This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Properly

Cleaning & operations management for short term rentals

see alternatives

Properly Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Photos are a great help. I would like a feature added for the cleaner to Clock On when they arrive and to Clock Off...maybe with a time stamped photo.

Colin N.

I love it's functionality and ease of use. Properly introduced me to my housekeeper that is bonkers good.

CHARLES M.

There may be a different name, but being able to show what a cabinet looks like closed, then a detailed picture of what the inside should look like is really helpful.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

I would be lost without Properly when it comes to organising my short term rental cleaners.

Robyn S.

Overloaded with too many check in check out, should only be check out that is on the app. No calender, app crashes all the time, just not professionally built.

Anonymous Reviewer

With that, we've also had some illegal activity take place one or twice. We've been able to document the before and after to make sure we provide a quality experience to all our guests.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.7

5

4

3

2

1

29

11

1

0

0

98%
positive reviews
96%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


41 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best technology you can have in the vacation rental management business

Reviewed 3 years ago

On a high level it revoluntionized our workflow for our HR functions. In the hospitality space HR is very unique because it is dependent on volume. This has been the best way to schedule and maintain our cleaning staff. It just WORKS!

Pros

This automates and tracks so many functions of running an in house (or out of house) cleaning staff! Not only that, but their function for pictures has saved us THOUSANDS of dollars on insurance claims. We love Properly and it is an integral part of our business!

Cons

sometimes glitches when setting up a new employee. Also in small markets, their marketplace doesn't have significant offerings.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Payment with Paypal required. I would have upgraded a long time ago if Paypal was offered.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy of use. Photos are a great help. I would like a feature added for the cleaner to Clock On when they arrive and to Clock Off...maybe with a time stamped photo.

Cons

Payment with Paypal required. I would have upgraded a long time ago if Paypal was offered with monthly payments. Would also greatly assist if user can switch languages within the app with Google Translate.

Vendor response

Hi Colin. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Good news! Actually we do have time stamps of job start and finish times. When your cleaner arrives and starts the job in the app, your job summary will reflect their start time. You can also set your account to be notified by email or SMS when they start. If they have their location services turned on, you will also see that they are in the correct...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overly Complicated, not professionally built

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

good syncing with airbnb, and picture and some details. Good to have listing and picture checklist, but still too complicated for owner or cleaner to check off everything, it delays the cleaning efficiency

Cons

Overloaded with too many check in check out, should only be check out that is on the app. No calender, app crashes all the time, just not professionally built. Most importantly, too expensive for just small airbnb users, or even heavy users who has multiple listings, for that amount of money I would make my own app in India already

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reduce the dreaded housekeeper "no show"

Reviewed 2 years ago

I recommend this software to all my Vacation Rental clients. Even Property Management Software companies who have Housekeeping modules have said:​ "If you have Properly, you will probably want to stick with that for turnovers as we cannot compete". I like the way you can set up checklists with photos so the whole process is error-proofed for the cleaners. Being able to look online and see if they have signed into the job is a relief if it is a short changeover and a new guest will be arriving later that day.

Pros

The integration with booking software like Airbnb, Homeaway and Booking.com

Cons

Modules to train staff would be helpful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Properly helps us manage an entire staff of cleaning professionals for our VR management company, and the photo QA is an absolute lifesaver. The team is highly receptive to feedback and product feature requests. We're extremely pleased.

Cons

Adding real-time visible location services, smart routing, whitelabelled reports, and a few other features would make this top notch :)

Vendor response

Hi Brandon! Thank you for the review. We will be adding visible location/routing in the future and you¿ll be the first to know. We also wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for the 2+ years of product input. We are grateful for every bit of it. From all of us at Properly - thanks for being one of our first and best customers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Integrates all properties on multiple platforms to one simple interface.

Reviewed 3 years ago

organizes my daily schedule

Pros

Clean and simple interface. One location to see daily activity regardless of platform. Saves having to open different applications. Set up cleaning schedule and forward request to cleaning freelancers. Easy to use. Reminders for cleaning scheduling.

Cons

Wish it would warn me when I am duplicating the property. (I do it often) Would like to have a link to the guest directly on Properly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good app to help with cleaning scheduling

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like how intuitive and easy it is to build the checklists for properties. Then all the info is there for cleaners so it's a no brainier even if they are new to your property. I like the convenience of both an app and desktop version.

Cons

We have had some issues with bookings not coming through from our property management software but they have been resolved. If anything it has too many features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

its basically a website to help arrange cleanings for short term rentals

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I found very good cleaner through their software. Happy with their service..............................................

Cons

Haven't had this issue but would be great if they had accountability to help find replacement cleaner if cleaner flaked on you. Cleaner ratings system would be good too. Also it should auto pull properties from linked STR websites. Takes awhile to get visual cleaning list to accurately capture all details of what you want done.

Vendor response

Hi Ben. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We wanted to share lots of good news. If your cleaner isn¿t able to take a job (or cancels), you can simply send that same job offer to multiple service providers listed in our marketplace. When you so that, the first cleaner to accept the job gets it. It¿s a way to find a cleaner QUICKLY when you¿re in a bind. Regarding ratings, we don¿t have...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

1. Fantastic customer service 2. Easy to use product 3. Makes our life super easy regarding scheduling cleans 4. Fast syncing with our booking platform

Cons

Would like to be able to add inventory items and record usage in this application, so our cleaners can report the linen they use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Huge time saver!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Saved time managing the cleaners for my properties.

Pros

Let's you see all of your AirBnb cleanings in one place. Saves time by having cleaners follow interactive cleaning guides during cleanings.

Cons

Would be nice to have an auto unschedule a cleaner so you don't have to go into the calendar to cancel.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

New Client Non PM based

Reviewed 3 years ago

Currently we are seriously only a client due to the amazing customer service Our Account Reps has been excellent, in trying to support the team in getting fix's work around to the challenges we have been facing.

Pros

The client (Owner) accountability, visibility to how their home looks after a cleaning service. The Client care is excellent.

Cons

NO EXTRA FIELDS TO ADD ADMIN SPECIFIC INFO - we currently are having to use an excel spread sheet to track jobs to be able to invoice our clients. With no way to list an owners rate of service or a simple email capture we can no export to our accounting software. The lack of flexibility to schedule a staff member to a service. Sure we can put the job out there and it is a first come first gets the...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Overall, great! It's easy to use, track problems,

Reviewed 3 years ago

Quickly and easily schedule and follow up with our entire cleaning calendar.

Pros

Ease of use. Notifications of problems. Very easy to integrate and edit new properties. I love the calendar view. It's quick and easy to see all our properties.

Cons

I wish there was an option for us to send a notification through the app to other users. For example: I noticed there's a missed cleaning for tomorrow, I want to be able to tag a Properly user, they receive a notification, and they schedule a job. Cancelled jobs really clutter up the screen. It's an aesthetics thing, so minimal but makes everything look clustered up. Other than that, it's great! I suggest adding a big warning/ flashy light if there's a missed cleaning after a guest checks out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

First time set up

Reviewed 3 years ago

My cleaning team has different levels of understanding of what we're looking for. We're able to systematize and standardize across each of them. Additionally, we've had some damage and a couple of bad reviews for cleanliness. With that, we've also had some illegal activity take place one or twice. We've been able to document the before and after to make sure we provide a quality experience to all our guests.

Pros

I was able to set up my property from my phone. I really like how easy it is to put the icons on the screen, and also the picture and picture feature. There may be a different name, but being able to show what a cabinet looks like closed, then a detailed picture of what the inside should look like is really helpful. Also, we work with several service providers. Before properly, we used a Google Sheet to let the schedule. Now I can just blast the listing out. Also, the automatic reminder of guest check in/out to have me schedule a cleaning is very nice. Ok. I love it all.

Cons

The initial set up was a little wonky. I set up from my phone initially, and when we tested the set up, the icons were all shifted slightly to the right. I was able to correct this through the website.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Properly is a great service, easy to use and makes running a rental business much easier.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the sensible workflows provided. It's EASY to use and makes my life easier. The ability to copy items from one listing to another is geniuous.

Cons

The only real complaint I would have is that occasionally there are some issues with the integrations between the system and the vendors. It's typically resolved within a day or two though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Has been a game-changer for cleaning management!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

To date I have only used the software for the basic function of creating electronic visual checklists for short-term accommodation properties, and scheduling contracted cleaner. I'm sure there are more functions that I've not explored / needed to date. Impressive development team, regularly surveying users and further developing the platform.

Cons

Some issues with photo boundaries and sensitivity of icons, can make new checklists time-consuming to create. Market place in my city (Perth, Australia) is limited. I believe the app developers should be out marketing this tool to cleaners / subcontractors, not relying on property managers to bring their chosen cleaners onboard

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Properly review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great experience. I would be lost without Properly when it comes to organising my short term rental cleaners.

Pros

Very efficient. Great customer support. It's very easy to learn how to use which is a bonus . It's bright and clear when it comes to checking your calendar for bookings requiring a turnover clean.

Cons

I can't actually think of anything I don't like about it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Properly is a lifesaver for remote property managers

Reviewed 2 years ago

Really happy with it. I love the feature if the cleaner needs to report something wrong.

Pros

The ease of use in getting your account set up. It was nice to have template checklists to start from and then customize as needed for my specific properties.

Cons

It was harder to find and access the available cleaners network from the app. Hopefully this will be something we use more of in the future.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Properly Has Potential

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Properly has been a good solution for our cleaners but there is much room for improvement.

Pros

This software allows us to schedule jobs with cleaners directly and easily. They love that they can see their calendars in advance and easily enter in problems through the app.

Cons

So far we haven't been overly impressed with the calendar syncing and updating. It tends to lag quite a bit and poses some problems scheduling last minute bookings with our cleaners. We would love to an option for not having to start/stop a timer for check-ins. We would also love to see an option for reminders where we don't have to use checklists. All of our properties are self-check-in and not all of our properties need checklists.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We use Properly as a short term rental management firm. It helps us systematize our cleans :)

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It helps us easily schedule and systematize our cleans and inspections. This makes running our business easier and more efficient.

Cons

There is not a lot to complain about. They do great customer service. We wish you could further police the check in check out but it works for now.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great scheduling tool made for vacation Rentals

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Love being able to schedule different cleanings in one spot. My housekeepers love being able to see pictures for each apartment.

Cons

Sometimes our calendar doesn't sync Property and creates confusion. The software is not perfect yet, but even like that we are happy with our purchase.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is exactly what I have been looking for.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I received the ability to organize my cleaning crew, and assign different condos to different workers. Very valuable to my sanity!

Pros

I like that it is concise, and very customisable. I can take pictures of areas which require extra attention from my housekeepers.

Cons

So many features, that at first, it feels overwhelming to learn. Rep at Support was great! I could have saved myself some work, if I had contacted Support first!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great concept, needs development

Reviewed 3 years ago

Clear communication to service staff.

Pros

It's easy to be very clear about your expectations to service staff. I am able to monitor progress of services on my mobile device.

Cons

Community cleaners are limited in my area. Software is at times buggy. Service staff continue to struggle with the technology, and it is not easy enough for them to use in most cases. Many hours have been spent encourraging them to use it correctly, and helping them learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Responsive

Reviewed 3 years ago

Accountability and streamline in scheduling.

Pros

Ease of scheduling with to do list and easy to read calendars. Also, accountability both in communications with Service Providers and Reports.

Cons

Need to be aware that Android and Iphones work a little bit differently. Not a big deal just need to know in advance. Also, be sure to get an overview from Properly before and during set up. While the interface/app is fairly straight forward good to get overview.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Properly is really helps keep your Airbnb schedule organised properly!!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love the checklists and the scheduling of cleaners. Glad that I can ask anyone to join as a service provider without them having to pay.

Cons

Don't know how I can reach more service providers. I would like to be able to pay my service providers through the platform.

Vendor response

Hi Sarah! Thank you for your input and for taking the time to leave a review. We wanted to let you know you can reach more service providers in the app by selecting the Community Service Providers option in the app. You can find this in the Contact section or on the individual property profile pages. AND, good news - we¿ll be adding payment through the app later this year. All the best - the Properly Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Get this app

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's helping the team produce better results, faster.

Pros

As a growing cleaning company, we needed a software that decreased the ramp up time for new cleaners, allows homeowners the transparently they wanted, and made coordinating with property managers easier. Properly is the only app that can do all that.

Cons

It's pricey, but we're confident that the value is there and it's worth it.