App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Blackboard Learn Logo

Blackboard Learn

A marketing-leading LMS for education, biz, gov, and more.

see alternatives

(11)

Blackboard Learn Reviews - Page 12

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


441 reviews

Recommended

AP
AvatarImg

Akeema P.

Consumer Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

The original higher learning software

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

I like how Blackboard keeps things organized for students so we can see our classes split up.

Cons

The overall software is confusing if you don’t know someone that has already used it. It is the original learning software and has its perks but I would prefer Canvas.

FA
AvatarImg

Francisco A.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Powerful but confusing.

Reviewed a year ago

I've been using Blackboard since the University and up until know I've tried other platforms that are easy to use. However Blackboard has so much potential and can be a good platform.

Pros

If you know how to use it, you can do so much, for programmers there is ton of choice, and for what I know that is a good thing because it can be personalized for the company or schol that wants to use it. Mobilie use is also pretty great.

Cons

Many bugs, this essentially is not Blackboard fault but is their platform, they should add more support tools for programmers. Also I don't like so many optiones to mange a course, is confusing for teachers and learners.

AY
AvatarImg

Assaf Y.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A rigid platform for online training

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This platform offers content modules, internal communication tools, evaluation tools, monitoring tools and learning management for online mode

Cons

Usually when there are many users interacting on the same page, there are usually speed problems or the platform is blocked. High cost of the license.

AD
AvatarImg

Amelia D.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reliable Software

Reviewed 5 months ago

We have no plans to get rid of Blackboard and know we would not be successful without it.

Pros

We have been using Blackboard over ten years. On the med school side it is absolutely necessary to use Blackboard. Without it, our school year would not be successful. We have never had major outages or issues with the software.

Cons

While students catch on very quickly, faculty and staff often require multiple training sessions. It takes a bit to get used to using the software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Evans M.

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Super Functional Platform

Reviewed 10 months ago

Not the most ideal LMS for regular users visually and navigation-wise, however, you can count on it to get the job done.

Pros

It entails numerous features that are designed for the ideal LMS for different levels of education. It helped form the basis for other platforms.

Cons

The UI/UX is close to non-existent and needs a lot of customization and improvement. Unbeatable functionality but the ease of use and aesthetic is lacking.

PH
AvatarImg

Paige H.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It works!

Reviewed 4 months ago

It worked, almost consistently! No real complaints. Issues decreased over time. IT was quick to respond.

Pros

Blackboard was the first virtual classroom we utilized and other than occasional IT issues, it worked fine! It set the standard for other options. Navigation was easy, features relevant.

Cons

There seemed to be regular issues requiring contacting IT to reset passwords and re-open exams due to random system errors..

EP
AvatarImg

Erick P.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The learning platform

Reviewed a month ago

It comes to supporting self-learning which is one of the learning ways many companies are looking for in this age.

Pros

I like that the features are easy to use and friendly, also I like that for learners there is a general overview in the dashboard about subjects, tasks assigned, and important information/announcements.

Cons

I did not like the price since it is a little high compared with other Learning Management Systems.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jake S.

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Blackboard, a students nightmare

Reviewed 3 years ago

As a prospective teacher myself I wouldn't use this at all in the classroom

Pros

Almost nothing other than your teacher gets back to you kind of quickly.

Cons

Blackboard is old software, difficult to navigate, hard to find sub options like emailing your teacher or locating discussion boards.

gn
AvatarImg

gretchen n.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

blackboard is great and efficient

Reviewed 4 years ago

Love the app!!

Pros

blackboard is easy to use, very convenient, reminds you when you have a assignment due, great for looking at grades and keeping on track.

Cons

Sometimes it doesn't notify you ever time you have an assignment due. The older version was a little more organized then the latest version.

BC
AvatarImg

Brittany C.

Primary/Secondary Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not aware of all features

Reviewed 5 years ago

I wish any integrated system or software could set up a way to record a live class post it to a course unit and have online student watch and participate as if they are a part of the on ground course.

Pros

So far I like what I am able to utilize. I like the way I receive notifications when someone posts.

Cons

I wish there was an easier way to view submitted items that were graded already. And an easier way to copy assignments from course to course. I wish it could Track attendance Or notifications when certain assignments are submitted

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

a friend to instructors and students

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I use it as a student as well as a graduate assistant. It works well from both sides of view and helps our academic life easier.

Cons

There are some time we have to wait and do nothing when it comes to times of maintenance. Hence, we have to plan everything beforehand.

MP
AvatarImg

Michele P.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Learn Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I had a wonderful experience and I’ve talked to other students about their thoughts and the overall consensus was it’s great for the busy college student.

Pros

From taking several online college courses, I very much enjoyed using Blackboard Learn software. I used it on a daily basis and it’s very easy and intuitive to use and becomes second nature quickly.

Cons

Like learning any new educational software it takes a little time investing getting to know how to upload/submit the course work.

JP
AvatarImg

Jordan P.

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Is The Industry Leader!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Blackboard is amazing to help implement the latest learning material and strategies! We had a couple of options to work with but Blackboard is the must go to!

Cons

There's not much to say about Blackboard other than they are an excellent leader in the educational space!

NM
AvatarImg

Nancy M.

Primary/Secondary Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Learn is a great tool to use with students!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Blackboard Learn is a great tool to use in live lessons to engage students! Students can use the tools in the system to demonstrate and engage as well.

Cons

The ability to record was limited to the main room, so this became a problem of there were mutliple rooms set up.

NS
AvatarImg

Nathan S.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

If You Must

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've used it for 10 years and appreciate it for its familiarity.

Pros

It gets the job done, by which I mean that it has bare minimums of functionality for what you'd want from an LMS.

Cons

Nothing is intuitive, and many repeated steps don't have quick ways of duplicating.

MK
AvatarImg

Mark K.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

You'll feel smarter for using it

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Blackboard Learn is an amazing product designed with education in mind. It's smooth and easy to navigate which is extremely important as a learner. I can say that, as a user, I appreciate when I see this logo in a learning environment because I know I will have the tools I need to succeed.

Cons

None really at all. The product used to be a little clunky but Blackboard is responsive and gives the people what they want.

KB
AvatarImg

Kristina B.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good and reliable service

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is very easy to setup the course and its different documents and class sections and the learning curves is not very hard.

Cons

It is slow and there have been some glitches, the software seems to also get overwhelmed at times but has been ok for the most part

SM
AvatarImg

Samantha M.

11-50 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Blackboard is great learning platform

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Blackboard make online classes so much easier. It helps to have a platform where you have access to your grades, assignments and class schedule. Its convenient.

Cons

Sometimes I have issues with things not updating in a timely fashion. Sometime I will have to log out and log back in to see an update

DG
AvatarImg

Deirdre G.

Primary/Secondary Education, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Way too many bugs.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's free to use. It's great to learn or teach from afar. The option to record the class is great.

Cons

I'm always losing connection. It's difficult to set up. It's not user-friendly at all to me. I'd like tutorials posted or linked within the rooms.

kb
AvatarImg

kensei b.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

makes doing homework easier

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

classes and teachers are already set up and organised for you. you just enter the website and you, no need to find your classes. your class, homework, grades, teacher info, everything is right in there already

Cons

without learning how to use it first, it can very difficult for beginners or for those who aren't computer savvy. learning how to submit homework, message your teacher, or connecting to digital content can be confusing and tricky. my school is now making it mandatory to take a blackboard class that teaches you how to use it before you sign up for online classes, but not all schools do this.

KC
AvatarImg

Kyle C.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Decent

Reviewed 6 years ago

Used it for 5 years of engineering school. For the most part it was sufficient, but there were always the occasional outages and odd issues. Sometimes things were difficult to find, or teachers refused to fully adopt the service.

Pros

Centralized location for academic needs.

Cons

No uniformity forced bewtween professors.

ED
AvatarImg

Eric D.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Mandatory Use

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Makes communication with professor about a particular assignment pretty easy, but that's about it. The web based is nice.

Cons

Just seems to be a bit outdated at this point. I've been using this for what seems like an eternity at school.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Elizabeth S.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It's good, but not great

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is a great way to organize a lot of information in one site.

Cons

It is not intuitive and not very visually pleasing .

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kathleen S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Blackboard in an Academic Setting

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been using Blackboard for about ten years to support classroom lectures. None of these classes have involved distance learning. I primarily use "Content" to post documents, "Discussions" to exchange information with students, in the "Tools" section I post announcements, send emails, and track tasks, and I use the "Grade Center" to update the students regarding their progress. Because this is in a university setting our IT department has been responsible for customer support and software purchases. Overall my experience with Blackboard has been very positive. However, my university regularly updates the software and it is often difficult to locate features when the version changes. Small differences in the interface can make finding a particular feature difficult.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

TB
AvatarImg

Tayler B.

Research, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good but not great

Reviewed a month ago

Good but not great software that will need large feature and bug updates.

Pros

It has basic functionality that allows for necessary tasks to get done.

Cons

There could be more useful features that help manage and set up functions.