TheraBill Features

TheraBill

Practice management for rehab therapy & behavioral health

4.37/5 (69 reviews)

TheraBill Feature Summary

  • Home health management
  • Physician management
  • Multiple fee schedules
  • Patient check-in
  • Patient demographics
  • Patient records management
  • Payment processing
  • Procedure-based scheduling
  • Accounts receivable
  • Claims processing
  • Medical record integration
  • Patient payment history
  • Remittance advice
  • Referral management
  • Team notes
  • Assessment & treatment plans
  • Authorization tracking
  • Assessment notes
  • Printable monthly statements
  • Eligibility verification
  • Patient account management
  • Patient eligibility checks
  • Billing estimates
  • Insurance management
  • Progress notes
  • Data encryption
  • Payment reports
  • Claim aging report
  • Balances report
  • Payment posting & tracking
  • Patient portal
  • Invoice branding
  • WebPT integration
  • Activity logging
  • Appointment reminders
  • Calendar sync with Google
  • Custom reports
  • Electronic submission
  • HIPAA compliance
  • Invoice management
  • Permission management
  • Electronic health record (EHR)
  • SSL security
  • Printable receipts
  • Automated scheduling
  • Electronic data interchange
  • Drag & drop interface
  • PCI DSS compliance
  • Event scheduling
  • User access controls
  • Password management
  • Document management

Competitor Feature Comparison

Access Control
Activity Tracking
Appointment Management
Assessment Management
Authentication
Automated Scheduling
Billing & Invoicing
Calendar Sync with Google
Claims Management
Credit Card Processing
Customer Database
Customizable Reporting
Document Management
Drag & Drop Interface
Electronic Data Interchange
Electronic Payments
Electronic Submission
Event Scheduling
Forms Management
HIPAA Compliance
Invoice Management
Multi-Location
PCI DSS Compliance
Password Management
Permission Management
Receipt Management
Records Management
Reminders
SSL Security
Self Service Portal
Visit WebsiteCompare App
Access Control
Activity Tracking
Appointment Management
Assessment Management
Authentication
Automated Scheduling
Billing & Invoicing
Calendar Sync with Google
Claims Management
Credit Card Processing
Customer Database
Customizable Reporting
Document Management
Drag & Drop Interface
Electronic Data Interchange
Electronic Payments
Electronic Submission
Event Scheduling
Forms Management
HIPAA Compliance
Invoice Management
Multi-Location
PCI DSS Compliance
Password Management
Permission Management
Receipt Management
Records Management
Reminders
SSL Security
Self Service Portal
Visit WebsiteCompare App
Access Control
Activity Tracking
Appointment Management
Assessment Management
Authentication
Automated Scheduling
Billing & Invoicing
Calendar Sync with Google
Claims Management
Credit Card Processing
Customer Database
Customizable Reporting
Document Management
Drag & Drop Interface
Electronic Data Interchange
Electronic Payments
Electronic Submission
Event Scheduling
Forms Management
HIPAA Compliance
Invoice Management
Multi-Location
PCI DSS Compliance
Password Management
Permission Management
Receipt Management
Records Management
Reminders
SSL Security
Self Service Portal
Visit WebsiteCompare App

TheraBill Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about TheraBill's features:

Carrol Esterhuizen

We switched from Kareo to Therabill and the customer service at Therabill is non- existent. They cannot transfer you to another person in the other department as the building is next door.

2018-06-12

We have had the same biller for 13 years and 3 different billing systems and very flexible - she doe not like the feature of therabill at all.

Pros

There were supposed to be improved management reports and features that we are yet to find, as the folks at therabill cannot even help us find that which they are advertising as a benefit.

Cons

The result being that when we had Kareo the previous billing system compatible with WebPT, our bills were automatically sent out by the clearing house, the click of a button.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Travis Smith

Perfect for our Practice

2015-05-11

Pros

New features and updates are always rolling out that enhance the billing, scheduling, and practice management experience.

Cons

It is easy to adjust to the changes, however, and use of them are well documented by the vendor.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

What features does your practice or provider need in management software? Scheduling, electronic billing, ERA support, custom reports, electronic documentation? Therabill supports all of these!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Janet Gibson

great simple software to use

2017-05-08

Pros

It gives you a lot of options to run reports, credit card integration, great dashboard. Great price for everything the software does.

Cons

Patient portal doesn't allow intake paperwork.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Travis Smith

Affordable, Fully featured Mental Health Practice Management

2012-09-05

Our practice was looking for an all in one, billing/ scheduling/ practice management system.

Pros

- Fully featured billing and practice management system

Cons

Currently, none whatsoever.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bonnie goetsch

PT billing software that is not will integrated with documentation system and has many short falls

2018-01-19

Pros

it goes along with WebPT and is affordable for a sole practitioner , easy to print reports and invoices

Cons

is not user friendly, does not integrate well with WebPT , have to do double entries sometimes bc things will not cross over , with self pay pts have to go in and apply to DOS manually will not automatically assign it to a DOS

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom Gibson

Easy To Use

2017-05-11

We really like this software, it has been a great improvement for us and we are anxious to see the new additions when they are ready to be installed.

Pros

Our therapists really like the ability to communicate securely with clients through the patient portal. The ability to process payments (especially credit cards) within the system has been a huge time saver.

Cons

We would like to see more options for our administrators to customize some layouts and reports, would like to see the option to search clients more easily, and move the tab "select therapists" from the bottom corner (it is very hard to get to sometimes).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Racheal Gower

Functional for a small or large private practice

2017-07-11

I love how it keeps track of how many days have passed with overdue bills.

Pros

Within a few clicks I am able to submit claims to insurance companies.

Cons

Some features with finding bills and payment receipts required assistance for me to find when I was initially learning the program.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jane Walker, PhD

Best deal for what it offers!

2012-05-13

And, the billing/scheduling in one is both cost effective and also helps to ensure that a session is not missed.

Pros

., who don't bill/make as much as some types of providers) *US (IL) based *support is quick to respond *securely located servers, with a set-up mindful of HIPAA

Cons

*actually many cons get addressed when you give feedback and Joe has time to get to it :-) *would be nice to drag an appointment from one time to another (I believe he is working on this as well!)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa Pope

Very Happy with Therabill

2014-10-13

Pros

The ease and simplicity of filing insurance claims, scheduling, and billing is great.

Cons

There really isn't anything that we are not happy with.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

I highly recommend Therabill to any Counseling/Therapy services. Try it free for 30 days, but you really don't get the full aspect of Therabill in just a 30-day trial.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amy Williams

Amazing and Easy to use

2014-07-18

Pros

The ease of charting, billing, and tracking is amazing.

Cons

Toggling between the billing desk and client chart could be easier, but it's not much work as it is.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

For private practices and small counseling offices, this product is a perfect fit. It is affordable, and customer service is so good that they are willing to talk you through any problem.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shila Russell

Therabill has cut down on my paperwork time.

2014-12-11

Pros

The best part about this product are the billing features.

Cons

My least favorite feature is the schedule/calendar.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

Use the 30 day free trial to determine if Therabill meets your needs. Also take advantage of the free training.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chuck Masur

Therabill Review

2011-12-07

Would definitely recommend this for an individual provider or a small agency.

Pros

Great from the "billing submission" perspective.

Cons

Difficult for an inexperienced person to decide on which reports to generate, when and how often.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from TheraBill


Thanks for the useful feedback. I would like to respond.

I do want to point out that there is an instructional video for creating customized reports at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iKxZ18EJ4zI

I do not feel it would be wise for Therabill to dictate when, how often, or even if you should create reports. Therabill caters to a large audience, from solo providers to groups over of 100 providers. There are some commonly needed pre-made reports if you need them under Filing -> Reports. In addition to the commonly used pre-made reports, I will put up some report examples from the customized reports.

Therabill does give you the ability to enter a "Deposit Date" with each of your payments entered. This could be used to reconcile your payments.

Read more
Keri Churchill

Therabill is great!

2011-12-08

I recommend this program for anyone billing insurance for private practice.

Pros

Easy to use, a few clicks to submit a claim and many features that make tracking claims, payments etc. a breeze!

Cons

Non at this time

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Denise Gage

Very Pleased!

2013-09-21

For years I have been using a different practice management product that required I export to a claims processing service.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cynthia Dundas

TheraBill was a life saver

2010-08-08

If you are a therapist doing your own billing, I HIGHLY recommend that you try TheraBill.

Pros

It sends my insurance claims electronically and I get payment much much faster from the insurance companies.

Cons

I can't think of any cons at this moment.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Angela Lengerich

2013-04-14

I can submit all of my insurance claims through here.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Arni Casareale

Great for solo or small group practice

2017-05-11

We have 10 clinicians and this software is great. it is very easy to use and learn. The billing features work well but for a large organization would not be robust enough.

Pros

Very intuitive, adequate customization, lots of training videos, reachable/live customer support, easy to learn.

Cons

Could be more customizable, billing features are not as robust for larger practices, wish there was a better way to track disbursements to clinicians i.e. better payroll feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anastasia Ivanenko

The people at Therabill are incredible!

2015-02-27

Pros

They have incredible customer service! When we signed up with them, we were on the phone several times a day.

Cons

Still, there are a few things in the reports I would like to change like calculating payments coming from different sources in order to pay biller vs therapists.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

It is a very user-friendly software with incredible customer service.It's very good for small practice.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Meg CHALMERS

Made my life 1000x easier

2011-12-08

I have also used other online billing services that were often flawed and had terrible customer support.

Pros

Great customer support, Very detailed program, meets all my needs, love the section where we can send our bills back to the invoicing area, Fast turn around with payments from ins. companies, I like being able to re-activate clients if I need to, the recurring clients section in a must, automatic insurance card from the state is very helpful.

Cons

I don't add new clients that often but always stumble over doing so.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from TheraBill


Hi Meg,

I agree with the what you say about the "credit card title". I am going to make the credit card title a non-required field soon. However, here is a brief explanation of what it is.

It is really just a way for you to title the insurance card in any way you want. Think of it is a free style note. The title is displayed to you when you go to create an insurance claim, therefore, you can put anything in it that will help you at that point.

The main reason behind it is because sometimes an insurance company may accept electronic claims through a third party (with a different name). For example, the insurance company name on the physical insurance card you receive from the client might be "Acme Insurance". But they accept claims through "XYZ Corporation". You would have to choose XYZ Corporation as the insurance company (who to route the claim to), but you could title it "XZY Corporation" to match what is on the insurance card.

Read more
Nuha Hasan

Just needs a few fixes

2019-04-06

It's a wonderful resource however requires a great deal of practice and guidance on how to navigate the steps of billing and understanding the what and why of what I'm doing.

Pros

- Amazing that a lot of the work is done for you and system is already in place and automatically populates all the info you need, and with just the click of a button you can bill out your claims. - Love that it's connected directly to my documentation system. - Customer service is good and knowledgable - Very helpful resources, especially knowledge videos!

Cons

- I wish there was a lot more specific guidance during the onboarding call with how to use the system (for ex: I was supposed to receive another call to continue training however still haven't had the opportunity to complete the training despite already being at the point of needing it and unsure of how to proceed) - Customer service is great however I feel like no one is really going over the basics of Therabill and what everything means, especially for someone who is so new to the system and billing in general.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nick Eskandari

TheraBill, good tool, non-responsive support

2017-04-21

It is too bad, because our patients do like receiving reminder emails, however until this bug is fixed, we cannot send them reminders, nor can we populate our therapists' Google calendars with their appointments.

Pros

Great features, great value, very intuitive

Cons

Customer support

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patricia Faber

For the 6th time, reminders not getting sent

2018-07-12

When this was a stand alone independent company, you could get prompt responses to concerns, reasonable and frequent updates. There is zero care about behavioral health support at this point. Don''t do it. There are better programs out there and to switch is a huge burden.

Pros

It had been a fairly comprehensive billing and documentation software.

Cons

Frequent outages with PAID text reminders not being sent because the developers didn't create enough memory, no real updates of importance or frequency.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Adam Willis

Completely thrilled with Therabill

2011-12-30

I would recommend Therabill to any provider just beginning a practice, as we were, as well as to an existing provider looking for a more concise form of record keeping and billing.

Pros

Customer service (we typically receive a response within an hour) Therabill's ability to change with our needs Easy to understand language Clear explanation of each field Cost effective Creator very in touch with the needs of therapist and their language

Cons

I do not have any negative issues.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
April Arden

Therabill billing website is the best out there.

2012-01-17

I would recommend Therabill to anyone who needs to bill insurance companies for services.

Pros

Therabill website gives me the ability to bill insurance companies for services provided, keep track of what has been paid, print out statements for clients who pay out-of-pocket, schedule appointments, write client notes and many other things that I have not yet explored.

Cons

No cons, that I have found.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Radhika Bhagat

works great in conjunction with webpt

2018-09-06

Pros

I love how it is interconnected with my webpt software and makes billing easy with the click of a button.

Cons

My Medicare ERA does not automatically get put in therabill.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more