TheraBill Features

TheraBill

Practice management for rehab therapy & behavioral health

4.48/5 (63 reviews)

TheraBill Feature Summary

  • Home health management
  • Physician management
  • Multiple fee schedules
  • Patient check-in
  • Patient demographics
  • Patient records management
  • Payment processing
  • Procedure-based scheduling
  • Accounts receivable
  • Claims processing
  • Medical record integration
  • Patient payment history
  • Remittance advice
  • Referral management
  • Team notes
  • Assessment & treatment plans
  • Authorization tracking
  • Assessment notes
  • Printable monthly statements
  • Eligibility verification
  • Patient account management
  • Patient eligibility checks
  • Billing estimates
  • Insurance management
  • Progress notes
  • Electronic health record (EHR)
  • HIPAA compliance
  • Automated scheduling
  • Appointment reminders
  • Electronic data interchange
  • Printable receipts
  • Electronic submission
  • SSL security
  • Data encryption
  • Password management
  • Drag & drop interface
  • Event scheduling
  • Calendar sync with Google
  • Document management
  • Custom reports
  • Payment reports
  • Claim aging report
  • Balances report
  • Activity logging
  • User access controls
  • Permission management
  • Payment posting & tracking
  • Invoice management
  • Patient portal
  • Invoice branding
  • WebPT integration
  • PCI DSS compliance

Healthcare & Pharmaceuticals Feature Comparison

Most popular features of all Healthcare & Pharmaceuticals apps

Activity Dashboard (75 other apps)
Appointment Management (78 other apps)
Automated Scheduling (51 other apps)
Automatic Notifications (49 other apps)
Automatic Reminders (96 other apps)
Billing & Invoicing (91 other apps)
Calendar Management (61 other apps)
Charting (68 other apps)
Claims Management (64 other apps)
Client Portal (71 other apps)
Compliance Management (49 other apps)
Customizable Reporting (44 other apps)
Customizable Templates (51 other apps)
Document Storage (51 other apps)
Electronic Signature Capture (48 other apps)
HIPAA Compliance (127 other apps)
Health Insurance (45 other apps)
Records Management (96 other apps)
Task Scheduling (44 other apps)
Workflow Management (51 other apps)

Competitor Feature Comparison

TheraBill Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about TheraBill's features:

Travis Smith

Perfect for our Practice

2015-05-11

Pros

New features and updates are always rolling out that enhance the billing, scheduling, and practice management experience.

Cons

It is easy to adjust to the changes, however, and use of them are well documented by the vendor.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

What features does your practice or provider need in management software? Scheduling, electronic billing, ERA support, custom reports, electronic documentation? Therabill supports all of these!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carrol Esterhuizen

We switched from Kareo to Therabill and the customer service at Therabill is non- existent. They cannot transfer you to another person in the other department as the building is next door.

2018-06-12

We have had the same biller for 13 years and 3 different billing systems and very flexible - she doe not like the feature of therabill at all.

Pros

There were supposed to be improved management reports and features that we are yet to find, as the folks at therabill cannot even help us find that which they are advertising as a benefit.

Cons

The result being that when we had Kareo the previous billing system compatible with WebPT, our bills were automatically sent out by the clearing house, the click of a button.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Travis Smith

Affordable, Fully featured Mental Health Practice Management

2012-09-05

Our practice was looking for an all in one, billing/ scheduling/ practice management system.

Pros

- Fully featured billing and practice management system

Cons

Currently, none whatsoever.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Racheal Gower

Functional for a small or large private practice

2017-07-11

This product has been extremely helpful in reducing time spent on insurance invoicing and reviewing EOBs.

Pros

Within a few clicks I am able to submit claims to insurance companies.

Cons

Some features with finding bills and payment receipts required assistance for me to find when I was initially learning the program.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa Pope

Very Happy with Therabill

2014-10-13

Pros

The ease and simplicity of filing insurance claims, scheduling, and billing is great.

Cons

There really isn't anything that we are not happy with.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

I highly recommend Therabill to any Counseling/Therapy services. Try it free for 30 days, but you really don't get the full aspect of Therabill in just a 30-day trial.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shila Russell

Therabill has cut down on my paperwork time.

2014-12-11

Pros

The best part about this product are the billing features.

Cons

My least favorite feature is the schedule/calendar.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

Use the 30 day free trial to determine if Therabill meets your needs. Also take advantage of the free training.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jane Walker, PhD

Best deal for what it offers!

2012-05-13

And, the billing/scheduling in one is both cost effective and also helps to ensure that a session is not missed.

Pros

., who don't bill/make as much as some types of providers) *US (IL) based *support is quick to respond *securely located servers, with a set-up mindful of HIPAA

Cons

*actually many cons get addressed when you give feedback and Joe has time to get to it :-) *would be nice to drag an appointment from one time to another (I believe he is working on this as well!)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Keri Churchill

Therabill is great!

2011-12-08

I recommend this program for anyone billing insurance for private practice.

Pros

Easy to use, a few clicks to submit a claim and many features that make tracking claims, payments etc. a breeze!

Cons

Non at this time

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cynthia Dundas

TheraBill was a life saver

2010-08-08

If you are a therapist doing your own billing, I HIGHLY recommend that you try TheraBill.

Pros

It sends my insurance claims electronically and I get payment much much faster from the insurance companies.

Cons

I can't think of any cons at this moment.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Janet Gibson

great simple software to use

2017-05-08

Pros

It gives you a lot of options to run reports, credit card integration, great dashboard. Great price for everything the software does.

Cons

Patient portal doesn't allow intake paperwork.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Angela Lengerich

2013-04-14

I highly recommend this product for any allied health care professional to help keep their billing and medical records organized and easily accessible.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Susan Berthiaume

It has gone remarkably well. We love it!

2014-08-02

Pros

Our counseling practice is private pay, so we cannot speak to any of the insurance parts of the program

Cons

The payments piece is somewhat awkward, especially since we offer a sliding scale to a third of our clients.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

Try it and see! We've found the support to be very helpful. Even before we signed on to use the product, they were available to answer all our questions with regard to how the program runs.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bonnie goetsch

PT billing software that is not will integrated with documentation system and has many short falls

2018-01-19

Pros

it goes along with WebPT and is affordable for a sole practitioner , easy to print reports and invoices

Cons

is not user friendly, does not integrate well with WebPT , have to do double entries sometimes bc things will not cross over , with self pay pts have to go in and apply to DOS manually will not automatically assign it to a DOS

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Meg CHALMERS

Made my life 1000x easier

2011-12-08

I have also used other online billing services that were often flawed and had terrible customer support.

Pros

Great customer support, Very detailed program, meets all my needs, love the section where we can send our bills back to the invoicing area, Fast turn around with payments from ins. companies, I like being able to re-activate clients if I need to, the recurring clients section in a must, automatic insurance card from the state is very helpful.

Cons

I don't add new clients that often but always stumble over doing so.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from TheraBill


Hi Meg,

I agree with the what you say about the "credit card title". I am going to make the credit card title a non-required field soon. However, here is a brief explanation of what it is.

It is really just a way for you to title the insurance card in any way you want. Think of it is a free style note. The title is displayed to you when you go to create an insurance claim, therefore, you can put anything in it that will help you at that point.

The main reason behind it is because sometimes an insurance company may accept electronic claims through a third party (with a different name). For example, the insurance company name on the physical insurance card you receive from the client might be "Acme Insurance". But they accept claims through "XYZ Corporation". You would have to choose XYZ Corporation as the insurance company (who to route the claim to), but you could title it "XZY Corporation" to match what is on the insurance card.

Read more
April Arden

Therabill billing website is the best out there.

2012-01-17

I would recommend Therabill to anyone who needs to bill insurance companies for services.

Pros

Therabill website gives me the ability to bill insurance companies for services provided, keep track of what has been paid, print out statements for clients who pay out-of-pocket, schedule appointments, write client notes and many other things that I have not yet explored.

Cons

No cons, that I have found.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Arni Casareale

Great for solo or small group practice

2017-05-11

We have 10 clinicians and this software is great. it is very easy to use and learn. The billing features work well but for a large organization would not be robust enough.

Pros

Very intuitive, adequate customization, lots of training videos, reachable/live customer support, easy to learn.

Cons

Could be more customizable, billing features are not as robust for larger practices, wish there was a better way to track disbursements to clinicians i.e. better payroll feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patricia Faber

For the 6th time, reminders not getting sent

2018-07-12

There is zero care about behavioral health support at this point.

Pros

It had been a fairly comprehensive billing and documentation software.

Cons

Frequent outages with PAID text reminders not being sent because the developers didn't create enough memory, no real updates of importance or frequency.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rachel Latham

Therabill thoughts

2017-08-09

Pros

Especially helpful is the box that will show any electronic EOB's that have been rejected.

Cons

Therabill could improve their user friendliness by using terms that match to the task.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amy Williams

Amazing and Easy to use

2014-07-18

Pros

The ease of charting, billing, and tracking is amazing.

Cons

Toggling between the billing desk and client chart could be easier, but it's not much work as it is.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

For private practices and small counseling offices, this product is a perfect fit. It is affordable, and customer service is so good that they are willing to talk you through any problem.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marilee Feldman

Best software for therapists

2012-10-31

Outstanding product with amazing customer support. A great value!

Pros

It is so easy to use for scheduling and billing, and at the tail end of the billing process it seamlessly enters payments and adjustments from the insurance companies into my clients' accounts.

Cons

I cannot find any downside to this product.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chuck Lindeman

Therabill review

2015-05-20

Pros

Therabill is easy to complete session notes, scheduling, and to complete billing

Cons

Therabill at times will "stop running scripts" which means that I have to log out and then back in to complete my tasks

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering TheraBill

It is a one stop shopping software that is easy to use

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Radhika Bhagat

works great in conjunction with webpt

2018-09-06

Pros

I love how it is interconnected with my webpt software and makes billing easy with the click of a button.

Cons

My Medicare ERA does not automatically get put in therabill.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nick Eskandari

TheraBill, good tool, non-responsive support

2017-04-21

It is too bad, because our patients do like receiving reminder emails, however until this bug is fixed, we cannot send them reminders, nor can we populate our therapists' Google calendars with their appointments.

Pros

Great features, great value, very intuitive

Cons

Customer support

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Denise Gage

Very Pleased!

2013-09-21

For years I have been using a different practice management product that required I export to a claims processing service.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anna Rooney

Therabill Meets My Billing and Bookeeping Needs

2013-02-15

I would recommend Therabill if you need a program that does both your billing and bookkeeping.

Pros

I bill insurance companies direcetly as well as CBO for Early Intervention.

Cons

LIke any program, you need to be pro-active about entering the information. You also need to take a little time to watch the very helpful videos. However, if you have questions, customer support is great!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more