App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

absence.io Logo

Staff holiday and leave planner

(12)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

absence.io Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

37

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.19/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

rippling
bamboohr
timesheets-com

Pros and cons

Price is right, I like the slack integration and my team finds it useful too, has a great support team that is always friendly and very responsive.
Overall it's a very useful tool. And as an added bonus, the integration with Slack is fantastic and fairly seamless.
Ease of monitoring and how seamless the application and approval process is.
Fraudulent interactions when trying to cancel.
Having to file a dispute now, all while employees keep emailing me that they want to book vacation but the tool isn't working, so I have NO idea how much time anyone has left now.
No more paper sheets, no more waiting, the whole situation regarding my colleagues only one click away.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


37 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Roxy K.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good software :)

Reviewed 7 years ago

Lots of data, easy to use

Pros

Price is right, I like the slack integration and my team finds it useful too, has a great support team that is always friendly and very responsive.

Cons

I'm still waiting for a google cal integration, I have encountered a few annoying bugs but team has always been proactive to fix and that's to be expected from a budding company. Worth the tradeoff

AB
AvatarImg

Anastasia B.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Absence is a simple and minimalistic tool for time tracking

Reviewed 10 months ago

We have used Absence for many years, and it satisfies the needs of our small company. Perhaps a bigger company would prefer a more complex tool, but it works great for a startup. All you need to do is punch in your hours and select vacation/WFH days in the calendar when needed.

Pros

I like that Absence is very minimalistic and it's easy to navigate around the platform. There's no unnecessary features. You get emails when someone selects you as a substitute or when you need to approve someones vacation. You also get notified when your leave was approved. You can also easily see how many vacation days you have left and check the calendar of other employees.

Cons

Sometimes it can be not very straightforward when it comes to the approval process and selecting substitutes. At least in our case, I wasn't able to select someone who was working from home as my substitute. Also we're for some reason getting the German calendar instead of the Austrian one, but that might be our fault.

ML
AvatarImg

Madison L.

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

It met our needs

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

It was a pretty easy system to use, we liked it.

Cons

The cost ended up becoming a factor. We actually left A.io to pursue a more cost-effective option that met our needs.

Vendor response

Hello Madis, thank you for your honest feedback! We are very sorry to hear that you thought our offering was pricy. May I ask what specific featurs you used, or discovered a better price with the competition for?

FF
AvatarImg

Flóra F.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for smaller companies with a lot of features

Reviewed 2 years ago

I would absolutely recommend this tool to other smaller businesses - really easy to use from admin point of view and many useful reports can be created. The customer support team is also quick and professional.

Pros

This is a great software for time tracking, vacation requests and reports. You can easily overview the whole company thanks to the very clever platform. Employees like it a lot - easy to use. Your Manager just need to have one click and your request is approved. You can include comments/easily overview your whole absence availability. Customer support is also great and quick.

Cons

Sometimes it is quite complex to modify a request - you need to completely delete the previous one or you need to re-book the existing one. This can be a bit uncomfortable as sometimes only the admin can help. When the year starts, absences can mix up a bit so you need to take care of cross-checking the numbers.

PA
AvatarImg

Pat A.

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great System

Reviewed a year ago

I have absolutely no hesitance in fully recommending absence io to other business

Pros

The ease of the implementation and daily use is exceptional the after service from the team is outstanding and queries are answered promptly and with expertise

Cons

some of the configuration when a colleague changes shift working is rime consuming to implement

Vendor response

Hello Pat, thank you so much for the amazing feedback! We are honored to hear that you like our software so much! best wishes, your absence.io team

JG
AvatarImg

Josh G.

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Time saving product

Reviewed 7 years ago

Since implementation countless hours have been saved manually tracking and approving absences, as well as informing employees about their remaining leave balances. Now each employee simply logs in and can see everything quickly and easily. At year end we can easily run reports to see what types of absences were used, who is over their allowances, etc.. Overall it's a very useful tool. And as an added bonus, the integration with Slack is fantastic and fairly seamless.

Pros

Multiple leave types that can pool from one total allotment Teams Half Day time off capability

Cons

Needs a start date connection to increased allowances

CR
AvatarImg

CHRISTOPH R.

Media Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

best tool ever

Reviewed 7 years ago

Normally, the department who want a new tool is happy, everyone else who should use that tools is annoyed. That complete different with Absence. Everyone I happy, since I rolled out Absence at 2 companies. No paper anymore, more transparency, everything with one click. Every software should look like Absence. Perfect UI/UX. I hope Absence will bring more tools (eg. employee management, on/offboarding)

Pros

Normally, the department who want a new tool is happy, everyone else who should use that tools is annoyed. That complete different with Absence. Everyone I happy, since I rolled out Absence at 2 companies. No paper anymore, more transparency, everything with one click. Every software should look like Absence. Perfect UI/UX.

Cons

cheaper

BH
AvatarImg

Ben H.

Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Loving the software

Reviewed 8 years ago

We had multiple options to try for a web based holiday management tool. It was the very tidy "Bootstrap-ish" modern layout which pushed absence.io in to the finals, and the pricing that was exactly in budget for our business which pushed it to the top. With software of this quality at this price it allows us to integrate without opposition from accounts. The setup was intuitive and it has features built in for even the most complex of situations (i.e. employee working day contract changes). Technical support is on fire with the speed that they respond so this is also a very positive thing for an already great experience so far.

Pros

The style of interface. The simple iPhone App. The ability to drive requests by "Accept/Decline" emails rather than needing to login. By far, the price which allowed us to progress without considering the competition any further.

Cons

It is currently lacking the ability to manage passive users. We have some members of staff who will not login, and do not have email addresses. These still need to be managed on the software so we needed to make temporary emails for them to add them. This however was not a showstopper for us.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Greg E.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Fraudulent interactions when trying to cancel

Reviewed 4 years ago

OK until we moved to a new platform and tried to cancel. Always some new thing I had to do including signing up differently (we were using SSO via GSuite accounts) in order to be ALLOWED to cancel. Totally unacceptable and, in my opinion, fraudulent behavior.

Pros

Adequate and cheap if you are European based. Does not accommodate US or multinational policy norms for many leave types or support accruals.

Cons

Interacting with the company. Rigidity in features

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jan C.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

absence.io made our business life much easier

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Super easy to understand; perfect tool even as a company with ~200 employees and more; slack integration; no more need for an oldschool excel sheet; individual rights management; neat design; customizable settings; web + app usage; google calender integration

Cons

No digital personnel data management. Apparently they're working on additional features so maybe that'll improve.

DJ
AvatarImg

Daniela J.

Sports, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Einfach und schnelle Benutzung

Reviewed a year ago

Schnelle und unkomplizierte Lösung für kleine Unternehmen.

Pros

Schnelle und einfache Zeiterfassung per Knopfdruck im Browser oder über die App.

Cons

Bei verschiedenen Arbeitszeitmodellen und Teilzeitangestellten sucht man die richtige Einstellung schon etwas länger.Die Urlaubsanpassung am Ende/Übergang des Jahres ist nicht ganz so transparent und einfach einzugeben.

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Hallo Daniela, vielen Dank für das offene und konstruktive Feedback! Viele Grüße dein absence.io team

MM
AvatarImg

Marvin M.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sehr gutes Tool und großartiger Support

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Die Lösung von absence.io ist sehr benutzerfreundlich und hat unsere Verwaltung von Abwesenheiten deutlich vereinfacht. Wir hatten uns im Rahmen eines Projekts mehrere Lösungen angesehen. Die benutzerfreundlich von absence.io hat uns sofort überzeugt.Zudem ist der Support großartig und professionell. Es wird sehr schnell geantwortet und immer eine passende Lösung präsentiert.absence.io ist rundum eine gelungene Lösung, welche ständig verbessert wird. Letztens wurde die Möglichkeit einer automatischen Benachrichtigung, wenn das Restkontingent bald verfällt, veröffentlicht. Zudem ist die MS Teams-Integration auch in der Entwicklung.

Cons

Bisher haben wir noch keine Nachteile entdeckt.

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Hallo Marvin, vielen Dank für das tolle Feedback! Es freut uns sehr, dass ihr so zufrieden mit absence.io seid und unser Tool euch gut unterstützt. Viele Grüße, dein absence.io team

RY
AvatarImg

Robert Y.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect integration with Slack

Reviewed 7 years ago

We implemented absence because of the integration with Slack, and it really is seamless. We have a small distributed team that rely on the daily notifications in the channel to plan work and communications.

Pros

Direct integration with Slack

Cons

I don't like having to switch language when visiting https://www.absence.io - it always defaults to https://www.absence.io/de/ - would prefer it to be a little more intelligent about my location :)

CB
AvatarImg

Christoph B.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Schlankes und professionelles Tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Einfaches intuitives Tool und web-basiert.Schlanke und transparente Bepreisung.Sehr guter und schneller Kundenservice.On-Boarding wird super gut begleitet.

Cons

Aktuell finde ich hier keine Nachteile..

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Hallo Christoph, vielen lieben Dank für das super Feedback! Es freut uns sehr zu hören, dass ihr so zufrieden mit unserem Tool und Service seid. Viele Grüße, dein absence.io team

PP
AvatarImg

Petre P.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Chaos no longer exists! :)

Reviewed 7 years ago

No more paper sheets, no more waiting, the whole situation regarding my colleagues only one click away!

Pros

The whole app! :)

Cons

None yet.

MA
AvatarImg

Michael A.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Solution for Attendance Tracking

Reviewed 7 years ago

Absence.io provided a simple, clean interface that allowed us to graduate from messy excel spreadsheets and never look back. When we requested an update date formatting, Absence.io responded quickly and introduced the requested feature within a couple weeks. Our company loves using Absence and would recommend it to anyone.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

SM
AvatarImg

Sabina M.

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Almost perfect!

Reviewed 7 years ago

We implemented Absence.io into our startup operations and it has worked seamlessly. It's easy to set up and it's easy to use. If only there was another option for "Working from Home" or "Working Out of Office" so we can track where employees are - that would be ideal.

Pros

Ease of monitoring and how seamless the application and approval process is.

Cons

Sometimes it crashes which is unfortunate, and I'm not the biggest fan of the public holiday set up as we presently monitor staff in various countries (where holidays sometimes overlap, and sometimes they don't).

LK
AvatarImg

Leslie K.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Einfach, benutzerfreundlich, vielseitig

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

EInfache Handhabung, Übersichtlichkeit und sehr guter Support (reagiert immer schnell)!

Cons

Auswertung von Zeitguthaben als Report nicht möglich

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Hallo Leslie, vielen Dank für das tolle Feedback! Viele Grüße, dein absence.io team

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Stephen F.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Better Than Keeping Track Yourself

Reviewed 5 years ago

It was a fine stop-gap software when we were growing as an agency. We eventually had to evolve into a PTO request system that integrated with our payroll system better, but no real complaints about Absence.io. It served us easily and well for about 2 years.

Pros

It was free for I think up to 10 users and it let us go from nothing to a new PTO request system very quickly as our agency grew.

Cons

It's a German software, so some of the calendars and date styles aren't what our team was familiar with, but it's a minor inconvenience for a free solution to what we needed.

AB
AvatarImg

Anna B.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, time saving and must-have HR Tool

Reviewed 7 years ago

We are a startup and have approximately 20 employees. absence.io helps us a lot to plan our holidays, keep track of sickness-days, and much more! Our developers love the slack-integration and our accounting department loves the exports at the end of every year. I cannot believe how much time I spent on these things in excel before we implemented absence.io :-)

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

LM
AvatarImg

L M.

Telecommunications, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Terrible customer service, stay away

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It worked well enough for what we needed as we used it for the past few years.

Cons

Customer service is non existent. None of my users can currently sign in as it says our account is temporarily suspended and to contact customer service. We did that and they don't even respond to emails yet gladly keep charging my credit card. Having to file a dispute now, all while employees keep emailing me that they want to book vacation but the tool isn't working, so I have NO idea how much time anyone has left now.

ML
AvatarImg

Marius L.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best tool for team absence management

Reviewed 8 years ago

We were looking for a tool that can help our team be more efficient when it comes to absence requests and time off in general. Their integration with Slack and ease of use made our transition smooth!

Pros

Powerful and easy to use.

Cons

I would like more power in the Slack Integration

Vendor response

Hi Marius, thanks for your review. Happy to have you guys on board :) Best regards Your absence.io team

PL
AvatarImg

Peter L.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Absence solution

Reviewed 7 years ago

We were looking for a cloud-based tool to manage our team absences - absence.io provides just that and much more. We are also able to see who's currently on leave in any of our Teams (Austria, London and Los Angeles) and manage doctor's certificates with ease. Great tool, highly recommended.

Pros

Easy to use Fair pricing System Absolutely perfect customer support

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JM
AvatarImg

Jazzmen M.

Apparel & Fashion, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect tracker

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love that I can keep track of my schedule and get reminders of PTO and time off.

Cons

I least like that i don't get every single notification unless i go into the program or mobile app itself.

SB
AvatarImg

Sofie B.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great and easy system

Reviewed 7 years ago

We are overall very happy with absence. Due to our size and set-up there are some features we could really benefit from having in the system that´s not there yet but I´m sure it will be incorporated as absence grow and learn from their customers.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review