App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Certent Equity Management Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

32

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.96/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I am very pleased with the product and value of the software, it is built to handle corporations much larger and complex than us, but it is still user friendly to our needs, and is still affordable.
Certent is great to help me understand my equity grants. It, very clearly, lists out my grants and any relevant information.
Their customer support is outstanding. When I've had an issue, they've addressed it immediately.
Can be so fickle with timing of the activity. Not very fluid to correct misinformation from data uploads.
Reports have weird names. Refreshing to fidelity's isn't always the easiest.
Unable to upload change in control RSUs due to no determine vesting date and do not wish to use a future date.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


32 reviews

Recommended

MH
AvatarImg

Michelle H.

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Equity Management Platform Around

Reviewed 8 days ago
Pros

Certent Equity Management is user friendly and easy to navigate. The customer service team is by far the best I've ever worked with.

Cons

There is nothing I don't like about Certent Equity Management.

CD
AvatarImg

Charlynn D.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great equity management and reporting tool

Reviewed 5 days ago

Positive, especially our working relationship with our customer care manager.

Pros

Real-time equity management reporting is available on one report. Reports are flexible, and can be filtered in many different ways for different purposes. We use for performance based and time based RSUs and RSAs. We do not use the system for dividend/DEU calculations. Most critical reporting is used for SEC public reports, which are just a click away, and used to be manually calculated maintained in excel workbooks. Certent reporting saves us hours/days of manual tracking in excel. Also, our main relationship manager is extremely responsive and patient with our requests/questions.

Cons

Since Certent is not a broker, when we changes from private to public, the connection with a broker has been very challenging. Almost like duplicative work and coding. Albeit, it seems like Certent's customer services is much better than the broker so we are hoping that once connection is made, we won't have any future broker/record keeper issues. Also, it would be valuable if Certent offered the ability to calculate cash dividends (not DEUs), so that we don't have to track in excel. But this is not a deal breaker.

BW
AvatarImg

Brooks W.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This may be the worst software I have used. Ever.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Awful. Just Awful.

Pros

Through many bugs and a painful login and re-authentication process every single time I access the platform, I have been able to exercise my options through Certent.

Cons

They take something that is already difficult for many people to understand and make it worse by having a terrible UI, and login and authentication process

Vendor response

Hi Brooks, We appreciate your feedback and want to work with you to improve your experience. We will be in touch to discuss how we can simplify the UI and improve the authentication process.

RL
AvatarImg

Robert L.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Exceptional Customer Service!

Reviewed 3 days ago

I really enjoy working with our team as they are very supportive.

Pros

First of all, [sensitive content hidden] and her team are always very responsive to my queries and are ready to assist! The system is very user friendly and the standard reports available meet our monthly reporting needs. We were considering adding these services to our brokerage provider (to consolidate) but decided against it as their Equity Management support does not even compare close. I also like the fact that the File Management features are now within the Certent Equity Management system.

Cons

Just like all systems, there are sometimes minor quirks in the reports, but [sensitive content hidden] and her team address them quickly.

AC
AvatarImg

Adam C.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid stable platform

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This platform is sufficiently robust for our uses. The administration and SAS access are easy to use. The financial reporting is good and gets us where we need to be come audit time. Integration with various brokers is helpful for tailoring uses for different company needs.

Cons

The software is missing some key features that will impact the future. There isn't any tax mobility calculation or support. That lags behind other platforms but I'm told it is in development. The integration with multiple brokers limits how fast they can develop new and important features.

SS
AvatarImg

Sandra S.

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Use

Reviewed 4 years ago

Really good. I would absolutely recommend this software.

Pros

This software is so easy to use. I have used another system and the number of steps I had to take in the other software was substantially more than what the same action required in Certent. The reporting in Certent is easier. Literally, everything but dividends is easier in Certent.

Cons

The broker link with Merrill Lynch is not set up to accept Dividend / DEU accruals. Customer service is on West Coast, so hours can be a little tricky for East or Central time zone (but the help desk is good).

Vendor response

Hi Sandra, We appreciate your feedback. We are excited to hear Certent has been able to streamline your work processes and would love to have a more in-depth conversation with you about Certent's processing of dividends.

JM
AvatarImg

Jack M.

Computer & Network Security, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Certent

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Customer support is always there. I feel like I can call them for anything.

Cons

Customer support needed at times. I feel like have to call often.

Vendor response

Hi Jack, Thank you for taking the time out to provide your feedback. We are glad that Support has provided you with excellent service and will be in touch to find out how we can reduce the need to call into our Support line.

LN
AvatarImg

Laura N.

Renewables & Environment, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Top Equity Management Platform

Reviewed 5 days ago

Overall, very happy with the service. I rely very heavily on Certent and the Customer Service.

Pros

Certent Equity Management is extremely valuable in my quarterly SEC and investor reporting as well as our internal tracking of stock option expense items. The customer service is consistently exceptional.

Cons

I think the reports are good but I do wish there was some customization available on some. Also, there is limited Pay vs. Performance functionality.

SG
AvatarImg

Shane G.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Satisfied

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am very pleased with the product and value of the software, it is built to handle corporations much larger and complex than us, but it is still user friendly to our needs, and is still affordable.

Pros

The system can hand any time of award our organization would like to grant, and it has all the tools necessary for accounting, activity, and regulatory requirements.

Cons

Some of the report generation menus can be difficult to navigate to find the report that I need. There is a lot of reports available. There is a star feature that can be used to quickly find commonly used reports. Which is helpful.

NP
AvatarImg

Nicholas P.

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Certent Review - 9/24/20

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of use, user interface friendly, great and timely customer support

Cons

Sometimes there have to be workarounds for unique situations

CE
AvatarImg

Christopher E.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Functional and Supported... but Expensive.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It does pretty much everything you could want an Equity Management platform to do. And the Support Team is always available and knowledgeable. There hasn't been an issue I couldn't get through with the support and product.

Cons

It is one of the most expensive in the industry. I have tried to justify the cost for a long time and wish they were more flexible on the pricing. It also has some less-than-intuitive menu schemes and data reports that feel would be an easy fix, but they aren't ever addressed.

Vendor response

Hi Christopher, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see that our support team has met your needs and would love to engage further on the topic of reporting.

IH
AvatarImg

Ivy H.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Certent Equity Management Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

The overall benefit of using Certent is that it has save us time during month-end.

Pros

Ever since our Company migrated over to Certent and away from the our options spreadsheet, it has made our equity management easier from tracking of new option awards to expense recognition during month-end closes.

Cons

The least I like about this software is the HRPC and broker integration piece. There are many tasks that still have to be done manually in the integration piece. For example, when we terminate employee in our HR/Payroll system, termination does not feed over properly. Date of birth for new hires does not feed properly as well.

BS
AvatarImg

Brie S.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Helps streamline accounting, administration, and disclosure reporting for our equity awards

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like that we are able to easily load mass data into the system, easily run monthly journal entries, and quickly run a few reports to put together our quarterly SEC disclosures.

Cons

The features available in the software have not changed much over time. Not having 162m reporting is a downfall and reports are very lengthy, with more columns that almost anyone would use. You can customize the layout of your reports, but that is also very time consuming.

VV
AvatarImg

Vicki V.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Strong little product for Stock Options

Reviewed 6 years ago

We use Armanino as our service provider and they answer tough questions quickly so overall we are very satisfied with the software. System is pricey but from what I know is in the range of other products.

Pros

1. Great product for stock options 2. Help menu is very good

Cons

1. The equity side (non stock options) needs to be improved - warrants, preferred and common shares. 2. Modifications require manual entry, would be nice to incorporate into the system (even if input was manual) 3. We still have a bug for options issued prior to implementation. We issued a % completion on PNQ's which resulted in "fractional shares" that the system could not figure out. It would be good if they could just round DOWN!! 4. Seems like we should only have to pay for current option holders, not ones from the beginning of time. We now pay for the stock option system each year which is a little pricey!

SS
AvatarImg

Steven S.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Certent Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

they've been great. Knowledgeable, responsive and helpful.

Pros

Their customer support is outstanding. When I've had an issue, they've addressed it immediately. Their software carries out a large amount of the functionality we need.

Cons

Setting it up, I had a tough time with the Rep. I think it could be more user friendly... intuitive. It feels more like a Microsoft product that I have to learn rather than an apple product.

Vendor response

Hi Steven, It's great to hear you've benefited from Certent's software functionality and had an outstanding experience with Support. We've made progress with our user interface, but it sounds like there's more work to do. We would love to discuss this topic further and will be in touch.

RM
AvatarImg

Rachel M.

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review of Equity Management

Reviewed 7 years ago

We've had a pretty good experience so far with Equity Management from Certent. The reports are very easy to run and information is easy to find, however every once in a while will have an issue running the reports with not getting any data returned. There also isn't a great way to export to Excel for some of the reports I run and when you copy and paste the data the formatting isn't pretty.

Pros

Easy to run reports

Cons

Exporting the data to Excel doesn't always work, there's not an easy way to do it and the copy/paste function into Excel messes up the formatting.

CP
AvatarImg

Carolyn P.

Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very satisfied

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The ease of use and accuracy. We do some complicated transactions and it always delivers.

Cons

Broker interface is lacking functionality, especially for performance shares.

Vendor response

Hi Carolyn, Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback about Certent. We are proud of our ability to deliver on complex requirements and are always looking for ways to improve. We are interested in learning more about your experience with performance shares.

BS
AvatarImg

Brian S.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Customer Service and Ease of Use

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great!

Pros

The software is really easy to use and quite intuitive. When I have had questions though the support has been outstanding. Support has been very knowledgeable on the software as well as the tax and accounting principles around equity accounting. I often learn new information just discussing my issue.

Cons

I'd like an easier way to do imports. I don't use it enough so I have to go back and review how to do it each time. Now I usually just input items manually to avoid the learning curve.

Vendor response

Hi Brian, We are grateful for your feedback and thrilled to hear about your outstanding experience with Support. We would love to find out how we can make the import process less cumbersome for you and will be in touch to discuss.

KB
AvatarImg

Kathleen B.

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Certent Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, moving away from spreadsheet tracking for options to Certent has been great!

Pros

Keep all of our equity management in one platform!

Cons

Unable to upload change in control RSUs due to no determine vesting date and do not wish to use a future date.

CW
AvatarImg

Chesney W.

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Certent Equity Management gets the job done

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This software is easy to use and the reporting tools are great.

Cons

The Section 16 part of the software maybe the most difficult part to learn, but once you figure it all out it is no big deal.

CC
AvatarImg

ChingChe C.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall is good !

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

1. The website has a robot to answer some basic questions which save me time. 2. It is very clear to know how much I have for the stocks, easy and simple.

Cons

1. The visualization in the system is not really attractive compared to other similar services such as Carta, looks old-fashioned style. 2. The system asked me to change my password quite often which I need to find another one to remember. 3. if there are some monthly or quarterly reports which may be helpful.

MR
AvatarImg

Marsha R.

Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's easy to navigate once you get over the hurdle

Cons

Reports have weird names. Refreshing to fidelity's isn't always the easiest.

HM
AvatarImg

Heather M.

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Certently moving forward

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Software provides forecasting which has been extremely powerful especially in these economic times

Cons

Can be so fickle with timing of the activity. not very fluid to correct misinformation from data uploads

Vendor response

Hi Heather, We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you have benefited from the forecasting capabilities within Certent. We want to learn more about how we can improve the process of correcting data from uploads and will be in touch to discuss further.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Brian C.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for Tracking Equity Compensation

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, I like Certent. It is a simple tool to help me keep track of my stock options.

Pros

Certent is great to help me understand my equity grants. It, very clearly, lists out my grants and any relevant information.

Cons

While the tool is very good, I wish it provided more aggregate information and analysis. Its great to look at one line item/one grant, it would like to see more data about the set as a whole.

AP
AvatarImg

Anjali P.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Certent for equity

Reviewed 8 years ago

I recently just started using Certent in the last few months. I think Certent offers a valuable service, I mean without it I would have no idea what to do with all the information that comes from our cap tables. I'm just starting to learn about equity administration and Certent has been a huge help in getting my started. They also have great customer service - although this is only via email and not phone from what I have seen. The one thing I will say about Certent is that it's not very easy to get up to speed on, but once you are up to speed it makes everything a lot easier. i was luck enough to have a full training from the previous Certent admin so that helped a lot.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review