App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Nookal Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.6

/5

86
97%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.45/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Tech support easy to chat with friendly and helpful in addition to their own help page with tips tricks for setting up various processes - With pictures and excellent descriptions.
Nookal is great software, easy to use and has great integration with other apps like physitrack.
Excellent customer service/support - prompt replies to technical issues and really helpful staff who are responsive to niche needs and take action on feedback.
No certificate of capacity with treatment plans. Horrible phone / mobile interface - needs a change pronto.
No restriction of access to medical files - reception staff should not be able to access clinical notes.
Inability to switch off the multi paractice and multi disciplinary aspects. You have to live with that.

Nookal users...

TM3-logocaret
listing-logo

TM3

Cliniko-logocaret
listing-logo

Cliniko

coreplus-logocaret
listing-logo

coreplus

WeekCal-logocaret
listing-logo

WeekCal

How would you rate Nookal?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


86 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nookal Software for Physiotherapists

Reviewed 8 months ago

Nookal has been a fantastic platform for us as clinic. We were one of the early users in the Uk and the support has been consistently fantastic

Pros

Nookal is intuitive. Easy to set up and add users. New staff are quickly up to speed.

Cons

I find the reporting a little hit and miss at times.

Vendor response

Hi Peter, Thanks so much for the sensational review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid overall performance for Physio sole practice

Reviewed 8 months ago

On the whole, this is the best practice management software that I have tried that meets my needs

Pros

Layout is clear; features are great - integrates with Physitrack and Xero. Note taking capabilities the best of those (other practice management software programs) I’ve tried (and I tried a few!). Saves me an awful lot of admin time. Intuitive, user-friendly interface.

Cons

Would like to see more options for note-taking in terms of modifying fonts, font size, or the ability to add coloured flags, to highlight important bits of information.

Vendor response

Hi Hester! Thank you for your lovely and considered review. We're so glad that you love Nookal and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We also love user feedback, so happy to take any suggestions that you may have on board.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Nookal review

Reviewed 8 months ago

easy to use

Pros

It is very user friendly and has a few features that other programs don't have.

Cons

Missing features such as; with online bookings Nookal is not able to use a buffer between each booking. Online bookings would be a great advantage to a sole practitioner but without the buffer time between appointments I can't turn on the online booking function as I wouldn't have time to take payments and clean the room. I have asked several times during the past twelve months. I have also asked for a few other features and i am thinking of changing to another program however whilst other programs would allow me to do online bookings with a buffer they are missing some of the functions Nookal offers

Vendor response

Hi Lucy, Thanks for the great feedback - it's all greatly appreciated. Plus, we've got a solution for buffering coming in our next version of Online Bookings to be released in 2022. (We're adding the option to Hide the Duration of the Appointment from the Client, so you'll be able to allow for that extra time at the end of the session.)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nookal Review

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall we are very happy with Nookal and recommend it to colleagues

Pros

Nookal is easy to use, works great at our multi-site practice and allows you to manage a lot of the adminstrative side of things yourself (eg adding staff members etc)

Cons

A bit of a steep learning curve at the beginning so a little more help setting up could help, but this is only a minor issue

Vendor response

Hi Matthew, thanks so much for your friendly and constructive feedback! We're always looking to improve the onboarding experience for our new users, and are happy to help get you and the team up to speed with further sessions if needed. You're welcome to email us at support@nookal.com to get this set up.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

NOOKAL review

Reviewed 8 months ago

Excellent service and always improving

Pros

Extremely easy to learn and use - very intuitive

Cons

Modifying the dashboard to a more custom level and the mobile app is a little clunky

Vendor response

Thanks for your great review, Andrew - it's very much appreciated. We're happy to confirm that updates to the mobile app are a big focus for us in 2022.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nookal has helped my business

Reviewed 7 months ago

I have used it for the last 4 years and found it has assisted me in streamlining my business and has helped me to grow. Could never go back to paper notes ever again.

Pros

It is very easy to use and reasonably 'idiot-proof'. New staff are quickly able to navigate their way around. It has good integrations with other software platforms.

Cons

Some of the reporting could be improved to be able to customise the output of information to what I want to monitor as a business owner

Vendor response

Hi Rob, thanks heaps for the positive review, we are thrilled that you are so happy with Nookal. We are always looking at ways to improve so we will certainly take on board the comments regarding reporting. If at any stage you require assistance in using Nookal please do contact us via email at support@nookal.com

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I've never looked back since getting Nookal

Reviewed 8 months ago

Outstanding. I'm very pleased.

Pros

Automation. Diaries. Locations. Reminders. Classes. Setup.

Cons

Not able to send out bespoke forms at present e.g. consent forms, class intake forms

Vendor response

Hi Jonathan, thanks so much for your awesome review! We're glad that you love Nookal as much as we do and we will increase our range of client intake forms down the track. In the meantime, you can customise your client forms by adding Extras: https://www.nookal.com/help/adding-extra-information-to-client-profile - or alternatively, the Snapforms Integration may be for you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Estelle's Nookal Review

Reviewed 7 months ago

Happy.

Pros

Colour coding appointments. Fairly self explanatory most of the time.

Cons

When there is a clinic note in the wrong case file, the process to change it to another case is a pain.

Vendor response

Hi Estelle, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your fabulous feedback. We are thrilled that you are happy with Nookal and that you like the colour coding of appointments. We've taken note of your other comments and should you have any more feedback in the future please do not hesitate to email us at support@nookal.com

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Happy Steps experience of Nookal: nothing short of amazing

Reviewed 7 months ago

Nookal is a very easy to use practice management software, we highly recommend it.

Pros

Happy Steps is a fairly new Allied Health company. Going back to how you first started your journey for your company, it can be quite daunting to set up. We love how user friendly Nookal was, guiding us through our set up, with cute jellybean mascots which is a bonus! We also absolutely love the seamless integration of Nookal with other softwares e.g. Medicare/DVA, private health insurances via Hicaps Go & Medipass, Physitrack; invoicing templates; integration of outcome measures & online booking button link.

Cons

Nookal's calendar was slightly confusing for us to try to grasp initially with 2 users on setting up available time slots vs , however we managed to overcome this with the help guide on Nookal set up page.

Vendor response

Hi there, Michelle, we are so happy to have you onboard and really do appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We love that you enjoy Nookal's jellybean mascots, we think they add to the fun side of our website. Finally, we are thrilled you would recommend us and we thank you for choosing Nookal.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software!

Reviewed 8 months ago

I've enjoyed the software and will continue to use in the future.

Pros

Nookal is a user friendly management system. Easily use of patient management with quick access to all necessary information. The ability to incorporate custom letters and outcome measurements is elite.

Cons

SMS responding - would like to see this recognise responses and change appointment status.

Vendor response

Hi there, We're so happy to hear you're loving Nookal. I totally agree with you on the SMS responses, this would be an incredibly useful feature. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, your suggestions help us to continue to improve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Allied health Practice Manager review

Reviewed 8 months ago

The benefits that we have found is that everything with the client can be stored in the one place and all clinical notes are accessible for all practitioners to keep up to date with their clients progress, particularly when they are seeing multiple therapists across varying disciplines. Nookal has made it a lot easier, across the board for us to operate more efficiently. It is user friendly and relatively easy to navigate once you understand it. it has made our accounting processes alot smoother and easier to keep on top of.

Pros

I like how yo u can customize the diary, change the columns etc. It makes it easier to get a total picture of the day from a management perspective. The ability to add and customize user permissions is also very handy, although being able to set a permission for being able to rebook clients would make a great addition. I love how you can customize your own clinical note templates, this can be designed to suit the user and it definitely made our transition from paper notes to online a lot more smooth.

Cons

I would like to have a flag system. meaning that when an appointment is booked and the clients details are opened, we could flag (and get a pop up window) if a letter is due such as an EPC initial or final or a DVA end of cycle letter. - not being able to add multiple fee options for the same item # in classes is a bit of a pain particularly when we run Hydrotherapy in a group and have 45 minute...

Vendor response

Thanks for your positive review, Holly! It is super appreciated by myself and the Nookal team. Thank you for all your feedback as well. I've noted these and can confirm that we are definitely looking at automating invoice tracking i.e. which have been sent and not sent in the future. If you have any additional feedback, give us a shout at support@nookal.com :-).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nookal Makes Organisation Easier

Reviewed 8 months ago

Once templates are set up for everything it saves a lot of time. Diary management and booking clients is very easy as well. Having different colour options helps to visually see your week.

Pros

This product is easy to use once you have learnt the basics. Features that I especially like include: -Options for appointments, events and notes and features such as reoccurring apps/ events and different colours -Creating clinical note templates -Being able to copy previous notes across to a new note -Ease of adding clients to a waiting list -Ease of adding clients into the system -Having a monthly view of dates and being able to change week by week with the arrows. -Being able to set times in diaries -Client accounts and invoicing is quick and easy to use

Cons

1) Using additional features (such as creating templates for GP letters, learning how to claim through Medicare; different reporting functions) requires more time to sit down and work out how to use them. Having video tutorials in a 'library' would save a lot of time and confusion. 2) I think some more improvement on the flexibility of creating and adapting templates for GP letters and in-system...

Vendor response

Thank you for your wonderful feedback Jessarna - it's appreciated. We are always looking to improve features in future versions of the app, and we'll certainly be sure to make it the best we can for you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Nookal is great

Reviewed 8 months ago

Okay.

Pros

The diary, appt colour coding, changing appt length of time, the reporting / analysing. The help that is available. The report and letter writing. Ease of sending letters, messages and invoices.

Cons

There is no way to send a quote for example sleep system and list out items. Each quote being different to the other. I would like to keep a document ie list of NDIS equipment that can be up-dated easily. I have tried keeping in documents but becomes lost in other letters. The Action Plan is limiting and I dislike it is placed at the top of notes. Would be much better placed in notes when it was written. Integrating 2 client notes. Previously I have lost notes.

Vendor response

Hi Natalie, thanks for sharing your experience with Nookal. The development team has developed a quoting system, which is due for release in 2022. Regarding equipment, we have also developed a "Resources" function to manage rooms and equipment in your practice, which you may also find useful. This is also due for release in 2022.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good but not great (yet)

Reviewed 8 months ago

Nookal has been a large improvement from our previous practice management software. There are a number of really good features, however there are some things that need a little tweaking that would make the overall use significantly easier for both administrators and therapists.

Pros

Treatment notes are very easy to write. This saves therapists a large amount of time. Multiple clinics with tabs makes looking across clinics very easy.

Cons

Updating current therapist diaries has become very annoying. You can no longer edit a current timetable and have it begin from a certain date, as it automatically goes live from the date you input it on. This was not the case previously. This makes changing rosters troublesome and very annoying. The paste feature should not push everything above it upwards. Very annoying when completing treatment notes, pasting something, then having the line above move up to continue on with the paragraphgearlier.

Vendor response

Hi Ben, thank you for your great review and feedback. Our development team take all user feedback on board when planning upgrades, so thank you for taking the time to share your personal experience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Physiotherapy Review

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall really positive - keep improving!

Pros

Ease of use - it just does exactly what it should.

Cons

No certificate of capacity with treatment plans. Horrible phone / mobile interface - needs a change pronto

Vendor response

Thanks Liam, we appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. Agreed, we recognise that our mobile interface needs a rework and will be making improvements across the site in 2022.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Practice software.

Reviewed 8 months ago

Scheduling is excellent, Nookal does everything needed in a busy clinical practice.

Pros

Nookal is the best practice software I have ever used, user friendly, efficient and manages our physiotherapy practice optimally.

Cons

The communications between clinicians could be improved,mail icon is small, messages effectively but not readily accessed so not used often.

Vendor response

Hi Jenny, a sincere thank you for taking the time to leave us such an excellent review! We love to hear that our lovely users are happy and satisfied with Nookal. Thank you for the feedback regarding messaging also. Our team has created a new Message Centre in the Diary, which improves ease of use significantly, so we hope you love this new feature once released in early 2022.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Experienced user

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall brilliant so far. There are a few small gripes but it’s better than nearly every other software I’ve tried.

Pros

The vast majority of its features are extremely useful and I’m always pleasantly surprised to find something useful in there I didn’t even know I needed until I did, and then it just happened to already be there.

Cons

The forms need a lot of work, the ability to add or create fields on the forms that a “pushable” to a client intake tablet is nearly impossible. Makes it hard to get anything other than basic contact info. It would be good to be able to push multiple different forms with editable fields without having to invest in a third party software.

Vendor response

Hi James, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We will most be improving our forms further. We have an overhaul of this area in the pipeline and plan to start development next year.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Generally good PMS has restrictions in claiming ACC

Reviewed 8 months ago

Mostly good and smooth with some frustrations around slooooow process of claiming ACC.

Pros

Good note taking. Clear and useable diary. Excellent online booking system.

Cons

Diary set up could be more versatile, unable to open up a single day and enable bookings without opening that day going forward forever on that day. Drag and drop feature fiddly with short appointments. In NZ very much needed improvements are very slow in coming as we are such a small portion of their business. ACC claiming is woefully inefficient with some improvements but overall is much slower and time costly than other PMS's.

Vendor response

Hi Matthew, thanks so much for your positive and constructive feedback - it's really genuinely appreciated. We're always looking to improve the Nookal experience, and will continue to improve all features as best we can. Short appointments may be easier to handle by enabling larger Diary spacing - please let us know at support@nookal.com if we can guide you through this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great practice management system with excellent customer support

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall a fantastic product that our multi-clinic business relies on daily, with noticeable feature upgrades from our previous PMS.

Pros

- Excellent customer service/support - prompt replies to technical issues and really helpful staff who are responsive to niche needs and take action on feedback - Interface is easy to use and visually appealing - Great for multi-location practices - Constantly updating to add additional features and integrations - Easy claiming for Medicare/DVA - Easy to use on multiple devices - PC, phone, tablet - Flexible options to customise to individual business needs - Easy patient document upload

Cons

- Task management/staff messaging side could be improved - but this is a bonus feature that other PMS systems don't have at all and updates to this are currently in the pipeline - In built forms could offer more features and options, but there are multiple third party options that can be integrated

Vendor response

Hi Sarah, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a prodigious review. The Nookal team is thrilled that you find our service so helpful and enjoy using the Nookal programme as your clinic operating system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Loving Nookal

Reviewed 8 months ago

Great product. We are very happy we moved over to Nookal.

Pros

Medicare billing is great. The system is very user friendly. and the help desk/online support is awesome.

Cons

As a provider of the Medicare/DVA rebate system - It would be ideal if the diary showed the amount of appointments the patient has used in the year, not just how many they have left on their current EPC/D904. But this has been suggested to Nookal and they are working on it.

Vendor response

Hi Bree, thank you so much for your time to leave us such a glowing review. We really appreciate it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple Review

Reviewed 8 months ago

Is a good software to use in place of other medical recording.

Pros

Easy to use. Layout is organised & simple design.

Cons

No restriction of access to medical files - reception staff should not be able to access clinical notes.

Vendor response

Hi Monique, thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review! You can control which staff members have access to clinical notes in your account - you just have to customise your permissions groups: https://www.nookal.com/help/managing-staff-permissions Please feel free to contact us at support@nookal.com and we'll work to assist you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nookal & Full Circle Hand Therapy

Reviewed 8 months ago

We wanted an easy to use platform for both admin and therapists with secure patient notes storage. Nookal has met all of these needed

Pros

This is a flexible software tool that is well suited to an allied health environment. It has seen us through from a single user to a team of 4 therapists, and I can see that it will continue to be a great product as we grow

Cons

There are some features that need improving, or where greater control would be useful but the team at Nookal are usually willing to assist and often these fixes are already known and in the process of being fixed

Vendor response

Hi Charlotte! Thanks for your great review! We really appreciate that you took the time to write it. Please send any feedback regarding increased functionality to support@nookal.com, as we always take user feedback on board and love to keep our users happy with our upgrades.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nookal for Physio's and anyone else really

Reviewed 8 months ago

Excellent response to queries, continunous improvement of the nookal platform

Pros

Very intuitive, easy to use, can use desktop/tablet/phone

Cons

Integrating other systems can be challenging ie set up physitrack

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Simone - it's greatly appreciated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great program for reception based businesses

Reviewed 7 months ago

Loved using it! Has been one of the most easy program to learn and use in my career

Pros

Ease of use Easy to customise Help desk was great on the couple of times I had to use it

Cons

Would like to see notification to clients if running late

Vendor response

Thanks Coral for being so generous with your feedback. We are so thrilled to have you on board.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Overall good system that has all the base requirements needed

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall good system, a lot cheaper than the more complex systems I looked at using like Gensolve, and even though it is more simple, it has all the basic requirements and runs smoothly.

Pros

Love that it integrates with ACC so I can lodge claims and bill ACC direct through my invoicing. I like how simple it is to use and set up, it didn't take much to learn how to use all the features and the help information on the website was really good and detailed.

Cons

There should be more options for fully customizable client forms rather than just the one that asks for patient details (consent type form) so that we can customize any other questionnaires we would like to send to clients. I would also like there to be an easier way of bulk messaging/emailing clients direct through the system, rather than having to export the client data.

Vendor response

Kia ora Tara! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really do appreciate it. If you are looking for more customisable forms, we do integrate with a form building platform called Snapforms: https://www.nookal.com/help/connecting-nookal-to-snapforms You'll be happy to know we are working on a Bulk messaging feature as a future update. If you have any other suggestions to help us improve our user experience please send them to support@nookal.com. Nga mihi nui.