Calamari Reviews

Calamari

Modern HR, online leave and attendance tracking

4.68/5 (310 reviews)

Anonymous

A pleasure to se

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-10-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It's easy, intuitive and its performance snappy. It gets the job done for us and we're ver happy with it.

Cons
Some features are still missing, but the product is always improving.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Clément Dietschy

Simple and Fast

Reviewed 2016-04-22
Review Source: GetApp

We were looking for a leave management software with Google Apps interface for La Ruche qui dit oui! in France ( a hundred of employees). With Calamari, the configuration, account imports and individual balances are executed by their support, no much effort needed. Send just a quick mail internally to launch the tool and hop, everyone adopts it...

Pros
Google Apps interface Google Calendar interface Slack interface Easy to understand Fast to deploy Very good customer support (in English)

Cons
Don't ideally display to employees their leave balance and expirations for the french system. As it's an early stage product, they lack of useful functionalities, but not for long ;-)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review

Anonymous

Good match

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-23
Review Source: Capterra

Very good. Nice interface, the stability of services, very good support.

Pros
Easy of use, support, possibilities to integrate with JIRA

Cons
Minor bugs, but it's still evolving so it might happen.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Ron Lim

A very effective leave management for distributed teams

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-06-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
We are a distributed team so it was necessary to be able to have different holidays specified for staff based different regions. Calamari had the exact feature to support this that no other leave management was able to. Support for sign-in using Office 365 and Slack, and approval via Slack is also a very well-loved feature of our team.

Cons
The user interface took some getting used to at first, and it's not straight off intuitive. But the UI has undergone a recent enhancement, which made it slightly better.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Allows time attendance tracking with ease

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-10-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Calamari has helped me so much over the time I have used it up until now. The calendar function allows great organization of schedule, leaves and absences. Time-sheet and reports are available for a more detailed access to data. It is amazing how organized a single software can easily transform your workspace.

Cons
It would be great if everything can be updated through mobile, such as schedules, for easier and faster access. I think some updates can be done through mobile, but not everything is supported.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Sanjai Bhatia

Great product, exceptional service.

Reviewed 2016-11-17
Review Source: Capterra

After a significant amount of research and deliberating we moved away from our excel based holiday system in favor of a cloud based solution from Chrobrus. The Calamari system is easy to use and navigate both for the employee and employer. The hotlinks in the admin control panel give you clear and accurate information regarding holiday scheduling. The support from the Calamari team and in particular Kamil has been superb, any queries/questions we have had have been dealt with speedily and efficiently. We now have more time to focus our attention on running our business rather than being caught up in excel spreadsheets managing employee holidays. Thanks all at Calamari.

Response from CHROBRUS


Hello Sanjai, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We're glad to hear you guys were able to learn Calamari easily. Our mission is to make the HR and people management easier to empower entrepreneurs to develop their
businesses.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Excellent personnel management tool for human resources

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-01-13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It was a challenge for IT personnel to select a tool for human resources management in the organization for which they work, but without a doubt it was one of the best decisions, the support offered by this software for personnel management is incredible, helping to control absences and entry and exit for salary management and compliance with the workday.

Cons
It is an excellent application, however the human resources staff always communicated with support for only one thing and it is about that time to select the range of dates in the calendar for a worker according to the management to pay the salary, this It presented a brief detail and it was that sometimes it was impossible, so you had to keep track of the days of permission to part of the tool as support, you should only improve those wrong characteristics and upgrade to an improved one.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Francesca Zanucco

Our experience with Calamari

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-09
Review Source: Capterra

Calamari help us to organize better our work

Pros
It is very easy to use and you can also use the app.

Cons
The translation of the software in Italian is not available.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Kilee Brooks

Wonderful product! Great customer service.

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-02-05
Review Source: Capterra

Overall great use of product. We needed a functioning time clock and PTO accountability with a calendar available for all employee's to review when needed.

Pros
User friendly, great customer service, not slow or sluggish, no current issues with using system overall.

Cons
When first starting Calamari and building preferences for paid time off it can be complicated and tricky. But overall customer services has been available for help. Also, customer service I believe is in a different time zone so can have a delay in response but usually timely.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

William Betancur

The people at Calamari are always available to help you even from their location in Poland

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-08-07
Review Source: Capterra

We replaced e-mail systems from Lotus Notes to G-mail in our company. Our time off application was Departmental Calendar from Spring Logic. We found this app (Calamari) which has the same functionality and was easier to implement.

Pros
Simple to use easy implementation Compatible with G-mail Track employees vacation, days off or remote work in Calamari shared calendars. Synchronize time off requests with G Suite Calendar,

Cons
I would like representation here in the US if possible 1) Tutorials and knowledgebase could have a few more examples of different scenarios that the administrator might encounter when setting up more complex leave policies. That being said, the Calamari team was more than willing to guide through anything I wasn't sure of.

Response from CHROBRUS


Hi William! We will think about our new location in US in the future. It would be awsome ;) honestly. Thanks for your suggestions. It is always good to know what we can do better for you! Cheers, Ewelina

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anatoly Timchenko

Calamari Leave Review

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-06-21
Review Source: Capterra

Our company has long been in search of calendar absences. We tested a lot of options, but the flexible functionality they did not find. When we started with the Calamari acquaintance, at first it seemed to us too difficult to set up, but communication with the support solved all our requests. We were able to customize the system entirely to the needs of the company.

Pros
Most like the flexibility and very good support for developers. The advantage is the integration with a variety of services, it is very convenient.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Anna Grzywinska

Extremely helpful, user friendly leave management tool for mid size companies

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-11-03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to set up and use; integrated with slack and google Calendar; team constantly improves the tool based on the feedback provided by the clients; impeccable customer support that allows to create better experience;

Cons
I would be interested in seeing new features available for Calamari users in order to improve the overall experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Elodie Falaise

Great Solution - Great Team

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-10-04
Review Source: Capterra

We wanted to use Calamari so that our staff could know how much leaves and what kind of leaves they had left. We also wanted this solution to be connected with Slack. And it was a pleasure to discover that there was also a mobile app available

Pros
Calamari Leave is really very easy to configure and then to use! It's highly parametrable and it adapts to many kinds of leaves and countries And above all the team is really great! I was really helped by the customer representative who informed me efficiently and quickly. Thank you again ;-) He was always trying to understand what I needed and how Calamari could help me. That is really great to have someone to help you and it's reassuring when you engage in a new process

Cons
As far as now, everything is ok for me. I am very happy with the French version even if some translations can be improved (and will be, for sure ;-) )

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Olga Ou

Efficient software with great support

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-12-04
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to request leaves and keep track of them.

Pros
While trying out different tools, Calamari seemed the most "user-friendly" for smaller companies. What we love the most about the tool is the Slack integration that makes request and approvals super easy. Their support is also fast and very good !

Cons
Setting up or editing a leave category is always a bit tricky for me in the tool, but it's also because there are always special rules applying. Maybe making this part even more user friendly would be good.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Dorota Jaworska

Calamari is great~

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-21
Review Source: Capterra

I'm very happy with it.

Pros
Easy to use Very clear design Very helpful people

Cons
Still missing some features but I know it will finally happen

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Gabriele Morelli

A hard task solved with a easy-to-use software

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-06
Review Source: Capterra

I got a grasp on managing the absence for 12 employees in my company. The software is well done, it could be implemented by guiding the user with country based guideline information for managing HR.

Pros
The intuitive interface, the support and the intuitive settings. The support especially is very nice and follows you from day 1 with all the feedback and help you need

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Jowita Michalska

Great tool

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-08-01
Review Source: Capterra

We are managing holidays and days off the employees.

Pros
Its easy to use and everything is in one place. Also the design is simple and all the info is in one place. Just one click and it’s done.

Cons
I like the app very much but if you really want me to find something I don’t like green color so the app could be more colorful it would be nice to use something prettier.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Andrzej Muzaj

Simple, but it's doing its job

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-11-20
Review Source: Capterra

We're handling our holidays and home-office schedules with Calamari.

Pros
Super easy to fill out and track your requests. It also offers some flexibility, eg. handles not only holidays but also home office and more!

Cons
Filling the requests uses some old-fashioned calendar plugin and it can be little weird to pick the right date.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Sonja Ritschard

Finally we found a tool which fits to our needs, easy to use, reliable

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-06-16
Review Source: Capterra

as every user is entering his hours/absences him/herself, less work for the administrator

Pros
nice and clearly structured tool, functional, customizable, the Customer support is excellent, we always got quick help in order to adapt the tool to our special needs

Cons
some French translations are not immediately self-explanatory, that means that sometimes you have to go into the détails in order to find out what is hiding behind a special term

Response from CHROBRUS


Thanks, Sonja! We are extremely focused on making Calamari as easy to use as it can.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Hassan El Zein

Good application

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
easy to use, can be integrated with multiple application (jira, slack, gsuite)

Cons
not to much to say here. All the features of calamari are easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Kelly Hinkle

Easy Vacation Approval Software

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-07-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I love the easy of use and ability to integrate the time off calendar with Outlook. Setting up PTO accruals is a breeze. It's so much more user-friendly than the add-on available through our payroll processor.

Cons
While I love getting an email reminding me who is going to be out for the day, I'd love one telling me who will be out the next week.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Jakub Nadolny

Efficient and simple

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-04-24
Review Source: GetApp

After testing few other solutions we've ended up with Calamari - great tool which just does it's job. It's quite intuitive and very helpfull. What's more - it has great support team. We've had some requirements that were specific for our team and everything has been done for us.

Pros
- easy to use - not overloaded with unnecessary functionalities - fast and perfect support

Cons
- up to now - not found anything against

Response from Chrobrus


Thanks Kuba! We are looking forward to great cooperation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Ken Barczyszyn

Exceeded Expectations

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Rep was exceptional to work with during our implementation and very quick to respond and resolve requests to customize and tailor setups to our needs.

Pros
The simplicity of setup and the ease of implementation was a fantastic experience. I always plan for a few "bumps in the road" but there was virtually zero complications when we launched. Our 260+ employees find it very easy to use.

Cons
More customization in the mobile app-logos, etc

Response from CHROBRUS


Ken, thank you for your valuable feedback!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Matthew Carver

Easy to set up but would love more (videos?) on what choice in leave impact other choices.

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-02-10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It is easy to train staff to use! They adopted it in about two weeks aided extensively by the Azure integration.

Cons
It would be great if it integrated better with Office 365. Tighter even like with Staff Hub so that scheduling could be managed with calamari or that it would receive scheduling. Bottom line, not everyone works the exact same hours every week. ALSO substitute assignment needs to be something a team manager can do not ONLY the users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Josefine Teneback Cays

Great affordable solution

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-12-04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Great affordable solution for small companies. Onboarding and customer support are fantastic. Reporting is good and provides the data we need. Decent amount of customization available.

Cons
Requests cannot be edited, they must be canceled and resubmitted. No ability to add blackout dates for days we do not want employees to request vacation. Navigation can be a little clunky but the FAQs usually solves those problems.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review