App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Ascentis Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

53

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.71/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

Ascentis was our HRIS system several years ago and it was a great way to keep all of our employee data. It was very customizable and the help desk was great.
Since we have rolled out the Self-Service tool, my employees love it. They are so excited about the features and how much they can access for their own screens.
Splendid performance and options for human capital management. Offers great educational/professional development options.
Timecard and payroll are not integrated directly, thus we must work directly with third parties, which can create problems if there is a problem with payroll.
The customer service for Ascentis is absolutely non-existent. It was so terrible that I had to send an email to the CEO and other members of the C-Suite to get my issues addressed.
We were tired of having vendors add ridculous fees and for stifling our ability to make back-end changes. In addition, they made numerous mistakes in processing taxes and garnishments.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


53 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

User friendly time coding and clock in/out

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall this is a super easy performance review, time coding and tracking and PTO interface. I’ve also successfully done training within the platform for HR.

Pros

I love the one button punch in/out as well as easy time tracking for PTO and my timesheet.

Cons

You may need initial training to use time coding settings/categories. Easy to use once you get the hang of your project codes.

FR
AvatarImg

Frank R.

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

If support is important to you, go with Ascentis

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, our experience with Ascentis has been positive. We saved a little bit of money, gained the support we needed, were able to streamline the close of payroll periods, and can process payroll much quicker.

Pros

The best part about Ascentis is their support, hands down. It is very rare that we have to wait more than 1 or 2 business days to get an issue resolved or an answer to a question. If it is an urgent matter, they are on it immediately. In addition, we get a dedicated Account Manager that is very responsive and helpful. Even when our account managers have changed, they are always brought up to speed and haven't dropped a ball yet.

Cons

The modules are somewhat segmented. We log into one application for payroll, another application for HR, and another application for timekeeping. They are working toward getting everything centralized and web-based, but they aren't quite there yet.

JB
AvatarImg

Joanie B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Not a good product

Reviewed 9 months ago

Not good at all. Implementation was never complete, the system was outdated. The customer service was non-existent. It was not cost-affordable for the lack of services provided and we had to sign a contract.

Pros

The only thing that seemed to work with Ascentis was the timekeeping. However, it did not bridge to our payroll system causing us to manually enter any non-productive time into payroll every other week

Cons

The customer service for Ascentis is absolutely non-existent. It was so terrible that I had to send an email to the CEO and other members of the C-Suite to get my issues addressed.

ps
AvatarImg

palesa s.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ascentis solid programming software

Reviewed 2 years ago

outstanding by far.

Pros

Ascentis has been easy to understand in the set-up interaction and backing has been extremely useful with any inquiries we have. This is our first HRIS, and it is so ideal to have all representative data in one area. The framework has been not difficult to make refreshes in.

Cons

The most difficult thing for us is getting Tax questions replied when required as the assessment division isn't however effectively open as they may be in another city, which is a few hour time distinction for us and you need to email them with any inquiries to find a solution.

LM
AvatarImg

Lora M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

I have now had Ascentis HR for 2 months, and Payroll for a month, and I can sum my experience up in 4 words: Thank goodness for Ascentis. We are a small to medium company with the unique feature of being made up of multiple FEINs. We are also on an aggressive growth plan in terms of expansion. Although the company has been around for more than 30 years, it's only been in the last 5 it's gone from...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

EJ
AvatarImg

Eunae J.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

We had always outsourced our HR and payroll, and as a rapidly growing company with more offices opening around the country, we were outgrowing the functionality of the third party HR firm; not to mention the enormous costs of their service fees, inflated benefit premiums, and customer service issues. During my research of in-house support software, Ascentis stood out for its completeness. There...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

GH
AvatarImg

Gwen H.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Couldn't Work as Affectively without It!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our overall experience with Ascentis has been amazing. We always get the support we need and feel very confident with the software.

Pros

Very easy to use, and user-friendly... we are constantly training new Managers, etc., and everyone seems to understand the system quickly. Provides HR with a consistent, reliable system to work with. Employees appreciate having everything in "one place" (personal info., payroll, benefits, etc.).

Cons

There is nothing we don't like about this software. They have been going through upgrades for quite some time, and actually, listen to customer suggestions. They provide very clear training on the system changes and are more than willing to assist with questions, etc.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Heather S.

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ascentis

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall we have implemented the system and we are using it. Ascentis support is helpful.

Pros

The recruiting feature is collects good data, candidates are able to complete the application. The performance reviews module is straight forward and the wizard makes it easy, very easy, for employees to complete their reviews.

Cons

It can be hard to get the system to do what you want! For example, our company uses the Kudos feature all the time. However it takes 3-4 clicks to find the "give kudos" button. I have made several requests to move the button, but I am told it can't be done. Applicants see a plain white page with small font as they use the wizard to click through the application process.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Laura J.

Libraries, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ascentis

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that this software has a function that you can view everything at once. You can see your time offs and you current clock in on the same screen. It is relativity easy to use and it has book keeping function that allow pay checks to be issued easier than other software.

Cons

That is sometimes have different leave amounts on the different screens without telling you why.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Omikka C.

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Performance Management

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

My light in to this software was one of the very first things I received as a new hire. Helps keep me on track, as far as work performance goes.

Cons

Everything is pretty simple so far. Very user friendly and easy to navigate.

CH
AvatarImg

Connie H.

11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Long-term user of HR Office

Reviewed 5 years ago

We've used HR Office for about 20 years now -- started out with the in-house Access version and have used the .asp version since about 2001/2002.

Pros

I like that it's cloud-based, but most importantly for us, it offers employee self-service for PTO requests and information updates. The key reason we've stayed with this system is that it provides automatic calculations of paid time off based on a formula we set up, automatically changing accruals on employee anniversary dates. It also allows us to easily calculate PTO that will be earned through...

Cons

We only have 30 staff members, but years ago, they implemented a rate based on a minimum of 50 users. We recently implemented the self service to manage PTO requests and overall, we're thrilled to have made that move (we have multi-tiered approvals, which they didn't have in the past). I would really like to have more customizable fields in the request form to prompt the user for key information...

KC
AvatarImg

Karen C.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ascentis is the best!

Reviewed 9 years ago
Pros

One of the things that I was looking for was an HR system that would link to the Payroll system so I wouldn’t have to do dual entries. This system provided that for me. The other tabs we have added on the HR side is Education (degrees held) and Salary survey information, so this has come in handy for requests that come up. It also makes it much easier for the EEOC reporting along with the Worker’s...

Cons

There is nothing that I would change about Ascentis.

AJ
AvatarImg

Ashley J.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good experience, has made my work load easier to handle and saved a lot of time.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I think this product is great. Our company is uniquely structure and has difficulty with systems fitting our needs. Ascentis gives us control to customize the system to how we need it, the only draw back is understanding the details on how things flow and what changes effect other areas.

Pros

The best part about Ascentis is the versatility and customization. Everything flows together so it cuts down on duplicate work. The reporting is great and I like how we can basically create any report we need.

Cons

Sometimes it is hard to determine what flows to what and how certain things / changes effect other parts of the system. Can be complicated to figure out. Deadlines for Quarterly and annual filings are hard to meet.

AG
AvatarImg

Angela G.

Management Consulting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Moving to Ascentis Was the Best Decision We Made for our Organization

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have never worked with a vendor who was so organized and supportive of us reaching our goals. There was never a gap when we needed help--calls and emails are always returned promptly. They are a great organization that employees top-notch experts who are there to help you. Wish other organization ran this smoothly.

Pros

The implementation process is so well-planned. You have a team of experts supporting you for each module and they really work with you to learn and get through building. They also hold you accountable for your "homework assignments" to keep you on-track for your go-live date. This was helpful to us because we are so busy but they held our feet to the fire with deadlines (and we met our go-live date with ease). Our employees like the easy to use system and we have received much positive feedback since rolling out.

Cons

Needing to use a Remote Desktop to access the back-end for set up and maintenance is cumbersome. I had to invest in a second monitor to make it easier. The end-user's interface (Employee Self Service) is 100% web-based, so no issues there. This is truly my only complaint. Everything else they said they system could do really is possible. They are honest in what they sell.

AS
AvatarImg

Anita S.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Overall quite pleased with Ascentis

Reviewed 6 years ago

I really do like the Ascentis system and would highly recommend it because it offers a lot of functionality and great value for a mid size employer. Many similar systems are often priced significantly higher or out of reach.

Pros

The Ascentis payroll and HR systems offer a lot of functionality and value for the money. Their customer service is very good. It's a very good system for a mid size employer group.

Cons

It is not a single sign on system and the HR changes don't automatically update in Payroll. Once changes are made in HR you have to go in to Payroll and individually approve the changes. While it is a good feature as a last step to double check your changes, it can also be time consuming depending upon the amount of changes to be approved. Also, it is easy to forget to update the change in Payroll if you get busy or distracted.

AP
AvatarImg

Amanda P.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ascentis review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This software is very userfriendly. We use it everyday to make sure staff are up to date on all information. It also helps keep track of staff's personal information.

Cons

Honestly the system is amazing. And the help desk is alwasy on top of things.

PD
AvatarImg

Philip D.

Staffing and Recruiting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great System to Utilize

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- Splendid performance and options for human capital management - Offers great educational/professional development options

Cons

- It runs a little slow sometimes but always runs

NE
AvatarImg

Nathaniel E.

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Everything you need under one roof.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Lots of integrations, great for tons of people, well managed and thoughtful design.

Pros

Employee information, comfortably managed. Useful links provided to everything you need to manage employees, or as an employee, everything you need to keep yourself on track.

Cons

Organization can be cumbersome and annoying, but it's a good problem to have. Slow, clunky load times.

KH
AvatarImg

Kristy H.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 10 years ago

We brought payroll in-house after outsourcing it for over 15 years. We were tired of having vendors add ridculous fees and for stifling our ability to make back-end changes. In addition, they made numerous mistakes in processing taxes and garnishments. The choice to go with Ascentis was made in large part because of the incredible ability to customize it. The setup of the system (employee records,...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

FK
AvatarImg

Franchesca K.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good system, Can use some work

Reviewed 3 years ago

So far i think it is a good system for the most part but it needa some work definitely

Pros

I think it is a great system to use for the most part, everything is easy to understand once you get used to how things work

Cons

Customer service is not the best. I just feel like if i send an email to support ot takes entirely too long to get assistance. Also any time we want to change something, they charge you for every little thing

CF
AvatarImg

Caley F.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good for HR but not very user friendly

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Great for posting jobs and applicant review. Very easy to use in that aspect. Keeps track of salary input and review status as well as employee longevity.

Cons

Back end of Ascentis is not very user friendly at all for mass communication and employee portal information unless you are very experienced in HTML format.

NS
AvatarImg

NIcole S.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User Friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software was very user friendly for employees and myself. The layout was not confusing over overbearing.

Cons

I did not have any cons with this software.

MS
AvatarImg

Margaret S.

51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We switched from an old-fashioned punch clock to this software a couple of years ago

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is a vast improvement to our old system and we are generally pleased. Multiple areas to personalize the system and classify the employees (ability to assign departments, etc.)

Cons

No cons were added to this review

TW
AvatarImg

Terrie W.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We transitioned a few months ago. The experience was fantastic!! Awesome support and training.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I would definitely recommend Ascentis to anyone ... large or small company. Our transition to Ascentis was well supported and has opened our processes up to today's world.

Pros

Ascentis is very user friendly. I'm still getting familiar with a lot of the features but I have not found anything to this point that is overly challenging or difficult to get understand. I like the way HR and Payroll sync, which eliminates double entry. And our supervisors love the access to their crews through Self Service

Cons

The reporting features are somewhat challenging only because I'm still getting used to them. There are a lot of selections and I'm still finding my pathways

HS
AvatarImg

Haley S.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great program for timekeeping

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I have always been pleased with Ascentis for timekeeping. I know exactly how to use the features and have kept my hours tracked through this software.

Cons

I haven't had any problems until this point! We only use Ascentis to keep track of hours worked and it works well