App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Lockbox LIMS Logo

Cloud based LIMS for bio-tech, QC, analytical test labs

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Lockbox LIMS Reviews

Overall rating

4.9

/5

21

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.62/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

labware-lims
limsey
elabjournal

Pros and cons

We have tried several LIMS systems, and Lockbox is by far the best one. Its simple, affordable, user-friendly, and have good graphic inter phase.
I love working with Lockbox LIMS. They are very responsive and extremely helpful.
Customer service 6/5, easy to customize and understand, out of the box solutions encourages and enabled.
Due to the wide range of features, users might get confused about the necessary steps required for their actions.
As an early adopter of this product there is more available today than was previously due to lack of development. Still implementing those new API's is not free.
Initially, it was hard to wrap my head around how much the software could do if we wanted to use it to its maximum potential.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


21 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Matt M.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Necessary Partner during Pandemic

Reviewed 2 years ago

The customer service with TWA has been excellent. Our team did not have to the infrastructure or knowledge to build our own lockbox, but with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and TWA is feels like we have our very own LIMs teammate and colleague.

Pros

We built our Lockbox LIMs to as our entire data center and management system for our SARsCov2 Diagnostic Lab. From an operations standpoint, this software has been one of the most critical tools for our ability to test and report clinical patient results. By far the best part of the software is that it enables me to get results out the door, and once those results are out, I don't need to think about them again. TWA and Lockbox Lims keeps all of our data safe and secure, and the dashboards and reports keep us properly informed about the status of the lab at any given time.

Cons

Error handling in Lockbox LIMs can be confusing for a novice user. Because our software pipeline was highly customized, there are unusual ways in which errors can arise. It did take some time to gain an intuition for what was happening under the hood to cause issues to arise. The good news is that [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was intimately involved with our workflow and daily use as we established and modified Lockbox LIMs, so help and an explanation was never far away.

PW
AvatarImg

Peter W.

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lockbox LIMS by Thirdwave: Great LIMS for multi-center NIH funded program projects.

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were trying to solve a communication and coordination between performance centers that are located in different US states, and countries around the world, that are work together as a consortium for NIH and EU funded projects and needed a way to track samples, as well as disseminate sample and project meta-data, and perform management of each program.

Pros

The first strength is the design of the lockbox schema, that covers most of the basic LIMS features required by any laboratory that may need GCLP or GMP level requirements, including database encryption, tracking of sample custody, protocol/SOP management, and implementation of electronic forms and data entry when implementing protocols. A second and most important strength go this lies is the ability...

Cons

There is nothing I really don't like about the software. However the underlying Force API is a very powerful and has many features, and it would have been useful to have shorter case/article documentation to provide more focused help for the Lockbox Lims application itself for administrator and end users. Since we had started using the Lims, Thirdwave had published a support portal with a searchable knowledge base that contains articles for the common administrative tasks for managing the Lockbox application, that provides specific guidance to setting up and managing Lockbox features.

NK
AvatarImg

Netravathi K.

Biotechnology, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

NGS Core LIMS

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Working with the Professional team of [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and they understanding my needs and catering to it.

Cons

The system is a bit stubborn for customization

SM
AvatarImg

Shana M.

Biotechnology, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

TWA Lockbox is my salvation

Reviewed 4 years ago

I built a pop-up Covid19 Clinical testing facility from scratch and they built me a functioning CLIA approved LIMS in 3 weeks, then a HIPAA compliant physician portal 2 weeks later. They are gold.

Pros

Customer service 6/5, easy to customize and understand, out of the box solutions encourages and enabled!

Cons

A bit slow on the compute every so often but that's honestly probably just my internet at home.

DB
AvatarImg

Douglas B.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LockBox Lims a Laboratory Staple

Reviewed 4 years ago

Deployment of lockbox took a month to get users logging in and using the sandbox, then making modifications that made sense for our lab. Another month users were actually using the product and entering real data. now it is an integral part of the lab operations and we would be lost without the product for reporting creating lab reports as all of our data for reports is captured in lockbox. as we grow we will be looking at new opportunities to have some improvements made to make our work processes even more seamless.

Pros

1) Price. 2) Value. 3) ease of use 4) customization options and availabilty 5) Third Wave Analytics team after looking at products that were way out of our league in terms of price, lockbox lims was not only at a price we could afford, provided us with value that has proven itself over the years, and with the ease of use and non technical computer users easily adapted to teh software. The software is able to be customized for the needs of the lab and make work easier. GREAT PRODUCT!!!

Cons

as with any software there are items that we wanted and could not make happen. there were certain customizations that Third Wave bent backwards to assist us in making customizations. those things come at a cost. as an early adopter of this product there is more available today than was previously due to lack of development. still implementing those new API's is not free. Understandable but wish it could be.

EC
AvatarImg

Emma C.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This software has greatly simplified my job, and I am so grateful.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I love working with Lockbox LIMS. They are very responsive and extremely helpful. Their software has made my job so much easier and it has allowed me to spend more time focusing on other aspects of my job and get more work done rather than spending all of my time tracking down samples. I would highly recommend this software and company to anyone considering it.

Pros

The software is simple to use and there are many ways for you to complete the same task. Using other software in the past was so frustrating as you have to be exact and complete the tasks in the same manner. If you made an incorrect click nothing would work as expected. Whereas with Lockbox LIMS, the software is very user-friendly and logical, which is a major benefit to people in my profession. It has been so easy for us to incorporate this into our daily functioning to save us so much time and energy.

Cons

Due to the nearly limitless possibilities, it was difficult initially to figure out exactly what we needed. We had to go through several iterations in order to get to our current final product. We had become so fixed in using our spreadsheet based tracking that we initially created something that was not as useful as it could have been. However, after working with our primary contact at Third Wave on a regular basis we were able to develop something fantastic. She had many great ideas and based on her knowledge and experience we were able to greatly increase our productivity.

JH
AvatarImg

Jon H.

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great LIMS for Biotech Lab

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, it has been a great experience. I would highly recommend it.

Pros

We like how user friendly it is. We were able to get up and running on Lockbox to track our samples and projects within a few days. The screens are very user friendly. If we have questions, they answer them quickly. The software has helped us keep track of our samples and project status. Before we were using Excel. We are a CRO and Lockbox make our projects (samples, results, reports) much more organized.

Cons

When we first started using the software 2 years ago, the box map feature was not as nice as it is now. Now it provides even better features to customize which fields can be displayed. We have been too busy to turn on the new feature, but wished we had been trained on it initially because it is a nice way to find samples in boxes.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Carl S.

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great platform, great customer service

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use the platform to collect customer data and track the customers to the services used. We are also working on creating a maintenance tracking database which should be up and running soon. Customer service has been great through the whole process.

Pros

I appreciate the flexibility of the software to be changed to meet our various needs. We have customized a lot to meet our unique needs.

Cons

There is a finite upper limit on the amount of customization that can be done, but it is manageable to work around.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ryan C.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lockbox LIMS for Drug Compound Lifecycle Management

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have been using Lockbox LIMS for over a year and a half at our therapeutics company to manage the lifecycle of our drug compounds and therapeutic programs, and we couldn't be happier. We use Lockbox to track all of our samples, including sample attributes, storage locations, and sample lineage (derived samples and aliquots). The sample and storage management modules are feature-rich, flexible, and easy to use. I was able to implement the system for our lab without any assistance from my IT department, which tells you how easy it is to install. The customer support has been excellent. I wholeheartedly recommend Lockbox to any research lab, QC lab, or other type of organization that needs a LIMS.

Pros

Ease of use and implementation, flexibility, customer service.

Cons

My only "con" so-to-speak for the software is that some of my colleagues never fully realized how powerful it was.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bruce C H.

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Superlative LIMS for Microbiology Testing Service Lab

Reviewed 4 years ago

Lockbox LIMS permits us to track samples which divide and grow from an original submission and allows for one time client information entry with mutiple contacts/client.

Pros

Modularity is a key component for us as a microbiology lab. Customization is where the system shines and is a major need satisfied.

Cons

Initially the paradigm shift was a factor with us. We were implementing a number of software changes across the board and reached saturation for picking up new procedures.

MP
AvatarImg

Mattias P.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best LIMS Software I've Used

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, Lockbox LIMS allows us to track all the necessary laboratory functions (specimen tracking, equipment, inventory, etc), accounts, vendors, patients, testing processes, results, and reporting. Lockbox LIMS support team is by far the best I've worked with--incredibly responsive, friendly, and professional.

Pros

Very user-intuitive. Backed by functionality of salesforce platform makes it very easy to integrate all the necessary information, categorize by multiple differentiation points, easy reporting, easy viewing of all pertinent information in one spot.

Cons

Primary links based on internal numbering scheme as opposed to user-designated fields (e.g. links for patients are not MRN but internal "Subject" numbers so you have multiple reference points).

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive review and feedback! Lockbox does indeed support linking based on user designated identifiers. We will get in touch to show you how to turn that on in your instance.

JD
AvatarImg

Jeremy D.

Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent LIMS for CRO's

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our experiences with Lockbox have been nothing but positive. During the development process, we thought we had hit game-breaking roadblocks but they worked with us to resolve those issues and even passively improved the flow of some of our processes as we worked through those issues. In the 2+ years I have been working with the team at Lockbox, I have always had the feeling they truly care about our experience with their software and wanted our company to get the most out of their software in order to help us succeed.

Pros

The possibilities with Lockbox go on and on. What started as a desire to improve our inventory management has grown to incorporate most of the lab aspects of our business. It is very flexible and easy to use and customize. Customer service is top-notch and they are willing to listen to ideas for future improvements and customer needs. Also, being built on Salesforce, having access to the Salesforce AppExchange cannot be overlooked.

Cons

Initially, it was hard to wrap my head around how much the software could do if we wanted to use it to its maximum potential.

EM
AvatarImg

Erica M.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

COVID PCR and NGS LIMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are a diagnostic laboratory and as such are performing patient care. The LIMS is an integral part of this service that we provide and must be accurate and reliable. We have found that we can rely on LockBox LIMS to keep our patient records and perform sample tracking consistently.

Pros

ThirdWave Analytics created a COVID testing lab LIMS for us in record time, and has continued to be a valued partner in enhancing and expanding into novel diagnostics. Customer service is great!

Cons

Due to the relationships between objects in the database, some analyses require a workaround LIMS and it is not always intuitive how to do these workarounds. Our ThirdWave Analytics partner is always available to assist.

BS
AvatarImg

Brandi S.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lockbox LIMS Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Lockbox LIMS is allowing us to leave the paper process and to reduce the time analysts in the laboratory complete and execute paperwork in the lab. An environmental monitoring program for cleanrooms would be a nice module to add.

Pros

The software is easy to use and intuitive. Our workflow is very complicated and the software was able to handle it.

Cons

The audit trail could be improved to more easily capture why changes were made. A better e-signature process.

SP
AvatarImg

Sergio P.

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Use of Lockbox as a LIMS sytem in BWh

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We have tried several LIMS systems, and Lockbox is by far the best one. Its simple, affordable, user-friendly, and have good graphic inter phase. We were able to pick it up from the beginning. Also, the customer support is amazing, they are always responisve and make follow ups on every query. The team is always implementing upgrades and finding ways to make us, the customers, happier.

Cons

Using salesforce is always a little of a learning curve, but as I said, we were able to pick it up really fast.

FB
AvatarImg

Fallon B.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LIMS for the Accounting/Finance/Admin

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that the lab can update statuses of submissions in the queue in real-time. Previously we were using PDFs/paper forms and manually typing the billing items into a spreadsheet. With the LIMS, I'm able to run reports for any status that I need in my billing process.

Cons

I think that building the LIMS for our needs was a bit complex. Our lab has multiple services and within those services multiple options for a service. There seemed to be many meetings explaining how we needed the service requests built into the LIMS, but once everything was ironed out, it seems to flow well.

JB
AvatarImg

Joana B.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Easy to Customize!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I had a great experience designing, building and using Lockbox!

Pros

Really liked how easy the software is to customize and integrated with Salesforce.

Cons

The testing required after an update to ensure all the changes took place and current or existing features didn't get lost or changed.

JS
AvatarImg

Jennifer S.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LIMS system for busy lab

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This software is easy to use and keeps the lab organized.

Cons

Some database knowledge is needed while you set up the database but the support received makes it easy and user friendly.

JV
AvatarImg

Jess V.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for inventory management!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software has a wide range of features that can be customized to suit different lab workflows.

Cons

Due to the wide range of features, users might get confused about the necessary steps required for their actions. Thus, it is important for the administrators to enable only the necessary features for the particular groups of users.

PL
AvatarImg

Patrick L.

Food & Beverages, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent support and user friendly product

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very satisfied.

Pros

Lockbox provide excellent support, staff very kind and competent.

Cons

Configuration can be limited at some point.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid Platform for Laboratory sample management

Reviewed 4 years ago

It has been very helpful platform for our laboratory to control and manage our samples. The technical support was also really good and helpful.

Pros

The software is easy to use and very helpful in managing the the samples and keeping them organized

Cons

The configuration can be some how limited and you need a little bit of background in data base to be able to use it but it comes with a full demo so you can pick it up very easily