Optima Hospice Features

Optima Hospice

EMR & billing software specifically for hospice

4.34/5 (29 reviews)

Optima Hospice Feature Summary

  • EMR / EHR
  • Schedule optimization
  • Patient intake
  • Scheduling
  • Medication database
  • Electronic signature
  • Employee tracking
  • Private duty home care
  • Hospice-specific workflow
  • Real-time insights
  • Configurable role-based dashboards
  • Paperless IDG meetings
  • Automate IDG preparation
  • Referral source tracking
  • Task management
  • Intuitive admissions
  • Data syncronization
  • Actionable calendar
  • Appointment management
  • Create visit notes
  • Hard stops and configurable alerts
  • Compliance management
  • Scheduling
  • Documentation
  • Billing
  • Auto-generated CAHPS surveys
  • Comprehensive documents
  • Visual graphs
  • Real-time updates and secure messaging
  • HIPAA-secure
  • Status updates
  • Compliance-driven alerts
  • Pre-screened auditing
  • Real-time billing reports
  • Configurable dashboards
  • Referral stats and forms
  • Personalized views
  • Clinician comparison
  • Trend tracking
  • Monitor and drill down on referral details
  • Real-time data and analytics
  • Charting

Competitor Feature Comparison

Activity Dashboard
Alerts / Escalation
Appointment Management
Auditing
Automated Billing
Automated Scheduling
Built-In Database
Calendar Management
Charting
Claims Management
Compliance Management
Custom Forms
Data Synchronization
Document Management
Email Alerts
Facility Scheduling
GPS
HIPAA Compliance
Meeting Management
Monitoring
Real Time Analytics
Real Time Comparisons
Real Time Data
Real Time Reporting
Real Time Updates
Referral Source Tracking
Referral Tracking
Reporting & Statistics
Role-Based Permissions
SMS Integration
Survey Management
Surveys & Feedback
Task Management
Third Party Integration
Trend Analysis
Visual Analytics
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
Activity Dashboard
Alerts / Escalation
Appointment Management
Auditing
Automated Billing
Automated Scheduling
Built-In Database
Calendar Management
Charting
Claims Management
Compliance Management
Custom Forms
Data Synchronization
Document Management
Email Alerts
Facility Scheduling
GPS
HIPAA Compliance
Meeting Management
Monitoring
Real Time Analytics
Real Time Comparisons
Real Time Data
Real Time Reporting
Real Time Updates
Referral Source Tracking
Referral Tracking
Reporting & Statistics
Role-Based Permissions
SMS Integration
Survey Management
Surveys & Feedback
Task Management
Third Party Integration
Trend Analysis
Visual Analytics
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
Activity Dashboard
Alerts / Escalation
Appointment Management
Auditing
Automated Billing
Automated Scheduling
Built-In Database
Calendar Management
Charting
Claims Management
Compliance Management
Custom Forms
Data Synchronization
Document Management
Email Alerts
Facility Scheduling
GPS
HIPAA Compliance
Meeting Management
Monitoring
Real Time Analytics
Real Time Comparisons
Real Time Data
Real Time Reporting
Real Time Updates
Referral Source Tracking
Referral Tracking
Reporting & Statistics
Role-Based Permissions
SMS Integration
Survey Management
Surveys & Feedback
Task Management
Third Party Integration
Trend Analysis
Visual Analytics
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App

Optima Hospice Feature Reviews

22 reviewers had the following to say about Optima Hospice's features:

Trisha Smith

2013-03-25

We really wanted find a software that worked for us and would help us to become more in compliance with the ever changing COP's, yet we were unable to invest huge amounts of time or money to the process.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jacob Andrews

2013-03-11

We looked for software because charting on paper created more and more problems everyday.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Valerie Roberts

Review from a Billing Specialist using HospiceSoft

2017-02-24

I have found that the billing is super easy and very self-explanatory as well as posting payments.

Pros

Billing; Posting; Ease of Nursing Documentation; Dashboard; Customer Service

Cons

no Cons

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kristen Whitt

Excellent software

2016-11-07

Hospicesoft is an excellent program that helps the whole team work together to better fulfill the needs of the patient, eliminating the need for charts full of paper documents,

Pros

Finding any piece of the complex patient care puzzle is a breeze. The chart is laid out like any paper chart, and demographics, patient information, every disicipline form, every lab, etc... are all right at your fingertips, only a click or two away.

Cons

Because the careplan is revised from within the discipline notes, and defaults in from the previous notes all charting has to be done sequentially.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Optima Hospice

This is a great program, very user friendly (works like any Windows-based program with similar menus and functions) and well worth the cost. I highly recommend you consider it. The Pros greatly outweigh the Cons....

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Rud

Great, affordable software for small hospice operation

2016-09-06

Pros

Company also does billing for reduced cost

Cons

Takes too long to chart Nurse visits.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Optima Hospice

Great software for small hospice. Not efficient for 50 or more patients

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cathy Coplan

User friendly

2019-03-26

Documenting is easy

Pros

Navigation into all tabs are easy to use and user friendly

Cons

Cannot update care plan unless you are in a nurses note.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anne Lea Dimitriadis

Easy Patient Tracking

2014-07-11

Pros

The product is easy to learn and makes tracking patient progress easy (e.g., decline, symptoms).

Cons

If I had to find the least likable factor, I'd say that sometimes I get confused about why one piece of information/report should include information from entire chart, but then I find that it only pulls information from a portion of the chart (e.g., the Doctor's Order lists some medications, but not all the medications the patient is currently taking).

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Optima Hospice

Ensure that Medicare and Medicaid regulations are updated and incorporated into the software for best practices.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brenda Leonard

Terrible experience

2019-03-19

Nurses were frustrated with clinical documentation to the point that some of them resigned, admin staff was unable to get reports to balance and had to depend on Optima staff to do monthly reports for us in order for them to balance.

Pros

Ease of keeping up with benefit periods, recerts, etc

Cons

Everything else. They have a long way to go to bring this software to where it should be but we are getting an update soon that we are hopeful will take care of some of the issues.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin Kurian

A descent hospice software

2016-09-07

Pros

I like how this product has very good notes for some of the disciplines like nursing. It is also pretty simple to grasp and also has many good features such as pre-population of notes that helps us see how the patients are changing over time. The process of adding notes is also simple.

Cons

I did find that for compliance to certain Joint Commission and Chap standards, I had to do some manual changes to the documentation that hospicesoft offers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Optima Hospice

Definitely do a demo and be prepared to recognize that many softwares will not be fully compliant to the standards of accreditation groups and you yourself must be familiar with those policies and make sure you are being compliant even if the software does not offer an area for that.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melissa Eaker

Very easy to use

2019-03-20

This is a user friendly program, I have gotten great costumer service. It is nice to be dealing with the same people for several years.

Pros

The tabs are organized like a paper chart. Hospice is complex enough that we don't need a hard to use program.

Cons

Lots of steps to flip a patient to admitted.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Enid Wright

One Remarkable Instrument

2018-01-18

No more looking through those paper charts or begging people to bring in their paperwork to the office at the end of the month, what a Blessing!!!!!!

Pros

I like the fact that I no longer have to keep up with several pieces of paper for both schedule and time sheets at the same time. Billing made easy!!!

Cons

That it's taking me so long to learn all the features. But then again new things are added all the time so I just have to keep up.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jessica Riley

User Friendly

2019-04-25

Pros

It makes documenting for all of the clinicians easy while saving time.

Cons

I do not like this software since the most recent update that was done in April of 2019. Our company has had a hard time getting issues resolved in a timely manner. It seems as if this update was done prior to figuring out the quirks.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicole Pries

Horrible!

2018-08-21

Pros

Well known throughout SNF community. No other positive comments about this software agency at this time.

Cons

Implementation was constantly pushed back Our agency was basically helping them mold their software Unable to get Independence Blue Cross insurance properly working Office staff did not have control over numerous features Unable to move documents to a different chart Scheduling was a nightmare The offline & online functionality would be a disaster for our clinicians Wasted more time on implementation during COP's that we could not afford for the product not to fit our needs

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Gina Heugel


Thanks for your feedback. From the review we believe you’re referencing the Home Health product we’re no longer supporting. We’re sorry that you had such a negative experience and hope that you have the opportunity to experience our other software offerings in the future with a more positive experience. We’re committed to providing an excellent customer experience to all our users.

Read more
Sherri Foster

Ease of use

2016-06-07

Pros

The support team is great to work with. I love the living plan of care. It ensures our POC stay up to date.

Cons

Length of time it takes to document a routine nurse visit.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Optima Hospice

Make sure the vendor has a living Plan of Care that is updated with each nurse visit to capture all changes and offline charting capabilities. Ask if you have to pay for software updates.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kristen Thompson-Whitt

Excellent Software

2016-01-18

The only issue we have is the notes are very comprehensive and do take some time to complete, but they force the staff to document well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Peters

Fairly happy with product

2019-02-21

Training modules should be available. Some of the processes could be made smoother, especially admissions and discharges.

Pros

Integration of care plan issues and assessment.

Cons

The on-line help (knowledge) section is not useful at all. System is not able to be configured or personalized as much as we were led to believe.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amanda Brown

So far, after three months of use, Optima has made my work-life balance more balanced!

2018-01-09

So far so good...

Pros

Customer service is great!

Cons

A few changes to note input from the schedule page would be ideal in regards to social worker entries to improve ease of use and work hour accuracy.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melissa Eaker

Best program that I have worked with! Easy to navigate, easy to learn!

2014-07-15

Pros

The customer service is excellent.

Cons

I really can't think of any. In comparison to the other programs that I have used, these guys are by far the best.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Optima Hospice

Find out how people in the field like it, as well as in the office. It takes up to a year to fully understand all the ins and outs of a program. Spend the time setting it up. Put your local doctors, funeral home, pharmacies, and favorite care plans in it.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Linda Lester

System is very user friendly, all information is clearly identifiable.

2019-02-21

Love the software

Pros

That is is user friendly and easy to understand how to use the system.

Cons

scheduling, i would like to be able to look at a day and see all the visit for that day instead of having to look under each patient or each staff member

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carla Tabor

Administrator

2014-06-25

Pros

The software is user-friendly and easy to navigate through.

Cons

I would not say I don't like it, but I am having difficulty with Bereavement. I really think it is because I am not using it enough. Small census.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Optima Hospice

I have used two other software systems before coming to HospiceSoft, and there is no comparing the others. Hospice can be difficult, and when your software is also difficult, it can make for a hard day. We are very pleased with the current software.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
DLYNN ROGERS

New customer

2019-02-21

The support team and trainers are awesome!

Pros

Very easy to access and navigate, the trainers rock!

Cons

I haven't found much I don't like, but we are just really getting started in the training with the staff.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brenda Fernandez

Great Software!

2014-07-16

Pros

It is user-friendly and very easy to move around in.

Cons

Social Worker's financial info doesn't carry over to the Comprehensive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Optima Hospice

Make sure your software is web-based so you can access it from anywhere and that it is user friendly like HospiceSoft . Do not use iPads with the software; they don't work really well.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more