App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

TherapyAppointment Logo

TherapyAppointment

4.2
(101)

Write a review

You provide the therapy, we'll provide the rest.

learn more

(5)

TherapyAppointment Pricing

Pricing overview

Value for money rating

4.3

/5

101

Price starts from

10

Per month

Flat Rate

Pricing options
Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Pricing details

Flexible plans for growing practices. Pricing automatically adjusts based on usage.
Getting Started: $10/month for 10 or fewer scheduled appointments per month.
Gearing up: $39/month for 11-39 scheduled appointments per month.
Established: $59/month for unlimited scheduling.

Group pricing available.

**Discounts available for non-profits and universities. Speak to Sales today to request a pricing review.**

What users say

Very friendly customer support. Great product for the price.
It offers both email and text/voice reminders which is included in the monthly price. It securely stores credit/debit cards for easy payment.

Popular contenders

Price starts from

125

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

1500

One-time payment

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

250

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

60

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

7

/user

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Reviewers who mentioned pricing said:

AS
AvatarImg

Annette S.

Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

TherapyAppointment review from Dr. Savitz-Smith's office

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, our experience with TherapyAppointment has been positive. Support team is always helpful and informative.

Pros

It is easy to perform all of the functions and it is easy to read/view.

Cons

It would be helpful if there was a way to split billing as well as save more than one credit card on file as we often have more than one party paying for service (e.g. separated parents splitting the cost for child's therapy).

Vendor response

Hi Annette, Thank you for sharing your experience and being part of the TherapyAppointment family! We are glad your experience has been positive-- our Support team strives to help you with your every need! And thank you for your feedback; our new software will be able to store and remember a card! We're continually working to ensure our new billing features are more streamlined, so we always appreciate our community's feedback on how we can improve! Thanks again for being part of the TherapyAppointment family! Best, The TherapyAppointment Team

LM
AvatarImg

Lisa M.

Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Therapy Appointment

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very positive. Good customer support and good value for the dollar.

Pros

Very easy to use. Submits claims and stores record electronically. Offered appointment reminders to clients.

Cons

The statements portion is cumbersome and could use revamping.

Vendor response

Hi Lisa, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so glad that our software has helped you manage your practice and you've found it to be a good value. We're grateful to have you as a member of the TherapyAppointment family! Your insights on the statements portion of our software are helpful, and we've spent a considerable amount of time revamping billing, even between the beta and TA2.0! We expect you'll find it as streamlined as the rest of our new software -- but please continue to let us know how we can improve! Thanks again for your thoughtful review and for being part of our community! We really appreciate your insight as we seek to continually grow and improve. Best Wishes, The TherapyAppointment Team

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Mental Health Care, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

TA is excellent and the customer services is bar none!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been using TA since before the 2.0 upgrade and I really enjoy it because it is so easy to use and the upfront pricing (there aren't any extra fees) is helpful and promotes the honesty that we need in our profession. I can't say enough about customer service, IT, and the insurance specialists-they are prompt, and problems or bugs get fixed quickly-plus they are so friendly and enjoyable to talk to while they are helping with the problem or explaining how to do something.

Pros

I love the fact that I can submit claims directly from TA and that they do a check to make sure everything is correct BEFORE I send the claim. It's easy to use and the customer service is so prompt, I feel like I have my own assistant! I like that my clients can confirm appointments, schedule online, email me and add attachments in a HIPPA secure environment.

Cons

I'd love to be able to upload custom documents that my clients can fill out and sign electronically such as a release of information.

Vendor response

Hi! Thank you for being part of our community and for your kind words. We are happy to have you! You'll be excited to know that TA2.0 does allow you to upload custom docs that can be signed with an e-signature. We are looking forward to migrating your practice when migration opens!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adam B.

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Overall great software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall this is a great product and if up to me I would purchase it. Otherwise, I'm glad they did and do recommend it.

Pros

Ease of use This software is user friendly, great interface, runs smoothly, easy claim submission, great for billing and note taking.

Cons

Can be expensive for just a solo practitioner. They take a long tome for their upgrade to 2.0. Several times they encountered glitches in their system.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it very much!

AT
AvatarImg

Aimee T.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Office Managing Made Easy!!!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been with T.A. for several years and have no real complaints. Their customer service is friendly and fast and they are always on top of anything that comes up that may disrupt service. I would recommend them to anyone looking to lighten their load of "office" work.

Pros

I have been a user of therapy appointment for years!! I am an individual therapist with no employees and this software does almost everything for me at an incredibly reasonable price! I highly recommend it!

Cons

There have been two things that have been difficult - both of which I believe are being taken care of in the upcoming release of 2.0. One is that clients can't reset their passwords without contacting me, and the other is that doing paperwork electronically is not an option.

Vendor response

Hi Aimee, Thanks so much for your review and thank you for being part of the TherapyAppointment community. We're glad you're here! :) TA2.0 is definitely going to help lighten your load -- between e-signatures and the patient portal passwords being more patient-friendly (yes, they can reset it themselves!) alone, we'll take care of more paperwork than ever before. Also new to this platform is the ability to constantly evolve, so as we find new ways to help lighten the load and/or improve our features, you won't have to wait! Thanks again for being part of our community!

LT
AvatarImg

Laura T.

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent Electronic medical record and billing software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like the ease of writing clinical notes, keeping a schedule, and using these to file claims through the system.

Cons

It is a little expensive for the solo practitioner. The cost adds to monthly overhead which solo practitioners must keep low. It's efficiency at filing claims does make it worth it.

Vendor response

Hi Laura, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review, and thanks for being a valued member of the TherapyAppointment community! We are so happy that our software has been a helpful solution to help you grow your solo practice. And we completely understand how tough being a solo practitioner can be -- our founder was one himself! To that end, we've set up a variety of transparent,...

ND
AvatarImg

Nicole D.

Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great user interface

Reviewed 6 years ago

Excellent customer support. Very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Easy to use billing software.

Pros

User interface

Cons

The only intergtated payment option is Cayan which I'm not jazzed about due to cost and the fact they bill quarterly which makes it harder to reconcile/track. Also no room assignment function is available but I've been told it will be available when the new software update rolls out soon in the spring.

JC
AvatarImg

Jessica C.

Mental Health Care,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great price, lots of good features, limited EMR options

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Very affordable and easy to use. Great ERA electronic billing features. Offers appointment reminders for no additional cost. Very friendly customer support. Great product for the price!

Cons

The EMR is very limited, has an older interface, not mobile friendly.

LG
AvatarImg

L. Gordon B.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Love using TherapyAppointment!

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have used TherapyAppointment for the last 5 years in my practice, Kingsport Counseling Associates, PLLC. I can say that I have had few if any problems with this system. I do like the integrated appointment reminders and also the integration it has with claims clearinghouse and makes it absolutely seamless in filing insurance claims. The other big feature is the ability to integrate the online...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

MM
AvatarImg

Mae M.

Mental Health Care, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One month in and I like what it has to offer

Reviewed a year ago

As a solo-practitioner with no IT help or experience, it took me a minimal amount of time to adapt to the nuances of this portal. I don't consider myself especially technologically gifted, but I am adept. I do search for answers when I'm stumped and only had to contact their help once. They were helpful. I like it. I'm interested to see where they go in the future. I do hope they keep us solo-practitioners...

Pros

It's fairly comprehensive. I like most that I can customize forms. I like that it's fairly straightforward and easy to use. I like the calendar sync option, as it keeps my appointment private (i.e., labeled "appointment"), though stays up to date with my google calendar. This option is available in the lowest tier/ solo practitioner plan. Other programs offer this feature only in their premier product,...

Cons

I do like for clients to self-schedule, but I'd like an opportunity to approve client requests, as I see clients on 3 different platforms, so my schedule changes quickly. It's also annoying that an appointment can't be deleted and the "cancelled" or "rescheduled" appointment shows up in the client's list of appointments. It's visually cluttering. I made a mistake setting up reoccurring appointments for a client and now there are 20 "cancelled" appointments in her file. I have to be careful that I'm selecting the correct appointment to make notes on, or I might accidentally make notes on the "cancelled" appointment. Sometimes, it's just a clerical error and it doesn't need to be in the client's file.

TG
AvatarImg

Tricia G.

Mental Health Care, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Pleased with this system

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I am pleased with TherapyAppointment. It meets my needs and the improvements that need to be made are not deal breakers for me. I find it affordable for my solo practice and it has enough features to keep my running my practice smoothly each day.

Pros

Customer support is efficient and prompt. I was concerned that getting support via email would be cumbersome or untimely but they respond promptly and thoroughly. I contacted my rep with billing questions and had a 30-minute demo with her over the phone which was extremely helpful. She is a therapist as well so she knew first-hand what my needs were. It offers both email and text/voice reminders which is included in the monthly price. It securely stores credit/debit cards for easy payment. My biller has not problem logging in and doing her work remotely from her office which is in a different city. They are available for her as well when she needs customer support.

Cons

You can't hover over an appointment time to see an "alert" you have written such as "husband joining session today"...you have to open the appointment which just takes extra time. The patient portal is too difficult for patients to navigate through so the idea of having them self-register is out the window for me. It doesn't have required fields so they can create an account, fill out a few things...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dr. Dave S.

Verified reviewer

Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

excellent electronic health care record for therapists.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have had a wonderful experience with this product and recommend it, so long as you are willing to learn to use the interface.

Pros

The software is feature rich and reliable. The price is also very competitive for the rich feature set. It has a patient portal, account aging reports (not all products in this class have this feature), electronic billing, progress notes, appointment reminders, and document storage. It has group practice features.

Cons

The interface is very clunky and it is slow to update. The good news is a new version is finally coming by the end of 2018 that will include a modern drag and drop interface.

Vendor response

Hi Dr. Dave, Thank you so much for reviewing TherapyAppointment! We're grateful that you've taken the time to share your experience with our software, and know that you'll love what we have in store for you with TherapyAppointment 2.0! It is certainly much streamlined and will be rapidly updated as new features are added. We'll also have plenty of training opportunities available to make learning a breeze. We're glad you're part of our community!

LG
AvatarImg

LISA G.

Mental Health Care, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Follows the work flow of a psychotherapist, saving time and making it easy to complete notes and send claims.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It may not look as pretty as competitors (but an upgrade is in the works), but it is priced for non MD budgets, works consistently effectively and is great value for the time and financial investment required. I love being free of paper.

Pros

Easy, cost effective, and clients LOVE the online scheduling, appointment reminders and email bills. It follows work flow so I don't waste time clicking from window to window. Customer service has been quick, responsive and effective every time over the last 5 years.

Cons

No to do list on the margin of all screens, would like a list of important history as a margin in patient prog notes, would like to send/receive/autoscore assessment tools, would like printing of notes to be an easier process.

AP
AvatarImg

Amy P.

Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Expect Outages

Reviewed 6 years ago

I am in the process of switching over to a different system.

Pros

Easy to use, you can make some very basic templates if you want. No significant training needed to get started Low cost

Cons

Frequent outages Poor customer service - I asked for a partial credit due to significant outages and was arrogantly told that the electric company does not issue credits, and the most they would do would be to remove the outage time from the last bill when I decided to leave their system. They have promised an update for a while now, and still no ETA. Templates are very basic, you can only make a template with text, no check boxes, etc.

Vendor response

We have continued to test the software changes made in response to the recent service outages. and are convinced that the problem caused by by our new password encryption system using too many resources and crashing the system has been resolved. We also have a compensation policy that you will likely not find from most software companies. Here is our policy: we consider any service outage that...

JM
AvatarImg

Jason M.

Mental Health Care, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple product that does a lot

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have a simple, small practice. I don’t take insurance, and I don’t have many clients to manage, so I can’t speak to how robust it is for that purpose, but for the small amount of practice I need, it’s a wonderful value for the price. I get what I need, it’s secure, and it’s very affordable.

Pros

- Ease of scheduling - Versatility of application

Cons

- sometimes feels like it was designed by engineers, rather than by designers with user experience in mind. This appears to be changing, however, with the new 2.0 experience.

Vendor response

Hi Jason, Thanks so much for your feedback on TA2.0 and and the original TA! You're right, we have pushed to make TA2.0 a more user-friendly, intuitive experience with customers at the forefront of our every design decision. We're glad you noticed the changes! And we're elated to hear that TheraoyAppointment has provided a great value for you and your practice. That's what we strive for and, with your feedback, hope to continually improve upon! Thank you for being part of the TherapyAppointment family! Best, The TherapyAppointment Team

JW
AvatarImg

Judith W.

Mental Health Care, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good value for $$

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, pretty good, however the child/parent account issue is going to make me stay, or eventually leave and use another EHR.

Pros

The low cost when just starting in private practice, plus the free month to try it out. Also, the webinars on Thursdays have been invaluable, as well as the calls from TA to 'check on how I'm doing' have been helpful.

Cons

I REALLY need for TA2.0 to distinguish between the client and the 'responsible party' (aka parent). For those of us who work with children, this is critical. Also, setting up client accounts and generating invoices -vs- receipts is not intuitive. I still need help with this!

Vendor response

Hi Judith! Thank you for joining our community and thanks for sharing your feedback! We are so glad to know that we've been able to help your practice grow through our webinars, the low cost, and our support team! You'll be happy to know that we've reworked our billing system and are preparing to relaunch it soon -- it's vastly improved, and we hope you'll find it much more intuitive. Thanks also for your feedback regarding designating responsible parties. I'm passing along this feedback to the Dev Team so we can work on it. Judith, it's feedback like yours that help our product improve, so we thank you! And, we hope that the new billing system updates help better serve you! Keep your eyes peeled for an email from us soon to share the updates!

CK
AvatarImg

Colleen K.

Mental Health Care,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love TherapyAppointment.com

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker with a small private practice. I do all the billing myself and I love that I can write a note and bill at the same time.

Cons

I really don't have any negatives. It is a little pricey but I feel the program is worth the cost.

CL
AvatarImg

Cheryl L.

Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Changing my EHR from Therapy Appointment

Reviewed 6 years ago

Clunky and outdated. Looking for something that has more flexibility

Pros

Nothing more than what I see with other EHRs. Has scheduling and billing abilities along with calendar and client reminders

Cons

This platform has been down multiple times while they are apparently "updating" which has slowed down my work process and has cost money

GB
AvatarImg

Gordon B.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very satisfied!

Reviewed 9 years ago

I have been using TherapyAppointment for the last three years. I have been very satisfied with what it allows me to do. It has made my billing and documentation so much easier! The only drawback about this software is that it is cloud-based and sometimes the servers and internet connections are a bit slow. But I do like being able to access things from anywhere. Technical support is excellent and fast! The cost I think is reasonable and worth the $57 a month. There are a lot of features and options. Credit card integration,etc. Would highly recommend this service!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

We do listen to our customers! Since this review was written, we have more than doubled our server capacity. Our average server response time is less than one second now.

EM
AvatarImg

Eric M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's all you need to run a 21st century private practice

Reviewed 9 years ago

I have used this product for the past 4 years. It's wonderful. The designer has thought of everything you need to run a 21st century private practice. Price for me is very affordable, at $57 per month. It send reminders, clients can schedule online, the note templates are great, electronic billing with integrated credit card support is wonderful. My EOB's come back through the system so I have almost no posting to do.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review