training and service contracts. Epic is no different. It's got lots of functionality, for sure. If you can find it. But once you do, it really does enable you to keep tabs on everything pretty well. The best features include the CareAnywhere views and shortcuts into PACS systems.

Cons

The worst features? The horrible color themes and lack of customization therein. The inconsistency in customizability -- there's a "wrench icon" practically everywhere, which allows you to tweak certain settings. Yet some things are impossible -- like rearranging columns in the Chart Review section. Also, the Inbox functions are really terrible.

WL
AvatarImg

Wayne L.

10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A robust, non-intuitive system that requires a big learning curve

Reviewed 6 years ago

It would be nice if EPIC had more simplified workflows and cleaned up the appearance of the screens. It would also be nice if EPIC could allow the user to customize the screen appearanc (currently, there is a feature that allows only very limited customization of the screen layout.

Pros

Depending on the features that are activated, it can be a robust EHR system. It can handle workflows of many types, including outpatient visits, procedures, and hospital workflows.

Cons

It can be difficult to use, even with many years of experience using it. The screen is way too busy with buttons, tabs, active links and data all over the place. There are too many hidden features to remember, and the workflow is often very clunky, requiring multiple mouse clicks and jumps to multiple screens (with delays between loaded screens). The screen includes a multitude of features and buttons/tabs that I never use (are to be used by other disciplines such as discharge planners), making it seem like a one-size-fits-all screen.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kyle W.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Possibilities are unlimited

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been using EpicCare EMR for over 2 years not and there isn't much bad i can say about it. Compared to most other EMR software out there it is far ahead of its competition. It's simplistic yet versatile design has made everyday challenges much easier for both healthcare employees and its patients.

Pros

Epic is extremely versatile in its ability to provide a lot of functions to its users in the healthcare settings. With its new updates setting up orders for patients have never been easier. From medication reconciliation to appointment scheduling to its organization of encounters and medical history, there isn't much epic cannot due.

Cons

Customer support/service is not very receptive to user friendly changes that are requested when it comes to simple tasks that could be made easier by the input of a button or checkbox in certain areas. Downtime for service is can also be problematic if it needs to be performed during work hours which has happened a few times.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Henry P.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

EpicCare EMR helps us better care our patients

Reviewed 7 years ago

With EpicCare, clinics can streamline their workflows using personalized screens, dashboards and specialty applications. The application's finance module allows clinics to track payments, bills and invoices. EpicCare is a mobile-ready solution, allowing both doctors and patients to access information on their Apple devices.

Pros

I love patient portal and e-prescribing features which helps us meet the Meaningful Use Stage 2 requirements. The tool also supports telemedicine options that allow our doctors to communicate with patients via a video platform and offers mobile and tablet functionality. EpicCare MyChart allows patients to view medical information, message doctors, schedule appointments and manage medical history via a personalized portal.

Cons

The health maintenance options could be better, and easier to see and mark as complete. Also out would be easier if when you marked something got a preference it wouldn't add a copy to the main menu. Upgrade to EPIC 2017 is a fight.

KL
AvatarImg

Katherine L.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Worst ever for front desk scheduling

Reviewed a year ago

It was bad enough before the so-called upgrade, but now it's just plain aggravating to use. This "upgrade" is totally senseless. There was absolutely no reason to change scheduling and "bookit" is a very unprofessional sounding name.

Pros

The ONLY thing I like about Epic is being able to prioritize the schedule by time or patient name.

Cons

Whoever writes these programs should be made to actually USE it for several weeks and see how THEY like it. It's way too easy to get stuck on a page because of an "error" we can't fix and the new "bookit" is making everything mush more difficult. Insurance information gets twisted and information often doesn't get sent to Caretracker.

cg
AvatarImg

chrys g.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

EpicCare EMR- easy patient care management

Reviewed 2 years ago

EpicCare EMR has definitely been an upgrade from our previously used EMR. I love the ease of use, the clean and modern design, the ability to customize to my needs

Pros

I love that EpicCare EMR is easily searchable, it provides lots of options for customization, both in terms of utility and view. It also has a sort of memory of your more recently entered orders, which makes it easy to reorder

Cons

Even though EpicCare EMR is searchable, sometimes it is hard to find what you need

MO
AvatarImg

Megan O.

Medical Practice, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

once you learn all the shortcuts, life couldn't be easier

Reviewed 4 years ago

a much more advanced EMR than many of the others out there and has so much potential to make the day to day easier.

Pros

EPIC is a complex EMR with lots of functionality and as annoying as that can be sometimes, it also makes it very helpful. I love the aesthetics of the program becasue that adds to the ease of use, I love the ability to personalize and filter to make aspects of what is impotant to you more easily accessible, and I love that it tends to translate better between hospital systems than other EMRs I've worked with.

Cons

there's a lot to this program so it takes a while to parse through and figure out what's important and what's superfluous. there's also no easy handbook for all the shortcuts and tips and tricks so a lot of what makes this program easy comes from word of mouth or programming settings that others figured out and have been passed down.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Medical Practice, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

EpicCare EMR software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Its frustrating at times to accomplish the smallest of tasks or messages. Though it is helpful and easy to communicate if properly used , it is an embarrassment to the creators and programmers whom I've met with personally and were embarrassed to admit they were some of the original creators of the software .

Pros

Its inclusive : people across most facilities can review results, messages, notes, appointments and fyi's it's gotten better at tracking errors when it comes to duplicate charts, appointees, or overall telling you when your wrong

Cons

Very slow, constantly glitching. It takes more clicks to achieve something that should only be done with one to two clicks. So many steps to complete any order , refill or scheduling process or anything else . Constant screen freezing resulting in black screens until the system has cough up with itself . The worst is that its constancy crashing , updating or just not working at all .

EC
AvatarImg

Erin C.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

EpicCare EMR

Reviewed 5 years ago

My overall experience is great and I enjoy working with EPIC daily.

Pros

I do not have the full functionality of the software but do have the access needed to perform day to day requests. I am on the front end of the EMR. I work with a lab that is interfaced with EPIC but I Do have access to view charts. I like being able to confirm our results are filing to the patients charts. I also enjoy being able to review encounters for resulting purposes that will facilitate our company to make the best decision as to care for the patient.

Cons

I, as mentioned can view the charts but unable to view scanned documents. I had this option towards the beginning of my access but have since been unable to pull up any scanned documents for the last two years. It is fine we just call the ordering providers office for the documents needed.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Epic Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, I like Epic and think that it makes ordering and charting things easy when you make them into pre-programmed lists.

Pros

I like that you are easily able to chart on patients, you can make preset templates for charting and can preset order sets, and you are able to do everything electronically, including connecting to the PACs system and requesting documentation from other companies. You are also able to switch between inpatient and outpatient settings easily. Dragon is very compatible with this system.

Cons

I dislike that the EPIC system can vary depending on different healthcare setups, and can cost a lot. Epic can also take a while to catch on to, depending on how well you know computers. Finally, it can sometimes be hard to find different patients and patient lists on the inpatient systems if your healthcare system is large.

ZC
AvatarImg

Zachary C.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easiest, most intuitive charting software I've used to date

Reviewed a year ago

Overall i am very happy with EPIC care, but i would like to see continued design improvements.

Pros

The ease with which I can customize the charting features and interconnect outside patient info is key. Also, patient's love the connectedness of mychart and the messaging feature.

Cons

EPIC still seems to be less user-friendly than non-EMR software. Consider social media or HubSpot. They all have workflows and usage features that are slightly more aesthetic and user friendly.

KN
AvatarImg

Kevin N.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent and Gets the Job Done

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall Epic is great and provides a full suite of tools for a healthcare organization.

Pros

I like how Epic has a full suite of good software for healthcare organizations. I would say most Epic tools are good and are not too complicated. Billing and coding can be done easily compared to other systems. The defer feature is a great feature that is missing in other rival software. This is especially useful for a biller who needs to ask providers questions before taking action.

Cons

Some of the biggest issues I have with Epic is that the interface looks a bit dated. There is also a lot of variation between how different users interact with Epic. I often had to talk to doctors and nurses in order to help them out. Unfortunately we were never able to help each other out because Epic worked completely differently for different users.

KM
AvatarImg

Katalin M.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

National Leader in EMR

Reviewed 5 years ago

Fantastic - I would choose this EMR over every other one I've worked with!

Pros

It is intuitive, easy to use, easy to teach new staff members, and the support has been stellar. Epic is a national, if not worldwide leader in EMR implementation. Their product is superior to other EMR products in use.

Cons

Some functionality is not obvious and when shared over several campuses, sometimes one campus will obtain the knowledge and it is not shared through the enterprise. This is certainly an enterprise issue, but Epic could send information blasts that help users learn the smaller details of the system, to be shared with all users, to take full advantage of the amazing product

LE
AvatarImg

Lisa E.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Epic Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

we are using epic to do referrals for the local hospital and to pull orders. and we use epic exact science to order our cologuards. but epic is just a messy emr!

Pros

We use Epic here for our Exact Lab orders, and we use the Epic software to login to local hospitals for referrals or records. We don't own this product, we are just users of this product. There is not really anything I like Most about this software

Cons

The least thing that is not likable about this software is how it ties everything into continuation. For instance is you need to print an xray report you have to print literally the entire record as it seems to always pick up where you left off, if you are seen on one day and come back in two weeks they just pick up where they left off so the notes are just confusing, what visit went with what. I don't like that at all about Epic