This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Blackboard Learn

Online learning management system and course management

see alternatives

Blackboard Learn Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


300 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Not A Great Product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

There are not a lot of things that I like about this softaware. It achieves its basic functionality by allowing you to learn online, and submit assignments, but that’s pretty much all that it has going for it.

Cons

The system just doesn’t have an intuitive flow like other learning softwares I have used. I also always had difficulty with setting up, and getting off threaded group messages. Overall I was just very relieved when we got off this and switched to a different software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good alternative to canvas

Reviewed 6 months ago

I found blackboard a great complement to in-person learning. As a developing high school student I found it easy to navigate. Slightly prefer canvas, but blackboard was comparable.

Pros

This software was easy to navigate as an undergraduate college student enrolled in several classes. It was easy to access course materials and track my progress throughout the course.

Cons

Sometimes the interface felt a little crowded but overall the product was very functional. Would sometimes encounter some difficulties with taking timed quizzes online (i.e., technical problems).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Okay but expensive

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was fine but it needs to be updated. Also it thinks it’s the best but it really isn’t. The company should look at how much they charge and are people really getting what they should for that price tag.

Pros

The software is very traditional. It has great capabilities for pulling information out across courses and makes evaluating courses easy.

Cons

It is not very user friendly and is sort of clunky. It needs to have easier interfacing for both the student and the teacher. It would be nice if it had flow guides for online courses. It gets very confusing in there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Just OK, I would pass it up

Reviewed 5 years ago

Having used Blackboard extensively, I can say that it is an unnecessarily bloated software. It is replete with links and features that you don't want and will never need. That's not to say it's bad. It can do everything you need it to. It's just not very pretty while it's doing them. It's also prone to blackouts on a monthly-ish basis.

Pros

lots of options

Cons

bloated unnecessary fluff service goes down occasionally

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Review

Reviewed 10 months ago

my overall experience with blackboard learning was very positive allowed for affective communication and learning among students and professors all around the country.

Pros

what I liked most about the software was that it was user-friendly and allowed me to correspond with students and professors efficiently to address issues/concerns.

Cons

what I like least about blackboard was that it did at sometimes have IT issues in which they did incorporate their own that would be able to handle any problems that we encountered.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Student Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I liked that not much changed from year to year about blackboard while I used it in both high school and college

Cons

this software definitely took some learning curves to really figure it out. I wish there had been an easier way to navigate through the entire system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Worked for school

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Kept me up to date on school assignments and projects due.

Cons

The app wasn't as easy to use as the website.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Learn

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Blackboard is one of the giants of the e-learning industry, so you can expect resourcing and the support indicative of a premier product. The mobile experience was relatively intuitive, which is a must in the current environment where students may be working full time while earning an online degree.

Cons

Compared to other learning management systems (such as Canvas or Schoology), Blackboard reflects the features and structuring of learning management systems of days gone by - specifically, it is structured most closely around a 'document dump' approach to online learning. This approach has been soundly refuted in the research, and while one can certainly design a quality learning environment, many of your end users will likely not have the discernment to do so. From a student's perspective, it is often difficult to access key pieces such as messaging and grades when enrolled in multiple courses at once.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Solution for Annual Employee Training

Reviewed 4 years ago

Blackboard is a great tool for any training manager who is looking to develop e-learning courses for annual employee training requirements. It is easy to use and comes with lots of features.

Pros

Very rich features for managing course content, discussion boards, grade center.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good but needs some updates

Reviewed 4 days ago
Pros

It’s easy to use for instructors and students

Cons

The software needs so updating compared to canvas

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Needs improvement

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Don’t get me wrong Blackboard is a great product. Before I had used any other LMS, I enjoyed the features and services. But once our organization switched to canvas, I realized Blackboard has some catching up to do, in terms of ease of use and integration. Blackboard can be especially buggy for students in the age of Covid who are trying to get work done in their phones. Do your research!

Cons

The Mobile app needs huge bug improvements and ease of use enhancements

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blackboard

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Awesome technology for keeping up with school

Cons

Occasional glitches in system. But much else

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for students

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Blackboard is great to use as a student. It's user-friendly and very easy to learn and navigate through. Grades and assignments are easy to view.

Cons

The site could sometimes be slow or would go down but that was very occasionally. I didn't really have any issues using it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Learning Management System

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Blackboard provided a perfect and easy way to facilitate online courses, with many helpful features including discussion boards, grade breakdowns, and easy administrative tools.

Cons

My main complaint is that I think it could be prettier - it is not the most modern looking software. I also don't think they are doing anything that is particularly innovative to push them above and beyond other learning management systems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Complex but Powerful - You get a ton of features but that also makes it harder to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

There are a ton of options in this software that allow you to do almost anything with it. Pretty much if you can dream it up, you can set up a course that does it.

Cons

The number of options available means that nothing is simple. The benefit of a platform with 5 options is that you don't have many choices to make. When you have 500 options, the choices can quickly get overwhelming. In an effort to be for everyone, Blackboard makes everyone suffer a little bit.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blackboard gives organizational learning a whole new aspect

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Layout and division is very friendly even for first time users. It enables educators and students to communicate efficiently without the need for further questioning regarding tasks. It also sets good reminders for learners on when tasks are due.

Cons

Sometimes the software tends to get slow or unresponsive. Glitches also tend to have students to forcibly submit even without finishing the task yet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Review

Reviewed a year ago

Blackboard is an excellent learning management system. It is intuitive and easy to use. One major pro is the integration of other software. It is a key part of the learning process and experience.

Pros

Blackboard is an excellent learning management system. It is intuitive and easy to use. One major pro is the integration of other software.

Cons

Blackboard is an excellent learning management system. There are no cons to the system that I’ve seen to date.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

seemingly popular but surprisingly clunky

Reviewed 3 years ago

This is not a minor software and many have found it to be worthwhile, so consider my review in context of your particular business needs. There may be aspects that fit your needs quite well. I just haven't found them in my case.

Pros

I can't say too much positive other than it is a reliable platform. Rarely experience outages which affect business critical functions.

Cons

I think that the back-end reporting features must be the shining star of this software. The front-end user experience is less than adequate. I have used blackboard to deploy data and assessments for 5 years, and I still have questions which require professional assistance at least once a quarter. It is time consuming to use and does not produce a clean interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ok software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I liked that we were able to see our grades on homework right a way and it’s user friendly.

Cons

The site maintenance was usually being done at a bad time and also the site would crash often so it made it hard to do homework.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Blackboard is better than nothing

Reviewed 2 years ago

Personally, I do not like Blackboard Learn, but it does serve its purpose. I have had dozens of students who have been able to complete courses despite their frustration and earn credits towards their high school diploma.

Pros

Blackboard Learn enables teachers to create online courses, which allows students in remote locations to earn credits and complete a high school diploma.

Cons

Blackboard Learn is a frustrating platform to use. Every page, image, module is saved into a new "Blackboard" format, which is not compatible with anything else. In fact, often it changes text to image so that they only way to edit the text is to either start from scratch or go into the coding itself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Decent software for Education Institutions

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

One stop portal that has an overview of all academic resources for the students. It has a good grade tracking system too which allows for better reporting for faculty.

Cons

The UI feels outdated. I cannot find all the subcategories just throughout the search bar on top. They need to make a more clean, simple UI that doesn't crowd the webpage and gives brief, to-the point information.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Decent features, but UI needs to be improved

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's good as a central platform from which we can access all of the course information, both current and historical. Course announcements can also be made through it - communication among professors and the class is easy.

Cons

While it has a number of decent features, the usability is not great. UI needs to be improved - it's hard to find what you want within the site sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Classes management became easier

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is easier for use than other applications in the field.

Cons

It needs training for the students and staff before use it. It might take time to get used to it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Used for undergraduate schoolwork

Reviewed a year ago

While it got the job done, it could use some updating. I do like this better than Canvas.

Pros

I liked the option on Blackboard to view all of your grades. This would show grades for all classes at the same time rather than going into each individual class to look for grades.

Cons

There were a lot of words - it would benefit from differentiating between the classes somehow rather than just a hyperlink.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Probably the Best Option for Universities and Their Professors

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Blackboard provided me, as an adjunct English professor, the ability to input and track grades, create and post rubrics, post class materials, PowerPoint and more. It accomplished virtually everything I needed to accomplish.

Cons

Posting grades could have been more seamless . The email feature also could have been more user-friendly.