This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Blackboard Learn

Online learning management system and course management

see alternatives

Blackboard Learn Reviews - Page 7

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


303 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Needs a lot of UI improvement

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Automated e-mails to students in your class. This is nice so that if you make an announcement on Blackboard it will get auto-emailed to all the students. I could see this being useful though I didn't really use it myself. It's once of those features that should be front and center in Blackboard but is buried like most other things in this software.

Cons

Rather than trying to figure out what a teacher would reasonably use Blackboard for, and what they need to communicate to their students via the internet, Blackboard just decided to make every feature possible that a teacher might ever conceivably use. As a result the interface is cluttered beyond repair, it is confusing, possibly useful features are hidden and many useless features that nobody uses are all over the place. Blackboard tries to accomplish everything and as a result accomplishes nothing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Better but not great

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I have used this software for several years. The recent new release is quite a lot better than the pervious version. The current version is much easier to use.

Cons

Although this a good upgrade, it seems as though the product had not been upgraded in quite a while. It still needs a better user interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect for schools!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Blackboard is an organized and easy to use point of reference for college students and other individuals. The software is designed in a way that offers fast and convenient access for users with a number of features.

Cons

The only cons for this software occur when the users are not keeping it updated. Other than that, this product is highly recommended for colleges and universities as an organized and effective way for teachers and students to interact and use as a point of reference.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

User at my college

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Blackboard is easy to use and I love that there is an application that I can access on my phone while on the go.

Cons

It is a little annoying that it varies by teacher.. no standard platform created. I also found that the app on my phone is not always intuitive and you cannot do everything on it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome way to learn anywhere anytime

Reviewed a month ago

It's been a wonderful experience with Blackboard, i love how other applications integrate so well with Blackboard.

Pros

I love the features of the built-in web based tools, gives access to multiple methods of communication, gives access for easy customisation of course pages.

Cons

The discussion threads I'd suggest needs to be looked into, it gets quite difficult trying to navigate between replying to the current thread or an older one.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Blackboard

Reviewed a year ago

Overall Blackboard is a good option to consider if you are interested in online learning. It will have everything you need, just possibly in a different style than what you might be accustomed to.

Pros

Blackboard has all the features and functions you'd expect to see from an online education resource. Nothing too fancy, but nothing really missing either

Cons

Blackboard can feel a little... dated at times. The whole platform feels like something from the Windows XP era. It works fine though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Practical and Helpful

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, it was a great experience. However, if the technical mishaps could happen less frequently, it would be even better.

Pros

It was a great way for my professors to administrate online homework.

Cons

There were often times technical errors that prevented me from being able to have ease while using the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Rather Failed Attempt to Create All in One Solution for Educational Sector

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I would say, it's an attempt, but a rather failed one. The tool has potential and can expand, however, during my college years I have not seen it change even a bit for the better!

Pros

This software is used by the university where I study. It's robust and fast in term of accesibility. Also, there are many things in terms of functionality and reporting.

Cons

UI/UX are horrible here. The tool looks like it's from 2000th and is build with hyperlinks only. Very hard to use and navigate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am a student at a university that uses this software

Pros

This product is easy to use but lacks some capabilities for students that could make it more valuable

Cons

There should be a commenting option and one that allows students to connect regarding certain classes in order to better learn

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Blackboard is so good

Reviewed 2 years ago

It creates a easy functioning way to learn. All my classes are in order and ready to access information when I need it.

Pros

I love how organized all my classes are for college.

Cons

Nothing really not to like! Easy to use and function.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great platform for e-learning

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Somewhat easy to use for simple applications, robust enough to handle the more complex applications. Lots of features and priced competitively.

Cons

Somewhat complex to setup if you need customization. You need a tech person on staff to do anytype of customization.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Valuable educational platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

Blackboard learn will let you learn.

Pros

Blackboard learn is very valuable education platform that i really enjoy. It let us interact between our professors and we students.

Cons

It lacks some awesome activities and features that am looking for but still valuable and worth to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good not great honestly!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Platform to use for students and teachers to follow course and class modules throughout the semester. It's an organized method to do assignments, class discussions, notifications, etc.

Cons

I wasn't a fan of the features it had. I'm fairly good with computers and everytime I had to sit down with Blackboard Learn it honestly was a pain. I had to try and figure out how everything worked cause it's not very user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to Learn!

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

I find Blackboard very easy to use. My students have never complained about using it. The learning curve is easy.

Cons

There are too many mouse clicks when using it. I would suggest more shortcuts to make it more efficient.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Blackboard is a very simple program to use to communicate and learn from teachers

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall it is a good platform to use to learn from your teachers and to receive many documents to help you learn and to upload your assignments to be graded from.

Pros

It is a great program to use to contact your teacher and students online. You are able to access announcements your teacher has posted and are able to receive assignment and notes from them with easy access. There are a lot of tools to use in this program. There is also the Best Practice part of the website to use to help you practice the tools to make it easy to use.

Cons

Submission is sometimes a bit confusing to use when you want to upload a certain file. It is a expensive product to use when you want to learn with ease. It also requires a lot of steps to learn something and there are sometimes bugs in the program.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great features, poor service

Reviewed a year ago

When it works, it's good overall. Takes sometime to load (more than other platforms), but once it loads, work just flows. A good feature is that it detects plagiarism on assignments. Not so good, when I attach microsoft office files, it tries to interpret them and most of the time, it breaks the format I set (i work on a mac, can't be sure if it happens for every user or it's lack of compatibility is just with the office for macos).

Pros

I'm taking several courses that are deployed on this platform. It looks very good and it's more or less intuitive. Looks full of features that you could need on an LMS.

Cons

I'm paying for the courses because institutions are supposed to pay for the use of the platform. But it happens frequently that the platform is down. Also, when I send a message to somebody using the platform messaging system, it takes up to 24 hours for the message to arrive to the person i'm trying to contact. When they reply, i get the reply 24 hours later (the message always says it was sent 24 hours before).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Once a student, now a teacher

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Blackboard Learn is an excellent, feature rich, web based environment where you really feel like you might be in a virtual university. The interface is intuitive and doesn't distract from the core purpose of the site, which is to learn. They consistently add new features to make the lives of students and teachers easier and more productive. I started using blackboard as a student learning and graduated to using it to teach when I realized how groundbreaking it really was.

Cons

Like I said, they are consistently adding new features, but, sometimes, this can actually be to the interface's detriment. It gets confusing if you haven't used the software in a few months and you come back to a overload of new modules, buttons, and features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Too clunky, same old educational platform

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Offers a lot of functionality, and has ability for uses to set their own training content as managers and build out courses with lots of option.

Cons

Not turn key, also still has that dated look and feel and not in line with most UX web designs. Too much functionality for basic turn key needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good software for professors in school

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I used to use this software while I was in school. It's a central place for professors to put documents, videos, and other helpful things. The list of capabilities is great, teachers should start utilizing it more.

Cons

A lot of times there would be connectivity issues on the video chat aspect. In addition, it's completely reliant on teacher use so if they don't use it, the software won't do much for you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for online classes

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Some of my classes at the university were online. My university uses this software so I had the chance to use it too. It is easy to use and works fine in any browser. You even see your grades and have everything organized

Cons

The software doesnt let you customize your dashboard. Maybe having this option, people could organize their contents as they like and find it more easier to look for info.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Blackboard is nice to use when you are looking for the work you need to do. It's fairly easy to navigate.

Cons

I really don't like the way that things are organized. Once you select a class it's really hard to determine where the information is.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Tried, True and Old

Reviewed 2 years ago

The best thing about this platform is it robustness and age. It has years of development behind it which means that it's unlikely to break an supports nearly all external tools available for LMS'. Aside from that, it's clunky, un-intuitive, ugly and does not allow nearly as much customization as newer LMS'. Avoid this if possible.

Pros

- Robust and solid - Supports integration with many external tools

Cons

- Outdated design - Cluttered interface - Un-intuitive layout

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for students

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have used Blackboard for many years. It is a great tool for students. Flexible

Pros

Easy to use easy to learn Flexible for Universities. Great for students to assist with organization

Cons

The system does go down from time to time, but nothing too negative. I do not have any negative comments.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great student online software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of use is great. It is very intuitive, and combines with drag and drop, which saves a lot of time. Easy to communicate with students as well and will notify you of student communication. Overall, I really like this software.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Incredibly useful as a student

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Being able to retrieve slides and information all in one place, as opposed to having to search through individual websites is incredibly useful.

Cons

Compared to other software, the layout is surprisingly old school, but perhaps that is so it's easier to understand