App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Blackboard Learn Logo

Blackboard Learn

A marketing-leading LMS for education, biz, gov, and more.

see alternatives

(11)

Blackboard Learn Reviews - Page 7

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


441 reviews

Recommended

JP
AvatarImg

Jess P.

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Gives Your Classes A Consistant and Fimilar Setting

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Blackboard has been the go to choice of the school for the online courses I have been taking for the past two years. It has some nice features including; calendars, a notification center, discussion boards, and it's own quiz and tear platforms. It gives the student a familiarity when taking multiple online courses when it is the online tool for your school. Plus it shows all your grades for a course in one place. It also works across several platforms including mac, PC and Android.

Cons

It has a learning curve. When you first enter blackboard it can seem hard to navigate and seem overwhelming for both student and teacher. The options for customization for teachers are somewhat limited.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Blackboard - A genuine Review

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Blackboars is easy to use and integrate. App friendly as well

Cons

Add a what if feature for grading where students can calculate what they will get based on a hypothetical score.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rahul R.

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good educational software with some great features but the server crashes are annoying.

Pros

Blackboard is easy to use,exams are easy to deploy,announcements are very good and even the bullet-in board is a very handy feature.

Cons

The server crashes very often and this can be very annoying because if we are in the middle of something,the progress doesn't get saved automatically.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Diego Martin R.

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An intuitive software

Reviewed a year ago

The software is amazing. I have not have any problem with it even when I have had difficulties with my internet connection.

Pros

Blackboard is one of the most easier and intuitive softwares that I have ever used. I really like it because its videoconferencing platform is really easy to use and has a very powerful tool called "Safe Assign".

Cons

The software could improve its social learning by creating an environment where all the students enrolled in a classroom could post and share any doubts, news, and even discuss about various topics.

JC
AvatarImg

Jason C.

Plastics, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Not just for Schools

Reviewed 2 years ago

We really like it and would suggest using it. Good luck!

Pros

This is a great program that is designed for schools but works well for business also. It brings the lots of high end features.

Cons

The program functioned well but there was definitely functionality that was offered that was not needed and slowed down implementation.

ab
AvatarImg

aaron b.

Primary/Secondary Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect for school

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I really like the easy to use user interface. While I went to college, I found it really easy to access my classes through Blackboard, take quizzes, join discussion boards and so on.

Cons

The things that I liked least about Blackboard was the mobile app. It felt limited compared to it's web browser counterpart in terms of ease of access.

CS
AvatarImg

Casey S.

Primary/Secondary Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Easy way to stay up-to-date on class

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The messaging functionality was an efficient way to stay informed on updates about the class. I also enjoyed that all of my classes were easy to find in one place.

Cons

Sometimes the dashboard could be hard to navigate. My experience also depending greatly upon the professor of the class utilizing the software in the best way possible.

YG
AvatarImg

Yvonne G.

Human Resources, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Experience

Reviewed 4 months ago

Blackboard helped me to completely study and receive a Master's Degree

Pros

Easy navigation and quick uploads and downloads

Cons

N/A I had no problems liking the Blackboard

PP
AvatarImg

Pauline P.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Learn is Decent

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience has been pretty positive with Blackboard Learn. I will continue to evaluate it against the other options available as well.

Pros

I think Blackboard is better than Canvas, but maybe not better than Moodle. It has some flexibility but perhaps not as much as Moodle has. It seems pretty stable and certainly is more stable than Canvas.

Cons

Blackboard could use some more flexibility features. This is true especially for setting up quizzes and exams where it is not as easy to use as Moodle.

LG
AvatarImg

Lisa G.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Learning management software

Reviewed 4 months ago

I found it easy to learn without having to do much extra study. I especially found the section for managing grades easy to navigate.

Pros

It was very user friendly software that allowed me to manage hybrid and online courses. It was as simple to use as Wordpress.

Cons

Integration with Safe Assign could be a bit clunky at times.

RW
AvatarImg

Rachel W.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good alternative to canvas

Reviewed 2 years ago

I found blackboard a great complement to in-person learning. As a developing high school student I found it easy to navigate. Slightly prefer canvas, but blackboard was comparable.

Pros

This software was easy to navigate as an undergraduate college student enrolled in several classes. It was easy to access course materials and track my progress throughout the course.

Cons

Sometimes the interface felt a little crowded but overall the product was very functional. Would sometimes encounter some difficulties with taking timed quizzes online (i.e., technical problems).

JA
AvatarImg

Joy A.

Aviation & Aerospace, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great platform

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

I enjoy that this software is easy to use with very little training.

Cons

There isn’t much that I would change. This is very well made.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

my overall experience with blackboard learning was very positive allowed for affective communication and learning among students and professors all around the country.

Pros

what I liked most about the software was that it was user-friendly and allowed me to correspond with students and professors efficiently to address issues/concerns.

Cons

what I like least about blackboard was that it did at sometimes have IT issues in which they did incorporate their own that would be able to handle any problems that we encountered.

EO
AvatarImg

Evan O.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Learn makes online learning easy.

Reviewed 3 days ago

Overall using Blackboard has been a good experience and I would certainly use it again in a learning environment.

Pros

Best part of this software it that it make online learning available anywhere. It is easy to navigate throughout the program and see what assignments and lessons you have due. The program lays out the information in an organized way. Once you learn the system it is easy to navigate to what you need, ie communicate with the professor etc.

Cons

The hardest part about Blackboard learn is navigating the UI. At first is can be confusing where things are located within the software. However, with that said once you learn it it is usable.

EE
AvatarImg

Evelyn E.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very easy to use

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

I really enjoyed using blackboard during school, I liked how the meetings were integrated within the same app. I loved being able to access many things in the same app.

Cons

I didn't like how sometimes the quality of our meetings was not so great and we would have audio problems.

TJ
AvatarImg

Theresa J.

E-Learning, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Blackboard Learn

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Very easy to use and navigate for the instructor and students

Cons

As an instructor I can’t grade on my tablet or phone.

AS
AvatarImg

Aimee S.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

BBA Student Review from Concordia University Austin

Reviewed 4 months ago

This software came along with me signing up for my online classes.

Pros

I like that this software is an easily recognizable platform to learn on across many colleges.

Cons

I think that there needs to be a faster response time to get problems solved from comments and suggestions left.

BB
AvatarImg

Brian B.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Solution for Annual Employee Training

Reviewed 6 years ago

Blackboard is a great tool for any training manager who is looking to develop e-learning courses for annual employee training requirements. It is easy to use and comes with lots of features.

Pros

Very rich features for managing course content, discussion boards, grade center.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JM
AvatarImg

Joshua M.

Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great LMS for school or uni

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Blackboard is reliable and easy to use LMS, requiring little to no direction or training for new users. Communication and notifications are great, found all in one place for easy access and viewing. Gradebook is another fantastic feature. All the information about your assessments can be found in one place, including submission dates, marking criteria and overall grades. Submission process is great, allowing users to thoroughly review their documents and their similarity report before submission.

Cons

UI could be updated to be more user-friendly, e.g., minimise clicks, add more shortcuts for site navigation. Features to allow for collaboration in group projects/tasks would be useful as many users prefer external software for collaboration, communication between students and instructors and productivity. However, it is perfectly adequate for users familiar with the LMS.

ET
AvatarImg

Emily T.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good, not great

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

The discussion boards are a great feature.

Cons

It can be very disorganized and confusing to use.

CP
AvatarImg

Cesar P.

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Practical Learning Tool

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

The versatility of each section within the program.

Cons

The discussion forums should be improved.

JB
AvatarImg

John B.

E-Learning, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

New Bb Rollout

Reviewed a year ago

My institution just rolled out the updated Blackboard platform. I CANNOT UNDERSTATE HOW DISAPPOINTING IT IS! It is harder to use and Bb has removed many of the options for customizing the look and feel of course environments. The MOST ANNOYING change is the locked "institution" bar on the left side of the screen. It is taking up precious screen space... it is not movable. AND the x "close course" box on the top left is too easy to click on... I have already had the problem of having a course close a number of times when I was working on it because I scrolled over that box. This IS REALLY BAD. Stupid design. A move backwards.

Pros

Ability to share lecture recordings and instructional material.

Cons

The changes are in the wrong direction. Only 1 discussion folder. Moving from ability for instructors to customise the look and feel of a course to more standardization.

MA
AvatarImg

Mariam A.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for students

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Blackboard is great to use as a student. It's user-friendly and very easy to learn and navigate through. Grades and assignments are easy to view.

Cons

The site could sometimes be slow or would go down but that was very occasionally. I didn't really have any issues using it.

OL
AvatarImg

Olivia L.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Student Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I liked that not much changed from year to year about blackboard while I used it in both high school and college

Cons

this software definitely took some learning curves to really figure it out. I wish there had been an easier way to navigate through the entire system.

JS
AvatarImg

Jason S.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Worked for school

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Kept me up to date on school assignments and projects due.

Cons

The app wasn't as easy to use as the website.